(2007/11) November MTBs

dokie, yah, agree with you, XT very expensive.

Tweetie, Peg Prego is expensive right? The one i saw at Mothercare is priced at $600+! Gasp! But looks cool.. quite a head turner i must say.

I think for me, i would stick to a baby carrier for the time being. I don't think i can manage using a pram when going out alone.

plim, thanks for the info. Appreciate it!
Is the Flexishield helpful? The manual head pump can be use on the hygiene kit when want to convert to single manual pump. Very portable coz very small. Asking coz very curious only lah. I already ask around seems like it's not sold in SG.

Hi K@ye,

Yeah, hubby tells me tat 2. Hv abt another 2.5kg to go but realised bones ard waist n hip grew bigger, so even reduced to same weight, dun tink can fit in old clothes.

Yeah, juz saw it, thnks!
Hep B shd b taken during the 1st mth, then sub. the 5in1 ir 6in1 jabs.

Oh u sendg to infant care?? Isn't it v exp? I toyed with that idea but decided to hire a maid instead.

Sabrina, Preg Perego is exp. I got during 20% sale, still cost abt 500. In summary, anything that fits infant always costs a bomb, i feel.

Guess wat, my CL bought 4D for the chinese date of bitth of my gal and I didn't wanna follow, in the end, it opened 3rd prize. Damn it!!! What a day.

Sabrina, Dokie,

Thanks for your concern. Juz now I tried using NUK's nasal pump and managed to pump out a big piece of pi sai. His breathing seems ok now, dun have the wheezing sound and can sleep better too. It's such a wonder that my CL din even notice and we have to highlight to her abt bb's blocked nose and then she agrees! When we are all busy pumping his nose, she was there making noise commenting that my pump is no good and etc..feel like slapping her! Urrghh..nvm I tell myself, only 6 more days to go and she's gone!

poissons,

great that your boy is ok now
My gal's nose also got alot of dirt, but i dangerous mum, i use baby tweezer (pigeon brand) to clear. :p

kaye:: you totally stopped BF altogether already? that's quick! the last time you wrote was still asking how to stop the milk flow... I have also started to give one FM feed every 2 days. I realise immediately the stools are drier once i give FM even though it's just for 1 feed. don't know if i should change the brand of FM. what FM are you using?

and for bonding, i was also worried abot bonding since MIL snatches every chance to play with bb when he's awake. sometimes i feel hurt but yet sometimes i feel relieved such that icould get some rest. nevertheless, i'm sure when bb grows older, he'll know we're the mothers and will want to possess us! ^^

I still have about 4kg to go. tried to fit in my old levi's jeans.. can fit but cnanot BUTTON! hahaha so upsetting! want to buy new ones but hubby say later on when you slim back cannot fit into new ones so wasteful. though very encouraging but... hahahaa especially when my sister already startred shopping for CNY clothes!

Tried to bring bb out today cause dad's bday hahahas. Fed him FM before i left home, thinking it'd last him longer and pumped milk during that feed to bring out thinking i don't have to latch on directly outside... in the end also didn't work. Bb is a breeakup eating into parts eater. Brought out 100mL EBM, he only drank half then stopped and 1 hour later, wants to feed again! in the end bo bians, throw away my precious EBM and hide in toilet to latch. hahahas. next time i must partition the EBM out already.

Hi, feel like dying. Another day of 5am to 730am. He wanted to be carried and refused to be on cot bed. Rock to sleep, put down and cried....cycle repeats. This went on and on for 2.5 hours.

Does your baby behave this way? It is so draining. Consecutive 2 days liao.

dokie:: same la. mine is still the 11 to 3am slot. and yesterday and nught before, even the 430 to 6am slot. Goodness. even my hubby is asking why is he awake at 5am.

somemore he makes lots of noises like elephant noises when he sleeps. so disturbing.

Cindy how to tahan like that?
Ok they will meet each other on the 17th Dec.:p

sabrina, my pd told me don have to remove from their nose. leave it.

Poissons, no mucus right. only wheezing sound. If that is the case, ok , don worry.

ahaha bo bian just bear with it loh. he sleeps better in the day than the night. haha yes they will meet on 17dec!

dokie:: really no need to remove from nose? so noisy i really can't stand it. hahaah

Cindy, don lah..don anyhow "dig" they are very fragile. PD said no need no need lah. My first one also never clear.

How are u going there? PM me pls. I have phobia taking pubic transport with him or may be we take together. see how

Cindy,
My boy also same as yours. Awake like that. A few times in the morning, I just cldnt wake up. So dead tiring.

Yesterday i tried to change diaper at 3AM after hearing that he poo poo (cos he farted) so that he can sleep well later. Then guess what, what I was changing, he pooed again and a lot more. Gosh, kena everywhere, even my pyjamas pants. And he kept crying and crying. So mad at him... Ended up having to clear up the mess in the middle of the nite. Argh...

tinkabel! hahaha hey! why does your condition sound all so familiar. it's always the case for me. Each time change a new diaper he gets more AWAKE. and the worse thing is, the poo comes in BATCHES. Sickening!

SuperHappyMum,

3rd prize winning for $1B, $1S is S$1,290. Really damn it... if I had followed her, i wud hv gotten it too. Well, HB keeps tellg me some things r fated. Hope will dio 1st prize tonight, then i dun hv to worry abt diaper money, haha!

Dokie, me damn tired also, dunno y. 3rd wk of my confinement but i feel super tired and worse compared to 2nd wk, dunno hw i can tahan when CL leaves and hv to take care of bb myself.

Tinkabel, my gal also like tat but juz tat nw CL take, so i boh chap. BF babies always poo in batches. And my bb always gets so cranky at nite and refuses to sleep unless the CL carries her.

Cindy, my baby is drinking Mamex Gold. I made my gal drink water in order to prevent her stools from getting too hard.

Tweetie, infant care is expensive but if u re a working mother, u will get a $400 subsidy from the govt. So, it works out to be $600 per mth for me which is ard the same if I hire a nanny to look after her. Hiring a maid was never an option on my mind.

mummies who expressed BM,

Do you find your BM very oily? Coz mine is and i am having a hard time cleaning the bottles and containers coz they still feel greasy after washing. Or is it the bottle cleanser that i am using is not "powerful" enough? I am using Pigeon cleanser.

dokie,

thanks for reminding me. I better stop digging my gal's nose. But sometimes can't help it la.. very tempting.. especially when it seemed to form a "wall" that almost block the nostril :p

Hi K@ye,

Oh, tats nt 2 exp. For me, i prefer to hire maid n leave them at my mom's place. Fetch them home when I knock off, although tiring, at least got someone to help with house work so I can focus on baby.

Sabrina,
Yes, I noticed its oily. Mayb u squirt a few more drops of the pigeon cleanser to wash it. So far, I find the cleanser gd lei.

Tweetie bomian...this is the sacrificial part of motherhood . I sleep so few hours every night.

Sabrina, BM the more oily the better. :p

who else stays in the west? we can share taxi to go tweety's house? Cindy and I are sharing taxi.

No more cakes on 22nd Dec. Ordered from 7th manna a log cake and a cranbery cheese but they are so terrible. Confirmed Order form generated and emailed me showed $10 but they wanted to charge me $15 for transport.

I am reluctant to pay. I feel that it is not fair.

What do ur think? I am a cake lover. Offended me is their loss. :p

Mandy, i also got Mdm Sadiah for my massage. She mentioned a lady who farted a lot during the session, so it's u ah? Gee...it's ok la, means air was expelling out well. So shiok aft the massage session right.

Poissons,
Super envious that you dont have to pump at night. I'm really tired of having to wake up at 3am to pump every night. My last pump is 12am, then I pump again at 7am. So in theory, if I sleep from 10pm to 9am, I wake up 3 times to pump.

Can I ask how big is your baby? I'm wondering if I'm giving my baby enough. He's 20 days old and feeding only 70 mls each feed. He feeds 9 times a day. But I thought maybe he's a small baby so needs less than other babies.

Pussiecat,
I have the same problem as you with the pumping / massaging thing. Super tiring and painful. I read that taking lecithin makes the milk less viscous and therefore less prone to blocked ducts. Going to try that and hopefully no need to massage so hard.

Gillian,
I so totally agree with you on "better being a happy FM milk than a stressed BM mum". Somedays I'm so stressed out I'm tempted to give up and I tell myself that also. Wish my hubby understands that. I think it will be worse when CL leaves I have to feed baby, burp him and then go pump in the middle of the night. At least now, CL helps me feed him while I'm pumping away.

Sabrina,
This forum has really become very important to some of us who really need the emotional support here. I depended almost solely on the internet to get information throughout my pregnancy and now motherhood. Glad to have all the mummies here to share all the joy and woes!

Dokie,
My baby was crying from 3-6am one ngiht too. After feeding him, he cried for some more, gave some more, still didnt want to sleep. Cried, fed some more, and it went on and on till 6am. So tired the next day.

Questions :
Some of you mentioned bottle cleanser. I've been washing my bottles only with water before sterilizing. Didnt realize must use cleanser. Is it necessary?

How long can EBM stay out in room temperature? Sometimes my baby takes a break during a feed but not sure whether to discard or use the same bottle.

Anyone using Avent Breast Shell to collect milk that leaks out? Can that milk be poured into bottle and used for a feed?

When going out w baby feeding EBM, how do you heat up the EBM?

Mummies who are doing confinment, one thing I've come to realize is not to take confinement and tradition too literally. I realize some of the restrictions were adding to my misery, on top of the sleep deprivation. And some practices are just not very practical so I've learnt to take things w a pinch of salt. Eg. Not drinking anything but red date tea. My mum insisted on that but as I result I became more dehydrated, because unlike water, it's more inconvenient and I ended up drinking less. And dehydration can affect breastmilk flow.
Also with some confinement food, some ingredients in large quantities like ginger, can be bad for babies with jaundice. So my outlook now is to follow confinement rules with some flexibiltiy and not make oneself miserable in the end. If going out or taking a shower makes you a happier mummy, why not.

Twiggy,
My boy is 24 days old, drinking 110ml every 2 to 3 hrs. I think the quantity depends on the size of our baby, as long as your baby is contented after every week, shld be ok. Else you can try increasing 10 to 20ml of milk for the upcoming feed (and the next) and see if he can finish?

Twiggy,

My gal has started to be "difficult" in the wee hours of the night too.. Usually it will start from 1am and all the way till 4-5am...
And during that period, it's a constant battle of tear fest and feeding... Really test my patience to the max sometimes. Right now, she has been sleeping soundly like an angel from 2pm till now (of coz feedings in between) coz I brought her out in the morning and i guess she is really tired... but i shudder at the thought when she will be fully awake later IN THE NIGHT!!...

I have made some really good friends from this forum actually, where we really share our joys and woes. And of course, the exchange of parenting tips is really a life saver.

For EBM, at room temperature, can keep up to 4 hours (from KKH website).

Hi Sabrina,

My boy started with USA time zone too. But becos i leave him with the CL, i dont feel so tired. and i feed my boy on EBM and FM. No latching on.

What worries is what is going to happen when my CL leaves? But my mum was telling me that the sleep pattern will change after full month or 40 days.

My CL hanged my boy's long pants (or daddy's or mummy's) on top of the cradle. She claimed old wives tales is that it will turn the sleeping pattern around. Meaning, will sleep in night.

Indeed, he now no longer has USA Time Zone for the past 1 week.

So just try it out. No harm.

pig07,

This is the first time i hear abt hanging the long pants. But in times of desperation, sometimes we will do anything. Used or washed pants? hehehe... Nevertheless, I am going to try..

I know that babies will have a more structured sleeping patterns when they reach 3 mths old... still long way to go... haiz

Nov mummies gathering
CAKE & TEA session
17th dec Mon, 12pm
Venue: Tweety's plc
ALL ARE WELCOMED!!

1) Tweety - tweety [email protected]
2) S@L - [email protected]
3) Yoko - [email protected]
4) Cindy [email protected]
5) Plim - [email protected]
6) superhappymum - [email protected]
7) Tinkabel - [email protected] (to confirm, since my boy doing jab and may get cranky)
8) Gillian - [email protected]
9) [email protected]

mummies pls confirm, if date is ok then pls add your email address

Rachel

Anymore mommies wanna join us? Theres no closing date for this. I'll leave it open until the day before we meet up. So if any of you wanna throw caution to the wind and just want to come out and socialise...Even if its only for a couple of hours. Then please join us.

Hi Sabrina,

My CL used my son's pants. washed/clean.

Ya.. my mum also said the sleeping pattern will be 'normalised' either when reach 30 day, or 40 day or 100 day old.

twiggy, is it wind in yr bb's tummy? if realy is wind maybe u try rub some ruyi oil or use infacol every 6 hr. I tin is very useful. Cos sometimes my bb cry at nite when he feeling uncomfortable.

dokie, cindy yr lower abdominal near yr stitches still feel numb?

dokie, did the massage lady massage yr abdominal to push yr womb?

sabrina, regarding block nose or digging nose. my pd gave me iladin. u can get at guardian. there r 2 types one for infant another for adult. but only can use for 5 days max then u stop.

cindy, my bb can hi 5 w yrs. sometimes sound like sheep, sometimes duno like wat. vey noisy.

wake up at nite for feeding even fm is tiring, don't talk abt bf is worst. I pump for 1 week already very cham. My bm will goes together w my tears as i pump. Mummies jia you!

May I know who is on FM Friso Gold?

Superhappymum, how heavy was your gal when u let her sat on the quest at 1.5month?

Yoko, not numb. Never feel numb. massage lady didnt massage my tummy. She just gently stroked a few times and tied me liao

By the way how is your lump in your breast?

Sabrina, I think don keep 4 hours. Too long even though website might say 4 hours. I usually try to consume within an hour and if not discard.

yoko:: yes still a bit numb. yours? i think it's the work of the GA man. ya, how are you already? all the problems fixed? yes haha sheep, elephant, all sorts of animals! damn irritating hahaha.

sabrina: yes for EBM once fed, if not consumed within 1 hour i will discard. if you're not sure you can taste the milk yourself first. ^^

morning mommies,

My baby has got rashes on his his face. head and some parts of his body. Anyone else have the same experience? I think they are heat rash, but I'm not totally sure. The rashes on his face have now turned crusty which I know is cradle caps. His rash always look angry, but it comes and goes. Any advice?

hi yoko noriko,

my bb's on friso gold.
i rem seeing in the thread there's a promo of buy 5 get 1 free, is it still on?
do u have the contacts? m planning to stock up coz now BB's 90% on FM liao.

BB hiccup:

any of you have this prob?
my BB seems to have hiccup problem after each feeding... sometimes even when she's sleeping!
tried feeding her some water but hard to swollen down while she hiccups... quite pity to see her suffer... some more her hiccups super loud...

any other remedy??

Kittybride, don have to feed water. Let her me.
I did type in my PD handbook on hiccup a month ago. I loaned to my cousin already. So I couldnt do it now. It will go by itself. Really

Cindy, I just finished duty. Now timing changes to 8am to 10am..have to carry him for 2 hours. Super tired. I have to "beg" him to let me take BF as I was super hungry. :p

hi any good cathering to recommend???
mine i give up my TBF... now bb gabrielle wan then latch on din even wana express out liao dun wana stress myself... now still got CL... so bb cry she will handle wait till she left then i noe my hell days are coming... duno y she kept wanting to b carried b4 she slp or else she will scream... haiz... n my tat CL like to carry her when she cried... haiz... habit liao... till now my CL still dun let mi shower her or even carry her onli time i spent wif her is the time she id latch on... sad... wonder if bb will get used to her n when she left wat will happen... help...

haaha dokie, you so funny!!
and your little one too lah. hahaha. but isn't it better? i hope he will keep up this time if he wants to be naughty. last night i still have duty at 5am. -.-

dokie and cindy, my girl will wake up to feed and 'exercise her lungs' from 2-6am. drives me to tears. after feeding and burping her, i'll try all sorts of carrying positions but she will still cry and cry. Frustrating thing is when my mom carries her, she will quieten down after a while. I think it's because i stink (i'm bathing every alternate days) and when i tell my mom she will say it's rubbish. Mom is the type who insists that women on confinement cannot wash hair, bathe, etc etc. I AM SUPER UPSET! my hubby says he will take over night shift from me but i don't want to becos daytime he still has to work and he drives my elder son to playgroup in the morning so i need him to be alert.

kittybride, hiccupping is normal for infants. it will go away after 10-15 mins, dun need to feed water.

sabrina,
the flexishield i find it quite useful, hv not tried using the pumps without the shield though... may b i shld try to use it and let you know

since i bought the Ameda dual pump, i hv been using the shield right at the beginning of the pumping session and close to the end of the session i will take out the shield and use the funnel directly, however, by then not much milk to be pumped out already...

so the manual head pump u were saying can be used if we wan to convert current dual pump into manual one (e.g. when going out)? Cannot b found in singapore ah? hmmm...

Cindy, how u bring out EBM ah? do u bring it to room temperature first and then how long will it last tat way? otherwise, how?

Dokie, i am crying with u also!
Starting from yesterday (my bb's 1st month party), my gal also behaving like ur bb, carry on arms sleep, put in cot, < 5 mins cry liao... very pek chek... before yesterday, she used to b very good, eat and sleep, now no more!

Hallo ladies!

My gal fave hobby is hiccupping! She gets very upset when she hiccups. Yup, it will go away by itself.. Dun have to worry....

Alamak, my gal is sleeping on the bed leh... I dunno where can hang the long pants to switch her sleeping pattern!

She can really sleeps in the day and at nite, super active. Worse thing, she wont play by herself. She wants ppl to talk to her!

fussiecat n plim:: guess all our little monsters are the same. want to be carried to bed. put down only they're awake again. maybe got ppl snuggle them up they like. sighs..

plim.. I brought it out in the avent thermal bag.. I expressed just before gg out... put in thermal bag then when want to feed, i used hot water to warm it. can stay at room temp for 4 hours but once he started drinking form the bottle and once its warmed already, I try to let him consume within 1 hr. of course I taste the milk myself before giving to bb haha. would do the same if bringing out ebm from fridge. no need to bring to room temp first.