(2007/11) November MTBs

Cindy, my baby consistently latchs on for say about 20min to 30min. Min 10min
But he can only clear on one side of my breast. immediately I have to go and express out the other side.

Cindy, my gal siao siao one..sometimes can latch a full 15-20min and satisfied, sometimes 5 min she unlatch doze off to sleep then wake up again continue latch repeat a few times then she go into deep sleep...like i told u i already 'kan kai'...let her latch till i start work with hb then will do more pumping.

Sabrina, in order to maintain or increase supply, u NEED to pump on schedule, cannot only pump when breasts feels full. U will be surprised tt every 2-3hrs u will get alot of milk even though u dun feel full at all.

Oh ya i will probably react the same way if my hb wasted 400ml of my golden liquid! they wont understand the 'heartache' we feel when even a drop of BM is wasted....make him drink the overheated BM la! kekekeke....
Elaine, its normal...we all went thru the same stage...jus persever on cos ur supply still establishing. now is feed on demand. in fact 125ml is a good amt....i used to be more pathetic than tt.

Re: Ameda pump, for those who are using it,
i spoke to Hwei the last time before i bought my Ameda pump, she mentioned tt the diaphram (rubbery cup attachment for suction cap)does nt need to be sterilise at all. Hwei said tt the distributor advised nt to sterilise tt cos it is frgile. jus rinse with warm water.

As for the funnel, do be careful as it is very fragile. my fren broke 2 pcs of the funnel thruout her pumping days. I bought another type of replacement funnel from Hwei in another material in case the original one breaks. so do handle the original one with care (very expensive to replace)

Dokie, PP is quite affordable. if u bought Fox baby before almost same price range. maybe can wait for sale cos SALE price is very cheap.

can i ask, what is the proper temperature to warm up EBM from the fridge? or rather wat is the right way to do it?

sometimes need to get teh EBM warmed up to the correct temperature cos of a wailing baby!

Sabrina,
i would be angry if my HB were to waste even 10ml of my BM, not to mention 400ml! sometimes i see CL feed my baby the EBM & when he cant finish all, my heart also ache. like wat tweety said, every drop is PRECIOUS!

Hi Plim,

I bought the AVENT warmer to warm up EBM..But my CL doesnt use it. she said it's slower. she just place the milk in a bowl of hot water and feed when it's no longer chill. I thot that is fine as i remember KKH (several years ago)used to practise gving baby EBM from fridge direct without heating up.. but nowadays KKH seemed to do otherwise. Anyway, overheating will destroy the nutrients in the breastmilk. I thought.

dokie..should be jan..but i dun have fixed hrs la jus tt hb want m,e to start meeting clients n managing projects...hiaz.......

my appt w/ polyclimnic is next week..cant remember the actual date...heee

plim, my elder son takes my ebm, he takes it cold ; ie directly from fridge. But I don feel comfortable for baby. To me 5 min should be ok. Don warm up too long because it will damage the nutrients under heat.

pig07, Avent warmer is too hot...i also stopped using tt n jus use a bowl of hot water...but i dun really let the milk become too warm..as long its nt cool to the touch i remove n feed bb.

plim,
my CL put the bottle of EBM in a cup of hot water (from thermo flask) for at least 5 min. then she swirls the bottle & squeeze a drop onto the back of her hand to check if the milk is warm

dokie... haha i joined liao..
yummy...

pig07,
ya, i also place the milk in a bowl of hot water and every few seconds take the bottle out to swirl the ocntents to make sure heat is evenly distributed...
by placing the milk in hot water is this considered over heating ah?

i also hv the AVENT warmer, but i din use it this round also... wondering if using it, which knob should it be turned to for warming EBM?

twiggy:: I'm doing full latching on as I find pumping really really troublesome and a hassle. Waste of time. but of course, direct latching has its fair share of problems too. but I find expressing leads to engorgement easily and breasts fill up very fast. so other than the lazy part, this is the other reason why I prefer direct latch. I an thinking of continuing this until I intro FM slowly ard 2month plus... and skip the expressing part altogether..

mummies who are using ameda lactaline dual pump, how long does it takes to express your milk and how much milk each time?

i have tried the trial set from mums in mind but did not find it very useful, not sure if this is becoz the trial set was overused.

pls gimme your feedback as i am contemplating whether should i buy this. TIA!

Thanks for your comforting words.. I got over it already. No use 'crying over spilt milk'..

S@L,

The reason i don't follow the 3 hourly schedule is because my breasts seem to be on 'auto mode'. Every 2-3 hours i will feel an uncomfy letdown (can be quite painful sometimes!) and my breasts will be heavy. So when i feel that, i will express. So i don't follow the clock at all.

plim,

I use a pigeon warmer set at 40 degrees. Now that my baby is on EBM, her feeding schedule is somewhat routine. So i roughly can predict when is her next feed. I will put the chilled EBM into the warmer roughly abt 30-45 min before her next feeding.

olivetree,

I took at most 20 minutes. Each time abt 140-160ml. But then my milk flow very fast. Each nipple got abt 5-6 jets of milk flow.

S@L I jia lar, i ordered 2 more .cheesecakes and logcakes on 22nd dec from 7th manna for christmas party . May be I cant get the banana cakes liao as majority want 22nd dec.

S@L
Think my boy same as your girl, can latch 5mins, then doze off, then wake and want to latch again, and like you said, repeat few times...really tiring.

Anyway, I read all the frustrations on latching and expressing , I can understand. On my side, I have just started expressing maybe 1 week ago...like quite pathetic, sometimes can take half hour, only achieved 40-50ml. Can't even freeze it cos not enough for 1 feed.
Do any mothers know if I can store in the 50ml in the fridge, then next session continue to pump back into same bottle and store back again in the fridge? Also, is it the when you 1st start expressing, its very little, but gets more as your start expressing more?

Twiggy,
On the contrary, I find that latching on is more time consuming. I switched to 100% expressing cos' my boy is too attached to my breasts and wants to suckle every now and then that I dunno whether if he's hungry or suckle for comfort. Previously all my time is reserved to latch him and I can't do anything, I feel very tiring, so decided to try on pumping out the milk for him instead. This way, not only I can monitor the quantity he's drinking, I can also have the time to do other things. At night, I feed him with FM when there's no more EBM in the fridge.

Everyday I will express 4 times, starting from 7am and ends at 11pm, each time can yield about 100-170ml. Each session will take me less than 30mins. I still bond with the baby when I feed him by bottle, although the bond is still closer if we direct latch on lah.

RE: Warmer,
I intend to get a separate warmer too cos' find that the 3-in-1 Pigeon sterilizer (with warmer function) is very mafan if I want to switch from sterilizer to warmer, kinda regret buying it. Will go shopping once confinement is over! Yeah!

Erika, u can store 50ml in a bottle and combine with the milk from next pumping. Just ensure within same day output.
Milk in the fridge must be consumed within the 48 hours.

HI Dokie

Thanks. Which means I can pump back into the same 50ml bottle? I have to pump into another separate bottle? I have been pumping into the same bottle actually.

Erika, try nt to pump into same btl cos newly expressed BM is slightly warm (our body temp) and milk from fridge is cool, and if u intend to keep for later use, better to mix when both milk are abt same temp. this is my tot la...nt sure what is the LeLache League standard.

Olivetree, it could be either u nt used to the pump yet or u dun respond well to this pump. i have tried using ameda too but the output is lesser than when i use Avent DUO. i guess its the massage cushion tat helps in my letdown. With Ameda i dun have as many let downs per pumping session. U might want to go to TMC to try using their Avent DUO trial set if it serves u well can consider buying.

Dokie, me worse...jus now aft seing the BP choco cake photo, i cant help went to nearby cakeshop to grab a choco cake jus to satisfy my craving....hehhehehee

arrggghhh, i am going crazy with my 2 kids!
my elder gal is 29 mths and i dunno whether it's a terrible-two stage or it's jealousy but she has been behaving very badly recently!
With 3 adults (myself, my mother and maid) it's still difficult to handle juz the 2 of them! Because my elder gal is wanting attention all the time and when my mother or myself wans to carry the baby sister, she will not allow and start to whine and insists that we carry her instead... hving the maid does not help in this case as she doesn't want her to carry in situations like this! And when my elder gal starts to whine, baby starts to cry! This is driving me crazy!

Now i am so concerned when i go back to work, it will be juz my mother and the maid with the 2 kids, will they be able to handle it or not... i've scolded my elder gal countless times and i really dunno how i can make things easier for all

sorry for the ranting... juz need to get all these anger out!

plim, i went thru tt for a few weeks too aft i delivered...but things are better now. my son dont get jealous anymore but instead love meimei alot wanna kiss and hug /carry her. only thing is sometimes he does make a lot of noise when meimei is sleeping- no sure intentionally or nt.

Maybe u can try to involve her more like asking her to help u e.g. get diapers for u, fetch meimei's things etc....it might help to make her feel tt she can be of use to you rather than jus You and bb or ur mum and bb. maybe she want to get involve? cos i realise the more we insist nt to let him go near bb, the more he wants to rebel.

i guess soon ur elder will be tired of the attention seeking by the time u go bk to work. dun worry too much. Another way is to sign her up for classes, half day childcare and i think it helps tt she make some frens and have her bit of time away from home....cheer up..

sorry tweety, jus realised tt i missed ur post:

Nov mummies gathering
CAKE & TEA session
17th dec Mon, 12pm
Venue: Tweety's plc

Please include your email so that i can send you my address. And Please come mummies. You got to come out and not get stuck at home!!

1) Tweety - tweety [email protected]
2) S@L - [email protected]

S@L, yes, we do involve her in doing some of mei-mei's activities and she loves to help! She will also want to kiss and carry mei-mei and we allow her (with adults around!)
However, all these doesn't seem to help as there will be times when my elder gal becomes very unreasonable and cry for nothing and throw tantrums... besides, she's currently attending playgroup in the morning...

Sigh... i feel really fedup sometimes when facing such situations... hopefully these situations will go away by the time i'm back to work...

Tweety, count me in for the gathering! Should be able to attend :p

3) Plim - [email protected]

By the way, we are supposed to bring our little ones there right? How long wld the session be?

Am wondering for those mummies who are attending this session and who are doing total expressing, are you / need to bring the pumsp along or not ah? cos if expressing every 2-3 hrs, means the session will clash with the pumping time... or mayb can skip that 1 pumping session and pump when reach home? :p

Erika, no problem as long as u keep track of the date u store in the same bottle. U can combine but make sure u consume within 48 hours from the latest date and time

plim.

It is totally up to you if you want to bring your little one, but obviously we would love you to bring the baby, so we can all coo and fuss over eachothers precious bundle. I suggest we start at 12pm and you can come and go when and as you please. I will provide refreshments. If anyone can spare their maid to help with the running to and fro to fetch things it will make things soo much easier...hehe

How do you want to do the cakes, shall we each bring our own? Or order? I can also get caterer to bring in some light snacks ;)

S@L, hee..siao..me too. I must control if not how to lose weight. :p

plim, same problem too my son is 33 months and driving me nuts. I cant be hard on him as it is a major adjustment for him. i have to care about his feeling and controlling my anger if I can.

plim,

I sometimes skip my expressing when im busy. my breast will 'let down' and then be back to normal. It doesn't effect my supply. However, you can always borrow my pump if you need to express (I'm using medela mini electric). Just bring along a spare bottle to store and take home.

extract from babycenter about 'growth spurts'

Prior to four months your baby's kidneys are too immature to cope with solids, and it is more difficult for her gastric juices to digest protein.

Also, your baby's neuro-muscular co-ordination will not be well developed, which means that she is unable to maintain the right posture for swallowing. However, it is understandable that, if your baby is constantly hungry, you worry that she isn't getting enough from milk alone.

It is worth considering the following:

She may be having a growth spurt, which often occur at about two, three, and six months. If so, she will soon settle down again to an increased interval between bottles.

She may be ready for a second stage casein-based formula (as opposed to a first stage whey-based milk). But do talk to your health visitor before changing your baby's milk.

Occasionally babies "comfort suck" and appear to be demanding milk when they would perhaps settle for simply being cuddled and responded to in other ways. Gradually, as you become more experienced parents, you'll be able to distinguish a hunger cry from one that indicates a need to be held and comforted.

Hi Plim,

My CL used thermos flask water to 'heat' up the milk. she placed it in a bowl of water. so long as it's not cold to the touch, i guess that is sufficient. i tink barely less than 5 minutes.

Nov mummies gathering
CAKE & TEA session
17th dec Mon, 12pm
Venue: Tweety's plc

3) Yoko - [email protected]

I can bring my maid along to run errands. 12pm is lunch time lei? or 2pm for tea time? Just let me know if u need me to bring anything. Cakes or snacks etc...

Yesterday trying to post but website down.

Rast, my baby on friso. No more BF only formula. 5plus 1 means now promotion buy 5 get 1 free for price of 140.

I also asking jab 6 in 1 what does it inc? I brought my bb for jab on 4th dec for hep B 2nd dose. But PD only arrange jab like 2 moths later on feb 08.
Dokie, what kind of jab are u bringin yr bb? I was wondering why so fast for jab. I also asked PD abt goat's milk she said not proven that it is gd at the moment. Will only give when child is allergic to cow's milk.

Catherine, he can't sit upright. Is the cushion. He look very mature at 21 days.

Having FM the worst thing is my bb constipate. Any idea how to make him poo everyday? Give him water and glucose liao.

dokie me too. yesterday night bb was up from 12 to 3. i give up and gave FM and he slept after finishing from 330am till 715am when he woke up for milk again.

Felt so engorged after skipping that one night feed man.

yoko:: maybe the FM is not suitable for your bb?

s@l and tweety: my email is [email protected]

Hi Yoko,

I am not sure if yours the same case. I gave my boy friso supplement with EBM. He didnt constipate but his bowels very smelly and kinda of hard and like has indigestable 'bean liked' bowels.

I have ytday switched to Dumex Mamil cos he had that when at hospital. Now his bowels are no more like when he had friso.

One other reason why i swtiched the FM is also becos of his merlion-ing after taking Friso the other day. I got scared and thot i better switched back to Dumex which my boy took when in hospital. Perhaps friso is harder to digest for my boy. Maybe.

Yoko, i forced fed my gal water at least 3 times a day to prevent her from being constipated on FM.

Each time, i fed her abt 1-2 oz of water. She will scream and shut but no choice... for her own good. Try not to give babies glucose coz they wont take plain water.

Cindy different time slot if not we could have chatted. ha ha ha...

Tinkabel, your massage aunty coming to my place at 230pm . She is available today and tomo only.
I told her anything. I "sacked" my previous massage lady recommended by my colleague.

dokie ya lohs hahaha.

now i really headache. tried pumping again, only get 60mL, but this morning after no feeding for 1 night, can get 140mL. I don't know what's wrong with bb, don't know if he's small eater or what, last night fed him FM, take only 60mL, then in the morning after expressing, i give him again, fed for almost 45min and still only take 60mL.

sighs. and he feeds like every other hour to 2. goodness. is there something wrong with my SS or what. thinking giving up BF soon already.

k@ye, my boy dun like water too. i will force him to drink.

pig07, Fm plays apart for constipation. U mean u have no prob after feeding DUMEX? seedy poo i tin is normal cos when i feed my boy EBF and FM oso same type of poo as yr bb.

Cindy,
Dun give up..if you wanna pump, then I suggest you have to pump regularly to get more. Eversince I've kept the routine of pumping 4 times a day, each session I can get about 120-180ml. Notice that my letdown is quite slow, the sprays and jets will only start after 15mins of pumping..so we have to be patience.