(2007/11) November MTBs

sharron,
you might want to check out Eatz, i ordered from them b4, not bad la..it also doesn't charge gst. should we order high tea food so that it's easier to eat? (cos mostly finger foods & cakes..hehe)
anyway can check out their webbie..
http://www.eatzcatering.com/menu.html

hope Ashton gets better soon! keep sponging him to keep the fever down. and hope it isn't the Roseola...that time Eliza got it we wondered for 3 days why she had fever...even after going to the doc. not sure if need to bring to hosp if it's 39.2c.. cos Eliza's fever go up & down..and it did get as high as that.

S@L,
wow...the skirt & tops are so niceeee....heee gals are so fun to dress up! i wanted to sew something for Eliza but aiyah...no time...keep putting it off.

lazykat, no la cannot sell at a premium price..lagi worse....nobody will buy. Its like tat...Spore rather pay more for 'imported' stuff...locally made are deemed supposedly cheaper.

weishy, cannot cos most of my stuff are preorders only. i do not make them ready for sales cos i prefer customising them.Will see how if i can i bring some along.

as for the bee BP, its long over liao....u didnt see? it was a big hoo-ha....i was jus telling my fren when there was a BP selling that Bee for $700+ which is suppose to be a steal already. Then i jokingly told her if the price is ard $500+ i will sure grab one! who knows a few days later another BP really sold the Bee at that price! hahaha so i grab lo!

I cant find the thread now, i think it has been removed.

Hi Sharron,

GP ever mentioned that high fever to go hospital will be 40 degree.. but i personally find that too high.

If at any point that you dont feel comfy, quickly bring him to doctor. Also, night time will be the time the temp will surge.. remember to keep sponging and bring the temp down even if in middle of the night.

S@L:eek:ic.....har thread also gone ar hehhehehhehe,surely it'll be a hoohah!i wont maybe buy and sell here in hkg kekkekekkeke but use it for awhile first hohoohohohoho.

Thanks Weishy, maybe will try that.

Sharron, hope Ashton will get well soon. If his temperature get too high, its better to see a pd. Personally, I will feel better after bring my son to the pd.

sharron,
is ashton better today already?
i was given 'high fever' medicine by PD before, sorry, can't really recall the name. It's usually administered for fever above 38.5 degrees. you might want to ask for that from PD the next time u visit them.

S@l, dun worry lah.. Can sell at a premium, as long as u re using good quality materials... Got ppl buy one... Like me, i cannot anyhow buy cheapo clothes for Claire coz of her sensitive skin.....

Weishy, coz Claire is heaty that's y muscus green lor... I think my gal body is heaty by nature... That's y...

The BEE!!! -> Rolls Royce of Stollers? Mabbe if i see u ladies at the gathering, i wanna let Claire try!!!

Sharron, my family doctor told me that fever at 39 degrees best to send to hospital.

My colleague personal experience is that if possible dun send to KKH. His daughter running high fever, wait & wait at KKH. Then those doctors dunno want to do a series of tests on her and hospitalised her. He rejected and brought her daughter to Gleneagles where she is born.

The doctor immediately managed to bring her fever down without any hospitalisation.

Pig, yup.. The doctor also gave me that for her blocked nose but Claire hates that.

She screamed & thrashed abt when we tried to administer on her blocked nose.

Fever:
Personally I think if fever reaches 39, should go consult the PD. Garreth was prescribed with 3 types of meds, strong (Paracetamol), stronger (can't rem the name, but it's orange colour), strongest (suppositries - to insert into the anus), we have to monitor him to give him the appropriate meds for the 3 days. I think going to KKH is quite useless, cos' they conducted urine and blood tests on him and took almost an hr+ for the results to be out. The stupid doc even suspected my boy having dengue when he wasn't stung at all! Then insisted us to bring him back the next day to have blood test again..so duh!

sorry ah, wat is the BEE? seems like very 'tok kong' from the way u all describe it! hehehe... i swa-ku dunno wat is that... got picture or not?

Weishy, my Mum gave her barley on & off and sometimes American ginseng. I suspect it could either she was chilled during swimming last Sat or at Bugis Junction.

Plim, you can go to this website www.bugaboo.com to check out the BEE. It costs $999 at Mothercare. This brand was also featured in Sex & the City!

vaccination:

my boy finishes all the vac when 6 mth so the next mth is when 18 mths. Like very long hor? did his vac at KKH, is that normal?

enrichment class / flash cards:

anyone of you going for enrichment class? wanna share your experience? doing any flash cards?

I have been trying to do glenn doman methods but very lazy so on and off so wonder if effective or not, does it really helps, my boy still like gong gong, playing and trying to grab everything, occassionally will lift up his arms when i said arm up, or bye bye but depends on his mood, he still got that bo chap attitude when i try to teach him stuff so sometimes I kinda of discourage and motivation down too when he simply bo chap me leh, he cannot guai guai sit down for me to read story book, will crawls away and grab other stuffs, common hor with your bb? so sometimes i wonder if bb at their age now are all the same? at times, he will said mum mum when comes to food, or when crying and screaming and wants me to carry, then say ma ma ma ma ma.... , so i wonder if he really knows how to say or just coincidence, when you asked him to say, then he looks at you like as if he dun understand you at all :-(

sharron,

fever:

as long as bb is still active, eating well, drinking well, poo poo well, it should be okay soon, only need to worry if bb becomes lethargic, my boy is with my 2.5 years nephew during daytime so once my nephew sick, that's it. so almost every mth also running nose, flu lor, fever should not persist for more than 3 days. and for flu, usually 1 week to clear fully, usual routine all the times, give pandol if got fever, drop nose drop at night and lift up his head for better sleeping position and no air con if got running nose, the rest just monitor, no choice. if on air con then will drag longer.

kaye,

those strollers very heavy leh, I will not be able to handle on my own :-( that's why my choice is always the lighter the possible and one hand type. Been using Aprica which i bought from japan but problem is japanese model usually quite small lor.

Happy, Claire also similiar like your boy. Wants to eat, will "mum mum"... Then wants me to carry or anything buey song, will "Ma" loudly... Then i will ask her, u calling me? She gives me such a funny expression!

Yup, Japanese strollers are lighter but small. Now, Claire's legs are dangling when we lay her flat to sleep in her Combi stroller.

If i have a car, i might consider getting the Bee. Strokke is too expensive & way out of Budget.

hi mummies - Ashton is still having fever but better at 37.6degree this morning. The nanny monitored his temperature last night and it went up and down between 37.6 to 38 (max). I just called the PD and he told to feed him with the paracetamol he gave him the last time and monitor his temperature.

Hospital - Yes I heard from many pple that KKH is not so good after all. One of my galfrined brought her son because of high fever - they did not attend to him immediately and she had to bluff the nurse that he just vomitted so got to see the doc IMMEDIATELY! She was waiting with the son surrounded by many sick children who were either coughing or sneezing! How can the child not get infected by them even though he had only fever! I told my hubby last night that we will send Ashton to NUH if his temp shoot up to 39 last night. NUH has the child A&E service and was told they are efficient. At least dont have to wait so long like in KKH. Also some of the nurses or even doctors are foreigners and this really put me off! Sorry if I am being biased but I still trust the PDs here.

Buggy - I must STORKE is very cool and nice BUT with the $2000 price tag - i can buy many things for Ashton.

Catering - Eatz looks ok - i will tidy up the latest attendance list later and update you guys again.

Thanks,
Sharron

Happy - Thanks for the advice. Ashton is drinking and sleeping ok. Still laughed when we tried to cheer him up this morning. I am also using the Aprica stroller - light and easy to handle. I was just looking at it last week and find that its a bit small but my hubby said its ok. The Aprica lady told me that this stroller can be used till the baby is 3 years old and we sent for servicing last week. Without any charges ; )

Enrichment Classes / Flash Cards - Only brought Ashton to Gymoboree. Will sign him up for Shichida soon......

K@ye and all eyeing the Storkke pram...hiaz if i knew u all wan would hv told u abt the BP....the price was $1200+ only! really a steal. Weishy dunno by then my pram arrive alreaddy or nt....crossing my fingers...if nt u can ask mummy Grace to bring hers and let u all test drive *Grace, dun bash me ah!*

Plim, no need la ur PP stroller also very cool
liao!

<font color="ff0000">Need some serious help here! Any mummies+daddies here are civil servants? I need to confirm my chalet urgently...the ones i applied for balloting all not successful. and to my horror, all the venues i wan at Pasir Ris are fully bookeD! This time i wan to book those Chalets at Changi Aloha..but its nt opened to public until Sep! If booked thru civil servant then its ok. Any one can help? I jus need the IC no. to book and the documents upon check in on that day....</font>

Wow, Grace got the Bee... Okie, Grace must show off and do a demo okie.... Hehee!

S@l, we protect u from Grace! :p

Strokke pram very easy to manouver but $1.2k is still very expensive... Can buy an air tickets to HK to visit my Auntie!

ueno, sharron,

ueno,

you find the shicida useful? you sahm? how young your bb started? i will start maybe in oct class

sharron,

you starting soon? in oct? i bring my boy to gymboree for trial too but only 1 lesson, and in the end, prefer to go with friends and their bb, the same anyway but cheaper, $12 per hour instead of class, also use the same thing and can do the socialising with friends kids there too, maybe next time we can go together during play gym

Latest List for Gathering on Aug 31 :

1. Weishy, Hayley and HB (2A 1BB 1 Helper) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
2. Kaye &amp; Claire (1A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
3. Gemini, bb and HB (2A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
4. Sharon, Ashton and HB ((2A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
5. Happy, bb and HB (2A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
6. Catherine, bb and HB (2A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
7. SusanY, bbJaxten, sis GyAnn and HB (2A 1BB 1 TOD) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
8. Skye skye, bb Eliza (1A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
9. Cactus &amp; Eagan (1A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
10. S@L w Mischa + HB + Boy (2A 1BB+ 1 TOD) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
11. grace w Ashlyn and HB (1A 1BB)<font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
12. Plumsource w Luis + Maid (1A 1BB 1 Helper)<font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
13. langlao, ashlee &amp; HB (2A 1BB)CONFIRMED <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>
14. Poissons, garreth &amp; Hubby (2A 1BB) <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED</font>

<font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED Attendance : 23 Adults 14 Babies 2 Toddlers &amp; 2 Helpers</font>

Happy - Shichida school has a long waiting list, apparently the next available class is in the first quarter of 2009. You have to go down to the school to register and put a deposit in order to secure a place. My friend's son attended the class when he was 9 months old and he is now 2 years old.

Gymoboree - I was thinking to put Ashton in the class. Yes we can go together the next round for their play gym...

happy,
L started when he was 6mths old. Just like what sharron shared, they have a long wait list, have u registered? L can concentrate when i do flashcards with him, he will sit through n focus.
I brought him for JG playgroup when he was 8.5mths old, just finished 1 term. Its really fun, lots of interaction with other babies. I am SAHM. what abt u?

Playgroup/ Gymboree:
I would like to get my girl involve too.. pls do let me know when is the next round ok? want to register her too.

Hi Happy,

Kiros had his 3rd vaccination at month 7 plus, i tink. And doc (PD) said the next one will be 12 month old developmental check up and also chicken pox vaccine (optional) and then punemo (optional)

Why dont you refer to yr child's health booklet? if i am not wrong, there should be a developmental check up at 12 months, then 18 months, then 36 months... i recall so cos i was the one whom brought my sis's boys for all the follow up..

Hi Sharron,

Ya.. my fren had bad experience with kkh a&amp;e also.

Also, for high fever i tink there is a type of tablet to insert into the anus.. that one seems to work wonders on high fever. Temp will come down very sharply. But not sure if they prescribe that for babies. As we used that on my nephew when he was 3year old plus.

sharron,ueno

me going to be a sahm after next monday, yipee horray but kinda of financially insecure now, when the last day drawn nearer, i start to think of my bank account :-(

yes, registered and paid $300 for priority queue in shicida for Oct in take, wanted to join the Jul intake but full lor

my son loves to grab things so when i flashes him card and put it away, he will make the noises, i wonder whether he wants more or just want to take the cards, so i flashes him another set and while flashing he kept quiet but once finished, he makes noise, what does that means huh, or he wanted to get out of the cot that i put him in ???

now my boy is attending baby jumper gym in bukit batok and supposed to go growing up gifted but becos 12 babies in a class so very crowded and now he dun enjoy the music and singing as much as those older bb so i thought wait till he is one year old, then bring him to growing up gifted away and after i join shicida will re-access if i wanted to drop out from bb jumper gym, anyway they are similar in using flash cards.

ueno,

when you first started in shicida, is it messy with all the bb crying and making noise and then the rest cannot concentrate too? worry about that

mambobb,
you wanted to put your gal in a gymboree class? you can call them up anytime and bring her there, no need to wait till term start, can just join midway as long as got vacancy. 12 babies with one parent so to me that is alot, program on making use of the facilities and socialising the bbs so i thought i can achieve that by going with friends too, playgym an hour is $12( parents, maids, anyone can go there with babies and let babies play), but for class, per lesson is about $45, 46?

pig,

my boy already got pnemococal jab, i think chicken pox is 18 mths, told to go back only after 18 mths.

in KKH, you got to choose the dr, be it gynae or pd, if the KKH pd that i want is not available I look for Dr Irene Chan in paragon, she was from KKH too. Those good doctors in KKH are really good and they are reasonable too, will not ask you to do or pay unnecessary for services, treatment or medicine but the lousy ones are really lousy, scary somemore. My gynae in KKH told me no choice cos KKH is a training hospital so sometimes things tend to happen like this :)

Hi happy,

Kiros is a kkh baby. The pd whom saw him during his stay at kkh was a female pd by name eeerrr... i couldnt remember liao. They did ask if i want to let kiros have his future jabs and follow up at kkh PS which i declined.

Currently kiros seeing this PD at rivervale mall, kids clinic. her name is dr lilian lim.. she was also previously from kkh..just that the clinic is always super crowded.

IF seeing them at kkh PS is almost same price as PD, i rather see a PD then go all way to KKH.

Chicken pox at 18 months ah.. if you feel that you want them to see yr boy earlier at 12 months, then you may want to check with them if can have the chicken pox at 12 months.

k@ye,
saw the Bee liao... looks indeed nice! no wonder so many 'flowers' want the Bee! hehehe...

S@L,
yala, my PP served us well, had it since my elder gal time and still very well-kept and sturdy!

Happy, Claire's PD is also Dr Irene Chan.

Will be sending Claire to Dr Irene Chan for her next pnemo jab when she is 12 mths old.

I agree with Pig, rather go to the PD than KKH pte clinic. KKH even if make appt, have to wait till crazy... Rather go PD...

Plim, hehe... Now u know why the Bee is sought after!

pig,
we share the same PD, I personally quite like Dr Lillian Lim, quite a detailed person. But really super crowded.

Plim,
your PP not cheap also, dun u find it a bit heavy?

I thought the Bee looks a bit small leh? Tho very stylish of course..

lazykat,
yeah.. i find her very gentle. Once she was not in and we had to see allyson. Allyson is good also. but i prefer lilian to her as lilian looks more approachable.

lazykat,
ya, not cheap but got my elder bro to sponsor at that time... hahaha...
and yes, it's a hefty 7 or 8kg, so most of the time it sits in the boot of the car and i hardly carry it around if i hv to take public transport, would rather juz carry her :p

pig07,
agree she has a certain gentle touch that i like. The other PD I saw at TMC was simply horrific, so commercialized and blah blah a lot so fast until i catch no ball..

plim,
my stroller also permanently standby in the car cos i wont be able to single handedly carry and manage the heavy stroller. So u flying off soon eh.. to Goldcoast if i rem correctly?

S@l,
I think many dates, esp Sat all snapped up even at Aloha Loyang leh.. the ID that we use to secure the booking is my hubby's fren's wife, so prob not convenient to mah fan them. But i can try asking hubby tonite for u (he not in SG). Eh, i thot we hv some teachers here right? Was it Cindy?

S@L,
wah, u got protection from the mummies ah abt asking me to bring my bee for demo. heee i so scared.

Kaye,
i dont think i will be bringing the bee lah cos i am going there alone, hubb is working the previous nite and need to sleep. wont be able to manage the stroller and bb. Normally if i go out alone, it will just be Beco. Paiseh ah..

lazykat,
in fact i'm flying out the night juz b4 the gathering! and yes, to GC...

S@L, lazykat,
i think hor, if i'm not wrong, the ID can only be used once (for that year or quarter or dunno wat period), so if it's been used recently to book already, then better to use another ID...

Ms Gadget Queen (aka Grace),
u spent money on "gadgets" again ah...haha..but the "bee" is really nice, juz now saw it at great world city.

Any mummies work around great world area?

happy,
Thank God! the babies in our class r all v well-behaved. they will ask u to bring yr baby out of the class if its too noisy. Which slot r u taking? n which ctr? im at springleaf, fri 1215.

Plim, u must have a mouse on your hand for carrying Bevis! Btw, what s PP, my turn to be swaku!

Hehe, me ah.. If i go out alone with Claire, i will bring her Pikkolo &amp; stroller. If just short distance, then its Pikkolo... Long haul, must bring stroller along!

Grace, no chance to see demo.. Just have to depend on S@l liao if she is going to show off or got her Hot Pink Bee!

My Mum just called me and told me that Claire is super glue now... Refused to sleep &amp; sticky to her! Now the nanny subtly told us not to bring her there till she has recovered.... Sigh, and i can't take leave to look after her...

Being a Mum isn;t easy these days!