(2007/11) November MTBs

Weishy, baby yogurt?? Hmm, can give me the brand name etc? Wanna google on it! If my sis gets posted to London for work, i can ask her to get it for me!

Dreamer, actually knocks and bumps are part of growing up for babies especially for active babies like Claire. I just dun like the way my Mum, Auntie & sis sounded as if i purposely let Claire knocked her head. Btw, butter is a good remedy for dispating the bruised blood. Claire's bump subsided once my Aunties rubbed butter on her forehead.

Hi Kittybride,

Perhaps your nanny is jus the typical naggy type. Let her say what she wants la. so long your gal is happy with her and putting on weight. Guess she will dote on your gal too since your gal is spending so much time with her.

Yoghurt

if i am not mistaken hor, i saw from cold storage before a brand of yoghurt suitable for babies from 7 month old. Yoplait (cant remember if this is how you spell it)..

This particular brand has for toddler, and infant. Hence look out for the correct one. It has no fruit bits in it.

Hi Kaye,

Knocks and bruises are bo bian one.perhaps your mum and auntie feel the pain so much that they sounded out and 'accused' you..

butter?! hmmmm, good idea. I always like to use zambuk, but for fear that if part of it gets into the mouth accidentally then jiat lat liao.. So butter seems like a good alternative.

Pig, yalor... Find that they re more kan cheong abt Claire than me. Small things happen to her will make me worry unnecessarily.

Okie, thanks for the brand of yoghurt. Wanna let Claire try to see whether will it improve her eczema skin!

Oh, another remedy for broken lips. If the lips bleed hor, apply fine sugar on the lips, it will stop bleeding and the baby will lick the lips!

k@ye, thankx for the tip on butter

agree with u that knocks and bruises are part of growing up ... that's y cannot be too hard on ourselves! hehehe.

and our babies are hardier than we imagine! if i don't make a fuss when kaira knocks herself (of course after making the judgement that it's not a serious knock)....she will have a moment of "stunned look", then after seeing that i smile at her...., she too will smile and continue with whatever she's doing ... so, i am comforted by the fact that she's not hurt lah! else she sure cry like crazy!

K@ye:its "little RACHEL's organic" yogurt,really cheap think less than 2 pounds for a pack of 4(its the most expensive on the rack already,cos they hv local brands lile sansbury even cheaper.me just try out first so bought only 1 pack.

http://www.rachelsorganic.co.uk/products/childrensrange/

this is their website.
the supermarket sells cheap organic veggies too....can't help it but bought carrots and potatoes hehehheheh

hey mummies, nice to meet you and ur babies at the trial class today. Too bad, we went off in a huff coz hubby's stomach grumbling liao...

Ashlee is really active and Ying Ching has got a really black and shiny hair. Damien looks tall, just like his parents.

How do you find the class? Am considering to sign up but then this is the 1st trial class i've attended. Any feedback?

dreamer@hk,
gd to know Kaira's eating better
Eliza's still eating ok...but once i start introducing food she doesn't like, it's end of meal. she'll push the spoon away & refuse to open her mouth. i find that most fruit cereal i bought from Organix is sour, even the apples i puree & other Heinz stuff...so fruits seem to be a sad intro for her. oh even carrots too! but she still loves her brown rice & recently started barley cereal frm Healthy Times.
gonna try green veg next week..

skye, how much of the barley cereal do u feed eliza for each feed? i don't know how much to give .. usually make 4 (milk powder) scoops + puree ...

k@ye ... claire and your sis looks abit alike!

larryle, nice meeting you & the rest too. The class gave me a "homely" feel esp with Pat singing away. I feel max 8 babies might be too small. My DH prefers Little Gym tho more commercial & every week same songs & routine. The set up is pretty small too, I guess it's ok for now as our babies are still not so mobile. I'll post some pic/videos on my blog soon. It's no joke updating a blog with 7 mth' backlog but I'm nearly thr

Gillian,
yeap i tried it..and yes it tastes sweeter than normal apples. but not bb doesn't seem to agree leh...mayb coz it's her first try..just that she prefers chewing from the actual apple itself. somehow pureeing it changes the taste a lil bit.

dreamer@hk,
i use those medicine spoon (the bigger one which writes there 5ml) cos i can't find any milk powder scoops at home! i think 5ml = 1 teaspoon & 15ml = 1 tablespoon.
So far i put abt 3-5 scoops of 5ml which should equate to be abt 1-2 tablespoon of brown rice/cereal + 1 teaspoon organic apple&pear cereal. not sure if i should increase more...since she seems to be able to eat more.
gonna try puree veg like spinich & broccoli next week.

anyone tried grinding ikan bilis to add to cereal/porridge?

skye, i wld like to try adding ikan bilis to porridge next. Have not tried as I dunno which type to buy. This weekend use veg stock to cook porridge & DD was happy eating it

Ashlee's blog: www.simashlee.blogspot.com

I've added links to Nov babies' blog, let me know if I missed anyone out.

I've also uploaded some of the videos i took at Kampong Playhouse.

RE: Studio Photos
We brought Ashlee to Foto U today, she fell asleep on the way thr in the car & we had to wake her up for the shoots. Initially she was happy but got cranky after a while. Here's some of the photos taken:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/11701617@N03/show/with/2580754872/

Thanks Langlao, will check out Little Gym one of these days.

Nice photos of Ashlee. Me also contemplating to sign up a package with foto u. Who's your photographer?

good morning, how are u??
Finally back in office...

Last weekend was so tiring for me and hubby.
Aaron was down with cough and runny nose.
But he was still very active.
After he learnt how to stand up with support, he kept wanting to stand.
Whenever we put him in his cot, he will hold on to the railing and stand up.
When we put him on the floor he will crawl out of his boundaries and stand up with the support of the wall or sofa.
The funny thing is tat we can see tat he is physically very tired oledi leh, cos gave him cough medicine mah, but he still cannot stay still and sleep leh, he keeps getting up when i "wrestled" him down.

My hubby tot it is very dangerous to put him in his cot now, so we bought a mattress and let him sleep on the floor last nite.
Guess wat, he woke up in the middle of the night and crawled ard..

How how??

Morn ladies!

Dreamer, hehe... Yup, quite a few ppl commented that Claire and my sis looked very alike... Also, to most ppl, my Sis and I also looked alike!

Too bad, i din hv any chance to go for the Playhouse date! If there's any more such stuff, keep me informed, i m keen coz i want Claire to interact with more babies ard her age!

ZZZ, wow Aaron so active! I m dreading the days when Claire starts to cruise around!!! Claire also very active at nite before she sleeps.

Something to lament abt in the morn!

So pissed off with my SIL, she put a dip of mayo on Claire's lips even though i said no! Heng, Claire din flare up too much!! If not, i will make a din at the wedding banquet.

K@ye- some people jus tink we're uptight wen they dun know dat sometimes our child r allergic to certain stuff!! Tsk Tsk - i will get irritated too if I were u.

haha k@ye,
the pic makes me laugh, so cute..

ya lor aaron very active..
i tink my nightmare start liaoz..
my hubby oso was tired out by him...
he cannot lie down for a min 1 leh, the moment we lay him down, he will flip and stand..*faintz*

but its quite amusing oso lah..
cos he doesnt quite know how to sit down from his standing position yet..
so he will test water and let go his hands before he fall on his butts..hahaha
then sometimes when he lose his balance and fall while moving ard the corner, his face will be so stunned tat he fell...hahaha

=( so sad i missed the trial class. the babies looked like they enjoyed themselves. did i hear some babies "singing" along?

langlao,
ashlee is so chubby & cute. my fav photo is the one where she had her hat on. so sweet...

zzz,
wow! aaron is so active! Jo is still learning to stand up. yday he kept clinging on me & try to stand. v farnie sight. we dun let him go near the walls. scare he bump his head. did u lower aaron's cot to the lowest level? shouldn't it be ok? or u might wanna consider getting play-yard to go ard his mattress. at least it's not so dangerous when he crawls ard at nite. hope he get well soon!

k@ye,
ur SIL is so ...... *ARGH* did u tell her off after tat?

Poochi, yalor... They just dun understand abt it.

Zzz, yalor... My hubby managed to capture it when she is making that face!

Now, her fave hobby is making funny faces & playing with her saliva. My Mum always "scold" her for doing that instead of learning how to clap her hands etcc.. Coz my Mum teaches her how to clap her hands....

catherine,

its at the lowest oledi! but sometimes he wants to sit down or when he falls then he will hit his head against the railings and the FP soother which we attached to the railings..
my hubby oso scared he will try to climb out of the cot even if its oledi at the lowest level...

i oso tot of buying play yard but like very poor thing like tat leh, sleep oso muz confine him..hahaha

but dun confine oso dangerous, cos wall corners and switches and stuff very dangerous oso..
yest he juz bumped his head against the edge of the platform cos he doesnt know how to manage height differences yet...haiz

Catherine, i din tell her off. I only tell her about Claire's reaction to stuff, so she diam diam and has a paiseh look...

I just hope next time, they dun anyhow feed stuff to her!

aiya k@ye,

its like tat leh, sometimes i feel those pple, kid not theirs hor, they not sim tia..
they juz try to make the bb happy without tinking of consequences or how the parents would react..
my father oso always say wanna give sweets to my boy, wanna bring him to 7-eleven like how he spolit my nephew and niece last time..
then my brothers also keep wanting or asking me to feed him food tat we eat

so i tink the only thing we can do is try to keep a closer eye..cos if anything happen, wanna turn face oso difficult..

zzz,
must remember to child-proof ur whole house since aaron is so active. is he taken care by nanny during the daytime? u should "inspect" ur nanny's place & make sure it's ok too.
Jovan's bottom 2 teeth also came out last week. last few nites he's been v cranky at bedtime, must rub teething gel & give him teething ring b4 he'll go to sleep willingly. last mon i was stil telling the mummies here tat he still "bo gay", then suddenly his teeth just pop out. hahaha

k@ye,
we've been teaching Jovan to clap, signal hello & wave goodbye. now he just suddenly know how to signal his wish to be carried. strange lor. oh got one time (3 weeks back), Jovan signal hello to a 1yr+ kid, his mother was so suprised. i heard her say to her HB "wah 6 months old can signal hello" after tat when the father went off with the kid, Jovan waved goodbye to the kid. the father's eyes opened so big. i think Jovan liked tat kid lah, coz after tat i rarely see him signal hello or wave goodbye. hahahaha

Good morning mummies,
Can i pour my frustration here? I wrote in to my Town Council with regards to the increasing no. of mosquitoe in my hse months ago. I'm staying at a point block connecting 2 blocks and beside my unit is a roof slab connecting my block and another. Hence, i strongly suspect the mosquitoes must be from there as there were occasions whr i witnessed mosquitoes flying into my hse!

I wrote to Town council, they say will "look into it" but no updates. I din really chase aft them coz it kinda tone down aft sometime (seasonal problem). Then, these few weeks it got worst. 2 weeks ago, i slept with my boy in a non-aircon room, guess what, i got biten ALL OVER my face. My eye was swollen, my forehead, cheek, neck, ear, arms and legs all got bitten! Am not exaggerating here. I woke up umteen times that night. Actually wanted to pull up the blanket and cover up my entire body, but worried the mosquitoes got nothing to bite and wld attack my boy, so i threw the blanket away. Sob, the next morning i fnd 2 mos bites on my boy's arm. Very angry! So, i wrote to NEA to complain, they said they'll take action and update me, but no news aft 2 weeks. So i wrote in again, this time round cc my town council and NEA and ask for their follow up action. NEA said want to come to my hse to help spray insecticide which is very "Powerful, the mosquitoe get in contact and will die immediately". I immediatley said "No" coz wouldnt that be too much for my boy? I told them i dun mind them coming to my hse and am very sure my hse is not the mos breeding grnd coz i dun have any fish tank, plants, etc and we always make sure the pails are keep facing dwn to avoid stagnant water.

Just last wk, the news reported lotsa mos breeding grnd in Thomson Rd, Teacher's Estate and the source were mainly from roof top. That further worries me coz the roof beside my unit is much bigger than those landed property and it's not fair coz i dun own it and have no access to check it. I told them i wish i cld climb over to settle the issue myself and they were worried and thot i was serious and told me not to.

I was desparate and went to my neighbour staying at the other blk and having the same roof beside their unit to see if they have the same problem. True enuff, they wrote in a complaint to Town council, and they too have a toddler at home and are worried.

I'm really at my wits end coz we've purchased all nec mosquitoe repellent, patch, anti-mosquite devices at home. I'm keep it a last straw, i will write in to the papers and see my MP shld they still sit on my problem.

Phew...feel better now. Sorry for the long post on a Monday morning:p

Cactus, wow... So jialat ah... Keep the letters going... If not they won't act on it one, one of my Mum's neighbour told us that they also got some problem with their gas pipe.

They asked the Town Council for assistance. They taichi them to different depts. But they din give up, they complain and complain till the problem is resolved.

Catherine, ya... I believe our babies are capable of doing anything.. It just depends on whether they want to do it. Like Claire, she will on go backwards but if she sees something she likes in front of her, she will crawl forward and lunge for it!

Zzz, thank god my Mum dun anyhow give stuff to Claire to eat. My Mum is a firm believer of no unneccessary junk food to babies. If not, i will have problem with that also!

langlao,
u got quite alot of pics of ashlee too...its nice =)

kaye,
the pic of her in the morning is soo cute..

catusnah,
oooohh, i hope the mosquitos get killed soon.. so horrible.

zzz,
i also thinking of buying a play yard but house no space already. too much chuncky stuff. so she is still in her cot.

she was horrible last night, refuse to sleep from 7.30 to 10.30pm... then finally woke up at every hour after that. i couldnt take it and she slept with me on my bed as hubby was on nite shift.
so shagged.

Good morning mummies.. wow.. that's a very long threads to follow up

cact: I understand how you feel coz whenever there are someone spraying those fumes into the drains which is supposed to kill mosquitoes and forced them out.. in return, my house is the next resort to all the mosquitoes.. they will fly in to "take cover".. very angry and scare the mos. will bite my ger too..
I have to keep looking out for the mos. and need to keep my ger 24hrs by myside so that the mos would rather bite me than my ger.. I think its good to keep on writing if there isnt any actions taken. How can govt keep on telling us to keep our area free from mos. breeding and they dont do anything to help us, right? heehee.. jiayou.. me spiritually support you

zzz: wow.. ur boy wants to stand liao huh.. my girl now dont even know how to crawl yet.. she likes to stand on her feet though but she cant support herself yet.. ur boy very fast hor.. must look at him all the times liao since he is more active.

Little Gym room:
mummies, if there is any trial class for little gym, i would like to give my girl a try.. yest she just cried for no reason when a stranger just talked to the waitress.. she is easily scare.. sobsob.. I do bring her shopping arnd once in a while leh.. wonder why she was frightened just by the conversation between the "uncle & auntie"..

Teething Biscuit:
Any brand which does not consist sugar and salt? I went to look arnd and mostly have salt which states need to make the biscuit hard.

Catherine

we can meet for lunch

Great meeting up the mummies, enjoy it too but tired after that, with all the carrying etc...

Will check out Little Gym later. There's another one, Seimpi Music School which I'm considering also.

K@ye, I like that look by Claire.

any mummies giving babies Nan? I have a new can of 400g Nan2 if interested can pass to u city hall lunchtime. Cos my bb on enfa and I got the sample fr nestle.

Mosquitoes: The entire family paranoid liao, keep staring in blank looking for mosquitoes. Yup, i'll not let the matter rest esp aft i found a mos bite on my boy's right inner eyes. Took pic and archive, will mail it out when nec.

Langlao & K@ye: Ha ha...looking @ yr gal's photo bring my temperature down. They're so cute and innocent.

Hi Kaye,

Claire is so cute.. your sil so irresponsible lor.. if her own kid i wonder how will she react..

I think many of our babies are making funny faces and also 'ah buuuuu' using their mouth..

Hi Catusnah,
I thought NEA takes serious view about mosquitoes breeding? i remembered the last time they were being complained by someone and then the MP like assured us that all hotlines are mended and actions will be taken immediately.But that could be when dengue was 'hot'.. nevertheless, continue to persist them.

mummies.. my ger just turn 7mth yest and have put on the BIG BOW on her again.. this time round she didnt like the headband on her head.. kept pulling down..

1491555.jpg

so I remove the headband and clip the BigBow on her instead..

ta-da.. viola.. hehee..
1491556.jpg

Mambobb: Hee...so cute. Think the bow suits her. Will it be painful to clip the big bow on her hair? Kee kee..i dunno since i cant try it on my boy, or maybe i shld? Ha ha...

cact: actually hor.. i didnt know that the bow can clip on her hair since her hair is so thin and little.. i gave it a try and was soooo surprise that it can be clipped on.. i was laughing all the way bcoz she is sooo cute with the clip on.. haha.. yest brought her out with the clip on again.. she managed to pull it down 2 times -_-"...

cactus, u poor thing got hui rong or not? better combine efforts with your neighbour & dun let the matter rest till something is done.

mambobb, the bow is nice leh. very sweet on your darling.

Grace, my girl was so moody halfway that she din get to sit on the round cane chair which I like very much, so sad
She was so cranky till the photographer asked if can give her some biscuits. He was so shock when i gave the teething biscuit cos he made this commment "wa so big eat til when can finish?" haha. He was quite desperate to make her smail again but quite fruitless so in the end we only spent 45 mins.

Hee hee...NEA called said they managed to find quite a few mosquitoe breeding sites at my neighbourhood but refused to tell me where coz confi. Said the MRT construction site below my block is one of it. Anyway, as long as it is settle and they monitor the situation, i'm fine. NEA said they have instructed town council to follow their instructions closely and will spot check them regularly. At least now i can smile.

Langlao: I "hui rong" ah, that time my right eye swollen and hand till nw got scar liao. Sian...
Hey, yr ah gal pic not bad le, at least she din cry ma. My DH set up his "studio" over the weekend to take pic for Eagan. Sala timing coz half wat thru is his milk time, then sleepy oso. Told DH if we go studio, lugi le coz more than half an hr gone. Also, we dun hve much prop so DH let him play his own shoe. Kee kee...will try to do it again. Quite fun