(2007/11) November MTBs

mambobb, i tried her on earth's best pear puree.

i initially quite demotivated abt feeding her as well ... so din even bother making the puree ...juz buy a bottle and let her "play play" -- saw her response quite ok...then this week, i started making the butternut squash puree ;p and so far she taking it quite OK ... hope she continues that way!

next thing i am going to try is avocado ... hope she is OK with it. cos personally, i am not a fan of avocado;p

my mum was telling me last time she/my grandma fed me porridge with liver!!! as young as 6 months!!

last time really different ....

Wow wow.. so many well wishes..thank you everyone..

Ya.. one boy and one gal. me also thinking of closing factory after this. but part of me thinking of having a total of 3 kids also.. hahaha.. very ambitious hor.. hahahaha..

Hi Cactusnah,

me usually sleeps at 2am (playing games on internet) and wakes up at 11am..I was expecting a gal this time. dont know lei. somehow the maternal instinct says so. but anyway gynae says 90%.. so... its still not so firmed yet..

Oh ok, thnks! Looks like I hv to get pass the phase of getting her to eat cereal and puree first. My girl is 19nov.

Yeah, I remember NTUC and Cold Storage has Gerber and Heinz. I bot quite a lot of Gerber puree during the motherhood sale coz its CHEAP.

Sigh, last time it was so different compared to now. Now we hv to be so careful with what we eat esp if bf. Dun tink last time, pple were too educated abt bfg also.

mambobb: theres HT(healthy times) and Gerbers besides Heinz puree. Can try Cold Storage or MarketPlace. Teething biscuit depends on ur bb.. my gal also bo geh but she has been biting and rubbing v hard on the teething toys so tot she will like it but she seems abit irriated wif the biscuit.

dreamer@hk: u can try adding apple into the avacado to make it more palatable- i did dat to get rid of the strong avaocado taste.

Puree: mummies, thank you so much for all the different brands of bottle puree
.. will go down and take a look and try to buy some for her to try. btw, how abt the teething biscuits? i tot some mummies mentioned there are salt and bb cannot take salt now..???

mambobb,
yah u can pear puree. supposed to be a fav with most babies. Jo loves it! u can find those teething biscuits with no sugar & salt. look carefully at the ingredients.

dreamer@hk,
i think it's not last time. it's the thinking of our mothers' generation. my ma told me i started taking semi-solid at 3 months, fish & meat at 5m+. then she told me her fren feed her grandchild coffee when the child was only 4 months old!! wah i hear already nearly wan to faint. then i keep "warning" my mother not to give Jo anything else other than wat i instruct her every morning.

catherine:
I have tried to give her pear with banana puree from heinz and she gave me the sour face.. so i tot she doesnt like sour taste.. hmm.. maybe i will try to buy the pear puree again to let her try.. if she really doesnt like it then i eat lor.. haha..

i heard from my fren that her maid from indonesia one, they will feed their bb with coffee when they are just 2-3mths niah.. -_-" faintz lor.. how can they do that to their bb when their stomach is not that strong and still feed caffine to them.. O_O"

mambobb,
2m feed coffee?! *pengz* my mother also told me last time the "fei zai shui" (fat kid water) got alcohol in it. my grandma feed me tat everyday when i was as young as 2m. then i will zzz the whole day. no wonder she said i was an easy baby!

Pig, congrats!! HEhe, i told my hubby regardless of the gender for the 2nd child. I will close factory after the 2nd one.

Mambobb, i also a bad mummy. I m on leave from yesterday to this Friday coz my Mum sprained her back and can't take care of Claire. Guess what in a span of 2 days, i din watch her careful enough, she toppled backwards on the floor. Today even worse, she knocked her head and now got a big bump!

My Mum even more kan cheong than me and scold me. I already dun feel good.. Still scold me!

Poochi, how u make the avocado puree? I cuckoo dunno how to do it, i just bought one today.

Hi Dokie,

no no no no no.. please.. keke..i am not having twins though my sister and my husband's brother both has a pair of twin boys. Henceforth that makes 5 boys including kiros.

Hi K@ye,

seems like 2 is the magic number. many are stopping are 2. in fact 2 seems like a more manageable number.

You meant claire toppled and also a bump on her head? how did that happen? from walker or while carrying or while flipping?

pig07,
congrats... bb gal can dress up liao

mambobb,
chk'd w VPost again n still can't give me an answer! i thk i'm done wif VPost liao, not going to use them anymore... so frustrating!!! anyway, will update as soon as i get the slightest news from them on the packages, i just hope they are not LOST! sigh...

catherine & langlao3,
i slowcook congee ard midnite then next morng will steam the root vege n puree then add into the congee. then put it in thermos & bring to nanny's place for my gal's lunch. i thk the thermos can last abt 5hrs; shd still be warm bah.

but my nanny every day complaint about my congee being too watery (i oso brought the extras to office n it's not watery, okie... :S) or not warm, etc... sianz...

i oso dun know how nanny feed my gal; whether can finish wat i pack or not, never tell me properly just kept diverting saying my gal still can't eat well lah, kept turning her head left n right during feeding lah... and complaint my congee too watery end up kept dripping from the corner of my baby's mouth... blah, blah, blah...

she everytime tell me :"Wei Da Hen Ma Fan de"... wah piang, i hear oredi super sian but wat to do, nobody else to take care of my poor gal... sigh!

maybe nxt mth i'll get her to cook when she's more ready lah. dun knw wat else to do liao.

kittybride,
ur nanny sounds no good. dun cook & still make tis kind of comments.
maybe ur gal is not ready to take congee or she dun like congee. have u tried cereals? pack the required amt into milk powder container & bring over to ur nanny's place & instruct her the amt of water to add. then u no need to do congee & can rest more

kittybride :did u try feeding the congee to ur girl b4????maybe its cold/too hot or texture.......i never used white rice b4....so...i used brown rice,add rice cereals and milk formula for the first few times,then add sweet pot,carrots,pot,spinach etc la

avacado: I use cooked apple puree with the ripe avocado. The ripe ones (skin is dark in colour) the flesh is soft enuf so I jus mash it and mix wif the apple puree. If ur bb prefer smoother texture can blend la. Happy Cooking Ladies

Tweetie:
it all depends on ur bb, but i find that puree is easier for them to manage/swallow at the starting. I still steam/cook the fruits&veg for my gal.

Poochi, me too
nevermind, a few more hours
was so zonk out last night that I feel asleep while I pat my gal... Hubby did not wake me up and haiz, did not clear some stuff which I intended to yesterday.

Any mummies working near Cityhall and want to meet for lunch?

RE: Trial Class

Pat, the instructor advises that she has opened the class to the public also as our group quite small. (max is 8 babies

Kampong play house Trial Class 14th Jun at 11.30am - cost $28 each (max 8 babies)

Add: Tahnglin Shopping Centre
#03-24

Tel : 6887 5123

Confirmed mummies attending

1. Mummy: Jaslyn Baby: Shyen DOB: 29-No-07
2. mummy: Catherine baby: Jovan DOB: 14Nov'07
3. mummy: Monica baby: Ying Ching DOB: 2Nov'07
4. mummy: Karen Baby: Ashlee DOB 08 Nov 07

Dreamer

When are you moving out from Singapore?

nowadays very difficult to keep kaira "in place" ... aiyo ... she's always wanting to "crawl" out of her play area and when i stop her, she will make a lot of noise, cry .... wunder how long this stage will last?

anywayz, she's still kind of afraid of strangers ... and most of the time will cry very loudly if people she's unfamiliar with carries her ... and she hardly smiles at people she doesn't know ... very unfriendly ;p wonder if this is a phase she's going through or her personality? if its her personality .... woah ...very "atas" ....... lol

S@L: I can lend u my boy's neck float. When do u need it?

Gemini: I've shuttle service to Bugis, but not City hall. Will be late if travel to City Hall. Else would love to meet for lunch.

U wk in City Hall? Then can go PC show le.

kitty, what i normally do is i put 2 milk scoop of xin mi (white rice) or grinded brown rice and double boil the porridge in the slow cooker. i use abt 280ml of chicken stock & or veg stock which i prepare & froze. I also add in shredded carrots or spinach. So far this amt can use for lunch & dinner and the porridge not watery. Instead of stock, my nanny use pork which is ok with my gal too. Your nanny shd cook for ur gal, it's her duty too leh.

Gemini, thanks for organising, see you tomorrow.

catherine,

me n hb bo pian w dis nanny but my gal seems to like her, can play n laugh w her more than wif us... so sad hor.

as for congee, i fed her during wkend, no prob at all lor. dats y i feel irritated when she made those comments even when i told her repeatedly that my gal is feeding well at home!

as for too hot/cold, i will taste 1st before feeding her lor, so shd be no prob. but not sure how nanny feed lah but she says not warm enuf and too watery. i guess she oso taste my congee before feeding... hopefully she not the one finishing the congee for my gal!!

RE: fish, meat.
how to prepare the fish congee/porridge? can teach me? as for meat, i steam the bak chor then puree till smooth n add into the congee. but recently read a book on semi-solid that for babies above 6-7mth, we should be giving them semi-solid with a bit of 'bite'; meaning not entirely SMOOTH puree. they shd be learning to 'bite bite' n swallow at this stage. or at least use their tongue to press down the food particles instead of just swallowing in.

anyone tried that oredi?

weishy,
i only gave new rice to my gal, yet to check out japanese rice; i thk one of the mommy is using a mixture of jap & new rice, rite? but my hb say no need so many pattern, 1 type of rice enough liao... i thk he oso thinking of our pocket coz rice price (and everythg else) all went up. :D

as for brown rice, i bot the organic type but have not dried or blend to powder form - lately kept raining no sun leh... and also, my MIL said better give brown rice only when baby is above 8months, coz the taste of brown rice a bit 'siap siap' lor... even i myself dun like, wat more my gal who's starting to be rather choosy liao :p

poochi,
wah... no wonder hazel got such chubby face and pinchable thighs lah... you kept giving her yummy-licious food! :D

langlao3,
thx for your tip, will try it out over the weekend. btw, how you prepare the chicken stock? besides chicken (aberthen...), wat other ingredients do you add in?

i'm not good in cooking; so now have to buck up liao... else pity my gal nxt time end up eat ta pao food like me & hb!

as for my nanny, we have yet to talk about her duty of 'cooking for my gal'... i guess will have to liao.

even if i very hardworking cook at midnite or early morng (445am dis mrng!) for my gal, to her the food's still nt good enough...

sigh, wat to do, she OLD & EXPERIENCED wif 2 GROWN UP kids while i'm only a NEW mommy lor...

kittybride,
mua ha ha... ya I see her enjoy the food I make for her so very motivated to cook and give different variety. Now she's taking breakfast liao - oats wif banana/apple! And I drop 1 milk feed.

Kittybride- I not great cook but I learn from my mom la. U may wan to try using "Ba Gut" and veg to cook wif the porridge so that its sweeter instead of cooking seperately. Or u already doing dat? Cos fr the post u say u add the meat puree after cooking the porridge?

Hi Kittybride,

Thanks.. Ya, a gal can dress up liao. But also means spending more money. keke

Your nanny shouldnt be making such irresponsible remark lei. No matter how nan2 to wei4, hai2 shi4 yao1 wei4 lor.

But i ever heard from my mum that some babies will take longer to finish the porridge and some will take take longer to get accustomed to eating porridge. She mentioned that most times for first few weeks is mostly feed a few spoons and throw away one. But still must cont'd to feed and feed. Cant say they dont want eat so dont cook.

I was thinking if your congee could be too watery hence your nanny mentioned its hard to feed. But since you mentioned that she has no problem over the weekends, then shouldnt be so lei. Your nanny seems to be full of complaints la. In fact if she is using slow cooker to cook the porridge for your gal, it shouldnt be too much hassle for her. If she claimed she has no slow cooker, you can buy one and leave it there. Naturally freshly cooked one is better, unless your nanny refused to cook. I ever heard that nannies will collect additional $50 once babies start to eat porridge as nanny will need the money to buy fish for the porridge. But there are also nice nannies whom didnt charge an extra cent.

pig07,

ya, i know babies varies in terms of accepting semi-solid. my gal is eating well at home over the weekend, either congee or cereal (when i'm lazy to cook).

usually during wkends, i will cook her congee wif ba gut n root vege (carrot or pumpkin) or will add in the pureed potatoe or brocolli which i prepared before hand. the whole family of 3 will eat the same lot except for my gal, hers will be more pureed type.

additional $$ is definite since nanny have to buy extra ingredients to cook for her, etc. since i cook daily, so we have not increased any $ nor discuss this with her. but will probably start next month - since she complaint a lot, maybe let her do her way... i have 2 slow cooker at home, dun mind passing one over to her but i guess she prefer to cook over the stove...

Good afternoon Mummies,
Am busy past few days that I did really read through everything.

Gemini, I saw your thread and called Pat up to add me in the 11:30am. :)
Thanks for organizing! See you all tomorrow!
First time meeting – suddenly I feel shy!

Dreamer, my son though doesn’t know how to crawl yet and let to grab on you if you are sitting near and try to stand up. Even when you are carrying him, he can just bend downward or try to turn. He can’t sit still at all. And when something (toys) attract his attention, he will want o grab it. Try stopping him, he will make noise and cry.

As for strangers, depend on his mood. Sometimes, he is fine but one thing for sure, he don’t smile to people he doesn’t know too. No matter how other try to make him smile, end up he will frown at them or looking very hard at them.

Pig, i was changing Claire's clothes. Letting her sit then, she suddenly toppled forward lor.... Sianz....

Kitty, some nannies are like that. Mabbe she wants to cook porridge for Chloe? Well, Chloe will defintely laugh more with ur nanny coz she spent more time with her... Dun worry, Chloe will know who her parents are!

cactusnah

I'm working in Millenia. PC show? very crowded leh, I hate it when too crowded esp when going home. Got to queue up even to walk... haiz
Bugis, used to go there for lunch last time, but now, abit difficult.

Poochi

Funan, we can meet at Cityhall for lunch
Me going to Peninsula Plaza tonight to collect my gal's photos. hee, this mummy up to now have not developed any photos for her yet.

Gemini19,
i work in centennial tower!

so sad i cant join in the trial class tmr. sms'ed Gemini19 tis morning. i'm down with cough & cold. dun wan to go there & spread the virus to the babies. so sad *sob*

Gemini: Ya, the crowd must be a nightmare for those working near Suntec. That reminds me to detour and think of alternative bus route bk home later.

cactus, thanks ok i KIV ur offer first hehehe..cos Tinkabel say might help me get. otherwise i will get from the BP which jus started today....IF it cannot arrive in time then I really need to borrow from you....hehehe...but my holidays's date is not fixed yet

kittybride:hummmm,i usually grind e brown rice,wash and sun in advance."siap siap" maybe la but she's taking it well,not alone la of cos with carrots and spinach etc.

started givin her baby yogurt yesterday and today...so far she like it hehheheh.bought in london and its organic,too bad sin dun hv ,same as hkg...no choic eliao next time hv to get it from there or source from hkg...but more ex.....

kitty, i follow the chicken stock receipe fr First Food. This book helps me a lot esp with all the purees etc

Chicken Stock, makes 1.5l
- Dried Chinese Mushrooms 5
- Water 2 l
- Chicken 800g, cut into pcs (fyi i remove skin & fat)

1. Wash mushrooms & plc in small bowl, add warm water and soak for 10 mins. Drain & set aside.
2. Boil the 2l water in pot, add chicken & mushrooms, then cover with lid.
3. Once water returns to boil, reduce heat & gently simmer for 2 hrs.
4. When stock is ready, remove chicken & mushrooms & strain the stock thru a sieve. Allow to cool before using.

I will put into abt 3-4 small containers so it's easy to use.