(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Hapififi,

Hugs to you! Don't be distressed. Know it's so difficult when aidan is so sick n u can't be there to hold him. Hang in there!!!

Chinese new year always have lots of cases of stomach flu cos a lot of gatherings, sharing food and lots of feasting.. I
remember when my older girl was abt 2 or 3yrs old also down w severe vomitting on 1st day of new yr... Aft the previous nite of a steamboat reunion dinner....think their stomach not strong sometimes steamboat food not cooked well yet or somebody just added raw food unknowingly etc...

Stay positive and don't worry so much abt aidan ... Your mum n hb will be taking very good care of him.

bbwow : yes. 2-5 yrs old is the best time to train a kid. cos they absorb more. But I still tink Chinese as impt. Dun mentioned name of sch here. ther's 1 famous kidy sch, has 1 full yr on chinese, next yr on english. All rich mummies' kids.

Zhen zhen : wah... Hannah really koe how to sweet talk

Timeout? do u mean the page ask u to try again in 5 sec etc? u dun hv to re-type. Just keep on refresh :p

bbwow, i don't cook separately for hannah either. she eats whatever we eat. or rather we eat whatever she eats. my hubby has same taste as her (likes things plain), so i can get away with cooking simple soupy things and both father and daughter are happy. while i invest in lots of different chilli sauces to ensure my own taste buds are happy too. hahahaha...

eunice, tell me about it! when my mother, ILs ask her why they should do something for her. her reply is "because i love you". *faint*

dodo,
you always the no.1 mama lah...super woman! another one is junnie and jas.

zhenzhen
hannah has always been like that
i remember you told us how she said "i love you mummy" and "I love you daddy"? you know aria recently v v bad.. like yesterday, i asked her to say bye bye to mummy and ask her to kiss me and you know what she said?? she said, "just go". like want to dismiss me! i was shocked and amused at the same time.. and then these few days she know the trick of apologizing to make me sayang her back! She would say “I’m sorry mummy” pitifully and cried at the same time… aiyoh, when she said that, my heart just melt and all anger evaporated..

hapififi,
hope aidan will recover asap!! By the way, if you’re bored, try downloading the game, Spot the difference at a nomimal fee of USD0.99. Quite fun..hehe…

bbwow, i have yet to cook anything for adri too... hurhur.. even though she doesnt eat much, my mum will cook for her but i dun. i just let her eat watever she wants from us.

anyway, just learnt from my mum dat adri is down with a fever too!!! argh! and i cnt go back tonite to sayang her.. tsk tsk.. she was so whiny over the phone just now and didnt wana talk to me.. tsk..

zhen zhen, thanks dear for the info on manuka honey. think i will just get from tangs cos they always have promo on the honey..

hippo,
oh dear.. what's with all these viruses!! gee... i think it's time to pop in vitamin C consistently again.. have not been doing that diligently..

Shoo shoo all the virus away!! so many kiddos are not feeling well. Please take care and get well soon.

Hapififi
I can imagine how worried you were, hang in there and Aidan is in good hands so you must take care of yourself! Speedy recovery to Aidan!

Bbwow
Talk about cooking, I can fight with you as I don't cook since I moved near my mum's place! I think I only managed to cook once so far!! Kelly will say po po cook and not ma ma cook. Just recently when I'm at home with her, she pushed me to the kitchen and asked me to cook as she is hungry!! ha ha I told her there is nothing at home to cook so let's go out and eat!!! sad right!! Guess need to change this concept soon.

Jas
Don't forget to send me the SMS on your address for SAT. We should be there about 1pm :)

School
just checked out MindChamps .. and they also have 2 teachers , 1 English and 1 Chinese for each class.

SAHM esp those of 2 kids
Really pei fu all of you as I really don't know how to handle with the housework and just 1 kid. I was at home early this week and my girl literally needs 100% of my attention hence I can't really do much housework at all!!!

was busy no time to come in & read up yet...

but noted many sick incl myself & my gal(sorethroat).. hope all of us get well soonest =)

Zhen_zhen and maisymouse, thanks for the get well wishes
I certainly hope there're no more bouts of falling sick after this...

Hippo, yah, I keep wanting to post on our thread but always so bushed after a whole day at work, i just knock out lor....oh dear Adri is sick too? hope she gets well soon!!

Dodo, I think it's really not easy for u to handle everything alone. Last year when my maid went back for home leave and I had to handle 2 babies plus housework, I nearly went nuts!! But at least my mil helped...u have nobody! I really salute u, jiayou ok??? pray u get a gd ayi soon...

maruko, hope travis recovers soon!!!

hapififi, oh dear so worrying to hear that aidan went to KKH A&E...hope he's much better now? pray for his quick recovery...

SHOOOOOOO all the stupid viruses away!!!!!

oh yah I was so stupid to post in the WTS thread before asking the mummies here...I was going to sell my milkbags, as i no longer have excess to store (somehow, I'm very happy about it!!!).

If any of u want, it's FOC
ONLY FOR OCT 07 MUMMIES COS THEY ROCK!! Here's what I have:

1. Blue Egg Milk Bags, 2 boxes of 25 bags each.

2. Boots Milk Bags, 1 box of 40 bags.

3. 17 Loose pieces of Boots Milk Bags (but they are still in the plastic bag from the box).

Thanks all mummies for ur concern. Travis is still havin fever but doc did mention dat it will persist for a few days. Temp kept lingerin btwn 38-39 degrees. Hope it will go away by tmr but Travis is still active n havin fun "bullyin" my in laws. I was bz the whole afternoon workin from home. So gotta b back at work tmr liaoz...will let my in laws handle him tmr. Hope they wont kena bullied till too jia lat. kekeke... :p

so many other kiddos sick also? Hope they get well soon.

Jas, hope u dun mind if im absent on sat's gathering. I dun wish to let him pass his infection to any other kiddos. Aiya...im gonna miss ur hokkien mee liaoz...

Maruko,
NVM dear, Hope travis can recover soon. Rem to bring down his fever. Dun let it keep burning. I VERY SUPER PARANOID with kids' fever. haizz...U take care too

Hippo,
Oh dear! Hope Adri can recover before Sat. Let her have complete rest tmr k?

n all mummies & kids not feeling good...get well soon k?

Jas, thx...I also very paranoid when he got fever, esp when it kept on gg up n down like roller coaster den my feelings also like sittin in one.

Hopefully if he is ok by tmr den I might still b able to com by ur place on sat. Crossin my fingers now.

so many more mummies and kiddos are sick? SHOO SHOO away all the bad, naughty virus. for the rest of us, better drink more water and take vit c as a prevention ok!

ariajo, but my girl also sometimes breaks her daddy's heart. the other day my hubby asked her if she loved him. she replied "i love mummy, not you". can imagine how sad he felt.

karrie, would you mind if i get 1 box of milk bags from you? will need to start storing milk for when i go back to work in 1+ mth time. just PM me to arrange, ok?

hapi_fifi: so heartpain to hear abt aidan. how is he now? when the kids are sick, we parents always feel damn heartpain one. still, u must try to rest more and dun get too distressed. im sure aidan is in good hands being taken care by papa & ur mum....rest well ok. everyday that passed is part of the battle won!

dodo: taking of 2 kids at the same time is so hard work yet u r able to do it! salute u! as jas said, im sure u can do it. just close 1 eye on the tidiness of the hse...
YZ's temper also start to take a worse turn now that YR is ard. he will simply ignore simple instructions from me like come to me to drink water or change clothes! really wearing out my patience...

tiffany: hope lucas is getting well. let him drink more water to stay hydrated. im a worse mummy than u lor. ive stop BF for yr liao! only persist for 1.5mth nia.. cos confinement i really let confinemt lady help w all the night feeds (FM) and i never wake up to pump. then ss really drop like siao.. then i just let it end naturally.. but i really feel very tired to perservere.. (bad mummy).. for yz last time, i lasted 2.5mths only too oops.

maruko: how is travis;s fever? hope he is better too.. so many virus ard! really need to shoo shoo them all away!

zhenzhen: hannah is so smart! she really is so endearing!!

aria_jo: yz is still taking not too good towards yr and he is breaking my heart now. as im the main caretaker for yr now, yz is sorta taking it personally n treating me badly recently.

when i asked him who does he want to sleep w him: papa. who to bath him: papa, who to play w him: papa. sigh. breaks my heart cos he used to choose me over his papa anytime. then w yr crys, he will quickly say: 哭了,哭了, then asked me quickly go n carry didi. think he is not happy whenever didi crys, i will leave him to tend to yr.
sigh, feeling quite upset actually though hb kept comforting me saying its a passing phase, when yr is bigger n easier to handle i can spend more time w yz and he will be ok again.

ecookie,

I can assure you it will be a passing phase.. dun be too upset k? lleyton also reacted negatively towards mei-mei initally, always attempting to hit her or pull her hair whenever he could. But now, he behaves like a big kor-kor.

Altho I feel that he is getting more disobedient, and his teachers also commented that he doesn't pay attention to teachers in class ever since beginning of this year, ask me is it becos' of the arrival of his sister. Makes me feel that maybe I am not able to discipline him as much..

I think YZ will get used to YR being at home soon, and start to love him..

And on bf, you have tried liao and it's good enuff. Anyway, u mentioned last time that gynae advised you not to bf too long right? In case it aggravates your asthma or may pass to bb?

HapiFifi, glad that you are so optimistic! I'm sure Aidan will be in the good hands of your mum and HB.. just rest well so that your BB will grow big and strong in your tummy.

Maruko.. Travis has fever? yah.. I heard quite a few pple with stomach flu, hope he gets well quickly! And for the mozzie bites, I will put the J&J repellant on him before he goes childcare. Then I will put one anti-mosquito patch on his shorts (the spare one in his bag which they change into after bathing), so that he is covered the whole day. Otherwise, the mosquitoes ard his CC also v fierce!

ecookie, don't be sad ok. *hugz* perhaps you can see it positively, that this is now yz's bonding period with papa? just a suggestion, perhaps you can sometimes let your hubby handle yr, while you spend time with yz? just play with him more, i'm sure you'll be back in his "good books" in no time.

good morning all

oooh...i'm the 1st =D

cm... almost teared when i read ur post.. ya, friendship among us in tis thread indeed rare & unique! always wonder how long tis thread will continue... hopefully at least till our child 21?? keke.. ur maid so alamak leh... hopefully she keeps her promise coming bk nxt week, if not, u can start looking ard le..

dodo.. hang on hang on... i'm sure u can make it... dun 4get sametime can 'slim down' =D

hapififi.. understand ur worries & feeling helpless... hope aidan is fine by now... his daddy & grandparents will take good care of him, ur job now is to relax & wait 4 didi to come... dun get stress-up, will affect ur condition... take care gal =)

tiffany.. long time no hear... so nice ur new job has longer lunch break! come in more often... hope lucas recovers soon...

chris.. glad ur 'merlion' is under control... everyday pass v fast.. so u r in no time to 2nd trimester le... jia you! ah brig so cute... can entertain u w his schl happenings & can get 'angry' when u cant say her frds name correctly =D

tiffy.. sherry can b 'lure' w karihome sweets? at least got something to 'attract' her home =D

hippo.. hvnt finished reading ysterday post ye.. adri not well too? if so..hope she recovers fast fast.

karrie.. must hv bn a hard time on u for both mea & matty to b down w hfmd + yourself... shoo shoo all the virus away fm ur home.. hope ur MIL & maid tested negative..

maruko.. hope travis fever subside soonest... so poor ting kena so many mozzie bites.. v itchy one leh.. u can try using cotton wool dapped w v warm water & press against the bites, it helps to stop the itch. i sometime apply white vinegar on those big bites..

ecookie,sugarnut... tink not oni yz or lletyon 'notti'.. most of ours also ba... keke... dun 4get they r @ 'notti 2' mah =D so we must b v patient not to 'fall in their trap' cos i find everytime i get angry & scold/cane them... they'll still do it.. sometime i use another method.. ie, treat it as 'noting' then they find it not fun & wont repeat the notti act le =)

ecookie.. may b u can try yz to help attend w yr when he crys? then he wont feel sort of 'left out'.. dun b upset.. it takes time for yz to get adapt to new addition at home =)

ecookies : u not bad la... YR at least 1.5mth whereas Elbib bf is only 2weeks + FM somemore :p
Elvis I do it with 3 mths with FM too... anyone worst than my 2 weeks? :p

I'm 3rd. 1 sec behind Jas's post :p

Maruko : hope Travis is better today.

Jas : can u sms me yr address? Maybe reach 2pm cos there's 1 bb shower earlier. the gathering still onz? cos some mummies + kids can't come cos sick?

Zhen zhen : forgot to ask u. the milk tea reach u?

eunice.. me..me! both not even 1week =D simply no milk & no time & no mood/privacy to pump! my confinement is 'stressful' =D i'm super sorry to both my kids lucky they grow well w FM =)

jas.. 'hi hi'.. see ya tmr =D

i going to office liao, chat... later

Eunice:
Me too..i am about the same with Junnie. Dun have milk leh. Out of the short 2 weeks milk supply, 90% is FM!! Pengz!

Btw, i just msg my addy to you all ald.

Gd morning...I'm number 4... :p

Jas, got ur sms liao. Thanks.

Thanks to all mummies concern on Travis. His bites r not swollen oredi so no worries. Me onli worried when it swells up wif the water inside den burst liao his skin area kena exposed. Anyway his fever has subsided to less den 38 degrees this morning. Still got slight fever though. I'm abit hesitant if I shld go over Jas place tmr coz dun wan him to pass his runnin nose & cough to any of the kiddos. Wat u all say?

Gathering at Jas's place, Saturday 27th Feb
Time: 1pm
1. jas - 炒福建面
2. chintz
3. junnie (come 1+pm) - 鱼生 & 鱼圆
4. hippo - Cut fruits
5. totoro
6. maruko - fish nuggets
7. bbwow - yakult
8. Eunice (Tentively ok) - Fried Pumkin
9. zhen zhen

Mummies, its ok not to bring anything k? just come happily and enjoy the company. i dun wan you all to feel pressure.

i am trying out to make flatterned version of ngoh hiang..wonder its taste good. if yes, then i make for all of you tmr k? cross finger! Oh ya, i bought the fresh prawns & igredients liao..ready for tmr!! so exciting!

Morning Mummies...

Speedy recovery to all little ones who are unwell.

Maruko,
Poor Travis... Hope he recovers soon. You may want to give him more water/barley water.
I have concerns too about going for the meetup coz J has been having cough for almost two weeks. Though no fever till as of now, the cough is those kinda phlegmy one. He's still doing fine.

ecookie,
For me, I am the other way round. J is still behaving like 'elephant glue' towards me. Ask if he luv Daddy, ask if he wants Daddy, ask if he miss Daddy, answers are all NO. Hb did mention that he feels kinda hurt. Then I try to talk to Jerry when I am with him that Daddy luv him, Daddy miss him, Daddy will play with him when he is free, etc. Perhaps you want get your hb to help 'chant' this 'theories' about your love when he is with YZ.

Maruko,
Let him totally rest well today...if the fever subsides and maintain at normal temp for more than 12 hours, this boy is recovered..So no worries k?

This is what i gonna do. I am gonna light up my house with essential oil (one of the functions: To kill bacteria in the air plus many other benefits lah)..so not scare of pass virus here & there k.

If u mummies are willing, i can share with you some tui na methods you can use it on your kids when they have fever, colds or to increase their immune system etc..very easy to learn one. Learn one more 招术 to protect our kids. Good? n a small little present for all. keke!

doobom, the chinese physician which I went to told me not to give barley water to Travis for the time being coz he is not heaty liao. If too much barley den his cough will linger even longer to recover. So I kept askin this poor boy to drink water lor.

Jas, will get my in laws to check on his temp n take note. But he was perspiring when I left house this morning. Hope the fever no more liaoz. And YES me wanna learn the tui na zhao shu. :p So most likely I will b comin tmr.
Yippee...I still get to eat ur hokkien mee.

zhenzhen,sugurnut, doobom, junnie: thanks for all the comforting words. hope this is really a passing phase n once yz has adapted to his didi, he will be back to his loving self. abit hard for me to adjust cos im always his #1 for so long then now suddenly last place.

maybe as hb said, he feels the most hurt by me perhaps. he does get upset when he sees por por/gong gong or hb carrying didi but not as extreme when he sees me doing so..

jas: i would love to go for the gathering but i think cant liao cos my mum not free to help me take care of yr. and i not comfy to bring him out yet.. will try to join the next gathering! and so nice of you to let our of place for gatherings! hope more to come then i can go n taste ur cooking hehe.

Thanks all for concern. Aidan is better now. Thankfully my mum & fil are helping to look after him cos my hb is super busy at work.

Time really flies! I was admitted last fri & it has been a wk already. Looking forward to the ultrasound scan tomorrow. Hopefully bb has grown significantly in the past wk & all the food I've been gorging goes to him instead of simply piling on me! :)

Dodo,
u are one amazing mummy, doing a fabulous job handling everything by yourself in a foreign country! Must really learn from u gals. I also feel guilty towards aidan at times. Sometimes I spend so much time on mundane stuff like cooking, feeding (esp when he's such a fussy eater) that I hardly have time & energy to play with him or teach him. Got worse after I got pregnant as I'm constantly feeling lethargic & lazy!

Ecookie,
dun feel bad! Being able to bf is a bonus & by no means a measure of a mother's love towards her child :) try to be more patient towards yz & spend more time with him. I think at this age, our kids are more aware & sensitive towards how we treat or talk to them, so be more patient. Like what the rest said, it's probably a phase & before u know it, he'll be a koala bear again!

Actually I'm also rather worried how Aidan will take to didi, esp now that we are already neglecting him even before didi arrives. He knows mummy is lying in hospital bcos of didi & can't be with him :-( Plus my hb is so busy at work that he only gets to see him on weekends. Scared he will be resentful towards didi. Well, guess can only take a step at a time & make up to him after I have delivered!

1. jas - 炒福建面
2. chintz
3. junnie (come 1+pm) - 鱼生 & 鱼圆
4. hippo - Cut fruits
5. totoro
6. maruko - fish nuggets
7. bbwow - yakult
8. Eunice (Tentively ok) - Fried Pumkin
9. zhen zhen
10. Sanbebe

Karrie,
can I have a pack of milk bags too? Am surfing around to see what brand to try & here u are, so kindly offering to us oct mums! I pm u later ok?

Re: milk tea
what brand have u ladies tried that's effective & doesn't taste yucky? Now too free so trying to research what's good & how I can boost my supply haha :)

Hapififi : I try 1 brand called traditional medi (i tink so) :p tat wat zhen zhen bought. dun koe effective a not but taste very nice
I tink the problem dun lies with the tea but lazy mummy ME :p

U dare to try Frenugreek seeds? just boil with water and drink. Very Indian smell. Me ok with it too :p but lazy me again to boil and drink frequently :p

Eunice, i got the milk tea already. Thanks!

Hapi fifi, you want a few tea bags to try? I haven’t tried yet. Am going to start taking when i start pumping to store. Hopefully it will help to increase my yield.

re: gathering tomorrow
sorry i can't join anymore. paiseh jas! cos i have surprise visit from my parents. they are on their way to singapore now..

will read up the archive in a while

1. jas - 炒福建面
2. junnie (come 1+pm) - 鱼生 & 鱼圆
3. hippo - Cut fruits
4. totoro
5. maruko - fish nuggets
6. bbwow - yakult
7. Eunice (Tentively ok) - Fried Pumkin
8. zhen zhen
9. Sanbebe

Eunice,
ok thanks for info!

Zhenzhen,
it's ok. Think I might buy a box to try after I deliver. Saw a bp on it. U let me know how u find the taste after u have tried :)

re: nursing tea
i think it does help to keep the supply coming. this time bosco is 6mths and he is still on total breastfeeding

chloe started taking half formula, half bm when she was 4-5mths

but my mil also cooked fish soup for me in weekly basis.

zhen zhen, i try to take 3x a week. but being the forgetful me, sometimes only 1x a week :p

but for one bag, i will refill 2-3 cups, usually take it after dinner at night.

thanks for all the encouragements! i will press on!

re nursing tea/ fenugreek:
not true for my case.. for zq i had both nursing tea & fenugreek but still cant fully breastfeed, need to supplement 1 or 2 feeds of FM since 4mth old..
but for YA i never took any nursing tea/ fenugreek at all, and he's still on fully BM now 9mth old.. for me, i think my supply is more related to the constant latching on & expressing in the initial stage.. just to share

chintz, thanks for info. i was wondering how often to take. cos the box says 3-5 times a day! wah... i will go broke if i take so often. haha...

jas, it's milk bag, not egg bag. ;P