(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

bbwow, that's great to hear! you must be so proud of him.

hapi fifi, it's my pleasure! hope i helped make your birthday a bit more enjoyable. if you don't mind, i can come by again to visit. at least we can both keep each other occupied.
praying for you that your contractions will stop and you'll get your nice corner unit soon!

chris, poor thing. hang in there ok. and you're pregnant, so you have every excuse not to toilet train brig yet! i'm also lazy, and it was only at hannah's insistence that i got her the potty. btw... she went again after school. wheee...

tiffy, just explain to sherry that you cannot carry her. she's sensible, i'm sure she'll understand.

tiffy,

do it slowly,it take awhile for the idea to get into them. Maybe make the journey home like a hide and seek to motivate her to walk.

Zhen2,

U r right!!!! I have reason not to train him... too tired

mummies ... am so touch to read this thread ... we are really like a family aka sisters to each other ... so happy that we are so close (will i know i am far away in Bandung and dodo in BJ but we are here with all of U)

Hapififi Jia U ok ... U are the strongest mummy here ... U can do it ... hope U will have a +++ room mate from now on and so nice of the mummies that went to see U and make yr day
"thick skin" hey hey they went behalf of us too ok even if we are not there kekeke RIGHT ??? Zhen , MM, Maruko kekeke

chris hope U will feel better soon hang on ok ... as for the suppository for anti vomitting where did u get them ??? how much is it ... i am trying to ask my brother to get for me well for Carlson as i am running out liao but most of the places are out of stock ...

Gathering aiyo aiyo ... U all are really making me drooling and hungry with all the food name hmmm EnJoy mummies

MAID ... "sigh" ;( Junnie she was asked to come to my hse at 6 am but she was late came only after 7+ which i have already left home ... so she went home and ask us to go and fetch her ... so i said its ok la since i have time and near by den after that all went well ... all the way till after lunch she vomited a few times ... my another maid told me ... and she went home again den she gave me a call a while later ... she said she is not feeling well and will go and see doc tomolo(today la) and also said that if she is well will come back and work guess when ........ ON MONDAY ????????!!!!!!!! "SIGH" peng but i also got no choice

Happy New Year !!! All the gathering food is making me drool. I miss Singapore Food !!!

I'd lost count of the number no. of 2nd time (or more ?) mummies ... hehehe, this thread's Mummies support "pro-creation"
I wish to join the statistic but how to since kept staying away from home
Hope this will be my working trip for the next year or so.

Hapi Fifi,
Gambate !!!!! Think positive and I'm sure your little one will stay in all the way and healthy !

Ariajo,
Thought I'd replied on the romper, but can't find my post when I go thru the achieves. Of cos I remember the romper. Just like I'd told you, the cutting is a bit smaller + Naia is growing very well

Chris,
Hope your experiment to stop the suppository turns out well.

Zhen zhen,
I'd not even started on toilet training Caelen yet :p

Zhenzhen,
of cos u are more than welcome to visit me again! Heehee

cm,
ya I'm really touched by the camaraderie in this thread! Well, what to do, Oct 2007 mummies ROCK!

Good news!!!
I just got transferred to the normal ward & yes, I got the nice
private corner by the window! Hooray! Because my previous ward's reno noise was really too disturbing & affecting my baby. So Hubby kept making noise & made nurses call my Gynae to get her to transfer me. Haha. But the problem is, even my new corner also gets the noise (and won't stop till 10pm) just that it's not as loud as the previous room :)

CM, oct 07 mummies definitely ROCK! everyone here is so warm and caring. i joined another thread, but it feels so clique-ish compared to this one. love you all!!! *muacks*

jovial, long time no see. you must be super busy. hope you won't have to travel again after this trip.

hapi fifi, onz! i'll come visit on monday. this time, i will bring the really unhealthy food. fries?

Hapi Fifi,
just these two days I hv passed by Mt A 4x. N I always think of you, how hv u been etc, can transfer to normal ward ald etc? Thanks God that u went to normal ward! "no thanks to the noise???" clap clap!! Jia you! Didi is getting stronger n bigger soon...so hang on!

CM,
tsk tsk! Very sian to handle these kinda of domestic problems. Just hope u can really find a group of maids that can assist u well. ( I think u need at least 2 right? The house looks big.)

hi mummies, been reading some of the archives but only had time to post now.

Happy birthday to Ecookie and Hapififi!!!!

Hapififi, it was really heartwrenching to read about your experience in the observation ward. You're really a strong and positive mummy, and I'm sure didi will absorb all your love and positive energy and stay in your tummy till it is time to meet the world!! Sending all our love and prayers to u!!

Twinkle_stars, so sorry to hear of your loss. I hope you find some comfort at this time...wherever you may find it. I'll pray for you and your family yeah? I still remember what you shared with me at our gathering long time ago, I know it hasn't been easy for u...*huggs*

Zhen_zhen, wow Hannah is so cute.. she asked to use potty!! You know, you're not the slowest leh...Matty keeps refusing the potty, so he's still on diapers :S I just spent $180 buying diapers for Matty and Mea both lor....so broke!! and hor...I agree with u on how Oct 07 mummies rock! I also joined another thread but now am inactive in it, cos I just find the mummies here warmer, and more sincere!!

Hippo, gal, hope you are enjoying your pregnancy...Adri's photos always light up my day!!! I'm her fb fan I tell u.

Chris, take care...your morning sickness sounds really bad, will pray it passes soon for u...you trying home water birth this time? Still engaging Ginny?

CM, aiyo I hear all your maid troubles in Bandung I also headache for u!! I think you're super to handle so many things, and yet still cook up a feast for your family and friends lor!!

Jas, I really want to join the gathering at your place...but I got HFMD so am on "house arrest" this whole week. I was so sick over the weekend, I almost fainted in the kitchen when I was fixing Mea's lunch...and poor girl, she sat in her high chair n cried n cried....glad it's all over now.

Matty and Mea just recovered from HFMD, looks like it's the adults' turn to get it...my mil and maid coming down with symptoms...gosh...one after another. Really pray for good health for the rest of the year.

karrie, oh dear! do take good care of yourself and your family. pray that this sick phase will pass really quickly, and that everyone will be back in the pink of health soon!

Chris,zhenzhen,
yest manage to trick her to walk using karihome sweet. she shake the bottle till reach the lift at my blk she starting to throw her temper. I quickly open the bottle n let her eat the sweet lor.lucky manage to reach hm w/o carrying her

Pacificer : both my boys kick off the habits when they are 2yrs and 1 yrs. Both of them like eating it
and spolit it. so in order to stop, I told them no $$ liao and made the pacificer worse and broke it :p

hahaha.......

Zhen Zhen : congrats tat Hannah makes a beautiful start
n congrats to Deb. Clever gal

Morning mummies.

I couldn't sleep last night cos Aidan was rushed to KKH A&E at midnight. He had high fever, was vomitting, trembling, kept saying he was very scared, and was crying out for me to carry him. Haiz, for the first time, I really hated the fact that I'm lying here helplessly...was having quite strong tightenings through the night that i tot i might go into labour. This is really a not so good year. It's already the 2nd time aidan was rushed to A&E at midnight. The 1st time was on the 1st day of CNY when he had diarrhoea & vomit. Hope all these sickly episodes end off soon! Shoo shoo shoo away

morning mummies.

hapi fifi, oh dear! did doc say what's wrong with aidan? i'm sure you must be super worried. pray that his sickness will quickly go away!

Eunice,
think his fever is more or less under control now with the medicine. Not too sure what triggered this either. He was perfectly fine & active when he visited me yeaterday. Even sang me Happy Birthday song. Then suddenly ard 1130pm, he woke up crying, vomitting & started having high fever. Now starting to cough & have runny nose too. It's really very worrying. The first time I'm not around when he's sick. Could feel my heart bleeding last night :-(

zhenzhen,
ya i think the tightenings were triggered by distress. Had more leaking too. Now kena barred from getting off bed again. Ya, certainly hope he will recover very soon!

Ok must start my Positive Thinking chant again!!!

morning ladies!

karrie, glad to see u back here! muacks.. hope u recover soon ya? big hugs... hey! i love looking at mea & matty's pics on fb too.. ha! keeps me "connected" to u leh.. =)

hapififi, oh gosh. reali hope aidan can get well soon and shoo to the virus! ya.. begin ur positive chanting gal. itz gonna be tough like wat zhen zhen said and for sure we'll be bleeding in the heart but try try try ur very best to relax ya? sorie i cnt visit u in the hospital.. but my prayers are with u!

CM, hope u find good maids soon! seems so poor thing leh u.. all those bad experiences.. hugs too!

hapififi,
hope aidan recover soon! i know it must be very worrying for u.. but pls stay strong and i know u can do it! aidan is under good care of ur mum and hubby.. yes, continue wi the positive chanting and listen to some soft classical music... dun keep thinking n worrying abt aidan, close ur eyes and keep thinking happy moments like both hubby n u bringing the 2 boys to beach to play, to garden for picnic, attending boys' kindergarden graduation ceremony etc... stay strong! am continue praying for u!

karrie,
wish good health to u all! stay strong too!

GOOD MORNING LADIES.

Have not been following the thread due to new work commitments.

Briefly saw that some of you are preggie with #2... Congrats Tiffy, Chris, and bbwow on the way????

Happififi
I really feel so sorry for your state, but stay positive. You are really really very strong mummy. Gosh... poor Aidan. The virus is strong. Lucas is also having diarrhoea & having vomitting spells. He has not been eating well for the pass 3 days. Stay positive and be strong.

Re: Manuka Honey
Anyone ordering? I need to replenish. Anyone remembers what is the savings if buy fm retail compared to getting direct from supplier?

Re: Cityhall lunch
I am ready to meet up if anyone is keen. My lunch hour is flexible and can stretch up to 2hrs... Shhhhhhhh......

Ecookie,
YR being a fiercer baby reminds me of Andrea. Andrea was a difficult baby and she was born the 1st child, I would have stopped at 1. Even till now, she is still difficult child and at times I really cannot tahan her. I do feel bad thinking this way... but she is really tough to handle. No patience. Perhaps I am too tired out from the 2 monkeys and work. However, just endure and stay positive. Are you still breastfeeding?

Ok.... will post more when have time.. see ya later.

im like running a marathon these days.. still without a helper and we just couldnt find a suitable one.. ayi here are rather picky also, keep bargaining for higher pay and other benefits.. im very sick to deal wi all these so i rather do everythg myself at the moment.. it's really busy to keep the "house-operating", meet the boys daily needs, doing housechores etc.. but i will press on! somemore zq now still on school holiday because of the spring festival.. my mama asked me to cook zq's lunch & dinner together so not need to cook twice but i still insist to cook every meals for them coz of varieties.. i duno how long can i tahan coz there are lots of washing & cutting & cooking require.. and my back is aching now, maybe i keep standing, bending down and carrying the chubby YA.. not to mention zq sometimes i wana me to carry when he saw i carry didi..

so CM, same as u, need all the good luck to get a helper!

i miss my parents so much... miss the days that they were here at Beijing..

sorry mummies for the ranting... i miss u all too, how i wish i can join the gathering!!!

tiffany & ecookie,
i have an opposite case of urs.. Zq is a very fussy, demanding and hot temper bb.. actually till now he's still like that.. my patience towards him running thin, he likes to challenge me and sometimes demand me to do something.. like yesterday when i was discussing wi hubby, he wana talk to hubby also and he kept interupt our conversation but we sort of ignored him.. then he shouted "妈妈不要讲话, 骞要讲话“ i was rather angry then, very rude of him to say such thing! YA is a very easy baby, taking care of him is a breeze.. or maybe i aleady "well-trained" by zq.. haa..

tiffany, i had the same thinking as u.. if YA was my 1st bb.. i would hv got a great shock when zq was born later!

dodo
You are really doing a great job playing all the roles alone. Most admirable is you are still breastfeeding!!! I had to give up at 3rd mth during Andrea's time part of the reason cos I was too exhausted and was feeling like a zombie almost everyday.

Agree. The helper issue is really sickening to deal with. Try to relax your expectation and you will feel better. Dont tired out yourself. You are the pillar to both boys.

Hi Hi to Tiffany & Karrie & Jovialz! Welcome back. We missed you here. Do come in more often leh...

Dodo,
撑住呀!! slowly u get the momentum going. House maybe messy but its ok. I know that a lot of washing, cooking bla bla etc can make us crazy..just hang on. k? U are another super mummy. actually yr mum is correct leh. If u prefer varieties and insist on freshness. Then u must cook those really simple dishes that dun really take up your time. The last time, while preparing for lunch i also start to do the preparation for dinner too. So in the late afternoon, i just need to cook instantly with it. We SAHM need to work smart & fast. Not easy but possible. Jia you!!

Dodo, when are you coming back for this year?

Hapi fifi,
I dun know what to say. But rest assured Aidan be fine k? We understand what you are going thru. Maybe its a sudden unknown virus attack..could it be the visit at hospi? Danson also kena when he visit his brother the last time. But dun worry k? you know its not good for didi. Everything is gonna be fine, dear!

Gd morning mummies..

Took urgent leave today to bring Travis to see doc. He was havin high fever as well n it persisted thru the nite on off. Vomit couple of times also n had runnin nose + cough. Doc said its a viral infection. Was so worried its due to the mosquito bites but luckily its not.

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">SHOO SHOO AWAY ALL THE SICKENING VIRUS AWAY FROM THE KIDS &amp; MUMMIES</font></font> GO AWAY LAH...%&amp;^$*&amp;^

Hapififi, gosh...shoo all virus away from Aidan too...tink this viral infection has been spreadin ard to our kiddos. Can't help much dat Travis is at cc n is more exposed to it.

Tiffany, glad to c ur posts again. Glad u r settled in ur new job liaoz...let me noe when u wanna lunch.

dodo, my mind is at a blank now but juz wanna tell u dat we r all here for u if u need a listenin ear. So 加油...u r my model SAHM. :p

Jas...

I know you were the organiser for Manuka Honey the last round.... Any advise? Not ordering yet? How come no one continuing??

Maruko,
Ya..virus is everywhere.... not to worry too much. Look at the brighter side, it helps to strengthen the kids immunity each time they fall sick...

tiffany, good to see you! how's your new job?

dodo, hang in there. being a SAHM is indeed not easy. especially if you don't have help. like what jas says, perhaps you can try using "short cuts" to ease your load a bit. for me, i usually prepare my meat (cut and/or marinate) at night, when kids are asleep. so next day can just take out of fridge and cook. and i will make a lot of stock over the weekend and freeze in smaller batches. then during the week, can just take out 1 batch each time and use to cook noodle soup, porridge etc. but fortunately, i only need to cook dinner for family. lunch is only me, so i just eat simple like pasta or even sandwich.

maruko, travis is sick too? poor thing. hope he feels better soon. btw... you mentioned that he's been getting bites at his cc. since he's so prone to bites, and has quite an adverse reaction to them, perhaps you should consider putting insect repellent on him daily? can get the baby-friendly type to use.

Tiffany, ya virus is floatin ard so cant do much also except to worry. But I'm lookin on the bright side now knowin dat its not the bites dat caused the fever.

zhen zhen, I do put a bottle of insect repellant in his bag n asked the teacher in charge to apply on him while he sleeps coz I believe dat is when he was bitten. Now dat the spray is not workin, I might hav to consider other alternatives liao.

hi mummies!!~~

to those kiddos sick, shoo shoo the virus away!!!

btw, one question. mummies who sent their kiddos to pre-school. my understanding is usually they have 2 teachers - 1 English, 1 Chinese so as to teach the kiddos to be bilingual. but J's school both teachers speak English! At first i thought it was because his class has alot of ang mos. But after talking to the form teacher today, I was shocked to know that they don't do that as they feel Chinese is a 2nd language and it will be too confusing for the N1 kids. They will only have a perm Chinese teacher in K1.

But I was thinking, shouldn't 3 yrs old be the best time to absorb the language than later?

Can any mummies share your knowledge/experience?

Jas,

I just realized my hubby needs to work this Sat. So now I have to arrange how to come to your place on my own. Did you get my PM?

bbwow, i know for hannah's school, she has 1 english and 1 chinese teacher. but then again, she's in a chinese kindy, so might not be a fair comparison.

bbwow,
for sherry's sch, she is having a perm chinese teacher but when come to english lesson, the english teacher fr K2 will come over to teach them

bbwow,
Thought it is quite common that there is 1 English and 1 Mandarin teacher in the class. Again, it depends on the curriculum if they offer billigual. Which school is J in now? Maybe the school has more angmoh kids thats why the curriculum does not include mandarin. Depends how comfortable you are, if the curriculum does not suit your expectation, then you may need to explore other schools.

Yes... research shown that kids absorbed languages faster and the most during 0 t0 3 yrs old.

tiffany,
u shd see me in person now! im now walking corpse.. haa :p
ya, still breastfeeding.. but i think i will supplement him one feed of FM maybe in one month time.. i plan to reduce my pumping session, though will still latch him once a day and maybe pump twice..

jas &amp; zhen zhen,
ya man! i also do all the food preparation while kids napping.. im trying/ experimenting some short-cuts also.. SAHM wi 2 kiddos really need to work smart &amp; fast, and hope kids will cooperate so we will not have too much "ad-hoc" to handle and disturb the routines..

zhen, hi-5! i cooked soup stocks over the weekend and freeze also! then use it on the boys' porridge and noodles.. im waiting for YA to be able to take chunkier food so i can prepare their meals together.. so i gonna cook 2 pots of different foods for each meal.. and sometimes i feed them together, both on highchair and i sit in front of them feeding 1 spoon to zq then change bowl and another spoon to YA.. very cartoon loh! haa..

hannah's lunch provided in sch? zq also.. but i worried he not eating well at sch so i still prepare a small portion for him.. though his teacher told me he can self feed quite well..

jas &amp; zhen &amp; SAHM wi 2 kiddos,

do u feel that we are so busy to meet the kids' daily needs and house chores that we dun hv time to play and teach them? esp towards YA.. i feel abit indebted towards him as im always v occupied and he's easy to take care, so i dun really spend lots of time to teach &amp; play wi him..

dodo, aiyo.. poor ger.. hope u can find a suitable ayi soon to help lighten ur load.. pls dun feel bad ya? i guess most will feel the same way as u ba? sayang..

tiffany! i also wana order the manuka honey! ran out of supplies le.. who else?

bbwow, mine is also a chinese kindy and chinese takes up 30% of the curriculum. 2 teachers as well and i have heard them speak in diff languages to the kids. maybe cos of the nationalities of students in the kindy J goes to? you might want to check with them. tink the curriculum differs for diff sch..

re: manuka honey
the last time I bought was from zhen zhen. I found a store in Marina Square selling at 20% off. But 1kg +12 OOS le. They still have +10 or +15. So I got the 500g +12 at $38 (after 20% discount) I compared with BP price and I think about the same so I just buy.

hippo, tiffy, zhen zhen, tiffany,
that's what I thought so too. So that's why I'm shocked the form teacher explain such thing to me. What's more absurd is Unice's sean is in the same school but different class. And his teacher happens to be from China so naturally will speak Chinese. Then it got me to thinking how come not standardize one?

bbwow,
hmm, not sure if i'm right. By this age, shld expose them in chinese n english. Last time sherry don't know how to speak chinese at all. now she can sing 1st-2nd sentence of twinkle twinkle little star in chinese n can sing 'gong xi gong xi gong xi ni'

bbwow, maybe you should try raising this to the principal instead? he/she would be in a better position to advise you.

dodo, you're very hardworking leh. hannah's school provides lunch, but i know she doesn't eat that much in school because she's a bit picky about what she eats. however, i really don't have the time to cook and feed her lunch before she goes to school. so i just make sure i feed her a good breakfast and then top her up with milk after that. after reading your post, i feel a bit ashamed...

btw, have you considered getting a part-time cleaner in instead? someone who can come in once a week to do the heavy duty cleaning. this will free you up quite a bit, so you can spend a bit more time with your kids. this could be an alternative to getting an ayi.

and i definitely play less with deborah compared to hannah. but what i try to do is set aside some time each day to play/sing/talk to her. guess it's inevitable, as we have more on our hands. but don't feel bad. we're all doing the best we can given our limited resources.

re: manuka honey
the lobang that jovial gave us we cannot use already. if you want, can order from goodbargains (think can find in the business threads). but i think the savings is just a few dollars, so might be more convenient to just get from the store instead.

and hannah recently is the biggest fan of my cooking (even tho it's super duper simple fare). she keeps asking me whether i'm cooking. when i do, she'll come to the kitchen and tell me "it smells delicious!". wah! this girl EQ is super high, with a super sweet tongue.

zhen zhen,

I'm going to do that. consolidating a long list of 'grievances' to send. kekeke. kidding

talking about cooking,
I think I'm the worst. I have never cooked a proper meal before. and now I don't even cook J's porridge too. what we eats he eats too. keke so who can fight with me? :p