(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Chris,
COngrats!!! so happy for you..

Maruko & totoro & bbwow,
Think there is more than one leh...just sixth sense nia. But seriously dun know who leh.

MM,
I think 1 teacher to handle a new class and aged 2-3 yrs old is not very practical. Usually for new class, dont they allow parent to accompany 1-2 lessons until the kid settle down? At Berries, they have 2 teachers and allow parent to accompany 1-2 or more until the kid settle down. Of course they encourage uncompanied, but, we have to the the cue of the kid too.

ecookie, congrats! do tell us more about your birth story, and post pics of peanut soon!

chris, great news! so happy for you.

MM & tiffany,
I have tots of sending Dayan to the Berries leh..heard they are pretty good. The standard is there.

maisy, the school is very ambitious right? 1 teacher alone with 5 2-3YO sounds chaotic!

re: polliwogs
pity hannah's class is from 11.45-2.45. hard to meet up with mummies for play date.

jas, i also heard that berries is good. was thinking of sending hannah there if she went to an english kindy. but since she's at a chinese kindy, might not need to.

Maruko....think i can't join you then.
not afraid Marcus will BAO TO....keke...he's not that advanced in speech anyway...all that single word blabbering...think only i can really understand..keke :p

Eunice,

I only want grapes. How many grapes you have and when is the expiry date?

Jas,
Which branch are you eyeing? I met one Sept07 mummy in Berries Orchard. Lucas is there into his 2nd year now. Andrea is on waiting list for sat morning time slot.

ecookie.. congrats! hv a good confinement ya!

chris.. the chinese sinseh shdnt b wrong.. faster go buy test kit & double cfm. gotta take care 1st trimester... congrats!

tiffy.. tink sherry shd b ok soon.. at least got some1 she likes (her form teacher)... some kids dun even want anybody & keep crying. u can hv more rest b4 she's back fm schl =)

maisymouse, petit_gars.. how's joey & tiffie getting on in p1? mine still not used to a.m. session on friday (mon-thurs p.m. sessions). everyday i must 'fight' w her asking wat bread she wants to bring to schl cos her choices v limited (oni want hotdog/egg/cheese) she still duno how to buy food fm tuckshop, & every night must go thru her bag & nag her do homework, headache!

Tiffany, junnie:
I would prefer Berries. As for which branch i haven't look into it. yr choice is at orchard? Good? do you know their costs ah?

Tiffany & Junnie,
I tried Tien Hsia for Tiffie for 3 yrs...N1 to K1...turns out standard so-so only...and now she's with Jiang Education...they can really prepare K2 for P1....Tiffie improved so much in terms of hanyu pinyin and worksheets
into her P1 program now...but one thing i really hate is their location....FU LU SHOU ???? very popular and academic based school.

Junnie,
SAMA SAMA here....headache with P1 kids right? She's 5 days PM session (12.25 to 6.20pm)...Monday got to rush her to maths at 10am, before heading to school. Friday another headache, chinese at 8-9.30pm. Sat 4-6 english, SUNDAY is declared purely a PLAY DAY (NO HOMEWORK) by my gal, nothing except ballet. So much homework from school and enrichment classes...and i got to nag at her to finish during the 6 days....tell me how not to nag at her :S These kids really have no sense of time...taking their own sweet time to complete their dinner & bath followed by homework.... need to end our weekdays at minimum 10pm.... Hahahaaaa, and packing school bag is another nagging issue...gotta double confirm for them...keke

Any mummies tried HUA language at united square? thinking of sending Marcus there while Tiffie is having her english class on sat.... any comments?

petit ... ending the night at 10pm is very good liao ... my CARISSA eat so SLOW ... by the time we start to do work is around 8-8.30 pm liao ... so all the way to 11-1am depends in the home work she had and also spelling etc

She is starting school tomolo liao ... *.* in a differ country somemore ... so fast hope all goes well for her and me ;)

MM hahahahaha YES its "sigh"

CM,
just ended my night...did Carissa eat with the TV on? Mine always beg me for TV during dinner time...so that explains why she's so slow...need to nag and nag .... Gotta whack her just now to speed things up :S really run out of patience from the past 2 weeks of nagging....

How did Carissa feel about starting new school tomorrow? She's a smart girl...everything will definitely turns out fine
P2 this year right?

Cm,
PM me so that I can get hold of your email address.

I'm back at work. Sian. sian lor..

Ecookie,
Congrats! Yours is c-sec or natural delivery? 3.5 is v v good weight! I wanted naia to be at this weight too, not too big and not too small..hehe..

Maruko,
I think it’s not nice to bluff lor. I rather change the number and then apply for no number display VAS.

Jas,
If you’re thinking of letting your maid use your house phone to call home, make sure you have no number display service. By the way, Berries good? we have stop gracekids because the place deteriorated. Both teachers left and joined Pat’s school. So sad..Now, we’re scouting for enrichment classes for her. Preferable something like gracekids with large area to run around.

Totoro,
Which LNT branch you’re sending Kelly? Is it good? Thinking of enrolling aria to LNT tampines branch, the new one. The place still not ready yet. Wonder need to register liao or not for N2 (2011) intake.

Chris,
Woohoo… Congrats in advance first  That’s my ideal age gap for my girls but too bad, naia decided to come to the world early. Or rather God have better plan for us..hehe..

Chintz,
Sunshine card can buy from 7 eleven/cheers? My maid call to mobile line. The $10 value can only call abt 1 hour.

aria_jo : welcome back to working world :p

Enrichment class : mummies, dun you all tink kids very stress in S'pore. There's a survey tat shows tat the number of kids b4 gg to Pri 1 dun hv pre-sch education is dropping. Everyone is sending kids to classes. Kids are so so stress now :p

zhenzhen,
sian!!! today, my collegue just pass me one request to serve. but luckily it's relatively simple. yesterday, was busy shifting things to my new cubicle.

maruko,
too late lah. i told hubby but he said so troublesome to bring her out to public phone. now, hubby and I kinda regret it..haiz.. but after I told my maid to tell her sister do not call so often, the phone calls have reduce already.

eunice,
i guess parents now are more and more educated and know the importance to exposing the kids to learning?

Aria_jo : yes. I believe so tat we are getting more educated and want our kids same as us.

Sigh. stress...

btw u got yr tixs to Disney? for yr case u need to act fast

Ariajo I PM U liao

Just came back from Carissa's school ... everything looks good and ok ... hope everything goes well for her too but hahaha her 1st lesson today is BAHASA INDONESIA hahahahaha ... she must be BLUR BLUR now kekeke but again she got a small class la only 16 of them and i also order the catering for her for 4 weeks which cost me Rp300,000 hmmm to me its exp cost abt S$2.30 per meal hmmmm just hope that its good

Waiting for her rented piano to come and it also cost abt Rp 400,000 per mth peng all $$$ ... no $ no talk hmmmm

petit will the TV is on but she is sitting on the dining table and i am also there to nag at her la ... but she is just S L O W unless i cook curry den she will finish like 15mins at most Yes now she is in P2 ... but P2 B not A she got to skip the whole A ... hope she can catch up her work fast too so today she will have to restart her "busy" timetable again.

hmmm today when we are going out (send my gal to school ... my driver said that my maid's hb is outside ... wanna if he come here everyday for her !!! will spot check her liao if not wait he comes in i also dun no cos we are still upstairs and hb already gone to work ... and ppl here i think will cover for each other too

Pics ... ok ok ok i will try to take pics

Hi Aria
LNT is only a 1hr session. The classes is by age group from 1 - 5 I think. Kelly in Year 3 this year! Some of us here started them together when they are about 9mths if my memory didn't fail me.

Berries
After seeing this chinese enrichment class suddenly bring back old memories ... I think they are the same school that I have worked part-time before as a asst teacher during my uni days!! It's time to pay them a visit!! And there will always be 2 teachers in the class. I remembered bringing some of the kiddos to the toilet before ha ha but normally is one at a time and not very often as the parents would ensure they have done all these before the class!!

ariajo, if ur maid listens & obey den shld b no prob lor. Juz worried if it turns ugly den gonna b headache for u all liaoz...

CM, glad to hear all is fine for u now. 加油!

eunice, I do agree wif u dat kids nowadays dun hav much "childhood" days as compared to us previously...perhaps we all noe dat its very competitive livin in SG. No education & u will b considered like an outcast. :p

CM,
glad to know that Carissa's sch is good.. one burden off.. take good care of urself too, and also the kids. ur house is big and dun trust the ppl there too much.. i dun trust the ppl here that much also, always on guard esp on child's safety issue.. coz we are not local and they may perceive that we are rich by staying at expat's area, and wi such young kids, they may harbour evil thoughts like kidnapping etc.. stay vigilant ya!

and yes! look forward to see the photos of ur big big house!

zhen zhen,

have you tried cup feeding? like pour a little EBM into the bottle cap? not sure if it works. the nurse at KK did that to J when he was borned.

zhen zhen,
re bb reject bottle, maybe u ask ur mum to feed her instead? and u dun stay by her side, leave the room.. i think bound to have some "struggle" initially, hope she will get use to it soon..

eunice,
think most of the P04 stage all fully booked! boo hoo!!

naia might have caught a bug from my niece.. i'm so so worried! she has not been drinking her milk for close to 12 hours!Hubby bringing her see a PD now. Pls pray for her!

totoro,
how do you find LNT?

CM
Glad to hear that things are going well now and very soon you can start to enjoy your life liao!! Like what Dodo mentioned, be vigilant is very important as sometimes we are just too used to the carefree environment in Singapore that we forgot to watch our back!!

Looking at P1 lifestyle does seems scary leh! Better enjoy more now ha ha

eunice, totally agree that our kids are being stressed out at a young age. really feel for them.

ariajo, hang in there! i'm sure you'll settle down quickly into work mode soon.

re: feeding
my mom also tried to feed deborah, but also unsuccessful. i'll try again tmr. think persistance is the key.

Good morning All WONDERFUL Mummies.

Jas,
I have tried Berries Hougang, find the teachers so boring. Again, I think it depends on which teacher. Basically, the syllabus is the same in all Berries, it only depends on how the teacher conduct the class. One of Lucas N1 Orchard Berries teacher who is very good, transferred to other branch liao... Thot I could have her to teach Andrea, but too bad lor..

Aria jo, Maruko,
With 2 kids, sometimes its hard to specify that the maid has to use public phone, where got time to bring her out right? I think its OKAY to let her use house phone, BUT, do let her know to exercise control such as giving her some rules and that you are comfortable with. Having a maid is to convenient us, not to add on burden as to accomodate her timing etc...If she goes over-board with the phone, do let her know what is your expectation.

Anyone encounter nose bleeding in your kiddos? Andrea has fresh blood flowing down from her nose yesterday morning when she woke up. She is currently having runny nose and cough and dun know why yesterday, fresh blood flow out when she sneeze. Lucky the flow stopped after awhile. Anyone has suggestion?

Headache with this girl. Asked her every morning if she wants to go to school, she still says NO and shake head. I bet she will cry for a long time when I send her to school in March.

karrie, chintz, sugarnut, aria, zhen zhen,

regarding BF #2, how long u all intend to do so? YA has been on total BF since borned till now almost 8 mth old... now i only latch once in the morning and the rest are bottled feed wi EBM.. but i notice my supply getting lesser, just barely meet YA's demand.. im thinkg to intro 1 feed of FM soon.. but feeling abit weird weird.. duno how to say leh..

aria
I personally like LNT as there are a lot of activities and for me, it's just a chance for her to get in touch with 3 languages! But I must stress that the 1hr is very packed and they will use a lot of their brain juice due to the absorbing or thinking !! When she is younger, she will enjoyed the class but will knocked out immediately in her car seat! I remember I was very worn out just looking at the activites in the initial period as well ha ha .

Dodo,

Admire your persistency lei. 8 months of TBF is so good already. I couldnt wait to stop BF'ding and was counting down every single month but I persisted till 7.5mths for Lucas. I was so damn happy when my milk stopped!!! I am such a lousy mummy, cannot endure the discomfort. *BooHoo*

dodo : I understand yr feeling although I din bf my boys long. it's a kinda of she bu de. like we can't complete our task to supply.

tiffany : maybe becos yr girl rub her nose too much n hard. tell her not to if possible. once my friend almost faint to find fresh blood stain on the mattress :p

let her drink more water bah.

Enrichment class : Aria_jo, is Malvis also situable for our kids? I tink Riverview mall (SK) has n lots of kiddos too. Pgl also has some classes

ariajo, oh my...hope naia will b ok.

Tiffany, nose bleedin? not sure as didnt encounter b4...u might wanna call PD to check wif them but I tink they will most probably ask u to bring Andrea for them to check.