(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

dodo,
your system will confuse them or not?hehe... i remember i hv a gf whose mum will converse with her in mandarin and dad converse with her in cantonese. so she grew up speaking like that to her parents. you want to try that?

i can imagine the fighting scene. sorry, sound very amusing to me
but ZQ very nice, never fight back and just let didi pull his hair?

thanks to all the mummies for ur advice!

will try my best for BF lah. but im not gonna beat myself up if i cant do TBF or BF for long. :p

bbwow: wow ur CL is really terrible. so irritating. i sure show black face if she said that to me!!

dodo/tiffany/hippo/aria_jo: yah will try my best to let yz accept didi. i think involving him in taking care of didi and showing him that he is also my priority will be the best way bah..

dodo: yz also talks in rojak style. but mainly he likes to converse in mandarin with us. but sometimes also switch to english.. so far im not restricting or correcting him. though i find that i ve the tendency to repeat twice to him for same thing. once in english n once in mandarin. very luo suo right?

hahahaha...mummies. I recalled mentioning about my CL when I delivered. and all the mummies also 'abish' the CL verbally. kekeke. can show all the mummies so supportive.

ariajo,
your supply is so good! I think my one day of EBM can't even match your one cycle. kekek. now think back, I wished I was more determined to BF.

dodo,
J speaks English primarily. but my MIL speaks Mandarin to him and the great grandma speaks HOKKIEN. So can you imagine sometimes one sentence he can talk in rojak. hahaah.

maruko,
yes, i always correct him (and hubby also!), to apeak only 1 language in a sentence.. not easy coz always have to "spot the mistakes".. but i will press on!

aria,
he attending sch now and it's a bilingual sch.. 1 native chinese teacher and 1 english speaking teacher and another montessori teacher who speak both language.. and also some angmo kids in the class.. so i hope he can speak more english in sch..

hmm.. i ever think of this system also but im not sure leh.. coz hubby only speaks to him when he sent him to sch and back from work, limited exposure a day leh..
ya, it's funny! we had a good laugh at it also.. zq always let didi pull his hair.. and didi enjoys doing so! :p

Dodo...
I cant stop laughing when I hear your 2 boys' pulling hair and snatching story. Haiz... everyday, my both kids will fight with each other too. Always snatching from each other and pushing each other. Andrea is one little chilli padi. Whenever she cant get to snatch from Lucas, she will start using her finger tips to scratch korkor and says fight fight fight. Haiz haiz.. hear all the fighting noise, really make drives me up the wall.

Maruko/ Eunice,
You both so cute lei... hahaha... comparing 2/3 digits of milk supply. Hiyah... your baby also grow up so healthy right?

bbwow,
wah piang.... your CL super blunt. you should ask her go Fly kite. Still can rub salt to an open wound. Already so stress liao, still hear her say "fei hua"

actually aria has been speaking really bad english!!!! can't help it because mummy and daddy speak singlish sometimes..aria always add "lah" and "leh" to her sentences! yikes!

so, dodo speaking mandarin is good because at least no leh and lah..haha..i'm sure ZQ is speaking beijing accented mandarin. probably pronunciation much better than me woh..

ecookie,
wahaha! another loh sor mummy here.. sometimes i do the same as u :p hubby said im confusing him!

bbwow,
actually i find that it's good that they are exposed to many different language.. we dun have much choices here, only english and mandarin coz my dialect cannot make it.. hee

i think ZQ really has a very mild and sweet temper leh..haha.. willingly let YA pull his hair. i wonder whether aria will let mei mei bully or not. may be cos she's so timid! i have a feeling Naia is very outspoken and demanding girl..

dodo, the system aria mentioned is wat i have been doing with adri lor.. haha.. mum speaks to her in mandarin, grandma in canto and the rest of us in english.. so if she says something to my granny in english, my granny will ask her to repeat in canto cos obviously my granny dun understand! hahahaha

ecookie, sama sama la. i didnt bother to make myself miserable with BF or FM. the most irritating part was in the hospital. kept asking and asking me to go to the BF class.. hahaha!

aria_jo: same same! yz always like to add a "hor" at end of his sentences. when he's trying to convince us of something. haha

just curious, does your kiddo mimic what you do nowadays?

we have been trying to discipline him and make him stand at naughty corner. Then one day, he suddenly ask his ah chor to go stand at the naughty corner and don't move! cause he say ah chor is naughty! pengz! like who is the adult here!

tiffany : kekeke cos you all "old" bird in bfing mah. so Maruko n I just "communicating" to each other lor.

Singlish : Elbib also a lot of Singlish. "like this huh?"/ dun hv huh?

Elvis is a bit of parrot. will repeat after wat we said :p

Fighting : I encountered dog and pig fighting almost everyday. hahaha...

bbwow: yz has been doing that already! whenever, hb doesnt give in to something, he will say "papa notti go and sit at notti corner." sometimes wil still wave the ballon stick ( our version of cane) when saying this. haha.

oh yeah, mummies, been wanted to ask this question. how to use training pants? is it useful when want to toilet train our kid?

congrats ecookie
peanut is so cute!!!! im sure YZ will take to him soon!

dodo, i know what u mean. have been exclusively breastfeeding mea for the past 9 mths until last week when my mil sms me at school to say there was no EBM in the fridge anymore *sobz* so have been supplementing 1 feed per day with FM. on the other hand i'm quite relieved that my supply is reducing, because the days of oversupply were really......arggghh...once i dun pump on time only, sure kena mastitis!!! so in a way I am glad my days of pumping 600ml each time are over. now it's like half that amt.

CM, gosh it sure sounds like you have so many changes to adapt to. but super mummy, i'm sure you can handle it...with God's strength yah?

re: dominant language
yah matty is totally a banana. he insists on speaking english everytime we try to speak to him in chinese. good thing is, his class in LSH has 2 PRC teachers who converse in mandarin to him. so at least he has some exposure. i'm not going to stress too much over it lah. now also no need CL to get into university mah heheheheh. very bad hor??

Aria_jo : training pants are useful when yr girl is about to tell u sh sh and you run n run but not in time, a bit come out liao, but gd training pant can help to absorb abit. so u dun need to mop the floor like crazy. hahaha.....

hahaha... anything that is long, just grab and use to threathen as cane liao. Andrea is one cry baby, whenever she notty, and asked her you want to stand notty corner, she will cry liao.... win liao lor... cry 1st.

ecookie & bbwow!! talk abt balloon stick. i had one cut to fit the bag i bring out when with her. and there was once i took it out to threaten her that i will cane her if she dun behave. but she looked at me and said to me "not cane! itz for balloon".. wah piangz..
my mum bth her, so went to chop up one cane so that it can fit into the bag too. now she dun dare to tell me itz for balloon!! grrrr...

aria, adri does use "lah" also but hers end up sounding like "nah.." so manja sounding lor.. haha

hippo,
haha..yeah, very manja and endearing

tifanny,
yeah, cry is a weapon for our kids liao..

eunice,
so, if kena urine, have to change and wash already right? reusable hor? thinking of getting a set of minnie mouse for aria.

Tiffany, true also lah...as long as our kiddos grow up healthy den how much supply dun matter.

mummies using cane, r ur kiddos afraid of it? I bought one days ago...haven "got the chance" to use it. Or rather hope not to use it.

re: crybaby
Travis has been cryin very easily at home. I asked his teacher in school if he is like dat wif them. But NO, they say now he very thick skin liao...scold & scold also wont cry at all. But at home little bit he start to cry. Sigh...guess its my mil's presence also. Dunno how to discipline him at home. Guess I will bcom 公敌 if I used the cane.

Aria_jo : yes re-usable. Need to wash and dry. another gd point abt training pants is to let kiddo koe wat is "WET" hahaha...

Better buy a set of 5 pcs at least so in time to dry.

Potty Train : Mmm... all of u seems have started the training. I have not train Elvis yet for pee. Poo at least I try to put him on potty once. :p

eunice, er...trainin pants? ok im a sua ku mummy here. Where can I get those? Coz im using those disposable type now. Managed to make travis pee into his potty now. Haven got the chance to let him poo in it.

Maruko : oh so Travis is trained to pee into potty on and then? congrats. then training pants not so gd for you liao. you dun wish to wash training pants with poo rite? they are made of cotton.

u can find in bp, spree, shopping centre n oversea webbie.

example

http://www.ibaby.com.sg/shop/index.php/bottoms/luvable-friends-training-pants-3-pack.html

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_s...rds=training+pants&sprefix=training+pants

http://shop.ebay.com.sg/?_from=R40&...=training+pants&_sacat=See-All-Categories

eunice, he still dunno how to say it himself. I gotta ask him constantly if he wanna pee den he will ans me. I used the trainin diapers den wont hav to "clean" up if he pee w/o tellin me. :p will check out the trainin pants when i go kiddy. Tink they shld hav?

Eunice,
Who toilet-trained your elder boy? Being working mum, its really difficult to train the kids lei... Why dont you ask your helper to train?

Maruko,
Travis has been very good boy that you havent whipped out the cane, wonder does Travis know what is a cane.... ahahha.. just kidding.

Hippo,
Wow... Adri very clever to give you that answer... hahaha... when I whipped out the ballon stick, Lucas start to run liao... hahahahha... also Andrea will be looking in fear!!! Cos, balloon stick is also a cane back at home for us... hahahha

tiffany, dat girl's got attitude problem!! grrr...

aria, i dun find any use for training pants except to minimise the mess.. didnt use any for adri cos once she was started on the toilet training, she was wearing panties already.. keke..

Tiffany, not dat he is a gd boy but my mil dun allow me to buy. It's only recently dat she also BTH him so didnt object when i bought it in front of her. Of coz Travis dunno wat cane is for coz he still haven "taste" it yet. hahaha...tink when its time, I gotta make sure I lock myself in the room wif him. I'm only afraid I will b cryin when caning him.

Tiffany : I'm so so proud to say " I TOLIET TRAIN ELBIB"
Frankly speaking, he also din use alot on training pants too :p

He also "xin gan qin yuan" let me train & succeed
on his 3rd bday. so i also not so stress on Elvis too. maybe Elvis will too
*cross finger*

Talk about caning, haiz.. I usually control my strength. I really cant bear to wrack hard, think mummies are always soft-hearted. My hb will really wrack and that makes me really heart pain. sob sob...

I dont know how to discipline Andrea. I will usually give her chance and warning 1st, but she is really stubborn and refuse to stop crying. So, I will lightly tap tap the cane on her and she will cry louder and says pain pain, Mummy, pain pain.... BTH her!!!

Eunice,
Thumbs up, well done!!! It will be easier to train when they are older actually. I am so shameful to say that I have no patience and duno how to toilet-train.... My maid is really good, she successfully trained both my kids. Actually I am not stress over toilet trained so early, but Lucas and Andrea's school needs to be toilet trained then they will accept, so, it has to rushed alittle.

ecookie.... is been a while since the last bb pix posted here... lil peanut look so sweet while sleeping!! re yz... gv him some more time to get use to the new addition to the family, i'm sure he'll b a good kor kor.. yes, u must get him involve in taking care of didi to show tat he's v 'important' too! tmr can go home le? 好好补一补 =) (& like wat other mummies said... enjoy the 'noise'/'fighting' soon =D )

cm.. oic.. 4 or 5am still v early la... all of u must turn in early as well, if not where got 精神?? i tot $2.30 for whole day, so is one meal? then is not cheap, hopefully the food is delicious w the amt! better to let the kids stay by your side as when possible since u r new to the maid/driver.

tiffany, zq... tink most kids luv eggs!!! zann can eat one after another but gotta stop her cos too much also no good. tiffany, if andrea got cough/running nose, best to cut down or dun let her eat to recover faster.

dodo..tink environment plays a part. my friend in taiwan 4 years (now relocated in shanghai), her youngest son (grow up in taiwan) also speaks mandarin oni whereas his brother (P5) can speak english & mandarin (attending international schl). u gotta spend lots of time/effort if u insist the kids conversant in a specific language.

hippo, ecookie, ariajo.. cos we speaks singlish tat's y our kiddo also follows, they r fast learners =) mine also speaks rojaks, cos parent & nanny & schl speak english/mandarin, grandparents speaks dialect to them & they'll reply broken dialect to the grandparents kwning they dun understand english.

maruko..travis also says mandarin+english? lance too.. at times he'll tell my mum 'po po ... go 'ki kun' (aka sleep in hokkien) & tell us 'v tire.. i wan go & sip' (sleep)!!

bbwow... j so cute! ask ah chor go stand notti corner?? keke.. everytime i ask lance to go notti corner if he did someting wrong, he'll say 'ok face the wall' then will change from one plc to the other & ah mah will come to his rescue... he tink is funny, no more reckon it as notti corner... now i use rubberband to 'shoot' him if he's notti.

re cane.. mine 'immune' liao.. cos fm young keep using it to threaten them.. end up 'no power' liao... now must really 'whack' them with it then will scare one... so mummies hvnt tried cane, pls use it 'wisely' ya =D

hippo : I also let Elbib wear brief. hahaha... after he suceed, I buy and buy Mickey briefs, boxers for him. even hb also scold me.

Tiffany : no la... me also impatient mummy. I train him at 2yrs but fail. Becos 1 time fail, I gave up. Then "pressure" everywhere, then I try again. i succeed becos he really close to me mah. So I tell him, he follows. and also maybe his time to be ready for training is up :p

btw nite training u started? This I really no idea how to start. Pee b4 gg to bed then wear diaper. after tat ask for water and can drink almost 1 cup

Junnie,

how come zann sch is 4 days afternoon and 1 day morning, so strange, 1st time I hear.

re nite training, 2hrs before bed.. no more fuid.

eunice, so Elbib is toilet trained onli at 3yrs old? Travis cc teacher tell me to start him soon coz when reach nursery they will wan the kids to b trained liaoz...

junnie, tink our kids all speak rojak in SG. hahaha...coz they r exposed to "rojak" environment wif different ppl speakin diff languages/dialects to them. kekeke... :p

tiffany,

oh btw, think pump for 1hr too long already... no wonder so draining on you. Like Karrie said, overproduction will lead to blocks and mastitis.

Maisymouse : can't leh. he will shout n shout n no peace. :p

I saw some mummies telling me to wake the kids up to pee at nite :p

Maruko : yes. at 3 yrs old. but different kids got different timing la. I'm lazy mummy so I started on his bday. gave him 1 pack of Mickey brief as pressie

eunice,

that's the ideal timing la.. if he drinks water just before bed... better play safe and put on a diaper.. can't stop him if he wants to drink but have to take precaution lor ;)

Ya, one of my friend does that... but quite torture for yourself right? got to wake up in the mid of sleep.

MM,
haha.. looks like I have tortured my breast and squeeze out every single bit, thats why I have so much milk..No wonder I did not enjoy expressing while so many mummies love it so much. anyway, this is history liao, no more moo moo for me forever loh @_@

Eunice,
I am not thinking of this night training yet. Think its gonna be along way more.. Lucas is a milk monster, he needs to stuff his milk bottle in his mouth then he can sleep, if he dont sleep after finish 1 bottle, he will request for 2nd bottle of milk. So, how to train him? He is still a liquid boy.

As for Andrea... she is very straight minded!!! During this toilet- training period, she will not want to pee in diaper. When I put on her diaper to prepare for sleep, she will ask me to remove and wana pee in potty/ toilet bowl...Told her she has diaper on and can pee in it, she insist she wants to pee on potty. Faintz.

As for night toilet training, we should consult MM, Junnie, CM or Petit. They have older gals, so, can advise better.

Tiffany : so Andrea is no diaper at nite? I also encounter b4 from Elbib.

going out, he wants to pee. I told him he has diaper on. He shout he wants to pee again to me... hahaha... no choice has to take out his diaper. :p

last few days at nite, he ask me is he wearing diaper? can pee? :p he's confused. hahaha

eunice, tink for nite trainin juz observe the child lor...cant stop ur kiddos from drinkin water if they wan to like MM said. perhaps U check their diaper every morning & c if its wet. If not, they might b able to control themselves while sleepin liao...

Eunice,
No la.. Andrea not so superb. She is off diaper during day time and definitely needs diaper during nap and sleep. I meant when I put on diaper at night for her to prepare her to sleep, but before she slept, she wanted to pee and insist I take out so that she can pee in potty. When she sleep, of cos she cannot control liao loh.

Andrea will tell my helper she wants to pee while in the swimming pool... hahah.. told her can pee inside, she just cannot do it... hahhaha