(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hippo:
adri is so cute even wif the new hair style

totoro_bb:
u hv pm

gingerleaf, argh!!!!!!!!! i will hope & pray lyn gets better asap!!! cos i miss u & lyn!! was looking forward to seeing u both.. sign...
hahaha! but seriously, come come come ok? i m sure itz just cos of the weather recently..

maruko, check out my ah lian b4 the haircut. super heartpain but yup.. hair grows very fast and her fringe better grow asap!!!
2935334.jpg

san & cheriebear, keke.. thanks!

cheriebear, how r u gal? pregnancy & everything else okie?

hippo:
now I'm thinking of cutting short Clarisse's hair cos she dun let us tie her hair one.. think she likes the idea of sweeping back her hairs.. but have to get approval from daddy first.. cos daddy prefer both his princesses have long hair.. my mother and mother in law kept asking us to cut short their hair.. sigh..

hippo, dun worry. fringe grows very fast. that's the only part of hannah's hair that i have to trim regularly. the back seems to grow sooooo slowly. wonder when i can finally tie up her hair properly.

my hubby has been able to manage his slipped disc quite well. he even plays tennis and runs half marathons! he says the most impt is to make sure your back muscles are strong. warm up your muscles with a warm shower first thing in the morning, then slower stretch it out. if you need advice, you can ask "chen hao" on 21st. he's been living with a slipped disc since 17YO.

morning mummies!!

tiffany,
you can try looking for the candles at Cold Storage bakery corner. I know Carrefour Suntec sells also. Or those balloon party shops.

hippo,
not sure what happened but briefly read. hope all the aches go away. and adri's new hairstyle looks good for the weather! hehe

see you all mummies at the bash!!

Hippo,
Dun worry, Adri is still so pretty.... let her fringe grow longer... and she will even be more kawaii.... so cute !!!
I always bring my kids to the united square junior league salon... but not all hairdressers can cut well... i always look for one auntie... she will listen to instructions better. Marcus due for a haircut soon, wanted to groom him like a korean/jap hairstyle... wondering how to tell the auntie.

Maruko,
can I have the mover's contact too? I am due to move by year end. TIA

Gingerleaf,
OMG... you must come ok... I pray hard for Lyn.

san, Clarisse is such a girl girl.. i tink she'll look good with bob & short bangs (just make sure itz not too short like adri's!).. try to convince ur hb.. else if her hair is long and she dun let u tie it up, very pek chek for herself too esp in our kind of weather..

zhen zhen, u kidding! 17YO till now? wah... kena mine about 7/8 years back. last relapse was 6 years back.. ever since then was on & off dull pain until now.. hmm.. i must talk to chen hao liao! hahahaha he's reali power la..

hippo, haha...she dun look ah lian leh...but she reminds me of my nick...xiao wan zi. kekeke...actually maruko is xiaowanzi pronounced in jap. :p their hair sure grow very fast one lah...b4 u noe it, its time for the next haircut liao...

re: slip disc
there is a simple exercise that can do at hm anytime to strengthen the muscles to prevent having slip disc. My hb that time have v v slight slip disc n my fren recommend a chinese physician to us. This man use his finger to help push back the disc in place for my hb n ask my hb to do that exercise everytime to prevent having another relapse. But preggy cannot do this execise. Whenever my hb carry Sherry for long time, he will do that exercise n his back won't be so aching liao.

hippo,
Adri's really v long even aft cutting her hair. Sherry's hair pathetic, grow the slowest here i think.

Gingerleaf,
hope lyn get well soon. so long nv c u n lyn liao. hope to see u at the bash leh

ecookie,
I also add cordyceps to my kids' porridge... I bought it from Hock Hwa, and ask them to grind to powder. I will add one small spoon (the previous macdonald coffee stirrer) to their porridge once a week.

bbwow, thanks gal.. cya @ the bash!!

petitgars, keke.. apparently her hair was cut by a guy at the same place.. i shall overlook her fringe.. hohohoho..
go and ask CM for a pic of Carlson! and show the hairstylist! hahahahaa

gingerleaf, juz read dat u cant join us for the bash...gosh...gonna miss Lyn's trademark thumb suckin skill. Hope she will b able to get well b4 the bash. Still got 5 days

tiffy, the stupid pain was very bad even after i went for physio.. got better and better only after chinese TCM and tui-na nia. haha! but u r right lor.. cannot do now...
sherry's hair is ok la! u have cut quite a number of times right? adri's one was since her xiao san mao days leh..

maruko, i know! even ur email is xiao wan zi ma.. hahahaa

petit_gars: so can just grind to powder and just add to porridge directly? when should we add it ? at the start or when the porridge is almost done?pai seh, me totally clueless!

hippo:
I'm fine,thks.Juz that on Sun nite,i hv braxton hicks & the pain was quite intense.After taking med,was much better.Gg for chk up next thurs,am looking forward to see my little prince :D As for work,still ok lor. But starting to be busy again.

Gingerleaf:
hope lyn recover soon. The haze is really bad these few days.

Good Morning Mummies

Hippo,
Why wana cut Adri's hair? so nice to have it long. Can have many styles and all the pony.. very sayang lei...Girls are so fun to doll up hor.....

Jovial/petit
If you put the cordycep in porridge, can the powder dissolve? I blend the powder in manuka honey for the kids, cant really dissolve well, will have the sandy sandy residue settle at the bottle. Also, the residue will make the throat irritating when the residue stuck at the throat lei.....

bbwow,
Thanks for the tips. I will continue to look out at Cold storage corners.

Gingerleaf,
Ohh... by Monday, Lyn will be recovered. I am one relaxed mama.. when the kids sick, I will still bring them out one.. kekkeke.. cos they are still very active.

tiffy, looking on the bright side: save $$$ from cutting. haha.. does sherry have natural curls?

cheriebear, glad to hear everything's ok! but braxton hicks? ouch.. hope all's ok now!

tiffany, hahaha! i didnt want to but i can't stand her messy mop of hair. cos it has never been trimmed at the back since her botak days, itz all over the place. some long, some short.. very layered.. so tot of just trimming to the same length. but ended up so short. but hahaha! itz ok la. agree with u! girls are so fun to play with.. hohhohohoho

as for kids being sick, i reckon even if gingerleaf keeps sniffling lyn away, there will be other parents who let their sick kiddos play around. so come over to the party if lyn gets any better okie? u can tell we all miss u! at this age, i m more relaxed le. cos they are not as prone or weak as they were when they are babies. heehee...

hippo,
don't think she have natural curl leh. better not like me or else will spent more $ on her hair. we want her to have long hair so that can tie lots of pattern but grow so slow like tortise

oops, yz also having slight runny nose/cough cos he having sensitive nose (not from virus). though the runny nose is much better , the cough still lingering cos the phlegm is taking ages to disappear!
hope mummies wont mind when u hear yz coughing away on monday..

ecookie,
I add to the porridge when it's almost done, leave it in to cook for 5 mins, and mixed well. However, some of the mummies just add in when the porridge is cooked. they just stirred it well. It's up to your preference.

ecookie
My kids have the allergy cough and runny nose for 2months already..... its not due to virus too. Seen Dr so many times... all also say its allergy. The haze and dust these days so horrible.

Tiffany,
yah... i fully agree it's more of an allergy due to the haze. The allergic kiddos will suffer at the meantime... runny nose, itchy eyes, eczema flare ups and etc.....that's why I really make sure they take their daily vitamin C, weekly manuka honey and cordyceps powder to boost their immune system.

tiffany: yes!!! the haze is totally not helping. cos yz inherits my sensitive nose, cold/dust will lead to runny nose for him.. then will backflow and becomes phlegm n lead to coughing. headache. he has been down w runny nose/cough for nearly 1.5mth too.. think he eat meds till scared liao

petit_gars: thanks! i will try it soon. really hope his lungs will be stronger cos scared the coughing from his sensitive nose will weaken them..

ecookie, no worries abt it on Mon. Coz I believe he wont b the onli one.
Lately the haze is terrible, to add to it, there r constant burnin for the lunar 7th mth. So, we cant help it. Nowadays I turn on air con for Travis to sleep instead of openin the windows coz my window faces the "ge tai" & the speakers r turned up to the loudest volume they can get. Usually I dun allow Travis to sleep with air con on.

I heard from my mum dat cod liver oil helps prevent cough. Any mummies here feedin their babes wif it? I juz started Travis on it 2 days ago. He quite ok wif the taste though initially he made funny faces after eatin it. :p

Maruko,
Yes, J is taking cod liver oil on daily basis. He gave funny facial expressions during the initial stage, however he will open his mouth wide and standby to have it after his morning shower. I find it pretty good as he only got cough/runny nose when he became a victim when myself/hb spread these viruses to him. Generally, all is well most of the time. *cross fingers*
On and off, I will do double-boiled cordyceps and feed him. Though not very often as the physician from EYS Clinic mentioned that the goodness in it is not worth the money paid. There are alternatives to strengthen lungs such as huai shan, etc.
Huai shan is part of his usual porridge along with the usual red dates & wolfberry.
As advised by the physician, it's best to avoid cold stuff/drinks for 1st 4 years. So we dun give yougurts & refrigerated fruits anymore. With no choice, we will leave it out and give @ room temp.

OMG! Finally the thread is up again.
I have been trying to log this post since 12pm. What's up?

Error message prompted '... crashed and need to be repaired.'

doobom, YES finally we can post again...felt such a loss when I cant post anything... :p
re: cod liver oil
hope travis will b less prone to coughs after takin it.

gosh! the stupid website is finally up!

re: allergies
so many of our kiddos have allergies! tsk tsk.. adri has gotten my sensitive nose and due to tis, she is more prone to coughs & phlegm too.. but they are mostly not virus attacks as confirmed by the doc everytime we see him but more or less due to her allergies. haiz. and cos of her phlegm, her running nose also takes longer to heal everytime she gets it. i just hope it doesnt act up again in this horrible haze!! eeks..

Tiffany / ECookie,
I didn;t grind the cordycep. I feel storing in the original form is better. What I did is for that meal, I'll cook using slow cooker (boiling might destroy the 'goodness'). My slow cooker pot can bring to boil on stove 1st then transfer to the cooker. I'll cut the cordycep into tiny pieces (minus the 'stalk') then add to the slow cooker porridge AFTER I'm transfer from stove to slow cooker. Let it simmer and cook for 3 - 4hour. Then I feed everything to Caelen, no wastage.

Hippo,
120mg is given by gynae last time (when I have menses problem) so already have it liao. I'd asked the GP if it's too strong, she say it's ok.

Maruko & Tiffany,
Great to see both of you during lunch. Such a pity that we were a few tables away. I was catching up with ex-colleague.
Catch up for lunch soon? Let's do it next week.

Finally get to post since before lunch!

ecookie,
Both L & A have been having this bout of runny nose/couging/ itchy eyes/ rash etc for abt 2mths.. I have been to multiple Doctors and tried chinese medicine, all to no avail. Until I finally approached one Chinese medical hall, who intro me Cordycep, thot, give it a try.

L's has been running his eyes so much that Dr even refer him to see eye specialist. End up, diagnosis is also ALLEGY.... Haiz.. everything is due to the air and environment. There is increased constructions in Spore, think the air is super dusty. Spore air can be comparable to Shanghai liao... so polluted.

Doobom,
Yalor... so qiao.. You like the food arh???
Ya, lets arrange for next week. You seemed to be the busy one, so, you set the day for next week.

jovialz, ic ic! =)
cordyceps: aiyo.. my mother will put cook using slow cooker and then add that to her milk. can u imagine?? ahahhahaa!

Tiffany & Maruko,
Hee... I am not really busy. Just that I have my usual lunch kakis @ work, few of my ex-colleagues and friends are in the same area. So need some 'planning' about my lunch.
Ok, let's do it next thurs.

Any mummies can do lunch next thurs? Let's see the response before fixing the venue.

Lunch @ Raffles City/City Hall
Date: Thurs, 24Sept09
1. Tiffany
2. Maruko
3. Doobom

Cherie_bear, twinkle_stars, ecookie, Eunice, zhen_zhen? ON for next Thurs lunch?

ecookie.... yah, hope yz recover soon... cos many years back, when my sis is only 4 yrs old, she cough for almost a month, and it leads to asthma....my mom used to blame herself for not bringing her to see TCM earlier....so any haze will trigger her asthma now. We must really be careful dealing with coughs.

hippo, I juz called Amy to fix apptment for the eyebrow embroidery and the earliest date is 8th mar! Dun tink im able to wait dat long...hahaha...

any mummies can recommend me their beauticians?