(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

doobom: dont say that abt urself, i think you are doing fantastic already. as u said, falling sick is really part n parcel of them growing up. to build up immunity mah.

im currently feeding yz multi vits only. n my mum feeds him cod liver oil sometimes. hopefully will make him stronger and even when sick, will be mild case one.

tiffany: he was very happy to see me when my dad fetched him back to my house last evening. kept stroking my face. but he refused to let hb hug and call him initially. guess he is still sticky to me after all.

heard from mum that he woke up crying looking for me for the 4 nights he was over at his hse. but yest when back at our house, sleeping with me, he didnt do so. think really cant leave him behind for my next trip liao.

oh and mummies!

dodo: baby decided to open legs wide wide so can see his little penis!
yesh! yz is going to have a didi soon!
hb is neutral abt the gender, for myself, i was more biased towards having a girl girl but of cos, having a healthy child is more impt.
when i learnt that im having a boy again, i was surprisingly pretty neutral and begin to think of all the points raised by dodo last time! haha. like bonding between the brothers. then can save money for clothings etc., hah

but hor, my mum quite disappointed cos i think she wants me to be like her = 1 girl + 1 boy. and she hinted at me to try for a girl few years down the road. then i asked her wat if boy again, then she speechless on the other side of the phone. keke.

if u need to get more qty to get disc, just "SHOUT" here

Sick: My boys often cough. very common even though Elbib ate multi vit, vit C and cod liver oil. Elvis nothing. refuse to eat :p

ecookie!! woah.. congrats congrats! as long as baby is healthy dear! how many months are you again now?

maruko, i give 12+. 1 teaspoon.. =)

ecookie, congrats on gettin a boy

yes a healthy baby is more impt. tink my mil will wan me to hav a gal gal also coz she has been longin for one (she got 3 boys)...kekeke...

maruko: heheheh i wonder wat my MIL will think, she got 3 grandsons from each of her 3 children liao. then now 4th grandson!

hippo: me ard 17w now = 4 mths. still got a good 5 mths before delivery!

ecookie
Woohoo.... 2 BOYS. Same as dodo & Jas!! Yeah.. save money on girls' clothings.

I realised that these days, even the old folks want a combination of boy and girl. Olden days, Girls are not so "welcome"

Maruko
hhaha.. if you get a girl, will have problem with school again... wahahhaha

ecookie, haha...wa the "boy" genes so strong ah? all grandsons from all her children...kekeke...tink she will respond same as ur mum :p

Tiffany, haha...if got gal den no need tink liao...straight go Ai Tong...hahaha...only negative is will b different wif his bro lor...

I agree old folks nowadays prefer gals more...even my ah gong(not ard anymore) who is very "zhong nan qing nu" also said gal gal better when my sis was preggy wif my niece dat time. hehehe...

cos girls are more filial! with a daughter, u gain a son when she marries. with a son, u "lose" him when he marries! hahahaha

hippo: thats right! thats wat my mum kept on stressing. but i told her, we cant choose the gender and so long healthy most impt. then she more consoled haha.

doobom, it's the last day of school. after this is semester break. dunno whether i'm going to return to school for the new sem in Oct tho, as my EDD is nov.

ecookie, congrats on having a little boy! can save money by passing all of YZ's stuff down to didi.

eunice, I have sent an email to ask annie on the quantity to get extra discount...if not alot den I can pick up from her @ amk
thx...
u wanna get also?

Maruko
Actually, we can also do lunch either wed or thurs, so that Doobom can join? Not necessary must be friday. What do you think?

ecookie,
want to join in Raffles city lunch this week? wed or thurs? so far, Maruko, Cherie bear and me ONz. Doobom back off for friday cos she needs to bring Jerry to Dr.

Eunice,
My appt @ TPY is 3pm. My hb will be coming straight from home. So anytime to meet him should be fine. If lunch date fix on thurs, then we can meet and lunch w/ rest of mummies.

Tiffany & Maruko,
I cun do lunch on wed as I have lunch appt already. Thurs sound fine for me though I have the HDB appt @ 3pm.
Can lunch with you ladies prior to meeting hb. U ladies arrange and let me know.

ecookie,
Congrats! YZ gonna have a didi.

Do lunch on thurs?

hippo,
I suspect I am thinking too much, that's why having bad hormones last mth. Gynae was asking if I am stressful or any changes to my life.
I replied happily with a big NO. Come to think of it, perhaps I was too stressed up with Jerry's cough.
I need to relax more, so that more room to appreciate the bb dust spreading around.

Doobom/Maruko
Great. Then we fix on Thursday - 20/8/09.
Venue will depends on whether bbwow/Cherie bear and ecookie joining us. Cos, they are CityHall mummies.

Lets assume they are joining, we shall do lunch at Out of the Pan?
Any objections just shout. I am fine with any place. Quite like their crepe actually.

Re: CityHall Lunch
Date: 20/8/09
Time: 1215pm
Venue: Out of the Pan ??

1) Doobom
2) Maruko
3) Tiffany_seah

bbwow/Cherie bear/Chris/Ecookie, please confirm if you are joining.

All other mummies are welcome if you can meet us at Cityhall.

Jovialz,
wow.. you are such a thoughtful and hardworking mummy !!! I gotta start planning Marc's for this coming 31st Oct then. By the way, did you get someone to customize this for you? It's so cute!!! I bet pocoyo is Caelen's fav character.

Chintz,
Take care and have a smooth delivery... looking fwd to view the pics

Tiffany,
lol... will tell hb later... he will be so proud of himself
by the way, my whole family also have this persistent cough and flu for almost a month. seen so many docs, taken so much medicine... still no use.... recover tonight, recurs tomorrow morning.. so difficult to control. wonder what's happening this round? could it be due to the humidifier? but I clean it thoroughly everyday... in fact i scrub leh.

doobom,
gal.. you have already been a great mummy... dun blame yourself. you are definitely not extreme... I used to be more paranoid & protective than this for Tiffie... but Marc being the 2nd... I kinda cool off... cos this is the only way the kids will build up their immune system

ecookie,
welcome back! you look so radiant in your pics

congrats on having a boy... it's always the best to have the same gender for both kids.. think they can click better...cos Tiffie wants a mei-mei, so she will secretly dress up Marcus in her tiara, clips, hairband, dresses etc... bth her... worse... they love to play cooking and grooming together...so girlish rite?

Got a D***m ridiculous sms from KKH.

'Children with flu, cough or fever are advised to seek immediate treatment with GP. You may defer appointment with hospital to a later date. From KKH.'

I called up the KKH hotline asking the intention of sending this sms out.
That CSO mentioned that the clinics will not attend to children with any of the above listed conditions. I asked her, if a normal kid with none of the above condition, do you think he/she needs to go to the specialist clinic? Why is KKH rejecting children whom requires treatment? Are the GPs out there more capable in handling these conditions than the specialists in KKH? If not, why rejecting them?
Then what are the specialists in the clinics doing? Sit & shake leg since all the children with such conditions are seeking treatment with GP as advised by the considerate KKH?
Due to H1N1? I tot the gov mentioned that the peak is over. Why of such strict concerns?
I was totally pissed off with this woman who give me brainless answer!
In the end, she told me that she dun noe who is the one who sent this sms.
I was like... #$%^&*().

Sorry, I was really so angry that I was almost screaming on top of my voice when I was talking to this brainless CSO.

*deep breath* haiz... my rant again...

hippo,
I truly understand why I kenna bad hormones. Coz I am handling too many of such cases.
I argued with the KKH specialist clinic staff when they rejected attending to Jerry for his recent feverish cough condition. Ask me to go to normal GP or go to A&E.
A&E are the Medical officers who are of 'no use' as they just give the norm medi and ask us to go home and monitor. By the time the condition worsen, it became lung infection.
So what's all these crap about?

doobom, go pour urself a BIG glass of cold water & gulp it down...dun bother urself wif such ill-mannered staff at KKH...as I said b4, KKH is reputed to hav the WORST service among most hospitals...so now they gonna cancel the apptment fixed for J?
If u really pissed, make the issue BIG BIG. its only when the matter is BIG den some big shots in the hospital will take action...

Petit
Oh... dont scare me. I have been using this humidifier for about 4-5years now and Lucas & Andrea had also been using since their birth till now. Doubt is the humifier bah... Recently, all of us seemed to get this bout of cough and flu. Yeah, as you mentioned, one moment cleared, next day it comes back. So, I was like practically feeding my kids medicine. Perhaps its some mysterious virus in the air.
Let pray all get well, so tormenting!!

Doobom,
Totally understand what you are going through. I had very bad experience last month when Andrea was warded to KKH too. She was vomitting average of almost like every hour, they just ward her with NO medicine to stop it. After few hours, vomitting stopped and diarrhoaer starts to kick in.. she LS like every half an hour, also not given medication. Hence, resulted to super sore bum... she cried in pain, not from LS but from Sore bum.. haiz... I had to go to the nurse multiple times to ask and chase for medicine to stop her LS!!! Gosh... Bad experience.

Also, when she went to the A&E, they did a swap test for H1N1. Since then, I had asked them for result, until discharged, also called the ward for result. Till today, no report, no response on the result. Haiz.. give up hope!

In fact, after she discharged, she was still randomly vomitting and LS, I had to bring her back to her PD at TMC, there, she was prescribe anti-vomit medicine. After taking, she recovered so well, her vomit stopped and she started drinking and eating. Should had gone to TMC earlier, waste my time and money in KKH!

Tiffany,
I have feeding them medicine daily for almost a month... will there be any side effects or will they be immune to it? Very scary leh...they practically finish one bottle after another...been changing medicine and paeds too... but still the same... guess i can only pray hard

Yes, I seriously need advice. Any other alternatives beside KKH?
Any idea how to raise this issue and make it big?
I am going back home to dig all the sicky epi and list it down. Thereafter gonna find a PD that's can really help.
Haiz... So headache now.

doobom,
Cool down, gal! KKH is well known for their poor service. why get angry over these clueless CSO? why dun you try Mt alvernia... I prefer their service.

KKH is damn hopeless!
I had bad experience in both women and child services.

Can u imagine, I bleed for a day after a pap smear done by a MO?
From then on, I condemned KKH for woman's healthcare.

Petit
Same here. I am also worried too. I have also changed medicines/ go from GP to PD, given different medicines, still not recovering. My kids are taking medicine almost everyday for about a month too. I bought herbs medicine from medical hall too!

Now, I skip giving medication if I see their cough and flu gets milder. Usually, I give for night dose only, cos at night, they tend to cough more.

Somehow, I feel it could also be allegic cough/flu. Both GP and PD mentioned, it could be. They checked the kids lungs, no infection lei.

just for your info only. Fridget having 10% off for birthday party. Valid till 30th Sept 09.

I'm not changing our birthday bash hor. just add in venue for those wants to have their own Sept bb parties.

doobom, wanna make it BIG den write to forum & "ensure" they will publish it...from there den they will hav some1 to feedback abt this issue...or u can go directly to MOH & complain abt it. I learned that to make something BIG, u gotta noe the "connections" to make it BIG...haha...& wats dat? Media of coz...

perhaps u shld go to other hospitals to look for specialists. Might b more ex but its worth it rather den being given this kind of attitude.

eunice,
sure or not? KKH nearly cause dying incident?

doobom,
i did my pap smear test with my gynea at TMC, no bleed n not pain at all. perhap u want to change to another gynea for ur next pap smear test.

Tiffy
You go to Dr Eunice Chua right? I went to her recently. I like her gentleness too..Her nurses are friendly and work damn long there too!

doobom, I received this SMS too before we went for the follow-up visit for my boy's pnuemonia..

We went for the visit despite him being feverish. Thot that was the point to go for the follow-up visit mah.. but the CSO re-directed us elsewhere to wait and say the doc will visit him there instead. After awhile, he says the PCC (Children's Clinic) doc will not attend to him cos' of his fever. So we had to go to A&E instead. Wah piang, waste my time. So really no point gg cos' they will just not let u go for your appt. Maybe if cough only they wun stop you.. But I think they trying to take this v seriously cos' they trying to segregate those kids with H1N1 symptoms to A&E immediately.

tiffany: nowadays if yz only mild cold or cough, i wont give him meds. cos dun want to be like consistently giving him meds.so far, he will always have a little sniffles (morning colds?) and some coughing when he wakes up in the morning or during the night before he sleeps. never really give him meds, just continue the multi vits.

Tiffy,
Yup, I was young then. I 'act smart' and go for pap smear @ KKH without seeking any advice. Did by MO, bleed for a day with cramps.
Told my mum what happened, kenna nag for days and nights for not seeking her advice.
In the end, changed over to her gynae. Stick to him since then.

I just called up the KKH Quality Service Hotline and told them what happened.
Thereafter when I have more time, I will compile my story and send to MOH.

eunice,
the mummies is it someone u know? didn't know KKH service so bad.

Tiffany,
yup, i went to her for my pap smear test. yalor, she is v v v gentle. All the nurses there v nice too.

petit gar,
that time when marcus keep waking up at nite n behaving weird is it u use mixed flower to bath him? other than this what is needed? Cos sherry these few nite keep crying n struggling and feel v frighten. I want to try any method to see any improvement.