(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Hi all thanks for all yr concern we are on the way to recovery and Carlson is well liao but PD only want to ject him 2 weeks later ... me and Carissa still have D on and off still on medi too ... HB was down with D&V today ... but he said its might be due to stress as his study getting more intense and having to learn 2 new lang in a yr with his family(PIL) problems ... he is dying soon ... so poor thing

Will be leaving to CCK on 1st Aug with HB only and coming back for Carlson in Sept & Carissa in Nov ... have asked my brother to help out to look after them in the time been .... so thankful to them ...

Zhen had PM u

DD Carissa said she saw u in Paragon on 24/6 around 4+pm ...
are you there ???

Hope all the sick kiddos and mummies recover soon ...

this China trip YES is a nightmare to me ... but hb still nvr regert the idea ... cannot understand him ... cos i am the one that nvr sleep mah ... keke he also get to carry them up and down the mountains ... hahaha

Everyone is out on Saturday? No posting at all.

CM, no lei, dont think its me. Dint go paragon for some time loh. My mind keep thinking of going Taka sale, but cant find suitable time to go down.

Must be hard on you that your kids are sick and with the relocation logistics to handle. Be strong, we can do it...Mama is wei-da!

ZhenZhen
Just wondering, can our kiddos take the UMF 15 manuka honey? I have been giving only UMF 5. I thought most of us here order the honey more for our kiddos? If you are orderng UMF 15, then I will order only 1 bottle. Please confirm with me if its too late to change my order.. If cannot change, then nvm.

according to our manuka expert (aka jovial), our toddlers can take up to UMF15+. what we are ordering is UMF12+ (slightly lower). i also did a quick search, and there's no indication of it being harmful to kids above 1YO. so should be safe bah!

tiffy, sugarnut, tiffany, i will try and make the changes to our order on monday. if not, hope you are ok sticking to your original order. i will keep you updated.

Karrie,
Can put fridge, just that it will harden thus difficult to scoop out and dissolve. You can try putting a "water barrier" (put the honey bottle inside a bowl or plate fill with water is such a way that ants need to "swim" across, of course likely they will drown).

Zhen Zhen,
please don't call me that lah. I only learn from friend who had been taking honey quite long and talked to NS honey factory staff before. Since you ordering so many bottles, can split into UMF10 and UMF 15 instead.

Do check with the person that all is UMF labelled / rated and not just "Active". Below is from www.umf.org.nz

UMF® is the registered name and trademark of the Active Manuka Honey Association (AMHA) and can be used only by licensed users who meet set criteria which include regular monitoring and auditing of the quality of their honey.

UMF Manuka Honey from a New Zealand company licensed to use the name UMF®, and labelled in the licensee’s name, is the only honey guaranteed to have the special UMF® healing property and be of the same quality as that referred to in the research and clinical trials.

<u>The UMF® Guarantee</u>

The name UMF® is a guarantee that the honey being sold has the special UMF® antibacterial property to the level indicated on the label.

This guarantee applies only to honey from a New Zealand company licensed to use the name UMF® so long as the honey is packed and labelled in New Zealand.

<u>Checklist to Identify Genuine UMF® Manuka Honey:</u>

Genuine UMF® Manuka Honey complies with all five of the following criteria:

1. It has the name UMF® clearly stated on the front label.
2. It is packed into jars and labelled in New Zealand.
3. It is from a New Zealand company licensed to use the name UMF®.
4. It has the UMF® licensee’s name on the front label.
5. It has a rating of <font color="ff0000">UMF10 or more</font>.

Tiffy,
The initial bottle that I'd bought from that BP for Caelen was Active UMF12+, no problem at all.
However, it up to your comfort level

Totoro_bb,
Thought Singapore regulation is all food item has to have expiry date (that's why even the 'new water' has it).

Honey itself is naturally sweet. Different type of Honey have different taste/sweetness as this is subject to which flower the honey harvest from.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honey

hi hippo, totoro, sugarnut, gingerleaf,jovialz, junnie, cherie_bear,chintz,ponponta,
yap, intead long time no hear from me. many times wish to drop by here coz this thread is like a safe haven n with lots of fun topics to discuss or just to share but sometimes time don't permit. however, the maid experiences was something that was really so terrible that i couldn't just keep mum about it.

thanks lots for all your well wishes. i'm due 18 Jan. some time more to go. sometimes i harbour not v.positive tots towards this pregnancy, on whether the timing is wise with all these maid issues. but i know such tots aren't gd, so i try not to ponder on them too much.

in desperation i've asked my old maid who hasn't left yet, but will be leaving in a few days time coz work permit expiring, to see if she can come back to work for me. also offered a substantial increase to her pay if she does return. i don't have much avenue left coz i'm honestly scared off totally by new maids. esp. the transfer maid, she kept eyeing what i was doing, trying to eavesdrop what i was saying. when i went out of the house to make a phonecall, she asked my old maid where i go. also, asked the maid, if i left the house key at home, she must be thinking of the opportunity to go in and out of the house as and when she please. gosh, just come only can be so brazen already.

then when i went back to my mum's place, i wanted to confide in her, my transfer maid was so desperate to eavesdrop, she purposely bathed my boy v.v.quietly with the door wide open. i knew she was up to no gd so i waited a while n just walked into the toilet. she was shocked to see me. i asked her why she didn't close the door, she said she forgot.

i told her off that she wanted to eavesdrop on us that's why she left the door open. i shot her back tat she came here to work not to eavesdrop at the expense of the care towards my child, what if he caught a cold? anyway, that was the last straw i had with her, that evening, i sent her back to the agent with a huge compain about her.

my current maid has agreed to come back after her 1 mth break back home. i'm hoping that she will really come back, else, i've to start maid hunt and i won't know what kind of funny people i'll come across again. so i'll go without a maid for a month during her absence. my mum's maid has kindly offered to take care of my boy in the afternoon till i'm back. hope that this arrangement will work out.

actually my MIL is against my current maid but after the agony of going through so much troubles with those 2 maids, i've had enough and i still think that my current maid is more reliable and trustworthy. mostly important, my boy is close to her and it helps esp. when i get bigger and cannot cope with my boy, at least, he's just as comfortable with her.

shall see how things go with the temporary arrangement. if all things fail, then perhaps will consider full day and just bear with the tears and cries again when coping with the adjustments. once he understands that mummy/gong gong will pick him up ultimately, hopefully he'll be fine.

zhen zhen
yah, i've heard of other friends who had maid horrors b4 but nothing beats experiencing it yourself first hand, then u fully understand the agony and how hair tearing, handling maids can be! you are lucky, i wish my school can 'ban' me but unfortunately, i'm still in the frontline. sigh, secretly v.worried n hoping that i won't catch H1N1 from my students. can't protect myself much against it coz how to wear mask to teach? only way is to monitor my own health.

karrie n those mummies who have 2 kids already:
think in time to come, i've to seek your advice on how to handle 2 kids! i'm pretty sure that no.1 will not have an easy time accepting no.2, esp when the age gap is not that big.

re:manuka
is it safe for preggie people as well?

ponponta
oh dear.. hope anders recover soon from HFMD. must b v.painful for him. good health is always precious to our little ones...

dodo
congrats to hear that ur no.2 is growing so well. hope he continues growing and maybe he can be even taller than your ZQ. remembered that your ZQ was 1 of the taller babies amongst us.

karrie
thanks for your consolation and advice. yah, honestly speaking for my boy's age group now, he doesn't really learn a lot coz its mostly play but at least he properly cared and accountable for, under trained hands. shall see how things go.... i'm also something like you, i want my own life, career,kids, family, everything but sometimes i know that's not possible. thus, am thinking of also sacrifing/scaling back on work when no.2 arrives or during the initial years when they are young. my only worry is about the financial burden that would add on to my hubby. so my career is still v.v.impt to me at this point.

sorry for the super long post. hardly have time to drop by so just got lots of say at one go. hope i can drop by more often. actually feel lots better with all the support and encouragement from people here. many thanks.

may all mummies and kids here stay healthy and strong. happy weekend!

Re: Korean F4,

The lead of f4 looks so much like jerry yan!
As for the korean hua ze lei, I think he is more lively than vic chou.
I think I like the Korean "Xi Men" best. He beats Ken Chu hands down.

gingerleaf
You stayed up so late to watch korean f4?
Hee don't even know who's that. I'm always slower when it comes to idol stuff. Ha ha
Yesterday was having dinner at t2 and there was a big commotion with people shouting and running around. Ha ha really brought back memories when rain was here. Wonder who came to singapore yesterday?

was away for the past 2-3 days... cos Marcus is down with fever, flu, cough, vomiting, diarrhea... it was an infection according to paed... he was literally vomiting or passing out whatever limited food or milk he's consuming... sob sob
My heart aches seeing this..haiz. I was like attending to him all day long as he was rather clingy these days. Hope to catch up with you mummies soon once Marcus is feeling better.

ZhenZhen
Would like to order 2 bottles of the manuka honey .Had sent you a PM thks.

dreamz
Congrats on yr no. #2.
Understand the stress tat you are gg thru with the bad experiences tat you had with the maids.Hugs.

ponponta
Hope you &amp; ander are feeling better.

petit gars
hope marcus get well soon. It's was heart breaking to see our littles one suffer.
U take care too .

zhenzhen, thanks for organising. til now i haven't received any email from u. wonder if u have sent out any?

junniez, thanks for the price comparison. didn't go out at all during the weekend cos hb sprained his back. boring weekend! hb can't bath chloe, me neither, luckily chloe accepted maid's offer to bath her.

tiffany, there another weekend passed, no chance to go down to ur place again, so paiseh!

dodo, YA's growth is good!!
he looks a lot like ben in his recent pics leh..

petit_gars: oh no, hope marcus will get well soon.

twinkle_stars : im not so sure if its common cos yz seldom get these. u want to check with doc if its just normal nappy rash or other form of rashes?

chintz: hope ur hb recover soon! sprain back is very uncomfy one!

this morning when i sent yz to cc , he got hysterical once the teacher started taking his temp. thruout weekend, i will ask him in an enthu voice if he wants to go school on monday and he'll kept saying no.

very heartpain to see him cry so bad when i parted with him though the teacher said he normally stop after awhile when they distracted him with books/toys. sigh. really hope he will adapt soon.

zhen_zhen,
have not received your email about payment. do let me know your bank details so I can T/T to you ya. and thanks for organising. hopefully it doesn't cause too much work for you.

dreamz,
congrats on your no2! I still remember we used to compare our boys fussy eating. Is PH eating better now? J still drinks like an infant.

ecookie,
poor yz. this is a phase we all dread to go thru. hang in there. once yz adapts to it, I'm sure he'll enjoy school very much.

re: jab cert
I was reading young parents mag and they mentioned that the cert is necessary esp when enrol cc or when enrol p1. if we missed getting the cert, not to worry, can request again in the next jab which is at 3 yrs old.
for more info, can refer here.
http://www.nir.hpb.gov.sg/nir/sv/eservices/eservicesv?ACTION=DISPLAY_VIEW_FAQ_BY_CATEGORY&amp;CATEGORY_ID=CERP

i'm back after nuah at home for the 2 days and the weekend.. i think i have recovered and so is aria and hubby! yay! but my FIL got the virus. He was taking it so lightly when i told him the virus is extremely contagious!!!

now, just skimmed through the postings...

dodo,
wow, YA is tall!!! good good!!

petit_gars,
sounds like marcus also got stomach flu?? aria literally merlion everything out too when she had that last weeks. even clear water she drinks like 10 mins before. the vomit is projectile kind of vomiting. Very traumatising for her..

twinkle star,
did you change diaper brand? aria had that red itchy dots too after we change her from nepia to pampers..after that we change her to mamy poko pull u pants and the rashes subsided after a while. so, it might be garina allergy to the new diaper if you have just changed the brand..

garden dreamz,
ooh, congrats!! still make it for moo-moo year!! well, you're not alone ok? chintz, sugarnut, zhen-zhen and I also preggie! all of us due this year! so, we "suffer" first...haha.... dun think negative abt your pregnancy. every pregnancy is a blessing and having healthy baby is the biggest blessing! jia you!

cm,
have you found your maid an employer? hubby got a job offer and will be starting work next week!! (gingerleaf, hehe, i forgot to reply your posting that hubby is out of job at the moment. he quit his job to look after aria while my MIL recuperate from her thyroid surgery). so, we thinking of trying transfer maid. really taking our chances lor.. my SIL whom has never has any maid before also took in a transfer maid. She's lucky. Her maid is quite good. her in laws like this maid. really praying that we're as lucky as her!

btw, we have signed up for 1 term at gracekids. the teachers are really engaging. aria didn't cry when she attended the trial but very very timid! she hung on to hubby most of the time and didnt participate in the activites much. very shy.. even her favourite songs like "If you're happy", she didn't clap her hands or nod her head which she use to do.. I think need time bah.. but then sometimes, she does go roaming around and play with the toys there.. she enjoyed the tramboline though..hehe...so, hopefully by a few lessons she will be participate more like the other older kids.

Good Morning Mommies.

Shoo shoo all the viruses and have a healthy week.

Chintz,
No Problem, still have time
Have your stock up on bottles or other necessity already? Actually I find for #2, dont need to buy much things, most things can pass down.

Zhen zhen
Thanks for organising. Since I will be transferring the honey money to you, I will also incluse the Avent refund too.

Dreamgarden,
Can understand your woes of all the bad maid experience. I had bad maid experience previously too, almost went into depression when my 1st maid came when my elder boy was about 2 wks old. My elder boy came to the world 1mth earlier, so, it actually upsets the timing. No confinement lady, no maid for the 1st 2 wks. When maid arrived 2 wks later, almost zero knowledge of english, can die mann!

My current maid is good and her contract will be done in 9mths time. I really wish she will renew, hate to go thru all the new maid thingy again. btw, care to share how much to inrease to be consider substantial amount?

Tiffany,
Why not you discuss with your maid instead and see what she propose to be attractive enough. From there, see what is comfortable for you ? Counter propose if necessary. If really cannot come to a compromise, then no choice.

Zhen Zhen, Jas,
Saw the email from swift health food. I'd never mention that I'm from motherhood forum
I enquire direct from their website. Anyway, heng they honor the order

ecookie, thanks! it was pretty uncomfy for him during the weekend. and i felt like there was 2 preggie ladies in the house like that! hehe

tiffany, i haven't prepared anything. just took out some of chloe's old clothes during the weekend and select which can be reused for didi. (read: blue and neutral colours) hehe

hopefully coming weekend i can drop by ur place.

i don't know why i keep on have feeling i'll pop earlier this round. went to the dentist again on sat to find ways to minimize my toothaches. end up did more fillings and temp dressings. burnt another $350!! there goes my GSS spending for 2009 -__- at least now the pain is much controlled.

funny thing the dentist told me is if i really really feel a lot of pain again that i need immediate extraction, i should go to the hospital rather than normal clinic. Cos he said extractions at last tri, sometimes could lead to delivery on the spot!! wah!~

morning all

ariajo... glad u &amp; hb + aria are well.. hope ur FIL recovers soon... re gracekids.. i can imagine when u said aria so 'timid'.. hehe.. ya, gv her sometime sure she'll get adapted...

ecookie... so heartpain to hear yz crying when go cc... hopefully is jus 'monday blues' &amp; tml onwards he will b more happier..

petit_gars.. hope marcus faster recover &amp; u can login more often...

dreamz.... lucky ur exisiting maid accept ur offer...at least can help lessen one of ur burden...

sorry for delay. hit some snags, but sorted out already. i send out the email liao.

jovial, i dunno how they know leh. i also never mentioned the forum. i just said my friends and i wanna buy. sigh... really really sorry for any inconvenience to you!!!

Zhen Zhen,
Maybe they suspect, then check ? Anyway, I'd ordered a lot so it'll be a long time I order from them. Maybe I'll just as my sis to order since she is not motherhood forum member

ECookie,
Ya, maybe just monday blue. Don't worry too much

Chintz,
Maybe, body tense up to brace for impact end up tighten the tummy too much ? kekekeke.. pack your delivery bag liao ?

chintz.. hahaha.. how can u say ur hb is preggie too??? so ur maid has arrived? how is her performance?

zhenzhen.. thks for ur eml, hv replied w payment dtls =)

petit gars, hope marcus recovers quickly.

twinkle star, could the spots be due to heat? noticed that hannah has some around her waist a few weeks back, when the weather was HOT!!! but they disappeared quite quickly.

chintz, oh no! is your hubby better now?

ecookie, i'm sure yz is happily playing with his friends now.

ariajo, our kids are now more aware of their surroundings, so need time to get used to new environment. i'm sure aria will start participating in the activities in no time.

junnie,
my maid has been here for 3 weeks liao. so far so good, i hope she stays this way really. cos i heard a lot of complaints like the maids' true colours will appear in later months!

my other concerns are sometimes i find my mil talks to her in a rather rude tone, i hope that won't scare the maid away :p

zhenzhen, hb is better liao. but he's taking half day off to rest more.

Zhen zhen,
Think has cause you alot of trouble to do the organising and make things simple for us. Really appreciated it. Thanks alot!

Updates of the both:
Dayan has completely recovered. Yet his brother has shown no sign of improvement. Got to bring him to see doctor again tonight. Sianz!

Ariajo,
Its really common that Aria didn't participate in the 1st session. Given Dayan's character, he also didn't really fully join in the class and loves to go to the kitchen play area to do his cooking. Even the last session also like that. But even though he always not joining...he is listening one. He can hum some songs back home..ver naughty one lah.

Chintz,
Older ppl tend to bring maid as those ancient maids..where they can command them as they wish. Before things get worse, perhaps tell yr HB to give her a nice and gentle reminder lor. Nowadays maids is consider high class domestic helper leh! sigh!
N u rest more k?

helloooo mummies!

ecookie, so heartpain to hear that.. hang in there girl! he'll adapt to the situation soon.. and then he'll reali enjoy.. =)

petitgars, hope marcus is feeling much better now!

twinklestars, adri also had rashes on her body recently due to the heat.. seen the doc and was prescribed some cream.. much better alrdy.. u might wana bring garina to the doc?
as for diapers, i tink she can only wear nepia. tried huggies &amp; pampers on her but it causes some abrasions of sort on her waist and thigh.. and butt is more sore than usual..

aria, itz okie dat aria doesnt participate initially as she is getting to know the place and the environment! there's no stopping her once she's warmed up.. =)

chintz, oh reali! hope u dun get any more toothaches then! poor thing...

zhen zhen, many thanks for all the trouble u've gone thru for our order.. much appreciated! =)

zhen zhen, ecookie, jas, junnie, tiffy, aria: there is this article in Motherhood mag which used sean lau's pics.. and i spotted ur kiddos pics! there are some others whom i spotted but can't recall offhand.. do flip the mag when u've got the time.. =) not big pics though..

hippo: really??? hahah i must go n see for myself!

jovialz, zhen zhen &amp; hippo: thanks for the comforting words. hb is at the cc now, ready to fetch him. teacher said he cried twice in the morning when he remembered me. but after that he was quite ok. and surprisingly, he managed to nap at 1245pm. so hb now waiting at the cafe near the cc for the teacher to "activate" him when yz wakes up. hehe.

jovialz, haven't packed delivery bag yet. whoa! i think i need to list down things to do prior to delivery.

i'd be getting my cordlife kit tomorrow, think can slowly prepare THE bag after that.

chintz: i really hope so. hb just called me to say that he just picked him up. when he picked yz up, he's crying
the teacher said he'll cry when he sees the main door of the centre cos that'll remind him of us..
and hb said his crying is not those unreasonable throw himself on the floor crying, but really sad crying with tears rolling down his cheeks. sigh. how i wish im by his side now. bleh!

junnie/hippo,
yeah, hopefully aria will join in the activities by 3rd or 4th lesson

jas,
yes! aria kept going to the kitchen. push the stroller lah play with the cashier machine and took out the coins and notes..too many toys to distract her..haha...aria can sing a few sentences of baa baa black sheep..very cute!

oh mummies,
hubby borrowed one book from the library and i feel it's very good book! it's called positive discipline! it's for age 1-3. the book give tips on how to discipline our kids in a positive way, no spanking, no shouting, no screaming, etc.. i'm half way reading only..do check it out. oh, the book actually mentioned kids below 2 years old is not really ready for toilet train. actually other books said the same thing. so, aria mah-tong is still sitting nicely in the cupboard..haha...

by the way, any kids is very sensitive to parents temperament? i think aria is! yesterday, hubby was very angry with her and refuse to talk to her and look at her..so pissed with him.. aria kept calling him and i told her daddy is very angry and after a while, she can sense it and cry big time.. i feel so "xin tong" leh... aiyoh... then after we came back from dinner, i told her, daddy is very angry with her because she's very naughty at the restaurant and she give me an innocent look and said, daddy beat beat.. aiyoh, what positive discipline!
i think we really got to control out emotion mann.. she's so sensitive.. a few times when i'm angry she will come and sha jiao by keep calling me and if i ignore her and told her off that mummy is angry, she will cry very loud, like vry kelian..

chintz,
lucky you! i hope our maid whoever she's going to be will be obedient and good too... my SIL dun even need her MIL for her confinement now. just maid will do. i think she's coping well and send her MIL home even.. haha...

aria_jo: what is the title for this book!? i think i need it! yest i got so pissed with yz cos he s always saying bu yao bu yao to almost everything nowadays. n finally yesterday i snapped and shouted at him and gave him 4 tight slaps on his thighs and ordered him to stand at the foyer area. he didnt cry at 1st but when he saw me so upset n shaking w anger, he started to cry. and he called out to papa but i shouted at my hb to not go to him and i went to my bedroom to cool down. n he kept calling out mamee mamee. after that im v sad and regret my actions. sigh.
but its really hard to keep my cool when im already not a patient person to start with.
i heard abt positive reinforcements and i want to give that a try!

i really dun want to use fear as a factor to discipline yz..

any toddlers out there getting nottier?
yz used to be very manageable until this mth! suddenly the terrible twos really show! everything he said no, even simple acts like coming to me to pass me something or changing his diapers!
its like he is just deliberately saying no to test my patience and test his limits!

i really hope this is a passing phrase. cos sometimes during a whole day with him, i can shout at him and get v upset till i develope headaches one... grr.