(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

aria,
the thermal pot is good. you cook the food till its boiling then you put it inside the thermal pot to 'self cook'

Karrie,
I used soap to wash the electric steamer, but its the water 'trough' part, not the outside. I try not to let water overflow out to the outside, as scared it might short circuit the wires or what.

welcome back ponponta!!
How was it?? Must have been a great experience!

Chintz!!!
i think my turn soon to go you-know-where to pray to ancestor. >.<

Chersam,
I set at 25 degrees. When at 26, it is kinda stuffy, quite uncomfortable.

Petit_jars
I have been using humidifier before Andrea was born. In fact, I have sinus myself, and I have been wearing Mask to sleep for quite some time already. My nose gets very painful if I dont wear mask. Looks kinda weird having to wear mask to sleep, but I have no choice. Wonder if Andrea can try Breath Right at her age? I will go Pharmacy to check it out. Find Andrea so poor thing, everyday, she seemed to be breathing thru her mouth. Tried no air-con, but the heat is so unbearable. Everyone tend to wake up from mild perspiration.

Petit_jars
I have been in forum before Andrea was born, yet, there are still some mommies I am also not familiar.... Looks like we have to participate in here more often.

Tiffany:
Forgot to mention, you have to get the BREATHE RIGHT kids version, more colourful and smaller.... think it will def help in breathing thr the nose... cos if she breathe through her mouth, it will be too drying for her throat... My gal's dentist told me to teach her to breathe properly thr the nose every night, cos if she dun rest her tongue at night while sleeping, it will affect the formation of her teeth... Tiffie has a habit to breathe thr her mouth too. Both my kids also cannot survive without aircon...

Another thing i do for both kids is using a Sea salt nose spray to cleanse their nostrils whenever they have a blocked nose... recommended by the paed... i also use a decongestant nose drop at night when they sleep, but not more than 5 days.... both can be purchased without prescription. Try to incline Andrea pillow, it does helps for Marcus too, I will use my flattest adult pillow in this case

It seems to be rather quiet today.... still looking at this... any suggestions?

can I know other than Swensens, where can I get DISNEY or character themed ICE CREAM cakes?

Tiffany wants a Winx Club/ Powerpuff girls/ Totally Spies ICE CREAM cake.... where can I get one?

pretty urgent on this...

Petit_gars
Thanks for the recommendation, I will try to it soon. BTW, where to get the Sea salt nose spray? Can get from Guardian's pharmacist? I dont think Andrea wants to breath from her mouth, it seems like she has difficulty breathing thru her nose lei. thats why I see her mouth like Goldfish!

Tiffany,
Just to share with you.
Most of the 'sinus' sufferers have misunderstood their condition. The condition of such is known as Rhinitis.
Sinus is much more severe as it's link with inflammation/infection and symptons of such is unpleasant nasal mucus, etc.
Rhinitis is the term for it. It's much more of allegic of one.
Personally, I m one of such victim. I only get to know that this condition as Rhinitis instead of Sinus upon advice by doctor. Either to try all ways to avoid or to go thru surgery to correct my problem which lies on my nasal bone). I freak out about the latter, so I can only try all ways to avoid having carpets, minimising cockroaches permanently residing in my place after doing the skin allergic test (skin pricking test). That's the two that I am strongly advise to avoid in order to cope with my condition of Rhinitis.
Perhaps, you may like to get advice from doctors regards to Andrea's sensitive nose (suspecting to be Rhinitis).

U can go to clinics specialise in respiratory systems such as KKH specialist clinic. Call for appointment if you are keen.
http://www.kkh.com.sg/MedicalSpecialtiesnServices/ChildrensHospital/Medical/RespiratoryMedicine/

In addition to that, there are some useful online info about Rhinitus that you like to know, especially on the skin allergy test.

Thus far after the advice from doctor to avoid my allergies, I am good as for now.

Tiffany:
regarding the nose spray, you can try Guardian or watsons or even unity.... i remember seeing them.
Hope this can help Andrea.

Doobom,
After reading the latter, think Andrea is having sinus. She gets the yellowish greenish discharge in the morning only. During the day without aircon, she has no problem with stuffy nose. I have invested in humidifier and Rainbow Vaccum cleaner to vaccum mattress dustmite, looks like its not really helping.

Most likely, I will bring her to KKH nasal clinic!

Tiffany,
Oh mine... so Andrea does had the yellowish greenish nasal discharge. Yes, that is one of the symptons for Sinus.
I do agreed that it's best to bring her to a specialist.

Tiffany
I have the same problem as you and my girl is also suffering every night. Like what doobom mentioned, for mine - I think it's Rhinitis as well. For Kelly, I believed it should be the same as she just have the suckling sound while sleeping, no mucus normally and she is fine during daytime without aircon.
Recently, there is an article on the newspaper on this and I'm thinking of going for the skin test to find out my alergies so that I can either prevent or find a way to cure it!! The article did mentioned that certain alergies can cured in a long term.

If not, I'm also looking for ways to sleep without aircon - if I installed the ceiling fan and it is cool enough. If not, I also don't know what to do. My condition is worse than Kelly as I'm having blocked nose every day, every hour.

Lunch appt
I'm taking leave on next Tuesday hoping to bring Kelly to the Zoo so cannot join you ladies for lunch liao. Next month, i'll be shifting to Paya Lebar area and no more town lunch liao!! hmmmmzzzz

Tiffany:
Seems like Andrea may need antibiotics.. I remember Marcus having the same problem: Thick yellowish greenish discharge in the morning only.... sounds more like an infection. I think you better bring her the nasal clinic...

hope everyone is doing well...

i had my gynae visits yesterday, and am now rather puzzled..

Visited both Dr Paul Tseng my gynae. Reason for being visited both doctors is because i wish to have more advices on my wish and feasibility to have VBAC for this delivery.

These are what the doctors commented upon the scannings (same views for both):

- Both estimated baby's size at 3.2kg.
- Both said baby is not engaged yet.
- Both commented baby will not pop that soon.

Some differ views:

- Dr Tseng estimated baby's head circumference at 34.5cm. Dr Ang estimated at 36cm.
- Dr Tseng mentioned "still can try for natural" though baby's head circumference is his biggest concern. Dr Ang told me straightaway "do not waste the effort and take unecessarily risk", he suggested a c-section scheduled this or next week.
- Dr Ang did VE and said my cervix still tight, no sign of dilation.

So im rather puzzled over the best decision to make. Need to consider many factors: risk involved, recovery period, costs etc.. to decide whats best or less risk option for baby and me. Another factor that bothering me is the umbilical cord around baby's neck, though it maybe common but i still feel uneasy, baby may get destress in the process of trial of natural birth. And im rather disappointed to hear that baby is not engaged yet, which means he is likely stay in my tummy longer and his head &amp; size will keep growing bigger and my chance of natural delivery will be lower...

Hello mummies!!

busy busy day. just scanned thru the archive! hope everyone is having a lovely week.

gingerleaf!! really?? when? i hope not during summer, it'll be berry berry hot!! with lotsa mozzies and flies all over!! >.<

junniez, thanks for the email, got it!

ponponta, welcome back! where did u go? no wonder didn't see you online after the gathering!

quick update on chloe's didi, he's growing well, putting on weight. gynae read up more on his condition, he told us not to worry at all. to play safe just do up a scan when he's born

calling for dodo, how did ur check up go? i think i saw dr paul tseng yesterday!

jovialz, sanbebe &amp; gingerleaf,
thanks for the reply on isetan sale!
u gals are right, im not in the "state" to go there and squeeze wi the crowd.. hee.. but really wish to get the stroller since i got some isetan vouchers.. do u know can i get the same discount if i were to go this sunday? hubby will back to spore on sat... thanks!

dodo, i'd opt for c-sect if i were you dear. try to discuss with ur hb and family over this yeah. don't put pressure on to yourself okie? hugs!

dodo, errr i couldn't remember his weight as told by my gynae. but so far he is on medium size, unlike last time chloe always has been on the bigger size hehe..

come to think of it, maybe i haven't been 'nourishing' myself..

oh, im at my 24th week now

Totoro
My hb cannot live without aircon! Anyway, I have tried when he was outstation, Lucas, Andrea and me also cant really take the heat, keep waking up thru the night.

Why born with Sinus problem?? Haiz, so troublesome and uncomfortable.

Petit_gars
Andrea was on anti-biotics about 2-3 wks ago, and her running nose took about 2 wks to recover. However, I think her stuffy nose now is due to sinus or allegies. She seemed to have this pro-longed running nose at night only.

Chintz,
Happy to hear that didi is doing fine

Dodo
I think you should go for C-section lor, moreover, your 1st round also C right? Some people was telling me, why bother to "damage" or break the lower hole when you have already damaged thru C-section previously? I can understand you want to go thru the experience of natural delivery, but your baby is rather big now, possible of emergency C-section too, may even end up double cost! This is my 2cts worth. Discuss with HB.

chintz &amp; tffany,
thanks for the reply!

chintz,
maybe bcoz bb is #2 and we so busy wi our #1, so abit not so gan jiong compared when we preggie wi #1 :p

tiffany,
yup, my 1st one is emer c-sect.. coz after 12 hours of labour, dilation only 3cm and zq's head was stucked.. ya, 1 of my concern is may end up another c-sect again and may end up more costs involved.. but i keep having a bugging voice in my mind "if u never try u never know.. " so im tempted to try again though quite alot discouraged me..

i know hubby prefers c-sect coz he thinks that's a less risk option.. but he told me he's fine wi whatever decision i make, even if i wana trial of natural and may end up c-sect again.. he knows i really wish to have a natural this time round.. so im confused over what decision to make.. sigh

any mummies here had c-sect for 2 times? is the recovering period longer or the same? i walked like a penguin for 2 weeks after gave birth zq...

Dodo,
My 2 cents worth too. Cost of potential Emergency C-Sect aside, Since baby is quite big, I would think you should go for C-Sect (especially you'd 'dilation problem' when you deliver ZQ). It doesn't really matters whether how one gave birth via Natural or C-Sect, what is most important is that we loved our kid(s) and we want the best for them. <font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">No point choosing to take risk just because you want an experience, how much is the 'experience' worth ?</font></font>.

When I delivery Caelen, my heart almost popped out when Caelen's Heartbeat drop drastically when they increase the IV dosage to help me dilate. For a moment, I thought I'm going to loose him (which I think I might if the nurse didn't come in in-time to stop the IV). There and then I tell myself, I just want to get him out ASAP whichever method is safest for him. I'm so relieved when I hear his 1st cry.

Dodo,
I go with the others on your option. Tho I wanna go vbac as much too. But if the situation is really bothering you, its best to go for the safest option.

Chintz,
I dunno when gg oso. My fil just brought it up on sunday. Whens summer anyway?
You are 24 weeks along already?? So fast!!!

gingerleaf, thanks...the water trough is the part where u pour the water in right? or is it the drip tray? cos it's the drip tray that has the strongest smell...

dodo, I made the decision to go VBAC because all the 'conditions' were favourable...and still didn't manage to dilate enough. while i was glad to have experienced labour and believe that it's good for baby to go thru trial of labour, i dunno if it's advisable for ur case coz bb has his cord around his neck leh...u said u were uncomfortable with that fact, and u should go with your instinct.

as for recovery period after the 2nd c-section, it's longer for me because i had such a long labour and my contractions were really v strong. so my uterus was really stretched on top of the surgery. so it was difficult especially with Matty to handle also. it was heartbreaking to keep rejecting him when he asked me to carry him. until now we're still nowhere as close as we were before i gave birth to Mea. so it's a fact i have to live with...

ultimately i think u should go for what feels best to u, nobody else can tell u what to do...mummy's instinct is usually the most accurate

jovialz,
thanks for sharing your birth story wi me...
ya i know that feeling, when i know my dilation was so little and zq's head kenna stucked, the most impt thing i wan at that moment is to get him out safely... and was so relieved when i heard his 1st cry...

gingerleaf,
ya.. so now is pondering whether to give it a try or not.. really scared if i make the wrong decision will pose dangers to my bb..

karrie,
thanks for sharing wi me! yes, that's what i worred most.. zq is extremely clingy towards me nowadays, he keeps coming to me and asked me to "bao4 bao4".. i can still carry him now, but i really worried after the c-sect, i cant carry him anymore.. and he will feel hurt being rejected by me.. and it definately hurts me more to see a disappointed him... and he plays rather rough, always jump up and down on me nowadays, i gonna reject and stay away from all his rough games after the c-sect, i feel very bad when i think abt this...

dodo, i totally understand how you feel. i also wanna try for vbac, as i don't want to have to reject hannah because of the c-sect wound. still remember how sore i was for first few weeks after hannah. BUT most important is still baby and mummy's safety. if i were in your situation, i think i would opt for c-sect. it's not worth the risk.

zhen zhen,
u had c-sect when delivered hannah?
ya, many told me not worth the risk.. both my gynae and the gynae in BJ, dr paul is rather encouraging though he mentioned bb's big head is a concern.. so im torn btw the decision, am i being selfish to keep wishing for a vbac.. but the recovery period is really my main concern, i cant tolerate to keep rejecting zq so i wana to heal fast after the delivery and natural delivery will definately heal faster.. but on the other hand, i dun wan to risk my little bb also..

dodo, ya. mine was emergency c-sect too. hannah's heart rate dropped every time i tried to push her out. and because could only see the top part of her head, gynae couldn't manipulate her out. so had to go for emergency c-sect. turned out the umbilical cord had wound round her neck during labour!

but the healing process for c-sect is v long. even after first few weeks, i still cannot lift heavy things, cos will aggravate the wound. that is my main reason for considering vbac. otherwise i will just go ahead and do c-sect for #2.

zhen zhen,
oh dear! thank goodness hannah was delivered safe &amp; sound ultimately! must be very tough and worrying for u since u already fully dilated and so near to held her in ur arms...

yes, i walked really slow and looked like a penguin after delivered zq, i couldnt even wear my own panty when i had my 1st shower few days after delivery
... agree that the recovery is really long.. sigh..

dodo,
My concern is the safety of bb and mummy. I'll definitely opt for c-sect if I were you. Well, especially bb has the umbilical cord around his neck, it's just so scary to think about it. May end up like zhen zhen when she delivered hannah.

My recovery for c-sect is very fast. I don't feel much pain at all except on the 1st 2 days in hospital. My gynae kept asking me to get up of the bed and walked more. She said wound will heal faster if you walk more. So, I seldom lie on bed, just keep walking around the hospital and home. May be that's why I didn't feel any pain at all.

sanbebe,
me too!
I started walking the next morning after my c sect at 8pm the nite b4.
All the nurses kept asking me to walk so can recover faster.

Karrie,
Both I oso wash with detergent. Even the steaming 'holey' ceontainers. I wash everything with soap actually, cept juz make sure the outside of the steamer dun come into contact with too much water.
As long as wash thoroughly, shld be okie.

Dodo,

is common to have the cord over the neck. As long it is not tight.

You seems to have too many worries. Talk to your baby, tell him to engage soon so that he will not be too big.

Every birthing there r riks involved. As long as it is calculated risks, it should be ok. If it endangers the baby, the doc will still be abt to perform a emer C-section (but more cost involved)

I believe in mind over body, if you want to, u can do it!! Dun view it as endangering the baby, is a bonding process bet u and baby too.
And ZQ can be there when the baby is abt to birth. that will be a v sweet first moment for you too.

If you want, can call Ginny to check w her. Since yr hb may not be around when you births, u may want to engage her.

My dilation is also v slow. To think that 1 didnt dilate at all (only 0 to 1cm) during the 1st 6 hours of the contraction. I nearly fainted when the MO told me that. After that i think i lost myslef and went into self pitiness. Ginny is there and was v encourging... I started dilating aft the 8th hour.

I know you cant opt for water birth, but if you r keen to have a look at my video (when i birthed brig) let me know... It may give you a better pc of natural birth (alhough the model is horribly looking in the video)

Dodo,

Giny has some kind of perinnal (not too sure abt the spelling) massage that cal help to soften our cervical in preparation of birhting. Some exercises help. Try to walk more...

Oh yah, not sure about 2nd time c-sect wound. But during my 1st time, I had no problem at all. Don't even need any painkiller and tummy belt lor. After one day of bed rest, I start to walk around, bath, settle paperwork etc. Didn't cross my mind that there is a wound except when my mum start to nag at me for carrying caelen and walk around

Dodo,
Agree that there is risk in every delivery. Naturally one would take the route with least risk when possible. You been thru the feeling of anxiety once, don't think you'll want to risk going thru again. If pain from c-sect is affecting you, tell your gynae. I remember we can take painkiller and it does not affect breastfeeding.

Dodo,
Really peifu your determination wanting to try Vbac so badly. I am a chicken! I volunteerily opt for C-section, cos I am afraid of labour pain. I have a friend who tried both and actually had a tough time recovering from her Vbac lei. She had to sit on float, she screamed in pain when she wants to poo....

Think I am the person you are looking for... LOL.. both my kids are delivered via C-section, and they are 17 months apart! I can say that I recovered extremely well and have no problem with walking and carrying my baby.

After my #1 C-section, I was walking in less than 24hours, the moment the nurse removed my drip. I walked to the nursery to see my baby, think my baby gave me the strength to overcome whatever pain I have. To be honest, I think C-section is not so bad afterall. I had no regrets at all and still opt for C-section for Andrea. I was also walking the moment I am allowed to walk. Yes, walking helps faster recovery.

Dont worry so much, the abdominal band is really good in reducing the pain. I believe your Gynae will tie a tight band for you and when removed, just put on the abdominal band to reduce pain. Dont take such a big risk, dont put baby in distress. All the best..

To add... one of my mummy friend, like me, has 2 rounds of C-section with an interval of 20mths, and now expecting her #3, edd in Nov09, going for her 3rd C-section! She recovered well too.

Her #1 is Apr06, #2 is Dec07 and #3 will be Nov09. See how close the gap of her 3 kids!

morning gingerleaf!

so early!

summer i supposed is now?? ehm.. best to avoid june-july ba, will be very very hot. i remember when i was there in jan, when the weather was slightly warmer, the flies started to wander around...

Morning Mummies... before I start my busy day, let me also contribute n share my story.

With no 2nd tots, I voluntarily opt for C-sect too as I would not want to go thru labour pain and allowing risks for both myself or bb to be in labour distress.
Personally, I feel that with the modern medical 'technology', it's just fairly good to get yourself well-prepared for the day you are going to welcome bb to this world.
Haha... Silly me, I even went to have BIG mac &amp; Coke Light prior to admission for c-sect. Reason being, I can't have them after delivery.

I opt for epidural whereby hb was with me in the op threatre. We waited and chatted as gynae did the procedure, finally witnessed our bb's 1st cry.
Having not to go thru all the pain and yet witness bb's 1st cry 2gether w/ hb is actually just as good.

For recovery, I was down bed walking the moment I am allowed to and taking lift to another level to visit bb as he was in Dependency ward for monitoring purposes.

Stressing again, whatever decision you made, most impt is both you and bb are safe. Don't be too stress up. You must be tuned and feel excited to welcome your little boy.

Do discuss with hb, I believe he will be there for whatever you decide.

Hang in there. Take gd care n all the best.

morning gingerleaf!!! thanx for sharing bout the steamer..will go ahead n wash it then!

dodo, hmmm there seems to be a difference between elective n emergency c-section recovery period? matty's case was elective c-sect n my recovery was pretty fast, could walk the next day and by the end of week 1 was back to normal. but for mea's case it was abt 2 weeks...n the pain during first few days was bad despite the painkillers.

i agree with chris, if u really still wanna go vbac, call ginny cos ur hb may not be ard...she'll b a great help.

re: elective vs emergency c-sect recovery period
those mommies who recover very quickly, did all of you opt for elective c-sect? wondering if there is a difference, as what karrie mentioned??

Chintz,

ya, today lyn kok my head with her teacup. So got woken up early. zzz
Oh, I oso dunno when going. Coz fil juz mention nia. Hopefully if really need to go, can go in cooler mths.

Karrie,
welcome!!

mummies, just wanna tap on your experiences here...

my hb and i want to get a car since we have 2 kids and we dun wanna keep inconveniencing his parents by using their car all the time. should we: 1) get a brand new car before COE goes up any further (or will it go down instead?), 2) get a second-hand car?

my hb wants to get the toyota vios but feedback from my friends is that it's very plasticky inside and sound proofing is bad. any mummies here drive the vios? any feedback?

morning mummies

chintz:
glad to hear that didi is growing well.

dodo:
I oso agree wif the rest that u opt for c-sect. Since u said that bb is quite big. My sis had tried for vbac for her #2 but oso ended up wif emer c-sect cos of slow dilation. Her #1,dilation oso very slow &amp; had emer c-sect.Can't rem her recovery period. Her #1 &amp; #2 gap is 17 mths. We can only advise u,ultimate decision still lies on u. Only u will know what is best for urself &amp; bb. We will support u in ur decision.