(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

afternoon mummies!

re: pigeon wipes
so gingerleaf's contact sells at 9.25/pck and cheong choon 9/pck is that right? i also need to top up liao.

karrie,
re: toyota cars
if im not wrong vios is assembled in thailand. and there are quite a few of previous (thai assembled) toyota car owners complained about the quality control of the cars as compared to japan made. maybe can ask ur hb to get more opinions in car forums

bbwow, aiyo.. such a sad thing to hear...

dodo, haha! ur hb is the sweetest thing ever man.. u tink if i feed my hb with honey now, he'll be sweeter?? or too late?? hahaha!
he's doing it for u la dear... cos u r e biggest bao bei who gave him zq baobei and soon yan an baobei!!
there are men out there who can love their kids alot and yet not lift a single finger to help one u know?

dodo,
ur hb is doing all these for ur sake. hippo is right. my fren's hb nv lift a finger to help looking aft their 3 kids.

re:kids watching cartoon
sherry love wheel on the bus, in the night garden. nowaday she hooked on to Barney. she can hum all the songs in her own language which we don't understand. she like to imitate those movements in the barney dvd.

Zhen Zhen,
Mine was Emergency C-Sect
My cut is 11cm long. I think it's not a matter of whether Emergency or Elective C-Sect. It's a matter of the 'sewing skill' of the gynae. My gynae's sewing is noted to be good in some comments that I'd read about her.

Karrie,
New Car Vs @2nd hand depends on your budget and as to which car, go and test drive and feel. Do make sure you have the whole day to slowly test (ideally a few model / brand to compare)

New Car:
1) You enjoy the new car smell. :p
2) It's covered under warranty.
3) Lower interest rates compare to buying 2nd hand.
4) Subject to the anxiety of COE bidding (most of the time unless they give you immediate registration which mean you paying a slightly higher price compare to someone who goes for biding)
5) Might need to pay higher for insurance as most new car requires you to be able to repair (touch wood) from their own workshop rather insurance's appointed workshop. Thus insurance generally add a slight premium.

2nd Hand:
1) Generally the 'selling price' is cheaper ?
2) Most of the time, no more warranty.
3) You dunno the real reason why the 1st owner sell the car and how much he had care to maintain the car - might result in damage which you'll not be able to detect until later.
4) Loan interest rest is higher compare to Loan interest rate for buying a new car.

ariajo,
For cheng choon, if you order 2 carton ( I think) nthey do provide delivery. Mine is always delivered to me free.

Gingerleaf,
then my little Caelen got good chance liao. Been feeding him the Manuka honey for 3 weeks daily liao .. kekeke

tiffany,
i think i met annie in plaza sing last week but not sure if i got her nick right.. so dare not approach her cos i scared i say wrong nick..hehe..you know me lah..very sotong one.. i always got sugarnut and sanbebe mix up..hahah..

hehehe..I KPO, called Winnie @ Cheng Choon. She say if just the pigeon baby wipes, you'll need to order 3 carton (total of the 72 individual packet). If mix with other items, minimum order $150 and above can get free delivery.

ariajo,
well ..for 1 kid, I took about 7 month to finish. I guess for 1 kids ... faster ? but then, I'd needed to stock up for both my place and my mum's place lah.

Chintz,
1 carton contains 8 sets of 3 refill pack (total 24 refill pack).

So

3 cartons contains a total of 72 refill packs.

waaaaaah... so many posts to catch up @@

jovial, thks 4 analysing buying of car/wipes.. i learn something... u r 4ever so efficient & systematic =)

gingerleaf... thks 4 the sales info too... re honey, ntd, will start feeding lance! kekeke...

dodo... SAFETY 1ST, do watever is best for yourself & yan an ok? dun worry abt zq, i'm sure he'll b well taken care since ur hb will b back home soon.. and dun worry u wont b able to carry him, tat's jus short term, u still can hug hug & sayang him mah.. zq is a good boy, he'll understands if u explains to him. may b he'll b too fascinated w yan an's presence wont even feel left out? jus relax & enjoy ur v last trimester whilst awaiting the arrival of little yan an =)

chintz.. so fast chk up again? good to hear didi is growing well..

ariajo.. the mummy u met izzit long hair & v slim? if so, then shd be annie loh!
tiffy, yalor, so long nvr hear fm annie, wonder how's kayden?

thanks mummies esp jovialz for the helpful suggestions on the cars...

bbwow i did consider OPC but dun like the timing restrictions. i wanna be able to run errands as and when i need...

dodo, glad to hear ur hb will be with u for ur confinement! it's really so important to have his support loh.

gingerleaf, by right vbac cannot be induced, but they did use the pitocin drip to augment my birth after breaking my waters didn't work. the contractions damn siong after that...

i just wanna vent a bit here...im really very sad about my relationship with matty...he's been rebuffing most of my attempts to re-bond with him. he runs to my maid constantly, treats her more like his mummy. he keeps asking for her, if she is carrying him, he doesn't want me to even touch him. and if she carries mea, he gets jealous and asks her to carry him. i think im such a failure as a mother.

i really wish i could be a SAHM and not rely on maids to take care of my children. unfortunately my hb can never afford it.

karrie, do give urself sometime to bond back with matty ya? dun be frustrated in the meantime. i know itz easier said than done.. but he's still young and needs time to readjust to the new shift in his young life.. and he needs ur patience and love while doing so too.. i suggest u talk to ur maid as well in order to reintegrate urself back in his life.. yr maid can help to reinforce the fact dat u r e mummy and not allow him to be stuck to her.. like tell him to kiss/ hug/ love mummy.. since she's the one he trusts now, tis will be easier for u..

the reason y i say tis is cos i m not always by adri's side but thank god she is still close to me & hubby cos of the positive reinforcements my mum & e rest of the family made.. they are always telling her things like mummy & daddy is working/ they love u alot/ they miss u.. blah blah blah..

dun give up sweetie! gambate!!

gingerleaf,
alamak, discount not extended till sunday ah

coz i have quite alot of isetan vouchers, abt $400.. so thinkg to use it and buy stroller since i may not back to spore so soon after returning to BJ late june.. hmm..
i know that Mothercare at Marina Sq got 15% on stroller for DBS card member.. maybe i will go there and buy bah..

hippo & tiffy,
ya.. im glad he has been helping out automatically and willingly... i shd treasure him more...

junnie,
ya, my mama said the same thing as u... she said maybe zq will be too fascinated wi didi's new arrival and so many ppl ard him to distract him, just hope he will get used to the changes soon.. i must be mentally prepared for his crankiness and unhapiness if there's any, must keep reassuring him i still love him as usual.. nowadays i read him "im a big brother" book everyday, this story book got baby's pics of drinking milk and crying.. so i keep telling him baby/ didi likes to cry, we must all take care of didi together so he will grow up fast and play wi u.. i also ask him can he help out in feeding bb milk milk and change diaper.. he seems very enthu and go n get his diaper and milk bottle.. hope he will remain that enthu when didi is borned...

karrie,
hug hugs... pls dun feel this way.. yes agree wi hippo, give matty and urself sometime to bond back... i support what hippo said, let ur maid helps out to improve ur relationship wi matty... this will be easier and everyone will be happier..
or gal maybe u can play those silly games wi him? just to make him laugh and find that u are very funny? so he will naturally look for u when he expect somethg fun & silly games... like my mama, she's trying to bond wi zq so to ease my load when i have confinement, she always invent those silly songs and dance movement just to capture his attention and make him laugh.. sometimes she will take out her accessories like bangles, wristlets, sunglasses, hairband, hats etc then both of them doll up and look into the mirror and laugh.. i find it helps! zq bonds wi my mama very fast.. i believe this is only a very short term transition gal, dun let this affect ur mood k.. keep on trying and dun give up! im sure matty still loves u as much, just that kids sometimes got their moods also.. hugs.. dun think negatively gal!

thanks for the encouragement and suggestions hippo and dodo.

yah i think i will have a talk with my maid to see how she can help. if i ask matty to hug me, she will encourage him to hug me. but other than that not really.. can tell she enjoys the closeness with him v much. it's just that as a mother it's so heartbreaking to see ur own kid closer to someone who is not even blood related. i wouldn't mind so much if he were sticky to his grandparents. but my gosh...when my maid is around him...it's like the rest of us dun matter u know...

dodo, i try to be silly but it often falls flat. im not a very funny or silly person by nature...my maid is better at playing with him.

on her off day, when i tried to feed him, he rejected his food. he waited for her to come back then eat. yah it's that bad.

karrie,

Give matty some time. The maid is matty caregiver too and maid usually give in to whatever requests. As parents we r different. Dun worried, matty will understand yr feeling to him.

Brig has been rejecting my hb for the past 2 weeks. He viewd my hb as someone who send him to childcare and send mummy off to work. Usually my hb will alight me and bring brig to cc alone. He rejected his hugging, refused to let him carry etc etc...

But things are better now, they starts to play as per last time... it takes time and efforts to win back their hearts. Dun feel sad or be too forceful, embrace with a open heart.. he will sense yr love. Remember we r MUMMIES, noone can break the bonding.

dodo, your hubby is SO SWEET! i think you don't need to worry about zq too much la. he will have so many loved ones ard him. i'm sure he will cope very well during your recovery period.

bbwow, sad to hear about your friend. can't imagine how she must be feeling. sigh...

karrie, kids spell love as t-i-m-e. just make sure you spend more time with matty from now on. i'm sure you'll see the results soon.

went for first trimester scan at NUH today. so nice to see baby after 1 month. am so thankful that he/she is growing well. but my goodness, i wait until my bum hurt man! the clinic was PACKED!

karrie, hmm.. sorie but i dun trust maids la.. i hv seen maids who let their employers' kids stick to them as an excuse to drop the chores or as an emotional blackmail. so... do hv the talk with her fast ya?
i know it can be tough to make urself funny when u are more serious in nature. wat abt playing him his fav dvds or games? u must be the one who administer these though.. or give him treats?

zhen zhen, aiyo.. must hv been tough! waiting for so long.. sianz.. but glad to know baby is doing fine!

Good Morning Mummies

Karrie,
Does Matty sleep with your maid? Andrea is also very close to my maid, as my maid is very bubbly and loves children alot. She can bring herself like a kid and play with them. So, its very normal that the kids will like the maid. The Maid will never reject or say NO to them, so, naturally, the kids will lean towards them for anything they want. Count yourself LUCKY that your maid is good and Matty likes her. Imagine those who have irresponsible maid? Think you will go into depression mann!

Dont worry about that, Matty will know you are the mummy. Andrea also prefers my maid then me! But when Andrea wants to sleep, she will come to me coz I am the one making her to bed.
Rest assured, Matty will come back to you one! My elder used to be close with my IL that he drag going home with me every evening. But now, he is bugging me to go home whenever I am having dinner over there. They will know who is the closest to them. Dont stress over it OK? cos, its only temporary.

morning all

dodo.. glad u r beginning to tk tings easy... zq forever so cute.. hehe.. understands the contents of the book & preparing himself to share his milk bottle & diaper! all thanks to your hardwork!

karrie... *pat pat* dun feel sad abt it... bonding takes time... may b when u r at work previously and during confinement, u hvnt been able to spend much time w matty than he has w the caregiver. if u tink u r not a good playmate to him, may b can try other ways of spending time w him like bring him out for a stroll/some outdoor activies (not so time consuming one cos u still hv mea to take care of), reading books to him or go library etc... jus gv ureself & matty some more time to get adjusted, reassure he'll appreciate your presence bcos u r his only mummy. like wat hippo says, hv a good talk w ur maid, dun worry tings will get better ok =)

mummies, last nite i had a called fm twinkelstar, garina is down with high fever & bronchities.. her hb reservists 2weeks & her leave freezed can only take time off to attend to garina, lucky her mum & maid are attending to garina in the day time & she'll take over the nite shift..... poor gal, hope everything will be fine on her end and garina get well soon.

Dodo
You be surprised hor... ZQ may end up helping you to bottle-feed baby, help you wrap or dress baby etc... In fact, he may see these as fun, like playing with doll... LOL

My elder was like this.... he help hold bottle, snatch the bottle and wana feed baby etc etc... cuddle the baby and asked him to kiss, he will also do it. Its really a lovely sight. I feel that if possible when you want to latch #2, perhaps dont do it in his presence if possible. He MAY get jealous to see the closeness.

Hi hi
Dodo
I think I have almost the same delivery experience as you, did not dilate after almost 12hrs after water bag burst and need to go for emergency c-section as her heart beat went haywired!! Am glad that she was well but was already slightly blue. For the wound, I also start walking to the toilet the next day and keep walking to the nursery room to see her esp. when she need to be put under the blue light. Did not need to take any pain killers but just the wind in the stomach was really not nice. Was told I need to walk more to get rid of the wind. The belt was really useful and I have another strap of plastic sheet on the wound to ensure that the "line" will heal well. I think one box cost me hundreds plus for that.
For my next delivery, my gynae already put there confirmed c-section as I'm not able to dilate for the 1st one. Also, I have the same thoughts of since one side already damaged, why bother to damage the other "hole" ha ha. Anyway, do look at the pros and cons and hope you can make the decision and don need to keep thinking about it.

Gingerleaf going somewhere???

So many sales going on now!! $$$$$$

Hi Mummies... Had great lunch?

Karrie,
Don't worry, when Matty grows older, he will know and then seek lots of your attention. My group of young nieces n nephew behaved in this way, somehow cling onto their mummy like koala bears later stage.
Like what Tiffany, maybe you can take it that @ least Matty likes her company as she is least for suspect of bullying him. Kids, for sure dislike one who always bully them.
Dun be stress up. Take gd care.

Hi Mummies..

Ling here.. Remember me.. Sorry for the long long time did not post up here. I think all our babies have grown up from a baby to a 19 mths baby still..
By the way, I have gave birth to my second child, she is now 3 mths + ..Times flies..
So, wondering who has gave birth to no. 2 after our baby 19mths?
Dodo .. u are gtg to deliver soon?

Zhen Zhen,

U are preg? Congrats!! I think i must be the last one to know abt it..

Karrie,
My daughter Hailey is like that too.. Very cling to me esp I had my no.2 now. So, its part n parcel of their growing up stage.. :)

Check with u mummies, Hailey these few days have fever and her gum is swollen till there is bleeding due to the teeth coming out and ulcers. Any mummies experience on it? Hailey is very cranky n cries easily these few days till her eyes is puffy.. till I don knw how to deal with her..

hi ling... long time no hear! congrats for hving a no. 2 recently =) teething tends to b uncomfortable for most kids some experience LS whilst some no appetite & hv mild fever, tink hailey's one quite bad as u said her gum swollen/bleed.. may b u try apply some teething gel see it helps?

I thought everyone has gone crazy over SALEs...

Ling,
Of Cos you are remembered. Anyway, you are in my FB, saw updates from there.

Sorry, cant advise you on this swollen gums/bleeding incident. I am one Kanchiong spider, whenver something not right, I will bring my kids to Doctor.

btw, has all the kiddos here finished all their jabs? The last should be the DPT booster at 18th mth, thereafter, graduate loh, can get the certificate!
Andrea has 3 more jabs to go... its been delayed cos she was sick and took long time to recover. She had fever/ running nose/ phelgm/ cough etc.. only recovered recently, so, bringing her for jab soon... Finger crossed!

Hi Junnie,

Thanks.. I have bring her to c paediatric doc twice already. She drink her fever med, bufun n pacecetomal till scare.. now have to force her to drink. Poor girl right.. No choice.. Cos her fever is up n down.. The doc also gave her the mouthwash n gel to apply on her gum n ulcers. She is now basically refuse anything on her.. She don want to eat n drink much. Esp her intake of water is too little till the doc said monitor her today for another 24 hrs, if she don drink she has to admit to hospital for drip cos she is dehydration now.. Aiyo.. scarely lei.. Her teething is causing her so much pain..

Tiffany ,
I also saw your updates in FB. Wondering who is still in the FB, maybe u update me than I go n update at my FB ok.. Thanks.. Hailey still got 3 more jabs to go too.. She supposed to go for jab this wk but have to be delayed..

Tiffany
Kelly also left with the 18mths jab. Wanted to bring her today but Dr Chan is on leave. So think I'll bring either tomorrow or next week liao. My girl now know about the pain so difficult to bring her to the PD nowadays. Go in only, she will start crying and walk towards the door!!!
Wanted to give her chickenpox jab as well so will have to wait after the 18th month jab.

Ling,
Oh no, its sound quite bad. It must be very painful and uncomfortable. Could she have some gum infection? Since now she has ulcer (open wound, ensure that your hands are washed clean before entering her mouth. BTW, do you have helper to do these or you apply yourself? I asked this, cos, I realised that my maid always use her hand to feed Andrea. I am not particular as long as she dont gets diarrhoear or problem. There was once, my relative commented, how come my maid use hand to feed Andrea?? My helper likes to use her hand to feed chicken, fishball or fruits etc... Regarding drinking, perhaps give her some glucose water/ pear juice, so that it taste better to drink?

Totoro
I have the same problem as you. Headache to bring her for jabs, cos she will wail the moment she sees the Dr. But this weekend, I will bring her to her PD for jab instead of her regular GP. Have not gone to her PD for some time, thot its more convenient to jab at GP clinic which is just walking distant fm my place.

Since I am visiting PD this round, most likely I will get the PD to do a 18th mth assessment too. Andrea still have DPT booster, Hep A 2nd jab and Chicken pox too.

Ling,
Of course still remember you lah.
Jas gave birth last December.
Karrie gave birth last month.
Dodo, Chintz, Sugar_nut, Ariajo, Zhen Zhen, Unice Pregnant again

hm ... Caelen have not taken his 18th DPT Booster yet :p Better schedule one soon.

ling, ouch! sounds so painful.. hv u brought her to the doctor? hope it gets better soon!
and wow! a 2nd one liao.. congrats!!

jabs: all done & settled.. phew!

Jovial

I think so lei.. And also alot must have cheong to Robinsons too....

I was at Robinsons during lunch time, saw ppl holding isetan bags too....

ling..poor gal, got to suffer so much.. ulcer is v painful.. hope she get well soon. u may try go pharmacy get 'Pedialyte Freezer Pops' will help dehydration. not sure if i'm in ur fb, if u happened to add any mummies and see my name, pls feel free to add me hor =)

jovial, unice preggine w no. 2?? not aware since our last gathering.. congrats unice!!

totoro, tiffany.. both ur gals v smart knwing they going to get poke by PD! does 'bribery' effective on them? likegiving them their favourites snack/candy? GP near our house always offer the kids biscuits or sweets, many children like to go in their room!

junnie....

Oops... information might not be correct..or it is Ueno that is pregnant ? .. kekeke

Tiffany,
Sigh .. I cannot cheong cause no one else t0 'man' the office

jovialz!
dropped in to check out how mummies are doing. was surprised to see unice name on the list hahaha..

it should be ueno, not unice :p

hi ling, welcome back! i remember ur nick only :p must come in more often okie! how big is ur #2 now? boy or gal?

junniez, send my regards to twinklestar, must be really tough on her. hope garina gets well soon!

meeting the entire day!!!! aria when for her last jab liao! power lah, we gave her the booster and also the chicken pox jab at 1 go hehe cos dun want to spend extra money to see PD again since PD said side effects are mild for both injection. Aria had fever the day after probably because of the booster jab. subsided within the day. for the chicken pox, side effects if any only come in 3 weeks later...

ling,
congrats.. woo..2 girls.. i'm most likely expecting another girl too this oct
ouch, the ulcers sounds bad... didn't know teething can cuase such pain! poor hailey...

you know during the last PD check up for aria injection i asked PD if aria's lack of teeth is a concern. you know she has only 5 teeth at 18 months! PD said it's unusual.. so worrying! she asked us to wait till 2 years and by then still not many teeth, need to send her for calcium and thyroid deficiency test
she actually ruled out calcium deficiency since aria's height is quite all right (average)...really hope , all the teeth will pop out soon!! sooo worrying since MIL has thyroid problem and it's genetic! if thyroid problem, aria got to take thyroid supplement..