(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

morning mummies!!!

so early today gingerleaf!

dodo, i would have to go with the rest with regards to c-sect. it seems to be a safer option at tis point in time. but u still have time to think abt it now.. dun stress urself out over this dear. like other mummies who hv gone thru c-sect says, u shd be able to recover fast fast in order to hug zq! i know the dilema u must be in esp when u love zq so much and dun want him to be "shortchanged" but hey.. if itz going to be for the safety of yan an & urself, i guess the choice is clear ba.. only with good health then can u reali give all ur love to the 2 boys! =P u hv my support in whichever decision u eventually make.

Anyone wanna buy Pigeon wipes(red & white packaging) from Shopbug at $9.25 including GST? They are actually selling at $9.90(including GST) in their website. A lady called me up just now asking why I did not purchase from them for so long, so I complained expensive. heheh. Then they called up again to xtend this promo of $9.25 to me. But min must order 8packs(1 carton)Buy $40 and above free delivery.
Anyone keen PM me, I'll pass you her name and contact, then you can call her up.

karrie,

Its more worth getting 1st hand now since COE is cheap. Toyota generally makes good car. As for sound proofing, I guess most car the same? I think its the tyres that you used also, coz certain tyres seem to sound louder than the others. But with some music in the car, that shouldnt be a prob. I think the best way to find out is to go for a test drive!!

most of you said you healing process is so much faster and not so much pain and dodo's like the complete opposite. so wondering is it something to do with the size of the bb head or baby?

dodo,
i have a gf who went through emergency c-sec for no 1 and for no 2 to opt for natural. she was adamant and she prayed a lot! i think you just choose the most comfortable option, choose the option that you will not regret by looking at your priorities.. i think that way it's easiest for you to decide..

1) baby safety
2) ZQ bonding
3) recovering process
4) to experience natural delivery
5) etc...

List down all these points and see which one is your top priority and then decide...

actually, it's true that after natural delivery, it's damn painful down there.. for 2-3 days, my whole body was aching and i walked like a penguin too.. because i had episitiomy , i had to wash the wound every day. the 1st few days the pain was piercing when I washed down there because of the antiseptic solution but after 2 weeks, the pain slowly disappeared... but girl, the experience of giving birth naturally is really awesome.. cannot deny the fact.

seriously, when i was abt to delivered aria I try not to think of any complication but focus on natural delivery. i just keep praying and praying because my SIL had to do emergency c-sec.. it took me 12 hours to get fully dilated! 1cm every hour! sooo slow and aria head slowly bit by bit go into the canal and she was moving so actively even to the last hour! I was so afraid my water bag dried up..hehe… finally by God's grace, she somehow turned into the best position for me to deliver her..

while I advocate naturally delivery, for your case, you have to decided what is the most comfortable option for you by weighing your priorities..

ask you dr tseng, any bad implication if you try natural delivery and end up c-sec emergency? What is the survival chances (choi choi choi) if things goes bad.. You need to know all the risks involve… if risks is too high for you to try natural delivery, I guess c-sec is the only option…

dodo,

I also thk you should not take the risk trying for VBAC if u thk it may endanger ur BB. I remembered my gynae recommend me gg to induce for natural birth if still no symptoms by EDD.. cos' he says BB is safer outside then inside. Altho I was a bit reluctant, but decided to go ahead with the admission on EDD since it is for the safety of BB.

But even tho I was on epidural, I could still pain and strong contractions and my labour was quite long.. at that time, I thot I should hv just gone for cesarian instead . I know it's a funny thot but I was so convinced at that moment that I almost want to give up natural birth.

End up lleyton also arrive with his umbilical cord around his neck. A scary sight.. so imagine I waited a few more days, may not be desirable also.

dodo, actually what is the head circumference then consider big? lleyton was 35cm and took sometime to come out. I read that u said Dr Tseang says est at 34.5cm.. still average right?

side track a bit.. been using the bb cream (hanskin caviar gold) for a few days already and it's really good!! so happy! so far no white heads yet because usually it's a sign for me when i use an unsuitable product...really like this product very much..hehe..thanks for recommending me to BB cream

thanks everyone for the advices and concerns!
i learn more from u all... i guess i shall follow mummy instinct and decide on the more favourable option for little bb and me...

sugarnut,
dr tseng mentioned to me average HC is 32-34cm, zq was borned 37cm.. and didi's HC was abt 34.5cm as at week 37... coz he has no sign of engagement yet and no dilation at all, so dr predicted he will non pop that soon, which means he will stay in my tummy and continue to grow bigger which may result slimmer chance of natural delvery for me.. coz of my prior c-sect case, there's additional risk for me...

tiffany, karrie & zhen zhen,
i have the same doubt here.. seems like there's a difference btw elective c-sect & emergency c-sect right? my 1st was emergency c-sect (wi epi), also walked to washroom the next day by myself.. i had painkiller but can still feel the pain and worried i would tear my wound and result in infection.. and yes i put on the binder, i think it helped lots!

dodo,
J was born naturally with HC of 34cm at 3.27kg. It took me 1.5 wks to recover as the wound below was really REALLY painful. Can't pee or shit properly. I was constipated for 5 days as I dare not shit for fear of tearing the wound. I induced on the actual EDD as I didn't want to delay further as J was pretty big.

re: HC
I had a friend who also delivered natural when her bb weight is 3.8kg and HC 36cm! So it's still possible as long as the option is favourable.

But looking at the situation, esp cord around bb neck, suggest not to risk it.

btw, not trying to be a wet blanket. My hubby's friend's wife recently delivered her daughter but stillborn. I didn't managed to ask further since she was so depressed. We were actually wondering how come no news of her delivery since she was due and casually asked.

Just want to remind that bb's safety is the top priority.

bbwow,

did ur gynae perform episiotomy or allow it tear naturally? i remembered we have same EDD! ya, my gynae said if it's my 1st bb, big size and big HC are not a big concern.. but coz of my prior c-sect case, both the gynaes wish to play safe, however dr tseng is more encouraging though...

dodo,

mine was tear natural. For my friend, they performed episotomy. She's very slim & petite. Like gingerleaf. so delivering such her big baby was quite a feat!

bbwow,
Its so depressing to hear about your hb's friend's wife incident. Sometimes, the gynae is also negligent and did not monitor the patient close enough.

Dodo,
Since I hear about mentions of Induce, how come your gynae didnt suggest you to induce arh?

Karrie,
Since COE is low now, its not a bad idea to get a new car. Less problem of maintenance. Alternative, you can hunt for probably 1-2 yr old car with low mileage. Basically, Toyota is a reliable car, though I am not a Toyota owner myself. hehe

dodo, gingerleaf, tiffany,

ya. we were shocked also. It's such a painful thought.

Karrie,
we own an Altis and recently switched to a Subaru. Basically Toyota cars are realiable. You'd have to wear the pros and cons of owning new car, vs 2nd hand. btw, ever consider OPC (Off peak) car?

Gingerleaf,
Wahaahha... so malu... *blush blush*

Tell you a secret, I dont know how to give birth and also dont know what is delivery contraction or labour pain... hahhahaha.

Both my kids were delivered via C-section after waterbag burst. Both cases also same symptom, so, I was really lucky that I did not experience any pain....

tiffany,
both gynae mentioned no induce birth for me, coz of the oxytocin used, it is too strong and may cause prev c-sect wound rupture...

so i only have 2 choices now: c-sect or wait for it to happen naturally..
so gal, how long u took to recover after andrea's birth to carry ur elder boy?

bbwow,
your gynae let you tear naturally? i tot usually gynae will cut becasue sometimes tear naturally it's not very good..the tear is not clean. that's what my gynae told me and did episiotomy for me..mm....

gingerleaf,
i called cheong choon, the price went up to $9 for a pack of 3 liao.. last time was selling $8.70. so, still cheapest lah.. and since you always go there to eat, no harm buying from there :p

Dodo,
I cant really remember how long I took before carrying him. But I know that when I tried to carry, no pain then OK liao. My gynae always tell me... go by how you feel. I have asked him before how long to rest before I can exercise etc... he always give me the answer .. Just do it as long as you feel alright.

Dont worry so much, you can "Bao Bao" ZQ while seated too, moreover, you have few pairs of hands, can distract ZQ easily bah....

epi & tearing,

i also tear naturally, is a 2nd degree tear.. acutally hope for a 1st degree... Initially i also dun want my doc to stich me up, thought of letting it heal naturally. But my doula dun encouraged at that time.

I did feel abit sore aft giving birth but can walk and pee soon aft. I remembered my doula telling me not to push out the baby. Just breath down slowly.. think that will affect the degree of tear too

tiffany,
yes, i need to rest well and then can be fit again to carry my boys!
coz zq is very clingy towards me nowadays, even when i go and bath he will wait for me outside the bathroom.. my mama tries to distract him wi toys and games he also not interested.. keep shouting "mama mama" outside the bathroom.. sigh..

ya, and so happy hubby got a good news for me yesterday! he will be able to work from home during my confinement.. coz he told me these 2 weeks is killing him, he dun wan to be alone at BJ anymore w/o us by his side.. so i hope wi him, my mama and CL, zq and yan an can be well taken care of...

wet wips,

they a shop (thouse selling beauty product like venus etc etc) at AMK Central selling at $8.80 per pack. But that last year

gingerleaf,
dun have to feel paisei lah, coz u brought up this pigeon wipes topic then we know got cheaper offer elsewhere mah!

actually the one u mentioned also good, coz got free delivery leh..

gingerleaf,
i think he 难舍难分 wi zq! and wi small bb coming along, he even more "she bu de"... he keeps assuring me not to worry abt the long recovery period of c-sect, he said he will be there wi zq and take good care of him.. he said he will learn to cook his porridge and promise to read him story books everyday... i think he worries i will get pre/ post natal blue bcoz of this...

dodo,
i think he more she bu de u than anyone else!
See he is doing all this coz he wants you to rest and not worry so much. So sweet.;)

Mummies with baby boys,
please feed ur son more honey can??? Let the oct baby gals have some sweet bf to look forward to next time?

Dodo
Thats a piece of Wonderful news. Rest well. Prepare lots of DVD for ZQ to distract him. He was clingy becos there's only him and you normally. Now, so many people around, think he will be distracted.

I remember my elder boy was so distracted when we had our CL staying over. He was like welcoming her and so happy to have her over... haha

dodo,
You know what, since cheng choon cheaper, why dun you order from them??? Shun bian can check out the price of the stroller u are keen in. Nonetheless, I PM u the contact.

gingerleaf,
haa!!! u so funny lah! :p
coz i got some isetan vouchers expiring this year end leh, so wish to buy my stroller from there.. wonder if i go this sunday, the sale still on or not...

tiffany,
haa! he dun like to watch TV one leh! only dvd he likes is wheel on the bus, and i watched/ listened the 3 dvds till i wana vomit liao..
agree wi u! when my ayi/ helper first came to help out, he also very busy "entertaining" her, showing her all his "stunts" and "choot" patterns.. very funny to see them behaving like that right :p

dodo,

I dun think the extra 15% be extended till sunday. For thur only.
Keep the voucher for next time use? still got 7 more mths till year end ma.

Dodo
All kids love attention! Ya, very cute. You will probably see him "communicating" with new guest. So many ppl at home and movements, you sure to have him distracted with other things.

Ha... Andrea is also very selective of DVDs.... She was once hooked to Wheels on the Bus too... You can try those with more singing Disc... They love music.. Try Nursery Rhymes..there are many kinds in the market.

Lyn is hooked to barney.
We have been watching n listening to that same barney disc everyday for more than a month liao.
I can sing every single song in it even. Everyday my hb and I hums to barney naturally while doing our own work.
She is still not sick of it but we are!