(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Happififi,
Thanks for the info on toddlers rejecting food. I was so worried and at my wits to tempt him into taking food and indeed, it's a battle whenever it comes to feeding. Your info gives me so much insights and am now just leave it as it is...not forcing him taking the food.

But, frankly speaking, I'm quite worried about the nutrients that he is getting, especially Aidan. He is a prolong case. Is he getting enough calcium, protein and iron for his growth if he keeps rejecting food and eats so little. Have you thought of sending Aidan to a nutritionist to seek for advice?

karrie,
May be you would like to take ML earlier just to play save, since you are already experiencing contractions for 2 days? Most 2nd babies came out earlier than EDD.

morning mummies...

dodo, it's probably a phase..i experience it with anders too and he will start eating again when he feels like it...

hapififi, thanks for the information

chris, hope brig will outgrown it soon...

karrie, u working this week? i tink u shd also take ML earlier coz 2nd babies normally faster than the 1st one.. is your hb gout better? anybody else to send u to hospital if u are in labour?

morning mummies! feeling very tired today cos yz decided to toss n turn in bed after he woke up at ard 2am. he just toss n turn n trying to go back to sleep but cant. and can sense his frustration haha. like a little adult.
hope tonight he'll sleep like a baby like he usually does.

ecookie, no MC today? how is your cough? hi-5, i also feeling tired.. anders also turn, toss, sit up, lie down from 3am onwards..and he never see where he is lying down.. he can just lie down anywhere, i kanna a head butt.. ouch.... as if he got alot of things in his mind.. good thing is he went back to zzzz again an hour later...

karrie: wat a false alarm! but i think this is a sign of ur real labour coming up! better take leave and get ready the bag for hospital! so excited for you!

dodo: dun be too frustrated. i think zq is just in one of the mood not to eat. so far i think he is still eating alrighty right? maybe this is just an one-off incident. im sure he will eat once he is hungry..

ponponta: my flu went away on saturday! also good lah. though today i really tempted to get MC! cos still havnt really turn back to sg clock. so yest turned in at 2am and then yz started waking up. in the end slept at 3+! want to faint.

and haha anders sounded like a little adult too. doing alot of thinking hehe.

wah....so much topic on bottles and teats. talking about it. I have a super headache now. J likes to bite/chew on his teat/pacifier until got hole! we have a few already destroyed by him. at this rate, I dunno how to keep up with changing teats and pacifier! xiong! really considering using sippy cup but wonder which type is good? he doesn't take the avent type one cause need alot of strength to suck. any mummies can advise?

wave wave to ponponta and ecookie!

i'm having headache again now. and feeling very blue.. weekend passed too soon, not enough! hmph!

thanks hapififi n mm on where to get the caps...i'll check the MAH pharmacy when i give birth there then...

sanbebe n ponponta, thanks for ur concern! yah still working until this Sat. im telling bb to be guai stay inside mummy's tummy for at least 1 more week...she is definitely engaged coz it's quite excruciating to walk. my hubby's gout was still quite bad as of last nite, he couldn't really walk...hope today gets better. lucky we stay with his parents so his dad can drive me down to hospital if need be. and i've hired a doula to help with the birth...so should be ok.

ecookie, good to hear.. haha, u shd really get MC to catch up with your zzz...i was "planning" for a MC... have not decided a date yet.. =(

for me, i slept at 12am, but he disturb my beauty sleep.. argh!!

chintz: wave madly back!! yes weekend definitely not enuff. sigh. so looking forward to long weekend next week. good friday!

bbwow: u can try pigeon sippy cup?! i find the flow quite fast though sometimes yz can kena chocked by it..

chintz, wave wave!! yes.. indeed.. i also looking forward to the long weekend..

karrie, aiyoyo.. in school, u need to walk and stand alot right? better rest whenever possible.. good good, at least u got backup plans..

ecookie!

how's your trip?

the pigeon sippy cup teat is rubber or plastic one? if it's rubber, then my dinosaur still can chew until broken.

anders finally had his hair trimmed ytd..he got not much hair to trim so mum DIY herself...
look tu anot? heeheee...or look like baby tweety??

2298210.jpg

ponponta: anders look so cute here! like got something up his sleeve hehe.

bbwow: yup back from my trip! its a good trip though i missed yz like mad!
and yah im talking abt the mag mag cup here and its teat is of rubber.

chintz: i tried avent sippy again yest and it leaks! mag mag doesnt leak as bad leh. the avent shake shake abit water will come up liao. think will try mag mag with straw liao..

chintz, i find mag mag cover always leak too.. i have changed it 3 times liao..i am using the straw type.. any other recommedations?

btw, my kind of leak is because the lid always cannot click on properly to the cover, it become loose after a few weeks of use..so water will leak out from the straw...=(

ecookie, it is so hard to take a picture of him.. he is always distracted, only chance is when he is watching tv.. even so, cannot block his view.. pengz...

ponponta, anders got the cheeky look hahaha...at least u can save money n trim his hair on your own...i dun dare cut matt's hair cos he's squirmy like worm.

sippy cup...i use the mothercare one...it also leaks when it's upside down (i suppose most sippy cups do lah) so i just place in the side pocket of the diaper bag where it's always kept upright loh. matty dun like magmag coz he will use the silicon spout as a teether instead. so had to get the hard spout type...

oh yah mummies do u tots still drink milk at nite???? matty has been waking up at like 2, 3, or even 4am to demand "milk milk!" and water, pacifier all dun work. he used to sleep thru when he was a baby leh...dunno why. how to wean off????

ponponta, anders looking very cheeky and yan dao here!

ecookie, re avent sippy, did u attach the little round plastic thingy to stop from leaking?

anyway, chloe also don't like to take avent sippy, very difficult to suck hee

for straw bottle, i bought fr mothercare and it's really leak-proof!

karrie, is it that matty needs more fulfilling lunch & dinner now?

chloe always wake up for milk. only the past week she slept thru the nite. really keeping my fingers crossed and hopefully it's the end of it

karrie, haha.. tv is the best distraction for him..

same here, i stopped giving night feeds since he is 3mth old.. but he is sick, he will ask for milk.. recently, if he dun get enough for dinner, he will ask for milk too.. so i try to feed him more for dinner and feed him milk at midnight hopefully he wun ask for milk...=(

chintz: u meant the plastic cover to cover it? i did leh. yz still doesnt know how to tilt the cup in an upright position. so usually i feed him. i prefer this cos he drinks quite abit of water from sippy wheras from straws he will like run away. n he not a water lover so i sticking to sippy if it makes him drink!

this is the one that chloe is using. so far so good.
2298281.jpg

the combi one very nice ya. i also like to stop and admire at the design at times haha.

ecookie, err i dunno how to explain, but there's supposed a small round plastic stopper where u need to attach at the bottom of the sippy.

initially i didn know as well, and i almost threw that little thing away. then i went to mothercare to ask again only to know that it needs to be attached :p

bbwow,
we have a gathering on 1 may. u wanna join?

Gathering on 1 May:

1) Jas + HB (Maybe) + 2kids
2) Tiffy + HB + 1 kid
3) Junnie + HB + 2 kids
4) Dodo + HB (maybe) + 1 big 1 small (in tummy) :p
5) chintz + HB + 1 kid
6) ariajo + 1 kid
7) bbwow
8) Hapi Fifi + HB + 1 kid
9) Twinkle_stars
10) Sugar nut
11) zhen_zhen + hb + 1 kid
12) doobom
13) chersam + 1 kid
14) ponponta + HB + 1 kid
15) hippo + HB + 1kid
16) Totoro + HB + 1 kid
17) Jovialz
18) Gingerleaf
19) Ecookie

chintz, i tot so too...but he will usually pui out any extra food we give him leh...mebbe we up his snacks loh. see how...hai...he's been like that ever since ard the end of my first trimester. dunno want attention or wat.

matty until now still not v good with straws...he prefer to drink from cup like us loh...so sometimes i dun bother with sippy cup also.

chintz:!!!! i think i threw away liao leh. tot its just something that comes with the new purchase. i threw away like LONG time ago! sianz. @_@

ecookie, yes.. there is this piece of white, thin, round thingy to attached to the bottom..

chintz, why need to attach it huh? it always come off 1.. and somemore got this white tab protruding out, dunno where to attach it...

ecookie: OOPS!! i thought so too in the beginning.

ponponta: u just hv to force the plastic to go into that tab. that supposed to stop leaking. it really does. but the bad thing is kids need extra effort to suck the liquid out in order for the liquid to go thru that closure
- that's the part where chloe hates :p

regarding the mothercare bottle, so far never leak leh, cos i always dump it inside my bag (upside down n watsoever). i can't remember exactly how much, think less than $10 or $10ish. what i dun like so far is, it only comes in BLUE and it got no handle hehe. but it's grip-friendly too. also, chloe dump to the floor for zillion times liao, shock-proof too hehehhehe

karrie: u might be right. maybe matty just wants attention hehe

tiffy: thanks for refreshing the list.

bbwow: join us! join us!

think i too sleepy liao. only aft refreshing the list, i saw bbwow name is in the list already.

pls update the list on number of people in ur family coming to the gathering

tiffy,

thanks for asking. I thought I was already on the list liao? o_O

ecookie,
we also have the pigeon sippy cup but no use la. J will chew and chew. really very hard to find those hard type.

re: straw type
the mag mag one will leak. recently I just buy the normal Barney kids straw water bottle cause it can contain more water. the mag mag one can only last J for a few hours. he drinks ALOT of water.

i no longer using mag mug. i use water bottle to let sherry drink. now total she had 3 water bottles cos mummy saw nice then keep buying. hahaha

i also no longer use the mag mag. myra is now using a munchkin, bought at bugis bhg. its leak proof. I think at this point any water bottle will do.

2298876.jpg

on leave today & tomorrow , planning to bring garina out shopping .

gingerleaf/eccokie
Welcome back , hope you guys enjoy yr trips.

dodo
alternatively you can consider to buy the pigeon storage bottles which can also be attached to the medela pump directly .
it's also the same as the medela , thinks is S$ 15.00 for 3.

karrie
did u engage Ginny Phang as yr doula ? She's mine secondary sch classmate & schoolmate.
Hope yr hubby receovers soon , gout very painful one , i kena on Garina's bb shower .
U take care , so excited for you.

ponponta
my mag mag also always leak. I think got a new model which my frenz bought , it's a slimmer version & leak proof .
Will be gg KP to check it out later.

junnie
how's lance? hope he's feeling better.

Chersam
Sayang Cherie . Tat day Garina also fell down ,got a very big baluku on her forehead & blueblack . So heartpain.

Gathering on 1 May:

1) Jas + HB (Maybe) + 2kids
2) Tiffy + HB + 1 kid
3) Junnie + HB + 2 kids
4) Dodo + HB (maybe) + 1 big 1 small (in tummy) :p
5) chintz + HB + 1 kid
6) ariajo + 1 kid
7) bbwow
8) Hapi Fifi + HB + 1 kid
9) Twinkle_stars +hb + 1 kid
10) Sugar nut
11) zhen_zhen + hb + 1 kid
12) doobom
13) chersam + 1 kid
14) ponponta + HB + 1 kid
15) hippo + HB + 1kid
16) Totoro + HB + 1 kid
17) Jovialz
18) Gingerleaf
19) Ecookie

dodo, yah twinkle_star's suggestion is good. in fact any standard sized small bottle will fit the medela pumps. i used the pigeon, ameda and medela ones interchangeably.

twinkle_stars, yeah i hired Ginny!!! wow small world! hahaa...she's really good and reassuring. i feel confident about this birth
yah gout is v painful. my hb become like cripple...gotta use his walking stick. and cannot climb stairs...

karrie
gd luck , Ginny is a well-know doula i guess.
Think i got gout coz when i was preggy , i had soya milk everyday or it's hormones change , i dun noe .Till now , i dare not drink soya milk .

think forgot to mention , Garina can walk liao , now i understand why you all always say "welcome to the bo eng club"
Really bo eng , walk here walk there , take this ,take tat.

twinkle stars: oh, cherie's twin can walk liao ah!! congrats! now only cherie "left on the shelf" nia. haha
Enjoy ur shoppin wif garina!

chersam,
don't worry. saw ur blog. cherie going to walk soon.

twinkle star,
when i pregnant, i drink soya milk without sugar syrup every alt day but nothing happen to me leh.

mummies, thanks for the water bottle information..tink i will check out tomorrow during lunch....

karrie, what type of services will a doula provide? how much did you pay for it? seemed very interesting..

twinklestars, congrats! now u will be busy keeping an eye on garina.. following her everywhere...heehee..very soon you will be chasing after her...

gout, cannot eat beans.. my mom got gout before and was ask to abstain from beans...

chersam, very soon you will also be kept busy...

karrie,

Ginny was my doula when i gave birth to Brig leh.. I went through her hypobirthing class and had a water birth... haha.. enjoy yr birthing ok??

Been telling my hb, if i have a no 2, i will want a home water birth... haha...

chintz: yah gout is that.

twinkle_stars: clap clap! welcome garina to the walking club so cute hehe.

chersam: dun worry lah. from ur blog, can see that cherie gonna walk very very soon. then u ll be more bo eng. another headache other than her late nights. hehe.

chris: wow so interesting! so brig is born in the water. so once he came out, then quickly bring him out of water? then u delivered the placenta in the water too?