(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

junniez, yes.. i saw the Q, almost fainted.. but tink i going to change in aug, cos mine is the girolink one.. very troublesome.. lance, 12+kg already.. can't wait to see his pictures...

chersam, yes.. it is very very good.. like what hippo say, i been loading alot of things inside, but i dun feel the weight.. i tink 1 bought the last piece of backpack kind.. been looking for another one for my friend, but cannot find.. haiz...

ponponta, i realise the stores dun reali stock up much of the backpacks.. have u tried robinsons? both centrepoint & raffles city? or like wat dodo said, isetan?

hippo, yes.. i tried all isetan and robinson.. but still dun have.. been trying for a year already... there is 1 place that i never tried is KKH and paragon (is the shop called my first place or something?) somemore she looking out for the red and orange colour.. very difficult.. dun even get to see on allerhand website..

chersam, chintz, jas.. u can visit their website to have more idea how the bags look like
www.allerhand.com

ponponta, thanks! i went to their website liao this morning.. one thing i find, their website navigation sucks big time

i've seen the bags in person at mothercare.. but now all of ur ravings.. make me have 2nd thought about it

thinkin of a backpack for my coming trip to china.. think backpack is safest to carry there :p

ponponta, tink the red & orange is past season already. datz y u can't find it! the website sucks la.. dun bother.. hahaha..

chintz, go try it out! going to china with chloe? cool! when when?

chintz: ooh... china?? chloe is indeed lucky!

dodo: back from beijing?? can smell the real zq liao, no need smell his clothings anymore. heh.

chintz, chloe really very lucky leh.. always get to travel alot.. oh yes, mothercare also selling but very ex as compared to isetan and robinson...

hippo, agreed! i wanted to show my friend, the backpack that i got in the website.. but cannot find..aiyo... but at least, can get to see what is allerhand all about.. haha...

i fell in love with it when i saw a mummy using it at the baby's room... den i straight away went to buy already and have never regret since..

ponponta, oh it's selling more ex at mothercare?? aiyo! $168 is already so ex -___-

going china to experience CNY in a very kampong way, pray the ancestors etc etc. i dunno what else to expect seriously! hehe

ponponta: thanks for the link. Wah, really a stylo lookin bag leh! so tempted to get 1 too. hehe

chintz: so good, got holiday to look fwd at least. just curious y choose haikou huh?

chintz, yes.. so happen isetan and mothercare was opposite each other that time when i buy.. despite the discounts, istean is still cheaper..so i get from isetan.. heehee...

i tink is a very good experience.. so ang paos in RMB? heehee...how long will u be going?

chersam:

ponponta: going for a week. come back still gotta give angbao in SGD. maybe should go for a month next time :p thanks for the info on allerhand.

the price is hmm... maybe won't be getting bah.. :p

btw, i like the baby bjorn backpack too, anyone using?

jut got back from meeting..

chintz,
wow, going to china to celebrate CNY! so exciting. well at least chloe can experience the fire crackers atmosphere there??

gongxi2:
hehe..aria managed to learn this from my MIL..can say gongxi2 with action..haha..hope she can get more ang pau this year!!

Hi mummies, I would like to get some advice from mummies who have given their kids chickenpox jab..wonder if there is any adverse effect after the jab? And if there is how long does it usually take to get over the adverse effect? Wanna check cos plan to send my son for the jab tomorrow but worried that he'll might get adverse effect and symptoms of chickenpox if get the jab. But noted its recommended to take it before child turns 15 mths (while my son is already 15 mths +..so don't know if can drag somemore longer and do it after CNY whether good or not). Or should I just take chances and let him have it before CNY? Any advise from mummies would be much appreciated. Also can advise how much does the jab cost and is it offered in any GPs? Many thanks.

aria jo: aria can say the word "gong xi" ah?! so clever!! sure can get many ang pows this yr. haha

lynn: my understanding of chickenpox jab is tat to give after kid turns 14 mths. It is recommended to take b4 15 mths meh? dun tink so leh. my gal yet to take her jab yet, turnin 15 mths soon & i'm plannin to let her have hers after CNY.

chintz, itz ok la.. still an experience i'm sure u & ur family will enjoy lots! pack more clothes!! shd be cold there cos near the sea?

aria, smart aria! *clap clap*!! can say gong xi.. sure lotsa angbaos!! i just taught adri the "gongxi" & "hongbao please" action yday and she was having fun with it! she kept clenching both fists together, shakes them then open both palms wide.. ha!

lynn,
not sure of adverse effect but i think if i were you i will let my girl take after CNY cos if there's any need medical attention and need to kkkh better to be not on public holidays right? i hold back my girl MMR jab because of this reason too. going for the jab only in end feb. by right should be early feb!

chersam/hippo,
yeah, aria can say gongxi gongxi but not very zhun one lah. oh yahor, must teach her the action "hong bao na lai"! this is very very important..hahah..

ariajo, yeah!! aria has learn gong xi gongxi..i have been teaching anders for a week already.. all he does is clap his hand.. alamak...

had a scare this morning. Hb brought lyn to office as usual, and while MIL was making milk for her, she saw lyn holding on to a piece of glass. I think she panic or what la(she is v kancheong spider and paranoid scaedy type), we suspected she pull the glass out from lyn's hand.
It was a long gash which is almost as long as her left index finger itself.
So hb called me n picked me up n we headed down to see a PD. In the car, she kept holding out her plastered finger to me n cry. Then reach PD office, she kept crying and blood was gushing out when the plaster was removed. It took the PD much pressing before the blood flow slowed down abit. Then had to put tissue glue to glue back the wound and it burst open again coz she bend her finger, so had to re-apply. After the 2nd aplication of glue was set, the finger was wrapped up. I saw how her wound open up and it was really scary. Somemore the PD said its 2-3mm deep.
So heartpain.

gingerleaf: im so heartpain to hear this! poor lyn. the poor girl must be wailing with pain. how come got glass lying ard in ur hb's office? is it broken pieces of glasses?

hopefully lyn's wound will heal fast with the tissue glue.

OMG ... hope she is ok now ... must have lost lots of blood ... take good care of her hand if not infect den no good will have scar ... aiyo she must be too panic liao and the glass cut Lyn's finger ... sayang lyn

Jas thanks ..

Ok leaving soon for the interview ...

gingerleaf,
OMG!!! so heartpain.. aiyoh, i think i will cry if i see this happen to aria..is lyn ok now? i cannot imagine the pain inflicted on her.. she's so young and so much blood.. gee, i very angry...how can your MIL so careless....

gingerleaf, OUCH! oh dear oh dear.. super heartpain to hear that.. hugs hugs.. i just have to read ur story & i'm teary. i can imagine how u must be feeling. aiyo... poor lyn.. sayang...

Jovialz,

I needed advice but was out with hb n he said just get it. So there. Heheh

Chintz, its 168, now robinson got 20% off!
But my hb very hiao, he dowan those trio colors combination one, so he go buy full price item which I think its new range one. But I got mothercare card, so still got 10%.

gingerleaf..alamak, y such things happened? poor lyn, must b v painful...hope her wound recover fast. tis few days must 'bao' her finger during shower le, hope she guai guai let u change the dressing..

chintz...so good... definitely a different experience for cny w ur family @ hainan island!

chintz,
go hainan to put ur name n chloe's name in the ancestor's booklet?
Lyn had hers added in last year when the whole family went over cept us.
Hey!! U are gg to have fun sia! My SIL came back so happy abt it, say its like resort n it isnt as crappy as I think.

re: chicken pox injection.

i regret not bringing my daughter for the jab last month, now my daughter is having chicken pox and the outbreak so much.if i had given her the jab,i guess the outbreak wun be so much.

Chintz, the bjorn one wun be as good as allerhand. No much compartments inside. I did research liao, and went to diff shops to check out diff bags.
Ju ju be is good, coz alot of compartments too, but the price is ex n the straps of the bag is crappy, will cut into shoulder.
Allerhand by far is the best. An all rounder.

Robinson offering 20% off 168. Mothercare member off 10%

ecookie, chintz, aria,

The glass came from a jar food lyn broke a few weeks back. Ya, we also angry how come MIL so careless, never clean out the room properly too. But she is those v blur blur type one, prob clean the offending mess n never go n double check to see if still got remaining pieces lying ard.
But what angers us was, lyn is the kind of baby that will pick up foreign objects off the floor n give it to us, or she can be easily bribed with a cookie to hand over whatever she is holding. But guess MIL panic liao, to see her holding the glass and she prob scolded lyn la, then this prob infuriates lyn n she all the more dowanna give the glass to MIL, so MIL prob pull it out from her hand w/o thinking twice that this could hurt her even more.
MIL must be shaken la, coz hb said she was white as a sheet when she brought lyn to him. She is the v v paranoid type, that everything also could be linked to death in her context one.

gingerleaf: sound so scarin abt lyn's finger being cut, remind me of cherie's incident. she loves to touch my fan (those type puttin on flr one). there's once when i was in toilet for small relief, just less than a minute, heard some noises made by my fan, then followed by cherie's cryin! i faster dashed out fm toilet and attended to her. on my way to her, i was hopin tat i wouldn't see bloody scene or little finger on flr. to my great relief, there's isn't, just 2 small cuts on her index finger. Phew!!!
Thot tat after tis incident, she will scare of the fan but NO, she still dare to touch somemore *faint*

Chintz,
its still 168 at mothercare. But centerpoint mothercare got 20% off allerhand oso, to match robinson's sale, but the colors n range is the same!

Chersam and Aria,

I'm not actually sure but based on babycenter, recommended age for the chickenpox jab is 12-15 mths old. Hm..but I guess prob. won't harm having it slightly later ya. Think will give my boy the jab after CNY then.

hippo,
When my hb called to inform me, I was still sleeping! I literally jump off the bed n started screaming into the phone!
Then I was fighting so hard not to cry in the clnic oso. The PD like no mercy sia, really press her finger very hard n oso use his finger to sort of massage n pry open the wound to see got foreign objects inside or not. Can imagine how pain it was coz lyn was screaming n crying her head off n kept wanting to turn around and hug me. Then she kept giving me the "mummy why u let uncle make me pain pain" look.
We were inside for more than 30mins, so can imagine the torture sia!

Chersam, can get those netted fan cover. dun have to worry abt the little fingers gg into the gaps.

lynn,

how old is ur baby? Oct baby too?
I gave mine slightly after 14 mths.. or was it 13? Cannot remember. No adverse effects. All is well cept for her screaming her head off during the jab in the PD's office la.

oopsilly,

how did ya baby get the chicken pox?? But seriously, I think get now better than get later.
Coz scarring will heals faster now compare to when they are much older.

gingerleaf: if im you, i'll be very upset n angry with ur mil . though i know no doubt she dotes on lyn and didnt know wat she did will cause such pain to lyn. think in future, need to double check the room that lyn roam in ur hb;s office has to be checked and clean out beforehand.

OUCH! the part where the PD pry in to the flesh to see foreign object must be v painful for lyn! good that the ordeal is over for her now. hope her wound will heal fast fast!

eccokie,

I am oso very upset n angry why she can allow it to happen. But on hindsight, Im sure she dun mean for such things to happen too. Actually, now think of it, still feel very pissed, even hb felt that way. But we both decided not to tell her off or what, coz scare will freak her out.
The last time lyn had intersuseption, she also freaked out n thot she was the one who caused lyn to be lidat, and didnt dare to see nor visit lyn when she was in te hospital and she was fraught with worries n couldnt eat nor sleep.
Sigh. So angry as I may, still have to spare her feelings. How gracious I got to be. zzzz

gingerleaf,
so heart pain after hearing what happen to lyn. ecookie is right. If i'm u, i'll be v v angry n upset liao.
Can u tell ur hubby to clean up his office totally to prevent anything happen again.

re:allerhand bag
my haversack is yellow/orange. look v bright. Think dodo's one is blue/brown

gingerleaf: haha indeed gracious. but think have to be this way bah, the way u describe ur mil like she is very fragile. any more bad news will make her health suffer like that.

so for the time being, lyn not going to ur hb;s office i guess?

chersam: lucky nothing happen to cherie's finger! better get the fan net as suggested by gingerleaf.

ha just want to share this:
yesternight i went out to attend a wedding dinner n yz was with hb at home. when i reached home ard 10+ , yz is already asleep. after washing up, i cant help but go n kiss/ smell him. he stirred abit and opened his sleepy eyes and saw me. so i told him ,mummy is here, go back to sleep. so he closed back his eyes. then i asked him " do u like mummy" (a qn that i always ask ) and he nodded his head with his eyes closed. hehe. just feel very happy to see him do that.

gingerleaf... lyn is v well behaved fm wat u shared... she will hand u foreign objects automatically or easily bribed... mine will jus 'pop-in' the mouth 1st, sometime bribe aslo dun work hv to 'snatch' fm him if v dangerous object! believe your MIL also v guilty now... nobody wants tis to happen... heng u all go to PD asap, can understand how u feel when hearing lyn's screaming...

chersam.. wat a incident snow white had w the fan! no joke if really serious... heng... tink our toddlers still 'buay hiao' duno wat is call 'danger', ie, we hv to keep an eye 24hrs on them, hiaz..

gingerleaf, aiyo aiyo... wat a shock in the morning! and wat an ordeal lyn had to go thru in the PD's office.. ouch! i tink u r doing the right thing rgdg ur MIL. no doubt i will be super pissed but guess u r right abt sparing her feelings. cos u mentioned she's very kancheong & will link happenings with negative stuff or even herself.. so forgive her lo. bo bian but must tell ur hb or u must tell her urself abt keeping the area safe for lyn in future!

tiffy, yup! dodo's blue/brown, mine's totally red... =D

chersam, datz a close shave! phew.. lucky cherie is fine!

eccokie,
aww, thats so sweet!!

hippo, urs is totally red?? Does it have an embossed logo A?
If so, mine is the same as urs! But in grey.