(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

just now i went to Tesco supermart, Mamy poko diaper (56 pcs) selling at RM45 only! hmm, equivalent to abt S$18.50! but has limitation, can only buy 4 packets...

gingerleaf,
how are u coping? hope everythg goes on smoothly... jia you! hubby will back soon! maybe u can keep urself occupied preparing for lyn's coming birthday party!

gingerleaf
haha... yah lor.. when u r on forum, somehow like the thread moves faster n lots of topics whiz by. then when u not around, thread like a bit slower leh?!!! :D

dodo
diaper so cheap at Tesco! haha... nvm lor, at most buy 4 packet go out, go in and buy another 4 packet... dun think they can recognise you, right? have so many check out counters... heehee!!

chersam
the bumper mat is super duper good. there's usually BP on this by small small world/alien. but if u wanna take a look n feel, can go Cheong Choon. their price match BP price as well. n they also offer free delivery. my boy's on the bumper mat ever since he's 2-3 mths old. its been v.useful coz it prevented him from collecting too many eggs when he first started rolling/crawling,etc. i use play yard to surround the bumper mat.

think a few of us mummies also use this same layout for our babies. very practical and safe for the child.

jovialz
i like those penguins marching across. so cute! where did u all get those cute cute fonts? like them lots coz they add cheer to our thread.

dreamz,
haa! precisely! that's what i intended to do! but hubby said dun wan la coz we only got 1 shopping cart and goes in and out wi so many diapers abit eye-catching leh.. hee :p
btw, anyone know how much pampers dry comfort selling at spore? i think here also quite cheap, only RM36...

chersam,
agree that bumper mat is really good! i started to use when bb ard 2-3 mths old also... and yes, i followed what dreamz did, have the playard around the bumpermat... it's safer and he learns to cruise inside, so even if he fall, the impact is cushioned loh

dodo,
I have no time to prepare for her celebration. Anyway, I checked liao, the resturant cannot have any form of decor on the wall. So good la, save my time to decor n remove oso.

gardenz,
Hurhurhrur, I seems so talkative. Finally bb juz fell asleep. Gotta go do hsework now. grrr.

dodo
ur hubby jagah your 'loot' outside with your trolley while u push another trolley in to get another round of the 'loot' lor, maximise your transport costs! :D think TESCO's price is unbeatable, compared to singapore here. haahaa...

ya, for our 2 active boys, the bumper mat is really a safe haven for them, right?
my PH now into climbing so everyday he will try to scale the walls of his play yard.. ah yoh... hard to stop him. thankfully, he can 'bump' his head/butt safely inside. :D

Pork:
I always buy the pork fillet (mei rou) to make 1 week of soup stock with dozens of mini scallops..then add in carrots, sweet corn, potatoes and pumpkin. Its very tasty when cook with porridge. then i usually puree all the vegetables and freeze it for later usage.

Hippo,
haha! i am still here la. Just that my pain seems to get worse. I am limping badly and has to hold on to something to walk. U know the pain of the slip disc? Its almost the same. The pain become unbearable liao. I was sitting down on a chair when i am bathing just now. I can't walk! Luckily, HB came home early tonight. Intend to go see Gynae tmr as it has also hurt my tummy (perhaps use too much strength liao).

any recommendation for a pre-natal massage? Need someone strong..cos i am very big..keke!

jas
I go to this lady called Rose at Golden Wellness for my pre-natal. She's a certified therapist. can try. I find her qt good.

jovialz
the bday bash cake alone was $180. after adding the cupcakes plus delivery, total was $248, i think.

gingerleaf,
oic... yup good also, save the time & money as well! i just swept floor while hubby fed bb... now thinking whether to clean his toys or wait till tomorrow... lazy me :p
faster do ur housework and go to rest ya... drink more water and eat vit c also, take care!

dreamz,
haa! it's really cheap right!
we think of that too, but hubby said bb wana zzz already, so bopian loh... duno why, when i see limited quantity per customer per day, i get very excited!

haa! u let PH watched Spiderman is it?! :p
zq loves to "dance" inside his playard, when he sick to cruise abt, he will keep turning his body and move from one end to another end, make himself giddy and will give me the silly smile when i said hello to him after all these spinnings!

jas,
oh dear... must be very painful! yup yup, faster go and see gynae and get his advice... meanwhile have more rest, dun move about much and dun carry dayan for the time being...

the vegetable used to cook stock can be pureed huh? alamak!!! i have been wasting all the stuff, i threw everythg except the corn...

haha.. I just finished packing the party packs for Clare's party.. feel so satisfied.. bought qt a few toys as favours since cant gv much sweets due to the milk scandal.

PORK:
pork fillet(mei rou) is more softer than loin meat and slightly more expensive than loin meat. If in market, there is fake pork fillet and real pork fillet and of course the price also different.

junnie,
i always used loin pork but usually minced it n steam and then mash it into paste and add into the porridge.
but now without kitchen, i try to steam the sliced loin pork and mash it into paste form. will try it out 2molo.

topic of yesterday is pork???
regarding egg, I have started introducing egg yolk some time back, will introduce the egg white after she turned 1 year old on Sunday :) ...

dodo
the diapers are really cheap there so can buy more :)

gingerleaf
wow, do housework till 1am .... Being a mother/ housewife really no joke hor, some more still have to do either full or part-time job. Really wonder how some people can do it!

Jovialz
You wanna feed the Poohs & friends izzit since they on diet for so long already! Just let me know and you can pop by my place in the evening lah

Birthday Parties
This is the month where all of us are going to be busy!!
just managed to order Kelly's birthday cake for Sunday as well as the buffet!! ha ha yah me jia liat, everything last min one. I remembered I bought my wedding band the day before the ROM ha ha

Jas
Do take care and rest more, aiyoh hope someone can help you with the pain!

Tiffany
Happy Belated Birthday and also to all babies who celebrated their birthday the past few days!!

To all OCT thread babies
1738993.gif

morning mummies!!

re pork: yup i used "mui yok" (in cantonese) for porridge to baby yz. normally get from wet market. its much softer and have no fats normally. they have fake one and real one. fake one pale and got a icky smell. real one is more reddish and more exp. so far yz is taking well to pork. i only intro him this type of pork so far.

no chicken yet cos scared induce more phlegm since he has that for the longest time! beef he only take from those baby bottle food jars and so far ok.

dodo: zq so cute, turn round n round to make himself giddy. heh.

re stock ingredients: so we can puree them!! oh no, always throw everything away! but wont these "remains" have less nutrients since all go to stock??

hello!

dodo, i LOVE mei rou!! favourite part of the pig.. always pestering my mummy to buy dat for me.. haha!

jas, oh my! poor dear... my malay massage lady not dat fantastic so dun wana recommend u.. i heard rose is good! ouch.. it must hurt alot alot.. and cos u have to tarik tarik when walking, so it must have hurt ur tummy too! go see ur gynae soon! go go go...

eggs: will not intro until much later.. doc's advice cos me & hubby both have sensitive skin.. (but have been letting her eat pdts which might contain eggs for awhile sooooo... ha!)

jas, you really should check up on your back! it might be something more serious. better be on the safe side.

karrie, i know exactly how you feel. students can be so ungrateful. but just do your best.

re: pork
i usually buy pork loin for hannah and mince it myself. so far, she's taken beef, pork, chicken and fish, and she's fine with all of them.

zhenzhen: thats good! hannah not choosy with food!

hippo: yah i think i ate alot of that during my confinement! my mum cooked all the pork with some chinese wine or something. yummy. but got alot of ginger lah.

ecookie, she's fussy in a different way. she only likes home-cooked food. she refuses to take bottle food.

chintz, are you looking for a safety thingy for sliding doors? i bought one set, but it can't work on my sliding doors, as the gap between my doors is too wide. if you want it, i can give to you. cos it's now sitting in my house collecting dust.

re: safety gate
anyone bought a safety gate yet? where's a good place to buy from? which brands are better? noticed that most are fixed, meaning you either have to climb over the gate or take it out completely. are there ones with a door?

hello zhen zhen!! busy with ur project huh?
hannah is smart! she knows watz good and watz not.. datz y prefer homecooked food!

ecookie, haha! same here same here.. except dat my mum had a tough time cos i will make a big hooha abt all those stupid smelly ginger she added... she cldnt stand me after awhile and she told me next time she dun wana do my confinement for me.. shd let me spend $$$ on dubious confinement ladies.. hahaha! so bad...

adri has been knocking her head all over at my mum's place for the past week. and yesterday when the bruise on her head seems to be finally going away, she kena again and tis time there's a big buah luku on the same place! aiyo... she was sitting in a room with a small step at the doorway and she wanted to crawl out and tink her depth perception is damn bad. forehead 1st on the floor.. ouch! tink i must reali move my bumper mat to my mum's place liao le.. but she roams all over leh... hmm...

zhen zhen, i got one from kiddy palace for abt $80.. it can be fixed on most doorways but do measure yours before u go shopping! and it comes with a door.. so dun have to remove or climb over the stupid thing.. but i can't remember the brand. they have quite a few for selection though!

gingerleaf,
hope u are still resting now... it's really not easy, i always busy like xiao chabo when hubby went oversea and reservice... taking care of bb whole day is really no joke, very very tiring both physically and mentally... jia you! and countdown to the day that hubby return!

totoro,
glad u settled everythg for kelly's birthday!
yup yup, next time when u come to KL, must visit Tesco & Carrefour.. seems like they always gor promo for diapers...

zhen zhen,
yup, i also mince the pork myself and put them into small containers... zq same as hannah! he refuses bottle food also, i tried it twice and he rejected after the 1st taste of it... going for a short trip on his birthday, duno wana bring along my slow cooker or not... hmm...

hippo & ecookie,
i also had TONNES of mei rou during my confinement! my mum cooked it almost everyday for me and i LOVE it! finished everythg and hubby can only drools at it... :p
i try to cook that recently, but not nice at all.. so i still ask my mum to cook for me when i back home for meals :p

thanks for sharing all the info on PORK. I never knew got so much body parts! I only know the ribs, the head, the trotters. So you can tell I'm a lousy cook from there. hahah

re: eggs
I've already let J tried chawanmushi (with egg whites cooked wor!) and he's ok with it. So I guess no allergy! hehe

zhen_zhen,
I know ikea has safety gates. We intended to buy to install at the stairs. but no use. must take note if both sides can be installed or not.

dodo, keke! u & ecookie will be a blessing to my mum manz! i m her nitemare!! hahaha...

gingerleaf, aiyo.. just read ur blog abt ur crazy past 2 days at home.. hope u are still orh-orh-ing at home now.. great weather to be sleeping late.. gambate! u & all the household items will be fine till ur hb returns!

hippo,
but my mama said the same thing! she said she dun wan to do confinement for me again, coz i v stubborn... she asked me to wear slippers, bath wi the "med" water, dun on the fan, dun walk here and there etc.. i ignored all! she persuaded me until she buay tahan liao! haa...

Zhen_zhen.. thanks! but actually im looking for something to stop my sliding cabinets from the TV console (apart from the masking tape! hee) Chloe always like to dig my stuff there and rest her hands at the sliding part to stand up! that's really dangerous!!!

dodo!!! so u getting a DSLR soon! how nice!!!

btw girl, i confirm going KL on 17-19th oct, will be staying at boulevard hotel! are u stayin in gardens residences? Let's MEETT!!!!

hippo,
poor adri...*sayang sayang*... hope she didn't cry for very long time.. so heartpain man...girl, hurry bring the mat over lah..

my hubby is against any steps at home.. i wanted a platform in my bedroom in my new place but he said no cos he worried aria will fall off when climbing down.. looks like may be he's right ei? but my masterbedroom is really very small ah..if put a bed frame, it will look even smaller! haiz...

junnie,
thanks for the tips.. so, you all boil all the ingredients together to get the stock. then the stock pour into the rice and cook porridge? what abt the ingredients? throw away?

jovialz,
ask you something.. you're going to stock up the organic baby jar food right for holiday. it's going to be heavy isn't it? i'm planning for a 1 week trip in december to go back malaysia. so, wondering what food to bring back and how many bottles..aiyoh, so leceh...

chintz,
im not sure yet leh though i wish to have one..
hubby said buy one for me for wedding anniversary.. he shortlist canon eos 1000d & eos 450d... confuse and duno how to compare! :p

GREAT!!!! i stay near garden residences. just 5 mins drive from mid valley!!! sure sure, we meet up and u all can come my house here also!!! so HAPPY!!!

aria,
yup, i cook the stock and use it for porridge... but i threw all the ingredients leh except corns i ate it myself... seems quite wasteful...

gal, u going back to hometown? if u going back to ur parent's place, i think u can cook bb meal over there right? then dun have to bring so many jar food...

hippo, ya. been busy conducting focus groups for a research project i'm doing. need to start on the report soon. but at least that part can work from home.

and poor adri. maybe you need to teach her how to get down stairs? my mom has been teaching hannah how to get down from the sofa. now she knows that she needs to get down feet first. so that's a start.

dodo,
ic. i cook everything inside and then mash it all up if it can mash up so it's not so wasteful.. i tot the ingredients gives very good "qian wei"..good for passing motion..my girl's poo is extremely explosive.. everytime her poo fill up the L size nepia! and super stinky! if i pregnant, surely will throw up.

actually, didn't know all of you actually cook the ingredients and porridge seperately leh..haha..i happily throw everything inside.. so easy and efficient.. haha..

thinking of going mine resort for 2 days, then visit KL relatives and then going back hometown, also to visit relatives..miss ipoh food.. penang laksa, ipoh kway teow, friend keow teow, "gan lao mian", prawn noodle..yum yum. we're travelling from place to place. so don't think have time to cook leh..so, was thinking using bottle food for convenience..

gingerleaf,
u must b very tired. As for bathing, u can bath while lyn is in her playpen lor. I usually put her in playpen and she see me bath or else can bath while she sleep. This is what i do everyday.

chintz,
chloe also start opening the cabinet etc. haiz, sherry also. not sure have those stopper for sliding door furniture to prevent bb from opening. My hubby also looking for some type of protection (velco type) to protect his drawer cos sherry always trying to open his drawer. now we temp use masking tape first.

dodo, hahaha! i can imagine the scene when our mummys meet.. they would have complained and complained abt us!!
and DSLR! cool.. i m not getting liao le.. 3-minutes interest nia. my hb dun wana get for me cos he says sure become white elephant. hmpf! but he's agreed to get me either nikon P80 or panasonic FZ28 for wedding anniv as well BUT very very very much cheaper lor.. kena cheated! keke..
gal, chk ur email! got something to ask u...

aria, thanks dear! she refuses to let anyone of us touch her head or anywhere near it! quite badly bruised.. and DUN have steps in the house! but platform for the bed ok la.. just make sure u make it more custom fit for ur mattress size?

zhen zhen, thanks! we have taught her many many times liao le! she knows how to get down from sofa though not smoothly but at least safely.. i tink itz cos itz a slight elevation for the step and dat silly girl must have thought she can "conquer" the slight diff! dumb dumb...

chintz,
ONS!!!!

aria,
zq poo also super explosive! diaper sometimes cant contain and will mess up the whole place! super smelly also! haa... and he poos twice a day! everytime after i clean him up, i have no appetite for meals liao...

oic... i just had ipoh hor fun last night leh :p
the dry curry mee here also v v nice! had aria tried food jar b4? maybe u can try it out 1st and see whether she wans, coz zq reject food jars loh...

dodo, zq and hannah can hi-5. they are such food critics. haha

bbwow, what do you mean no use? ikea gates cannot make it??

chintz, actually the thingy i have is for sliding cabinets. so it might be more suitable for yours.

aria, i agree with dodo. must let aria try jar food first. if she's like zq or hannah, she might reject. then you really have a headache.

hippo,
definately! my mama still "complain" abt me on n off now... :p
aiya gal, u too much liao leh.. u got the chanel! what more can u ask for! hee.. i must make sure hubby learn how to use the camera also, if not everytime i take mei mei photo of him wi bb.. his photgraphy skill super lousy!!!
poor adri, u got massage her bruise? must massage so it will not blue-black... nvm, thru this she will learn the lesson and know what's dangerous and will not do that again.. zq also learn his lessons this way... collected some buah duku loh :p

ok, will check my email.. haven check my emails since yest...

hippo, thanks! will go chk out kiddy palace this weekend. need to get for my ILs place liao, cos they have stairs there. quite dangerous.

re: pooping
you know what, i think hannah has piles! i noticed a little lump of flesh at her anus. and today, there was a bit of blood when she pooped. argh! i think i better call the PD! any other baby have this????

zhen zhen,
ya! so i always have to carry the thermal food jar everyway i go... troublesome but at least he eats his porridge loh...

zhen_zhen,

I dunno how to explain. cause the gates need both ends to support. so if one end is wall, the other is the staircase railings, then it can fix onto the railings one. only suitable for door entrance.

dodo,
J poos 3-4 times a day lor!! sometimes directly after I change his diaper. grrr

re: food
J also hates jar food. he only takes freshly make ones. quite troublesome esp when you're busy to cook.

dodo, same here! in fact, i now have to carry 2 jars if i go out the whole day. cos she's eating a lot more now. 1 jar is only enuf to contain 1 meal. looks like i might have to buy a bigger thermos soon!!