(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

so they testing ... aiyah anyway me not going to buy any china made food for her!! Actually if I know it's made in China, I would not have bought it in the first place just like the rest of the baby pdts! Wonder why I missed that out! hiaz

STOMPer Kate was disgusted to find bugs in a packet of organic cereal that she had bought for her baby.

She says in her e-mail:

"I have just bought the Healthytimes Baby Organic Cereal from NTUC yesterday. What greeted me when I was pour into the container was a few black stuffs that came down with it.Crawling bug/ insects came down with it and a few crawling out from the opening.

"When I have bought it, the plastic wrap and seal sticker was intact. I was lucky in the sense that I wasn’t pouring it directly into the bottle as it is near to 1am this morning when I was preparing my child milk.

"I’m concerned whether this is an isolated case or the quality is not as strict as stipulated so. It seems like no food seem safe anymore regardless whether it is organic or non-organic. This is my personal opinion.

"I hope stomp could help and find out or informed the public on this incident so that parents would be caution and carefully in purchasing and checking the food.

"I have the receipt, picture, video and the original food item".

STOMP has contacted Healthy Times for comment.

For pictures,
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=35560

gingerleaf
I have seen the bugs before which is why i stopped buying the barley cereal. I'm not sure whether was it me who din store it properly or it came like that but I throw away 2 packs liao long time ago!!!

tiffy
it might be the storage ....I think the problem lies with the packaging so maybe u want to transfer it to some container that you can see clearly!!!

Hi mummies.. how are all of you! I have been so busy this week, finally can come in and breath a little!

Happy Birthday to all babies who have celebrated their birthday and also to all those coming!

dodo... thanks for your comment, I will submit Jae's photo to the mag when I can find some time, must support when that happen, ok? I will PM you my email so!

birthday party..
Jae's celebrating her birthday this coming Sunday but I got a big headache! I'm expecting about 60guests, all into my small 4Rm HDB flat (although we have knock away most of the wall, but it's still freaking alot of pple).. I'm going to faint! Hopefully, everthing can go smoothly!
I also ordered 2 agar agar cake, precious momment and 101 dalmation! If it's nice, then I will order the barney one for my little niece 2 weeks later

I also going to inflate 50 balloons and let it float all over my flat ceiling.. hope it will look nice!
Caterer, I got YLS! I got OrrrNeee, KongBaPau, Cashew Duck, Lemon Fish, Butter Prawn, Mushrrom Beancurd and one vegetable... I'm sooo looking forward to the dishes! I left out all the fried stuff. So if i got time, I will buy from supermarket and deep fried myself.. hee hee!
Cross-fingered! hopefully everthing turns out well and guest enjoy themselves!

tell u hor, now can't find any container at home. Think when i pour out, i will look out for any bugs appear or not lor. cos we have packed all things in boxes as kitchen doing renovation.
Another poor thing is Sherry going to have meatless porridge for these 3 weeks. only have cereal and veg porridge.
Today renovation start, while hacking, Sherry still able to sleep in the room. Aft 1 hrs later, then she crying in the room. Now my kitchen is empty liao.

zhenzhen.. last week swimming, both our hubbies are in the water, and the lesson quite interesting. Something new was introduced! I managed to video Hannah doing her stunt! I'm trying to upload into youtube, then will let you see!

hi mummies, thanks for the encouragement. dunno what i would do without the forum :D

dreamz: yah i try to tell myself to try my best and let go of the rest lah. these kids are so big oredi, all taller than me, they can decide what they wanna do with their lives. it's not like i didn't warn them. i was really upset yesterday because they're my form class and they're really nice outside of class. but the moment lessons start (during my lesson not so bad oredi,i've gotten worse complaints from other teachers) they just switch off. management always says things to make us feel like we're not doing enough to "make lessons interesting". what, working from 7am to 6pm is not enough? bringing all the marking home is not enough? preparing lessons over weekend is not enough? sometimes i feel like an entertainer.

eil and zhen_zhen, where and when are the swimming classes held? sun brot matty to swim and he really really loved it. splash water all over his face also nevermind. so im thinking of bringing him to swimming classes...

eil! i have the same headache.. mine will have ard 70 guests. in my 5-rm flat... and my hb is about to faint looking at my guest list! but these are the pple i reali want to share in adri's celebrations! keke.. so bo bian.. i have been diligently clearing up my pig sty though.. hahahaha...

mummycita, dun use scotch-tape liao cos cannot hold one with their super strength.. i got the gate and quite alot of the babyproofing for drawers from kiddy palace too.. so do go and get urs! =D

any babyproofing kit for sideway sliding doors?

hippo n eil, i think guests will come and go at different time, so no to worry too much hehe. it's the clearing up that will be big headache!

morning chintz!
i dunno abt sideway sliding doors leh but i guess u shd be able to find at kiddypalace! they have quite a wide range... =D
re: cleaning up.. ha! i hope i can leave it to my hb to clean up without me giving in to help him! hahaha... and i also told my pt helper to come on the following monday liao le! keke..

morning mummies!!

what a mad rush to work today! everywhere is jammed and packed! don't come to ms/suntec for shopping! argghhh

re: baby proof
I really dunno how to baby proof the house. everywhere seems DANGEROUS. but 1st thing I need to do is to install window grilles! esp when they start to climb all over the place!

re: china food
what else is made from china?!?! curse those damn idiots! (no offence to other china ppl here) they really have no brain when they produce the food one leh! either no brain/no kids! how about bread ah? any bread from china?

chintz, keke!

bbwow, poor gal! ren ren ren okie? it will be over soon!
aiyo.. u talk abt window grilles reminds me of my own house! jialat..

re: china food.. wat goes around comes around. wat these unscrupulous merchants do to helpless babies will get their retribution one! i dun tink there's any bread from china but if these bread contains dairy products from china... haiz..
one word of advice is never ever to consume anything in excess. too much fish = mercury poisoning. too much water also can die. so we adults can only limit our own intake. as for children & babies, they are reali soooo poor thing & helpless... they need milk for godsake! and this is wat they kena.. haiz...

morning mummies, finally i'm back from my long MC!!!

bbwow: So u dun hv window grilles ah? Me too leh! Really dun feel like installin as ma huan to clean and also make my house look small from outside view. haha. Anyway see how 1st. If baby really active then got to install liao. My SIL's hse also no window grills. But so far so good, her 2YO+ gal knows abt the danger and never try to climb high low.

Re: Baby's 1st Birthday
Ohohohoh.... how times flies, our babies turn 1 or comin to 1. Sometimes I look at my gal, as though I juz delivered her yesterday and now comin 1 soon....!!!

hippo,

there's even a China mother SELLING her bm taking the opportunity of this 'crisis'. can't believe these ppl can even think of making money of out this tragedy! really irks me to think of it.

wah lau what a SHIT Morning man ... the MRS *** poke me again ... she read all my emails cos she ask the IT to forward her everything liao ... den will call me for every new email that i rec. den i act blur and asked her if she got every of my emails ... she can answer me DUN HAVE hahaha ... I am asking for quotation from Companies for a new assignment and NO ONE in the Office knew anything about this ok ... i ask her how she know abt this and that she still can tell me she heard from who who who ... wah lau .... so angry you know ... den other ppl order things from me ... one of my group company ... she got nothing to do man ... ask me to go and ask them how much stock they have this and that why must order ... why she cannot go and ask that company ... why ask the supplier instate of the buyer !!!!!!!!!!!! RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

so feel like SLAPPING her man ... SHIT SHIT SHIT

hippo... glad to know i'm not alone! hopefully it's like what chintz says, guest come and go!

karrie... both us brought them to Aquaducks at the Tanglin Village branch (near demsey rd) on every wed 230pm... Now they are in their 2nd term already.. both Jae & Hannah progressing very well. Can kick their legs and swim underwater already (of cos assisted lah!)

chersam, u r not alone! i m always imagining that i have just given birth.. keke

bbwow & gingerleaf, these pple ought to be just shot dead la.. but i guess bm is the only solution in their country now. and when i see pics of those babies with tubes all over, i simply feel like crying! so sad!!

eil, haha! ya.. the party will be a blast i'm sure!

CM, ren ren ren!

gingerleaf,

yea. think we read the same news. I know some mothers offer free bm to babies during the quake and that was very touching! but now, they're asked to be paid!

hippo,

yes, but I though it would be better if it was offered on goodwill or just a small nominal fee instead of making profits. $62/day is not cheap! esp those affected babies who need it badly!

MummyCita,
They claim that only Dutch Lady product that is made in China is contaminated. Those from Malaysia is safe.

Re:Healthy Times,
I also feed Healthy Times Cereal leh. Somemore yesterday just bought a more bottles jar food from Carrefour for our trip. So far no bugs problem. I would always pour out the cereal into my tupperware and scoup with a clear soup (that is kept with the cereal and dry).

bbwow,
don't think bread comes from China, by the time reach here, mouldy liao lah. However, dunno if they use any ingredients from China thou.

Any idea if Gerber Stars contains any Milk ? Nestle products tested top contain a small amount of melamine too.http://sg.news.yahoo.com/ap/20080921/tap-as-hong-kong-milk-scandal-8th-ld-d3b07b8.html

Nestle owns Gerber, so dunno if related or not. Anyone home to check if it contains milk?

I'd checked that Healthy Times Cereal and bottle jar food do not contain dairy products.

jovial,

yea. that was my ques la. cause I thought maybe the bread are made from China milk ma.

gerber stars also AFFECTED??!

bbwow, i have to agree with u on this. $62 is daylight robbery but these pple are reali taking advantage of the situation to earn big bucks. in the 1st place dat stupid sanlu milk is not cheap also man! $17 + for them is very very ex leh. and yet they cause such terrible medical conditions for the babies! irritating idiots.

dodo,
Hahahah...at least ZQ knows that he need to pour the liquid from the cup to somewhere. Maybe he trying to help you wash hair.... hahahaha... milk good for facial.... hahahahha...

Milk intake will drop to 350ml by 1 yr huh .. alamak, my Caelen going to be a fat boy then, he takes about 210 + 210 + 120 + 120 a day still. That is a good 660ml , almost double !

Karrie,
Do talk to your family as you really sounds like a having depression. Maybe your school counsellor can help ?

Mummycita,
Could it be a the works of a big dog ? If that's the case, you need to wash the place and get strong scent stuff to overpower it (can check with pet shops). OTherwise the dog might come back to the same spot since it already mark the territory.

Maybe you need to have a web camera to try to capture the picture ? or get news reporter ... hehehe ?

CM,
Clap clap for Carrissa and Carlson !!!!! maybe can let him eat Rice since he wants it ? I'd let Caelen tried rice too.

Think my Caelen quite greedy boy .. kekeke.. I fed him once with chopstick / fork /spoon etc. Nowhe see I hold any of these, he would pull my hands towards him and open his mouth big big like a lion too ....

Totoro_bb,
ok. By the way, the Piglet and Pooh is still floating in my house (although both look like they'd gone thru a diet...) Tigger, is lying and sleeping on my sofabed waiting for his two friends to join him .... kekekeke... Eeyore is under the care of my little niece liao.

Morning Mummies! Back again, so much to catch up.

Thanks Mummies for the birthday wishes for J. Jerry.
We had fun during the PS and had a great day with everyone @ home!

bbwow & dodo,
Personally, I will juz be happy so long Jerry takes milk. As per PD, norm intake is 400-600ml. Jerry's intake is abt. 500+ml/day. If a norm milk feed is 180ml, I will give 150ml milk w/ cereal since he is rejectg btl feed. I will slightly reduce abit on the milk amt as cereal is kinda filling.

Sugar_nut,
BB Lleyton is smartie! Can feed water on his own. I still need to wakey blurblur mode n feed Jerry water n put him back to sleep. *Clap Clap* for Lleyton.

Annie & rest of babies who are coping with naughty virus,
Speedy Recovery! *Shoo away all the virus*

*Clap Clap* for babies who have get well and fully charged again! Yippeeeeee.....

gingerleaf & bbwow,
Some people can really go to the extent to do anything for the sake of money. It can really be so heartaching in trying to understand why such are doing so. Erhmmm... Money isn't everything ya? Haiz...
*No offense to any*

The milk fake-y thing is really making feel me disgusted. Dun understand why people are so doing all these. Ain't themselves or their family counterparts are taking these products too? Coz of urge for BIG money again. *Slap Slap* them!

gingerleaf & Mummies,
How then? Can I still buy HT products? Abit worrying.

Karrie,
Take gd care... U muz jia-you & be +ve.
+ve mindset & happy mummy = Happy baby! Go,go! You can do it.

hippo,
Haha... 'Those people need to be shot dead!' I vote with two hands up for fullest support! Eh-hahaha..... =)

morning mummies!~

real busy cos yest not at work. now clearing alot of backlog of issues! :p

thanks to all mummies well wishes for baby yz. hopefully, when he goes back for review this sat, the wheezing will be gone and no more cough in the mornings!

annie: K looks very chubby in the photo! judging from it, he had a great time right?

eil/totoro_bb: hope jae n kelly 1 yo bday bash this weekend will be a blasT!

n food being recalled:
i just ate a snickers bar yest with hb! hope its ok..
and feeding HT brown rice cereal to baby now. eeks, never see any bugs but reading wat u guys said, abit turned off by HT now..

hippo,
thanks for the comforting words.. hehe...

ueno,
so good! your boy can walk now and lina too.. but that means extra headache for you liao..hehe..

gingerleaf
what!! baby bites is being recalled??? oh dear...have been giving that to aria leh... but stop a few days ago as hubby doesn't feel safe.. he just being kiasu but really man, better be safe than sorry. we stop giving anything that has milk like the heinz stick.. oh dear, dunno whether got any effect on aria or not.. gee...

annie,
k look so cute. love the smile..
he looks very boyish now!

totoro,
actually nowadays a lot of things are from china. the products could be made in america but the raw material imported from china and they will not state that in the packaging.. so, really scary sometimes.. i'm going to throw away the heinz sticks anyway..

healh times cereal: use before..so far no issue. heng, we always pour into bowl and make pasty cereal. so, if there's any bugs, can see cleary..yucks! hate bugs..

eil/hippo,
wow, so many guest!! hope the party will be a blast!

bbwow,
my hubby told my mil buy gardenier.. anyway, i think he really super kiasu and he hates all china manufactured products!

breastmilk: actually there are still "nai ma" in china even before this melanine saga and they're like hotcakes...people will employ them to breastfeed their babies..that's what my china friend told me..i was quite shocked to hear that..haha..her nene must be BIG! haha...

jovialz,
i checked liao..gerber star no milk..that's the only snack i'm giving aria..

oh yah a warm welcome to all new mummies!!
oct mummies is one of the warmest bunch! hehe. buay pai seh.

totoro_bb: u ask abt who bought neubuliser right? i got 1 from guardian at ard $124 omron brand. so far its quite good and serves purpose well. never beat renting for 2 weeks at $10/day!

bbwow: so u installing window grills liao? i m thinking of getting it done for my house by this mth end. cos think its dangerous now they started crawling n climbing..

doobom, i feel dat everytime a scandal breaks out in china, it has ultimately to do with money or fame. reali makes me wonder if itz a shame for us to be chinese (altho singaporeans) as well! while we feel proud as chinese during beijing olympics, i tink this incident has also tainted all chinese' reputation as that of money-minded! grrrrrr... pui!

aria, i m also starting to wonder about those pigeon & waikodo (both japanese brands) crackers i always buy for adri. wonder if any of the ingredients from china?? lucky gerber stars no milk! phew! must go back and check all of the labels and ensure nothing contains dairy products..

hippo,
yeah, better...you know we even stop drink kopi and teh and only drink kopi-o and teh-o in coffeeshop..haha..talk abt being kiasu..anyway, you don;t know what milk they're using..so better be safe than sorry..also not buying and coffee with milk for the time being..

yah now this milk scare is making me nervous. so far, baby yz intake is just FM. enfapro is made in netherlands so should be ok?? but also not sure if they used diary products from china in the production?? apart from that, think no other sources of milk intake...

aria jo, Thanks !

My hubby all the while also tell me not to buy food product from China, he don't trust the them.

re: BM,
erm, I realise that after almost 2 month i'd stop BF, I can still squeeze out a tiny bit of milk. Any idea when will it completely dry out ?

aria jo,
baby bites is being pulled off the shelves for testing, not recalled. So now, we do not know its affected or not, so juzt dun feed at the moment can liao

heheh...jovial, my friend used to joke to me that those are yougurt liao. :p maybe it's just the remains that didn't got squeeze out la. not to worry.

hippo,
so sad hor. I even circulate the ava message to my China colleagues. Wonder if they feel offended.

ecookie,
haven't install but thinking to cause I built a sette along the balcony against the windows. So any kid can easily climb up and reach the window. SUPER DANGEROUS.

doobom,
ya...really SLAP SLAP them! share share J's birthday photos!

re: birthday bash
i'm oso gg to hv abt 80+ ppl in my 4-rm HDB. Think it will be super crowded & hv decided to keep all the kids in 1 room for them to play.

re:products from China
yday,help my in-laws to chk food at home if they are made in China.Fil used to give Wang Wang rice ball to Shanice,chk it is manufactured in Taiwan but dun feel safe to give her & decided to throw away.

bbwow,
yougurt hahhahahha..,, i'd guess thatbody is still slowing adjusting lor. I even thought of letting Caelen clear them ..don't waste .. hehehehe.. really miss those suckling days..especially those pair of satifying eyes ...

gingrleaf,
i know i know... ok i will knock my head later, sometimes just cant help but worry leh.. my "ganjiong spider" side overrule again... :p

ecookie,
dr tan is a very nice doctor right

i think he's good and always precise on his diagnose, i trust him completely that's what i wan from a PD loh..

doobom & jovialz,
ya.. zq's miLK intake abt 500ml now, think i shdnt ,worry too much... as long as he still active & happy

re: cereal,
very difficult to find HT cereal here at KL, so i let bb eat Holle (from germany).. hope it's safe and no relation to China!