(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Eight to 12 months
==================
Your baby's beginning to understand simple requests. Say "No" when he tries to touch the electric socket, for example, and he'll pause and look at your face -- maybe even shake his head "No" in return. He's also testing your responses to his behaviour. He'll throw food on the floor just to see what you'll do, and then file your response in his memory bank. Later he'll test the waters again to see whether you react the same way.
----------
*Roll eyes* The universal acts of babies...
As the little ones test the waters again, we can tell them itz not rite to throw them on the floor.

doobom...matty bites too!! he thinks it's the same as kissing!!! very painful...

re: dream feed
matty hasn't dropped his dream feed at 10pm. i tried to wean him off but he ended up waking up middle of nite asking for milk. So back to 150ml at 10pm...but over the past week he has been waking up at 3am ALSO to demand milk. he used to sleep thru all the way till morning loh!!! dunno what's happening...anyone having the same problem?

Gd morning

dodo
glad to know tat ZQ is recoving well

ecookies
Garina has also a 3rd tooth growing but is on the lower left of her gums .Do you find him
fussing over milk & solids? Coz Garina is but do not know whether is due to teething ?

eil
the invitation very nice leh.

Garina loves to throw things too sigh..

bbwow
i brought a Pooh lantern @ my hse dwnstairs , i saw the kunggfu panda too , i think they got doremon , hello kitty too.U want let me know , i get it for you.

i'm trying to stop bfg , trying to drag the intervals , last pump was last nite abt 11 p.m .
didn't pump this morning , now my breasts very hard. Actually planned to pump only after work abt. 7 p.m, don't know can a not .If cannot tahan , will go hm @ lunch time to pump

zhen zhen,

My mom got the plastic lantern for J! haha...

yes. J can sleep thru w/o the dream feed. But I try to squeeze in another milk feed before he sleeps at 830pm. But now he also dun want to drink the 830 feed and still sleep thru!!! means no milk/food from 6pm-730am leh...more than 12 hours! is that ok?

doobom,
no use. the little terror become smart liao and knows that it's milk. so spoonfeed with his fav tv on also no use.

re: brushing teeth
does your babies bite you when you brush their teeth? J will always do that and it's really painful! everytime he successfully bite my finger and I scream, he'll chuckle lor. *faint*

doobom, no worries. we will surely jio you for the next swimming session.

ecookie, hannah usually has her dinner at 6.30pm. and drinks milk before she goes to sleep at 8pm. so the timing between her porridge and milk is only 1 hr. yet she can usually finish her milk (about 240ml). perhaps you can try? maybe yz is as greedy as hannah? hee

karrie, it must be tough on you now. hang in there ok! look forward to your dec holidays. and i totally advocate switching to adjunct. i'm now teaching part-time myself, and it's really a great arrangement.

doobom, thanks for the article. i believe that is the case. i used to smack hannah on her thigh when she plays with the socket or wires. now, she will pause and look at me before she touches them. and when i say "no" and beat my hand, she will smile at me and crawl away. so cheeky right?

karrie, it could be that matty is going through a growth spurt. perhaps you can up his food/milk intake during the day. see if this helps.

twinkle, suggest that you don't go cold turkey when trying to stop bf-ing. maybe you slowly cut down 1 pump session at a time might be better.

eil, datz a pretty card! nice!

dodo, glad to know zq is fine now.. phew! u rcvd my email?

lanterns: adri got a hello kitty float-type one from my grandaunt.. aiyo.. she hugs and kiss it like a baby.. she hums to the silly tune as well.. haha..

doobom, adri bites too! and when u say ouch, she will give dat cheeky look and bite harder!! grrr...
9 teeth! wow!.. i can barely see adri's 7th & 8th.. jerry's bite must hurt alot alot lo!

bbwow, dreamfeed... adri weaned herself off successfully after 3 weeks.. hope it doesnt come back though!! =) they will drop the habit after some time i tink. now even if she wakes up in the middle of the nite, we dun feed her or talk to her.. we just pat her back to sleep...

thanks for all ur concern!
bb discharged but still dun like to drink milk... sigh~

svlvia,
thanks for letting me know abt the newspaper thingy! the nurses at Mt A saw it as well and they told me they gonna cut it out and frame it! omg...

doobom & dreamz,
boys seem to be more fussier right... previously dreamfeed zq for almost all his milk feed, but eversince he's sick, we cant dreamfeed anymore, once we put the teat in he will push it out! PD ruled out possibility of sore throat, mouth ulcer etc... he still eats solid well... im really helpless now... his milk intake drop from 700ml+ to 400ml now... how ah... really feel like crying...

swimming .. .we can change date too if most of you cannot come ... so far i am also ok on 4th Oct ...

I had s shity Monday Morning in the office once i stepped in ... aiya dun talk abt it la

But I have a weekend with fun and enjoyable daysss... On Friday night got a swim after dinner @ 8pm ... wow cold man but my gal wanted it so hmmm on Sat morning got my car back ... afternoon went to opp Island for a day .. for swim ... talk walk and Lantan with Mooncakes with my sis, brother and good friend ... kekeke but my Carlson burnt his hand ... cried a little while ... but looks bad ... and this mummy forgot to put medi on his on Sat's night pengz ...

On Sunday had a busy day too ... morning when to do my marketing ... follow by sending my gal to her classes ... and i went to Suntec to book for our trip to HKG leaving on 10/10 ZQ bday .... only back on the 14/10 ... spend abt 3700 on all the flights and hotel ... this time round we spend 1200.00 more den last yr ... hmmm ... we will be staying at the Disneyland Hotel itself yippe ... my gal will be so happy ... thereafter rash back to pick them up and go home to cook dinner as my Family + IL coming for dinner and moomcakes ... + swim again yes ... haha so swimming for us all 3 days kekeke ...

So today ... ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzz and the weather so nice to sleep in

dodo, dun cry! biggest hugs... i tink all babies' milk & food intake is bound to drop when they are sick cos they dun have the appetite just like sick adults!.. adri has drank abt only 150ml of milk in one whole day when she was sick last time. but good thing is she takes water so we didnt have to worry abt dehydration. try putting the milk bottle in and she'll use the back of her hands and smack it off! pls dun worie so much as i have always said.. hugs hugs.. i understand how u feel. i was like dat too until the docs & nurses explained to me dat keeping them hydrated is more impt than drinking milk itself. their appetite will slowly grow back... muacks muacks.. dun cry!

bbwow,
im now laso clueless how to squeeze in more milk into his body... sigh~

hippo,
thanks gal! saw ur email... sorry din have time to reply, take note of that!

anyone know where to buy those Mickey Mouse lantern with flashing light & lantern? i cant find one leh.. i notice bb seems to like Mickey Mouse very much now...

zhen_zhen,
*Clap Clap* Clever Hannah!

Dun u find it amazing when they understand us? Sometimes when Jerry does something naughty, I act stern n discipline him. After that, I have to hide n laugh @ his acts. I find myself like a pretender, cun help laughing @ myself too. Hahaha...

bbwow,
I have upgraded Jerry's toothbrush from fingerbrush to Pigeon 2nd lesson toothbrush. Itz gd, coz it save my fingers from all the power bites. Haha... Maybe u need to save ur fingers too by upgrading J's toothbrush.

hippo,
thanks for consoling me... i really worry abt zq coz he dun like to drink water also.. even sweet juices he also dun wan.. PD said gonna squeeze in more liquid to prevent dehydration, if he continues like this, may need to admit for drip again... i try to cook the porridge watery also, hope he can have more liquid & soup... sigh~

dodo
ZQ is recovering good good ... you take care too ok

ecookies & Doobom
Carlson also having his 9th tooth too & he is into RICE now ...

eil
the invitation very nice & sweet in color.

Garina & lyn love to throw things too ... I think all bb does that ... my Carlson too ... but they are not noti ... its a kind of growing up too if you can teach them well its a form of motor skill too

bbwow how are you ???

Annie how's the party???

All SiCk BBs gt well soon ok ... and mummies please take care ok ...

aiyo today the post go so fast again

hippo,
i tried spoon feed him water but he will fuss and push away after like 20ml.. i tried to spoonfeed him milk also, only manage to feed him 40ml the most then he will scream and clench his fist... he will fight wi me if i use syringe leh, nurse said his strenght is greater than mine! duno why he so strong even w/o milk!!!

doobom,
how u spoonfeed jerry milk? does it takes v v long? i took half an hour to squeeze in 40ml only

dodo: hugs! dun worry so much. as wat hippo said, babies appetitie tend to be smaller when sick.. hopefully in 1-2 days, zq will take in more milk!

twinkle stars: yz got no such prob with drinking when he teething but he ll bite more things n so far he got lao sai like twice before. once for each teeth. lucky the lao sai just one-off and we just fed him more water.

dodo,
dun cry. Sayang lah... U try to add cereal to milk n feed? I try the Heinz Museli & Apple, somehow the cereal taste covers up the milk. There is also Figs & Sultana or Vanilla Custard for Heinz. I rotate these few for Jerry's feeds. There is Banana Mulitgrain Breakfast, but I stopped coz was told too much banana can be phlegm prone.
I stick to giving banana once a week, the most twice. 60ml of mashed banana for noon tea time.
67320922, EYS Clinic @ Camden Medical Centre. It is @ Tanglin area. Call for Dr Zhou Yan. She is specialise in taking care of kids & babies.

hippo,
The bites hurt till sometimes my eyes become teary. I pretend to cry, then my terror cries oso. How, like that? Then my heart meltz n pain from the bruises all gone, as I sayang him instead of myself. Haiz... *Headache ya?*
Trying to tell him not to bite but kiss. Hopefully he gets me.

re: biting
must be painful, esp since your babies have so many teeth. hannah only has 2 now, and it's not even fully grown out. she doesn't really bite though. hope she won't develop the habit.

dodo, like what hippo said, dun worry too much about milk intake at the moment. just make sure that zq is hydrated. i find hannah drinks water very well from a spoon. you try this or the syringe method?

CM, your weekend sounds hectic! but fun!

doobom, i know what you mean. the other day, when i told hannah off and smacked my hand, she started patting her own thigh. it's as if she's telling me "it's ok mummy, you don't need to beat me. i beat my own thigh for you ok." wah. i really had to struggle not to laugh. haha

zhenzhen: hmm ok maybe will let yz try drinking his last milk feed ard 9pm.. think abt 2 1/2 hr after porridge should be ok bah.. cos now up his 1st n last milk feed to 240ml. scared he puke from fullness!

Good morning mommies.

Lyn's upper front tooth cut thru oreadi, now she starts to bite on everything and it hurts a great deal! Now i fully understand why mummies complain of bruises when their little one bites.

She seems to be down with abit of cough n a slight fever. I think she must be teething again, coz yesterday she was extremely fussy.

hippo,
I oso got a hello kitty one! And it plays a stopid chinese tune! Got it for her 2 weeks back, at 1st she still holds it, but now, pass to her, she will shake it abit before throwing it to the floor.

dodo,
dun worry to much abt the intake for now. As long as he is consuming water, its fine. Most imptantly is he gets hydrated. Even if it means feeding glucose. U know, when lyn got high fever n I sent her to Mt A a&e, i asked the nurses if I can give glucose. You know whats her reply?? " Huh? Give glucose har, dowan la, later baby grow up with sweet tooth" Faintz man!!! Then I told her, "better to have baby dehyrated right?" She still dare to say the same thing abt what if bb gets sweet tooth. Zzzzz. So unprofessional leh.
Maybe you can give him cereal with milk? That counts also. If you use 90ml of water, you can add in 3 scoops of powder oreadi! Then, it'll be another 90ml to add to the 400ml! =D
How abt barley? I made barley water for lyn, but I cheated with abit of rock sugar la, scared she dun like the taste, so I added sweetness. I cant taste the sweetness tho, but she finished up the entire bott of more than 140ml in one go! Someone was saying barley makes the stomach full.

ecookie,
coz he never took so little milk b4 and his rejection towards bottle really make me worried loh.. hope he will start to take more milk...

doobom,
yup yup, i try to add milk to cereal.. he eats solid as usual.. but hor, can i feed every of his milk feed wi cereal? will it be too heaty?
thanks for the contact! will give her a call... hope bb's sensitive breathway prob will resolve...

ecookie, dun think u need to worry that much. hannah will push away the bottle when she is full. i'm sure yz will also do it. so no worries about overfeeding.

dodo,
I sing n make him laugh, then quickly feed the milk lor. Haha... Yes, about 20-30mins each feed. Behaving like an entertainer, repeat my singing, I only know a few nursery rhymmes though. Hee... I distract him with fresh cleaned fruits (e.g apples, oranges, etc.) as he plays with them.
See, I really try all sorts of methods hor. Creative or not? Haha...

dodo, their strength comes from their willpower i guess? keke.. sorie but they can be quite stubborn when they want or dun want certain things.. maybe u can try like wat doobom suggested?

ecookie, now i m reminded of adri's teething pains! i hope it doesnt come back again with these teeth.. she has just gained back dat tiny little bit of weight dat she's lost...

doobom, haha! poor dear.. i reali tink all babies are sooooooo similar! i pretended to cry the other day and when she couldnt pacify me, she burst out crying badly.. omg.. i felt sooooo guilty lo.. *faintz*
i tink the "no no" word will be very frequently used now as they grow older... i tink jerry will get u! so u'll be waiting for that sweet little kiss liao.. keke..

adri starts to fall in love with her soft toys.. and she'll get so excited when we see it at shops.. she'll just take the soft toy into her arms like a baby and kiss & hug it.. yet when we tell her to sayang & hug us, she acts blur by looking ard and avoid eye contact with us!!!!!!! grr...

dodo, i agree with doobom. i also sing songs and stuff to entertain hannah if she doesn't want to eat. it works!

hippo, i'm sure adri will give u kisses and hugs in no time. hannah last time also act blur. but now she will readily kiss us when we ask. heart melt lo.

dodo,
The range for milk intake is 400-600ml, includ. of milk added to cereal.
If u are worried about the heatiness of cereal, try to give water aft cereal feeds.
As we feed the boys, we prepare the milk from the VIA cups n transfer the milk to feeding bowl n add cereal. Add 30ml of water to the VIA cup used to make milk (the water will somehow have slight taste).
On and off as u feed cereal, give a spoonful or two of water.
From what I learnt from a recent Baby's diet seminar, water to be given after meals as water can tends to make bb feel full in midst of meals.

To help with digestion, we have started giving Vitagen to the boys. Mix 20ml of Vitagen n 20ml of water, they luv it so much. Not on daily basis though, say maybe twice a week.

zhen zhen, she does kiss us but only at her discretion! she kisses my mum & grandma more.. she'll use her forehead to touch urs if she wants to manja.. but try asking her for hugs? pui.. wait long long long... hahaha...

dodo, erm... i remember only my grandma can manage to make adri finish her whole bottle of milk few mths back.. thanks to her singing.. haha! we erm have no idea wat some songs mean but heck.. as long as she drinks then! =D

gingerleaf,
ya gal, i tried the milk wi cereal thing.. so the 400ml is inclusive of that milk already... he simply refuse the bottle now, dreamfeed also no use..

ya, to me dehydration is the more serious prob to tackle now.. u know what, a v good nurse at mt a told me to feed bb ice cream if it works, coz ice cream got milk and it's sweet, just let him eat if he wan at the moment, we shd handle the more severe prob 1st.. so hor, i let him drink fruit juice, gripe water etc he dun wan even i spoon feed... cham right.. haiz.. gal, he likes the Mickey so much, he will smile at it once he saw it.. very funny leh, he even wana shake hand wi it!

doobom,
yup, i did that as well, sing song, put his toys on my head, paste sticker on my face to let him peel it off etc... same like u loh, entertainer... and im now sick also still has to smile so brightly to entertain him leh.. no choice loh, as long as can squeeze in more milk, it's all worthy... gal, how much milk can u feed jerry within the 20-30mins? i can only feed 40ml the most leh!!!

hippo, haha. adri is a cool cucumber. hannah also dunno how to hug at the moment. altho she loves being hugged.

dodo, wah! you got even more pattern than me. i only sing songs and talk to hannah. haven't resorted to balancing acts and stickers yet. haha

hippo,
they pretend n not look @ us coz we are not soft toys. Haha... Jerry needs his Baby Eeyore when he goes to sleep. I hug n kiss it, he will be angry. Will come to me n indicate Wants gesture to pass him his Eeyore. But he is kinda scare of other soft-toys especially big ones. *roll eyes* Dun noe why...

zhen_zhen,
So sweet.

ecookie,
Thatz a very gd amt of milk YZ is taking for his milk feeds. *Clap Clap* Gd boy!

Not to worry much. As zhen_zhen mentioned too, bbs are clever. They will push away the btls if they are real full. Moreover itz milk, they will urinate the fluids fast out after digestion, as compared to solids.

doobom,
gave dr zhou a call and make appointment liao! thanks!
ya i also feed bb water after the cereal... he loves to eat cereal & porridge, bread also... sometimes i dip the bread wi milk... though v messy after the feed but at least he eats loh..
vitagen helps ah? may give it a try then!

hippo,
ya loh.. i gonna sind duno how many songs throughout his mebuliser session, once i stop singing he starts to fuss and struggle again... the nurse even praised me for knowing so many nursery rhymes leh.. i really literally go and memorise them and keep practising..

dodo,
aiyo so cute, then must make him take pic with it! Must keep telling him its from me leh, else he thinks its mummy buy one!!!! grrr!

How abt baby yoghurt? Lyn loves them to death! Ice cream too!

doobom,
Baby cannot eat banana coz produces phlegm?? Aiyo, hb brought banana out for her to eat with her cereal today. Hope it wun turn her cough into a phlegmy one. Now is minor one, like a dry cough. If it keeps up like this, thursday no nid to mit u again. Then the teacher aiwei must be thinking why this zining always dowanan come for chinese lesson. Hhahaah.

dodo,

talk about singing song. I tried to learn the new nursery rhymes from your blog but the song so long can't remember!! hahaha

sometimes I forgot the words, I just make it up myself! :p

zhen zhen,
ya, i tried all sort of "pattern" just hope to squeeze in more milk into his mouth! sometimes i even dance while feed him! sigh...

doobom,
zq also dun like soft toys.. he will hit them and throw away... he loves wheels the most.. we bought him a tricycle during his hospital stay to cheer him up, he loves to sit in it and keep bouncing.. now back home, he will crawl towards the wheels and roll it.. so we can relieve bah, they got the boys instinct, dun like soft toys.. :p

dodo,
His early morning feed is 150ml. If lucky, can btl feed as he is still in deep sleep. If not, have to sit n spoon feed him. Takes about 20-30mins.
Nite feed is 180ml. I on the news for him n tell him stories, e.g the pretty/handsome news reporter, the weather, etc. Takes about 20-30mins too. He likes brushing his teeth, so have to keep telling him that we will brush teeth after he finish up his milk.

gingerleaf,
ya! i took many many pic liao! but hor cant download to pc leh coz i dun have the connection stuff wi me now.. will surely email u the pics!
ya i keep telling him it's from aunty alice, ur future MIL... haa! all the nurses craze over the big MICKEY!!! ya, i thought of yogurt too! but will it cause lao sai huh? coz the antibiotic he take now will cause mild loose stool...

bbwow,
me too! i cant remember all the lyrics also.. so i just simply DIY loh.. as long as the whole song sounds okay... his fav now is the "Skimarink a dink a dick, skimarick a doo..." and that's super tongue twitching!!!

noticed that the little one is extra affectionate to a particular toy now?? Now lyn has chuck aside her elmo for a rubber starfish bath toy! Every time must hold on to it. Sleep oso must hold it. Then soemtimes we disturb her n hide it under the pillow, she'll look ard frantically(sometimes cry too!) n lift up the blanket n pillows to search. So cute!

zhen zhen, haha.. tink we must continue to teach them to hug.. maybe i m too fat, she can't wrap her hands round me! hohoho.. =P

doobom, he loves things that are grey & blue? keke.. maybe cos the current one is smaller so he tinks he's in charge but he's not too sure when he sees the bigger ones! so end up scared lo.. =)

dodo, hahaha.. u are so cute leh.. bo bian one la.. with kids we just have to learn new things FASTER than they can absorb...

bbwow, haha! u sound like my granny & hb! make up lyrics..

bbwow
i stay in AMK ave 10
it's ok , let me know is you want me to get for you .
Anyway i bought the winnie the Pooh , the design is the pooh head , i think S$ 3.50 plus battery S$ 4.00 only . Before tat , i bought a hello kitty one @ AMK central @ 6.90 .

gingerleaf
lol think got the same lantern as you ,the chinese song so obang.

bbwow,
I m not gd @ singing too. Sometimes, I tell him stories. The stories so bo-liao till I cun help laughing so loudly myself. Then he look @ him blur blur. Hahaha...

dodo,
Jerry luv cars too. As HB warms up the car before going out, Jerry sits in @ the driver' seat with HB. He manoveures the steering wheel as if he knows how to drive. When done with warm-up n move him to his baby carseat, he screams n cries till very pitifully. Haiz... Then I give HB that 'See Lah' look! Hehe...
Buy ZQ little baby-friendly toy cars. Got a few for Jerry to keep him entertatined during his car ride.

gingerleaf,
Yes, I tot bananas are gd. But not too much. Was told not to give too much as it causes phelgm. So I give once/twice a week. I used to give like 3-4days. Kinda scolding again lor. Hehe...
Sure, u let me know on wed nite then.

doobom
i thought i'm the only want having the problem , nowadays i also need to distract her with remote controls , pens , phones , papers & etc .. else she will refuse to drink her milk & push away the bottle. And worse still ,She also refuses me to carry her during feeds ,she only drinks lying down .And it happens every feeds . sigh..

dodo,
Wah... U are one hardworking mummy leh! Learn the nursery rhymmes. I only anyhow self-create stories n tell him.
Hmm... ice-cream, maybe not. Coz cold stuff mah. I give yougurt, but those bought from Vitakids. Need not to be refridgerated ones. If kenna caught giving cold stuff from fridge again, I sure get it from my mum fierce fierce one again.
TCm advises not to give cold stuff to kids under 4yrs, especially cold drinks. Itz hard to heed, but we try. Still sneakily give bits of ice-cream on and off. Hehe...

hippo,
Haha... no leh, he likes my HB so much. Like cling to a big teddy bear. Maybe he only like his teddy bear daddy, dun like other big soft toys.

gingerleaf,
Wah... Lyn so clever. Still search high low for her fav. Hehe... Jerry only search low (flip the bumpermat n take out the bottom ABC mats n eat). haiz... I need to go from one corner to the other in the playyard as I refrain him from taking the ABC mats out. So busy Crawling along with him lor. >.<

lanterns, my aunt bought him a doraemon plane lantern..my poor cousin got to blow and inflate it..haha.. but in the end, he dun really like to play.. i find the music very loud..

yoghurts, can introduce bb cold yoghurt from fridge? i dun dare.. yet feel like buying those yoplait bb yoghuts...

toys, his fav toys is toy cars.. he like those hard hard toys or remote control,handphones etc.. dun like soft toys though...

brush teeth, when can start brushing teeth? i bought the 3 in 1 from pigeon since he is 6mth.. but never get a chance to use it..

teether, how come must put teether in the fridge?

dodo,
when u intro Vitagen, maybe u juz mix about 5-10ml with more water. Say 40ml water. Juz a little bit taste 1st. Not too much.
I leave the Vitagen out @ rm temp for abt. 15mins b4 giving.