re discipline,
I agree with Jovialz.
What is ok-ed at home, shldnt be expected to ok-ed in other's ppl home too. Doesnt means you can explore around the hse, mess it up is ok too in others ppl hse. I cannot imagine bringing lyn to a frds hse, and she starts treating it like her own n mess it out. im expecting her to differenciate what is ok at home doesnt means its ok elsewhere.
I think whetever we do, we must constantly reflect and see if we are really indeed spoiling the kid.
I grew up in my nanny(nai ma) hse since I was 1 month old to 14 years old. I am extremely close to her n not to my own mum at all. My mum only threatens to hit me all the time w/o reasons. I keep telling myself, never am I gg to be like my own mum to lyn. I will raise my hands at her, but with valid reasons.
I think my nanny style have brought me up well. I kena wack all the time there, from 2 cane rods tied into one(I used to taunt her that 1 rod not painful. Hahah) to kneeling infront of the altar fron morning to midnite... but she did it out of love, coz I was a really notti child. Those who knows me shld know Im a notti one. hehehe.
My bro, the spoilt one, (coz my mum being typical cantonese, loves their sons more than daughter) spoilt his gal so much that she dun listen to anyone but him. She can even roll her eyes at my mother when asked not to watch so much tv. In short, she is spoilt n v v rude. Why? My brother forbade anyone to hit, even light smack her when she was young. Scold her abit nia, my bro would come n scold me back. Imagine, being scold by my bro infront of her, what respect am i to expect from the niece oreadi? In the end, I gave up. Dowanna discipline her anymore. Now she is a prima donna, so spoilt and attitude loh.
Actually this topic is abit sensitive hor, coz diff ppl have diff methods of bringing up kids. No point debate too much abt it much coz its like forcing muslim to eat pork