(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Chris,
I'm always dreaming how nice it'd be if I drive so i can bring her out anywhere anytime w/o relying on cabs. Then also no nid to lug so much out coz can keep some items in car.
I do handle her alone when hb is oversea too.

Jacq,
Wah! I still have hesitation in bringing bb to movies..scare spoilt the mood of everyone. keke! However, i also watch the "money not enuff", cry big time man! haha..it sets me thinking of raising children in hardship and when we turn old..we are forsaken by children. Really heart pain hor. I like Jack Neo film..quite realistic.

Chris,
Errmm..me cannot stop at 1 liao! hahaha!

gingerleaf,

hen no problem la.. if dun have licence, just get one.. u will be super motivated to think that u can bring bb out alone..

jas,

haha.. u super, admire yr courage.. me with brig also half dead..

just bring him out to TM taking buses. He starts pulling a auntie hair... pulling a girl bag, putting his hands out of the windows.... sign.. u imagine if i cant one more like him??

But i still love him v v v much.. aha

chris/jas,
Cannot leh! i got phobia! I enrolled in BBDC some years back, then so ethusiastic abt it. Got PDL liao started 1st circuit driving, then I was so nervous! I did pretty well, never stall and such, but I broke out in cold sweat. After that, I drove company van out of fun to show hb what I learnt n almost crash it. Hb had to pull handbrake! Heheheheh After that, I stop gg for classes and had my membership renewed 2-3 times(6mths renew once) coz i still have money in my acct. In the end, I gave up n cancelled my acct with them.

hi aria,

I saw yr reply abt sean lay. But i cant seem to find any contact nor info abt his photo package. Pixs of yr girl is very cute wor.. especially those princessy dress. Where did u get it from?

morning mummies!!

chris,
Dun think it's the seat belt cuz the seat belt is very loosen. He can even put his hands out of the seat belt. I always urge my hb to tighten it but hb keeps forgetting.

hi gingerleaf
i also almost had a car accident while studying in australia. my mate drove the car along the highway and lost control. the passenger side, the side that i was in smashed the concrete divider. it scared the hell-lights out of me and my mate. since then, i didn't dare to drive. its only coz of wanting to rush back home to see bb after work n the desire to prove to myself that i can handle a car, despite what others tell me that drove me on.

bbwow
for me, when i drive, things that happen around me, i'm immune one. coz i rather i go deaf than lose my way! :D as one mummy say, which is worse - a screaming baby or being a danger on the road with reckless driving?

chris
i tried reading a map b4 when i wanted to go from bedok to buona vista. but i gave up coz i got lost while reading the map! :D i'm simply hopeless with directions...

gingerleaf
okie lah, next time i drive, u direct. i dun mind! u ask me turn left, i turn left... i dun have to worry about losing my way with you around! :D

sharz
website for sean lau's photography is: www.seanlau.com.

gingerleaf,
hehehe..i'd only bought 1 set for myself and 1 set 'extra' lah which i don't mind selling off to you if you need. Since you don't need, i'll keep for myself.
Drugstore got sell just the fingerbrush meh ? If you want, I have extra but it's full set lah expire in 2010 if not wrong.

Re: Driving,
Gingerleaf, go go take driving lesson ...heheheh

I agree with Chris, don't need GPS. You just have to plan your road 1st, worst case, write down the 'instruction' (e.g. turn left onto holland v, look for dempsey on the right, u turn, turn left into demsey ...etc) on a post-it and paste on your steering wheel.

morning mummies!!

gingerleaf: me same as u. no licence but seriously thinking of taking up lessons since its good to know how to drive. so in emergency, no need to wait for cab/pple to come fetch u.
but plain lazy. that time sign up for basic theory then know im preggy then just conveniently never go cos i tot no point taking lessons when preggy ha.

jacq: salute to u leh. i think i wont dare to bring baby YZ to movies. wat if he decides not to nap. he v kay-poh nowadays and also v vocal. think pple will throw popcorn at us!

i heard isomil soy based is good from my GP. u may want to try that for the interim? as chris said, once clare turns 1 yo, can alternate between that & full cream fresh milk?

mummies who drive alone with babies: be careful n take note of safety. driving safely more impt than comforting wailing babies.

Gingerleaf,
<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Learn Driving !!!</font></font> <font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Learn Driving !!!</font></font><font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Learn Driving !!!</font></font> <font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Learn Driving !!!</font></font><font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Learn Driving !!!</font></font> <font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Learn Driving !!!</font></font><font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Learn Driving !!!</font></font> <font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Learn Driving !!!</font></font><font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Learn Driving !!!</font></font> <font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Learn Driving !!!</font></font>
Can learn driving automatic car lah, after a while you would gain more confidence. Don't take company van out 1st, cos driving van is different from driving car.

re:discipline,
I differ with your thinking lor. I'm not sure why you don't like your BIL discipline brig lah ... but wouldn't it be confusing as well if brig is doing something not ok'ed by parents but not punished ?
I guess, when come to discipline, among family members, shouldn't adults communicate as well. telling each other what is considered as ok, what is not.
As for 'touch here and there' personally I would set limits. Not to limit his 'exploration' but to keep him out of safety. like cannot touch breakables, dog's toy, things that belong to others.

just want to complain!

baby yZ is down with runny nose + cough and its particularly cold yesterday at my house there. so we called MIL to ask her not to bath baby in case risk him getting a cold. just wipe him down will do.

THEN when i reached home, i saw that he was STILL dressed in yesterday PJs!!!!! almost 24 hrs wearing the same set!

v irritated leh. i dun even want to talk to her or ask her got wipe him down anot.

when hb came home, i told him she never changed his clothes for WHOLE day n he asked her why like that. her reply was the whole day cold so let him remain in long sleeve long pant! i mean!! i ve so many sets of long sleeve n long pants clothings at home. not that she doesnt know where they are!

wah lau. all i can say is my MIL is either plain lazy or her logic is only understandable to her.
and what irks me the most is she kept on making comments that baby is smelly cos no bath! PUI.

very pissed. good thing she is going home tonight and baby will go to my mum's place for 2 nights. he changes like 3-4 sets of clothings over at her side one ok! once he sweats, my mum will quickly wipe the sweat n change the clothes if too smelly.

<font face="comic sans ms"> Morning mummies..

RE: discipline
Think my Clarisse kana spoilt by my father liao.. she likes to go snatch her sister things and when she can't get it she will cry and my father will go to her rescue.. I told my mum and maid if she ever sees Clarisse snatch her sister things must "scold" her and teach her not to.. Cos I dun want her to grow up bullying her 姐姐..

wah sibei pissed. humpf!

its incidents like this that really make me hope baby will turn 18mths soon so she no need come n take care with her warped style.
and also, to hold back #2 if it means i ve to face her parenting style again. *roar*

Mummies interested in princess bow bow stuffs ...please check your group mail.

Btw, I'd received email from Lioele last night liao.

Jacq, adri is on Isomil cos she displayed symptoms of allergies when on S26 &amp; Dumex. So far so good. could it be one of those days when babies have no appetite or teething datz y clare is rejecting milk? Tink many of our babies went thru. Oh and 1 thing.. i tried adri on Friso soy formula before.. wah! it smelled gross to me and adri dun like it at all. so changed to isomil.. =D

gingerleaf, go learn driving! u so "zai" sure can one.. go learn go learn.. then make ur hb drive his co van and then u take his big big car! keke..

ecookie, go learn also.. haha!

sharz, http://www.seanlau.com =D

gingerleaf &amp; jovialz, haha! so are we aliens or rare species? keke..

ecookie, omg! still must clean YZ up one ma!! haiz.. nvm k? dun angry.. since u have told her abt it, just see if she does it again oki? hugz gal

<font color="aa00aa">hippo/gingerleaf/jovialz:</font>
me also same species as u all.. haha.. when I buy things after I pay money I will say thank you to the cashier then my hubby always scold me.. said what for say thank you.. you are buying things from them leh.. but my logic is ppl serve u so must say thank you mah.. then he said I stupid

<font color="aa00aa">ecookie:</font>
ya loh she can bully her 姐姐 until her 姐姐 cry leh.. then her 姐姐 very scared to hear Clarisse cry.. if Clarisse cry right.. her 姐姐 will also follow her cry.. aiyo.. I still expect Clarisse to look after her 姐姐 de leh.. then she this kind of pattern.. now I worry.. sigh..

san: wah jie jie very sweet leh. will be in distress when mei mei cry. good lah. think she will be a caring jie jie in future!

gingerleaf, you only want the fingerbrush ah? I only want the toothpaste leh? Ask Jovial sell us the set and split for us?? wat say you?

ecookie,
hugz...ok "ROAR" out here!! let the steam out! sometimes we also no choice..have i ever told you all the incident where Aria soiled her diaper and my FIL "ge kiang" tried to help to change her? No one was around at that time and my MIL out for a while.. what happen is he smell poo and tried to help aria change diaper and before he can put the diaper, aria pooed on the bed and she flipped here and there and the clothes kena. She was abt 3 months old then and you know what my FIL did?? He use a pair of scissors and cut her romper!!!! He said he scared of twisting her arm when changing her..i was so fuming mad and pissed..after that my hubby told him not to change diaper for aria even if aria shit! hahaha...Actually hubby more concerns on the scissors use on aria. what if she move and the scissors poke her? i shudder when i heard this..

shaz,
sean lau is good but a little pricy but his style is very anne geddes.. it's so diff from the rest of the studio. the princess dress bought from kiddy palace, the red dress from pumpkin patch and the green carter dress from a mummy in the forum..

jacq,
goat milk is actually more superior than cow's milk because it is the closest to mothers milk. it's also more expensive. you can give clare that now. once i wean aria off, we might give aria goat milk too.

aria_jo: wah i shudders too! so dangerous!! yah dun know how to take care dun "ge kiang".
my MIL last time also "ge kiang" and said she can take care of my 2 nephews on her own (they are 2 weeks apart). in the end, my SIL saw thru her n asked her own aunt to take care cos she simply cant cope!! i mean its only recently like 1 mth ago then she started bathing YZ on her own. cos she said she doesnt know how to bath when he younger?!?! my FIL have been popping by during the days just to bath yz. so tiring for him!

gingerleaf, you should learn to drive. it's a valuable skill to have.

jacq, you are so brave! i would never bring hannah to watch a movie. my girl is so kaypoh, sure won't go to sleep.

chris, i definitely won't stop at 1. intend to plan for #2 next yr.

re: driving
- i don't like gps. prefer to check out route beforehand.
- babies are smart. if they can get away with something, they will, e.g. not sitting in car seat. must be firm and not give in to them. they will learn after a while.

aria jo,
scary siah ... lucky aria is not injured.

i guess, our folks trying too hard to help. At least the good intention is there lah.

aria, that is SO SCARY! my FIL is quite clumsy too, but he not ge kiang. will get others to change/bathe her. he just plays with her. haha

hahahah Jovial.
I drove company van for fun coz my hb dowanna let me drive his car. Now cannot drive the vans anymore, coz got drivers liao.
I juz needa get my final thoery.....

<font color="aa00aa">cookie:</font>
haha 姐姐 is not sweet just 胆小 cos Clarisse cry damn loud one.. 姐姐 get startled easily one..

yeah...i think he kind of panic and didn't think straight... he never thought of what if the scissors poke her... but still i was damn mad..also becasue that's a very nice romper, ok?haha..anyway, since then he dare not change aria anymore.. but he recently i notice he will try to change aria again... haiz...

aria jo,
Then give him a chance, ask him to change under supervision lor. I think it's his way of expressing his love for aria lor.

Hippo,
Hehehe, u think he will lemme drive his tanker meh. I oso dowanna drive his car. Imagine I look like a lego inside it. So small. I might not even see beyond the bonnet. Heheheheh.

aria, wat a scare! i hope he is more steady now with the changing!

san, dun listen to hb.. u r not stupid! just being nice okie?

Morning Mummies!

I want to learn driving as well.
Passed the Basic + Advanced but expired liao as usual!!
Gingerleaf, I actually clashed my hb 3mths old new car the last time in the carpark!!! ha ha that was even before I go for any practical lesson!!!

Jacq
soymilk is worst taste than normal FM leh. And the Frisomil smell really horrible!!! Have you tried other brands. I just bought Kelly one tin of Similac thinking that maybe shld just let her try for her poo poo problem before she upgrade to the next level!! I found out that she loves the milk (I think it's very sweet which I'm not very keen of having it long term) and she is drinking a lot more milk than normal!!

Discipline
I would also be very stern and beat her buttock or leg when she misbehaves!! She will stop for a while, look at the situation and see whether anyone else around or not! If my hb carried her while she is crying, she will continue to cry and want me to sayang her again ... then she will keep quiet! noti gal but I love her as well !! ha ha

re discipline,
I agree with Jovialz.
What is ok-ed at home, shldnt be expected to ok-ed in other's ppl home too. Doesnt means you can explore around the hse, mess it up is ok too in others ppl hse. I cannot imagine bringing lyn to a frds hse, and she starts treating it like her own n mess it out. im expecting her to differenciate what is ok at home doesnt means its ok elsewhere.

I think whetever we do, we must constantly reflect and see if we are really indeed spoiling the kid.
I grew up in my nanny(nai ma) hse since I was 1 month old to 14 years old. I am extremely close to her n not to my own mum at all. My mum only threatens to hit me all the time w/o reasons. I keep telling myself, never am I gg to be like my own mum to lyn. I will raise my hands at her, but with valid reasons.

I think my nanny style have brought me up well. I kena wack all the time there, from 2 cane rods tied into one(I used to taunt her that 1 rod not painful. Hahah) to kneeling infront of the altar fron morning to midnite... but she did it out of love, coz I was a really notti child. Those who knows me shld know Im a notti one. hehehe.

My bro, the spoilt one, (coz my mum being typical cantonese, loves their sons more than daughter) spoilt his gal so much that she dun listen to anyone but him. She can even roll her eyes at my mother when asked not to watch so much tv. In short, she is spoilt n v v rude. Why? My brother forbade anyone to hit, even light smack her when she was young. Scold her abit nia, my bro would come n scold me back. Imagine, being scold by my bro infront of her, what respect am i to expect from the niece oreadi? In the end, I gave up. Dowanna discipline her anymore. Now she is a prima donna, so spoilt and attitude loh.

Actually this topic is abit sensitive hor, coz diff ppl have diff methods of bringing up kids. No point debate too much abt it much coz its like forcing muslim to eat pork

I think the children now needs a lot of reasoning and explanation! No point just smacking them as they don't understand why not and can be even more defiant the next time!!
Children now are a lot of more smarter maybe due to all those vitamins and supplements that we have been giving them!!!

totoro,
HAHAHAH, I can imagne ur hb eyes got bigger than it oreadi is!!

U all made me so raring to go out and get my final thoery book now!!! WHAO!!!
but I think I'll be okie by tmr. Heheheh

Jovial,
I like ur car oso! The other day I jus told my hb, if I pass, he must buy me the 2 door civic type r, coz I like the kar cheng leh, so cute. I like boh kar cheng car. As usual la, he juz entertain me with 'ya ya ya ya'

Hippo/jovialz,
He will never, i stress NEVER, buy me another car. Im expected to drive his loh...imagine if I can drive... I gotta send him to work leh!! Maybe I can send him to the other end of st 65 and ask him to carpool. =p

ecookie,
I dun think I can handle his car... dunno if I can even see beyond the backseat or not.

gingerleaf, ur last sentence almost make me pengz.. hahaha! anyway, ur nanny teaching style so similar to my grandma's one.. when young kena whacked jialat jialat by her &amp; my mum.. but yet i love my granny the most followed by my mum cos mummy was in HKG when i was really young.. eh.. they also cantonese leh.. but maybe cos i m the 1st &amp; only grandchild for the 1st 6 years la.. so they dote on me alot. but with discipline.. =D

however, there are 8 of us (my bro + 7 cousins). the last 2 (twins) are SUPER SPOILT!! cos my grandma &amp; mum toned down alot liao.. so i have to keep reminding &amp; reminding them NOT to allow Adri to be so spoilt else i will not let them take care of her anymore. So far so good cos i can see that they will discipline her if she is notti. i just hope they dun get soft-hearted as she grows older.. i believe in the first 3 years of a kid's life is the most crucial to teach all the good habits.

touching other pple's things etc: my family is also very strict on that.. so hopefully adri learns the correct way too..

initially i tot i will be the disciplinarian with adri. but she treats me like her toy.. so my hb took over and he will scold &amp; smack adri if she's wrong and if i dun do anything abt it.

babies learn very fast.. yday she scratched my face.. AGAIN!!! kena smacked hard on the hands by my hb.. but she never cry. so stubborn! later she was on the floor looking under the sofa for her ball.. and she tumbled over and her face hit the floor lightly. she cried until so cham... my hb asked me y she nvr cry when she kena smacked yet cry when she fell.. i told him itz cos she knows she's in the wrong so dun dare to cry lo.. whereas she's blaming us for her fall so she cry in protest lor.. keke.. which i believe is true la.. =D

gingerleaf, u n ur car pool! come over to my end and take my car! =P hahaha.. know watz better? drive him to the interchange &amp;* ask him take bus.. whahahahaha!

hahaha hippo, ask him to take bus like want his life.
Eh, my nanny is one firecracker too! Super chia one. She is hakka, and she was really v v strict with me. But she dotes me alot loh. Will buy me toys out of her own $ when she thinks I deserves it.. and my mum, was only paying her $200 monthly nia hor... all the way till Im 14 leh.. can imagine how much my nanny loves me as her own. Who wanna look after other ppl kid for $200?!?!?

hippo: i think thats really the case leh. yz wont cry when i smack him hard on his arms/palms when he scratched my face. he will have this defiant face (maybe next time try to capture that expression hee) n refused to look at me! then after that re-attempted to scratch me again. tell me, notti anot!

then later small things nia like cant get wat he wants will cry one leh. like to show us he is darn unhappy being scolded by us lor

re discipline: im the one beating baby, my hb only raise voice at him but never beat cos his parents never beat one. for me, my mum chased me with the canes when im young so many times i lost count liao. and she deliberately beat me on hands n legs so pple can see. haha so mean. but it made me learn my lessons well.

so i also believe in spare the rod n spoil the kid. cos i feel my nephew spoilt cos my in laws never raise the cane at him. even my own hb, not exactly the king of EQ too. cos in laws dun believe in beating to make a point.