(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

dodo: but i think pacifier is still better than thumb cos u can take away a pacifier but not a thumb! my mum's cousin loves to suck at her thumb and everytimg when she nervous will still suck thumb even when she 20+!

and long term sucking of thumbs may make the thumb very small, like not as big as the other fingers....

at one point of time, most babies will wean off pacifiers. if not, have to go cold turkey lor when they 2-3 year olds?

Books always say that magic sentence too! "u can throw away pacifier but not thumb!"
I kept stuffing the pacific to her, she will take it out, play with it, chuck it one side and suck thumb. Really dunno how to rid her of that habit. I think its easier to wean pacifiers too.

ecookie,
omg, sucking thumbs at 20+!!!!

I have the same thoughts on pacifier!
So you will see Kelly with it. Actually she only asked for it when she wanna sleep but it's me who always pops it into her mouth to prevent her from sucking other stuff ... but she will still get some rashes around her mouth some time due to the pacifier lah! she has very sensitive skin just like me hiaz

hippo, look what you've done!

dodo, if you're rushing for time to prepare zq's lunch on JG days, you can consider feeding cereal or bottled food instead (if you don't mind). at least you have 1 less item to take care of.

i personally prefer pacifier. easier to wean baby off pacifier than fingers.

actually I think i did not give her teething toys that's why she always use the pacifier and the clip for sucking! She actually prefer the bear clip that the pacifier!!

Ling,
its okie, dun worry! Yesterday my MIL was saying that lyn finally got her teeth and FIL immediately replied, "grow later better", to which I asked why and he said.........
" So baby not so greedy."
>.<

gingerleaf, hi-5!! er.. i still have my personal smelly pillow now leh.. n adri likes to smell and add to the smell by biting it and she'll snatch from me!! grr...

zhen zhen, i m reali INNOCENT!!! hahaha..

i bought the gerber puffs liao le! tink she'll like it.. cos i tried n i like it.. =P

pacifier: i will stuff it into adri's mouth when she starts being cranky.. oops.. very bad hor.. but dat'll soothe her so far.. then she'll get sick of it after awhile if she's not asleep yet and then like kelly, she'll play with the clip and link!! both from same school, cannot blame.. haiz.. hahahhaa

totoro, hannah likes her bear clip too! she seems to suck it more than her pacifier. haha!

gingerleaf, bottle food and cereal are a real life saver. esp if i'm in a rush. if not, i will still try and cook porridge for hannah, cos she doesn't seem to like bottled food very much.

ling, hannah is also bo gay. PD says it's fine.

dodo,

please come for lunch with zq!! I'll be there till 2pm! So come come!

btw, any mummies know where to get those instant porridge? I saw that nestle one need to cook for 3 mins. aiyo..outside how to cook! any porridge can use hot water and it's cooked? thinking of stocking some of those when you really don't have time to cook.

gingerleaf,

i just find it weird.. hw come hers is slow development in her teeth.. haha... can't wait for her first tooth to be out. :)
My mum also said "grow later better", then next time teeth don be spoilt so fast.. all the granny myth.. don know hw true it is hor..

zhen zhen,

So, we share the same fate as our girl is bo gay now.. hehe.. and some more they have the same birthday hor.. hmm.. so relieved to hear that.. hehe.. at least she got company her twin sisters bo gay... :)

bbwow,
u can try the nestle gold type of porridge or oats, u just need to add hot water will do.. it is easy n convenient..

zhenzhen,
i dun feed porridge for lunch. Its always cereal and fruits. =p I only do porridge for dinner. So lazy.

bbwow, think in the market dun have leh. All must cook one. Even heinz organic fig porridge oso needa cook!

Ling, dun worry. All babies grow at diff rate. Mine is a 1st oct baby but some of her developments are slower that the others. It can be worrying at times, but they will eventually come.

zhenzhen,
She is okie with them!
I only feed her gerbers so far. I normally will bring cereal out with a jar of carrots/sweetpotato/pear/apple/banana. She is very distracted when she is out, so she always doesnt finish her food.
Sometimes if I dun bring cereal out, I bring 2 jars of diff variety!

hippo: OMG, u still have ur smellie? can pass on to adri then ! lol..

bbwow: i tried the nestle instant porridge once but found it not as mashed as slow cooker one.. need to put in bit effort grind against the pigeon feeding bowl before feeding cos baby YZ bo gay scared the grains too big for him.

re teeth: baby YZ lower right tooth finally shows! like 1-2mm only. and very hard to see. mayb i imagine it all. ahah. only time will tell!

bbwow,
Jerry is on Nestle Cereals, yet try out Nestle porridge yet. Now the rd, I will try to cut down on Nestle cereals/porridge. Perhaps will intro again later when he turns a yr. I m looking @ Heinz, such as Heinz Multigrain, Museli&amp;Apple, etc. Can add milk to them. To me, itz oso convenient. Milk + water, n Heinz cereal.
Porridge is home cooked, only for dinner.

gingerleaf,
Jerry enjoys his Heinz Beef &amp; Veg. brown rice last evening. I resort to food jar last nite for Jerry's dinner coz I was out for dinner, got it instantly off the rack @ supermart. It was a wonderful experience. Come to think of it, I was kinda silly to stay @ home till Jerry finish dinner, then I leave home with hb for our dine-out everytime. Gonna do it again soon, so fun! =P

gingerleaf, good that lyn is not picky. hannah can finish a big bowl of cereal or porridge normally. but when i give her bottle food, she will take 4 - 5 spoons and that's it. i only introduced bottle food recently, so maybe she's not used to it yet. hopefully it'll get better in time.

hippo, can't believe you still have your smelly pillow! my goodness...

re: pacifier
I prefer pacifier to thumb sucking too. Itz easier to wean off.
I have a cousin who luv thumb sucking n only quit like in her sec. sch days. She has this habit of hidding @ a corner of the bed for her thumb sucking after back from sch everyday.
From the elders, weaning pacifier can be real fast. Depends if we bear to do it. Like spreading bit of bittergourd juice to the pacifier. OMG, bb sure throw it so far away. *faint* Oops...

doobom, we usually feed hannah when we're having our meals. it's nice right? i like it when she eats with us, even if it means that i take a bit longer to finish my own food. :p

ecookie &amp; zhen zhen, aiya.. no longer the same smelly pillow from young!! keke.. itz a different one since my teens.. wahahahaha.. but the one at my mum's place is only few years old.. my hb always laugh at me, as long as itz a tollyjoy pillow and if itz got all my saliva on it, i will like.. wahahahaha.. dun laugh liao!

bringing food out: as mentioned earlier, sadly adri dun eat one.. so we only bring her milk and snacks.. she'll only take these and OUR food.. haiz...

bottled food: so far only fed baby YZ once and that is gerbers sweet potato and he takes it well but we didnt stock up much cos feel its exp and home-made one more healthy?

maybe cos he now only on 2 solids - breakfast n dinner. if we going out in evening, we normall shift the porridge to lunch so dinner just milk feed. milk is still much easier to bring out!

Tiffany,

Are u going to take your eldest one for the bb shooting too? If yes, u have to plan the colour of the clothes for the family photo. For mine case, we wear pink top for family photo.

same as zhen zhen, I will always prepare to bring cereal out when we are dining out.. cos my boy can never sit still if he sees us eating. He will be forever hungry when he sees food. No choice, I hv to bring Nestle cereal, one fruit (e.g. banana), gerber stars, baby bites / heinz rusks.. that's the only way we can eat in peace.

thanks mummy.

Caelen's MCU went well I guess. No need sedation but he cried throughout the whole 45 mins - 1 hour. He was playing very happily wile waiting outside.

The nurses and doctor won't let you in when they insert the tube. They call you in when they ready to do the scan. When I go in, Caelen is bonded and put on a baby 'bed' that can rotate, only his hands are free. The 'bed' is placed on the adult size table. I'm suppose to hold onto his hands while they do they scan. Once or twice the doctor tell me not to pull the baby 'bed' up towards me ... but it's caelen who is pulling.

After the whole thing, Caelen like very traumatised, can't even put him on the changing table to change back to his home clothes and pampers. My hubby who was carrying him while I made payment say the moment he walk near those colourful walls where is the scan room is, he start to cry.

After that, he managed to calm down and fall asleep in my Beco carrier (hug him close for comfort). We go off to parkway parade for lunch and when he wakes up we are already on the expressway. I guess he had either forgot about the thing or thought it was just a nightmare. He went back to his bubbly self and allows me to put him on the changing table at isetan.

ok lah.. still go shopping / dine out with bb as usual but usually with my parents or sis. Yest played MJ some more, supposed to take turns but 1 person dua, so no choice got to play full-time. I either feed him, or hold him on my lap. But he so fidgety, think I wun try it again. haha..

The rest of the time is quite manageable.. tried to use video call as well, but he doesn't seem to be focus on the image when Daddy is on screen.. sigh..

Jovialz
aiyoh, sayang Lance and hope this "nightmare" will go away forever for him!!

Jar food
guess I'm one of those that has been feeding her the most with it. she only gets proper food when she is with my mum (during weekdays). So far she likes all the food we gave, and yes, when we eat, she will need to sit down and eat as well. Sometimes, I just feed her white rice to settle her and she will be sitting there chewing the white rice happily!

sugar nut, didn't realise your hubby is away. for how long? you seem to be coping well with baby tho. good job!!!

jovial, glad to hear that caelen got over the whole ordeal so quickly. he's a strong boy. hope the results are favourable.

Karrie,
sorry if I had miss out one important detail. NOT all slow cooker internal pot can be put over the fire. You need to check if your can. Think it has to be clay pot (not ceremic) if I'm not wrong.

re: Cereal,
I also feed cereal during the day. Porridge only at night. More balance I think cos baby cereal have added iron which they would deplete what they had store earlier by about 6 - 9 months.

RE: FEEDING
I feed the Healthy times cereal, just add water ...and sometime addfresh fruits or a bottle of fruit base jar food for variety.

if go out, same like gingerleaf, i just bring bottled jar food and gerber stars as treats.a

Just now at parkway, bought a ENDO 'magic cooker'. 1.8L a $39. I suppose to work like those shottle chef. trying it now, hope can save some gas/ electricity.

Tiffy, Tiffany,
I agree ! If take family photo, colour should coordinate. so that it's easy to match a backdrop.
Hubby, Caelen and I wore Liverpool Red Jersey

Tiffy

Yes. I signed up 2 baby package + 2 adults. That will include my elder boy. Yar, now trying to plan what to wear for the photo shoots. I have some idea in mind already, just hope it will turn out good. Most impt, I need to shed 1-2kg. Had been munching non-stop, abit bak bak now.

re: cereal
oh... i still feed cereal for breakfast. porridge for lunch and dinner. guess i'm one of the few mummies who feed solids 3 times a day.

tiffany, you where got bak bak??? i also wanna lose weight before PS, but i think no hope lah. i too greedy liao.

Junniez,
Not sure if NUH's baby clothes for scan is same as KKH, better bring a jacket for lance. Caelen KKH clothes is just tie behind with LOTS of lobang and it's knee length dressrobe. somemore had to change while waiting for his turn. Lucky we'd brought a jacket to cover and long socks.

re jar food:
i only fed him twice and he spit it out!!! think i have a very fussy eater, so i always cook porridge or prepare cereal when out... zhen zhen, i also love to feed baby when we eat, though can be quite busy and messy but very fun loh

bbwow,
ok.. i will try to make it.. let u gals know again

totoro,
can pass to me next tues if it's convenient for u? coz hubby will bring us for the class, so i got chauffeur and maid to carry all stuff for me.. hee.. thanks ah!

re bb's development:
i think it runs im my family blood, me and my siblings starts to walk only abt 16mths old... so i have lower expectation for zq.. hee.. and my mama said learn to walk later is good, means "hao3 ming4".. duno how true is that... im thinking whether do i consider hao ming or not..

jovialz,
poor caelan... so the result is perfectly ok? he dun have to go thru another round of this again? hope he's feeling better now.. mummy must hug hug n kiss kiss him more...

ecookie,
xiaomei aunty told me YZ is a cheery &amp; curious baby leh! he knows where the clock is, smart boy!

totorobb,
you blur liao lah .. my boy is Caelen
btw, I'd checked with the choice gift shop at KKH, they charge $3 to fill the balloons with helium. Since it's big, I'll just take those I'd ordered. You sms me the price to charge up and the price to deliver ok ? I might be able to pick up the balloon from your home if it's convenient on 24th August late morning.

dodo: cheery? hahha he always look suspiciously at strangers n very non-smiley when outside haha. yah been teaching him objects at home and he seems to look at them when we said where is xx? but waiting for him to point w index finger then can be sure lah..

myra also on cereal and fruits/veg puree for lunch and dinner porridge, when i bring her out for dinner will pack her porridge in the foogo thermos jar.

last weekend i bought nestle instant porridge with veggies which only needs to mix with hot water and stir and i tasted it, i dunt like it at all cos i cant taste any of the vegetables. it tastes so instant and flat, so unnutritious, but myra still finish it all.

this coming weekend me, hb and myra are going to tioman, i got her a one piece swimsuit so cute leh. hopefully the sunset sunrise will revive some passion for me and hb. Going to bring lots of heinz babyjars.

so bz at work.

dodo, wah! i wana faint liao le.. u n i can hi-5 and act in some twins movie leh... wahaha.. mum said i only started walking at 18 mths and get this: i can't crawl! i can only creep.. whahahaha.. mummy already told me adri is very much like me.. very talkative and active but hor, gross motor skills super jialat..
hao ming? hmm... i tink do have a happy life and i hope it will always be like dat for me.. maybe cos i happy-go-lucky and not really lucky hor? hmm....

jovialz, glad everything's over.. hope the results are good so caelen dun hv to go thru it again ya? gd luck gal!

sugar_nut, u power la! still can play mj.. keke

ecookie,
aunty said he will smile at him leh.. zq also keep looking suspiciously at strangers, and he will stare hard at aunty when she's doing her work, eyes follow her everywhere...seems like supervisor! haa.

ya, im waiting for zq to point out the item to me as well! but he will only look at the direction like door, mirror, telephone, jump jump (jumperoo) and gai gai = door... i try not to be ganjiong mummy loh

mad,
wow! romantic retreat at tioman!
enjoy urself, sure it will be a good time to revive some passion for u and hb... remember to show us some photos of sexy myra k

jovialz,
it will be fine... dun worry much k... it will be the best national day present for u

hippo, tiffy &amp; tiffany,

zq will have his PS with studio loft next monday! now really regret to trim his fringe coz he really looks like ah wang now... sigh