(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

chintz,
I bought the 1St teeth toothpaste from the last baby fair @ expo.

1517108.jpg

I like the toothbrush. It is soft enough, suitable to massage the gums too.
Saw it @ few place such as Kiddy Palace, etc.

so much posting. My girl just resigned. Had to train a new girl.. v xiong expec im working part time.

Solid food,

Brig has been rejecting solid food since he is sick. Not been taking solid for abt 2 weeks. He will cry and turn away when he saw the bowl.. sign..

But he still v keen on his cheerios.. just started him on bread and cheese, he like them. Been thinking to try solid again tmr...

chintz,

ya, he is teething... got no problem when he bottom 2 teeth came out... but now think is the top 2 teeth.

The toothpaste can buy thru BP , is cheaper...

hey mummies...
been so so long since able to drop by forum ever since start working this week. didn't have it easy also coz there were some days when i got back home in the evening, i only had like 5 min to carry and cuddle my boy before he yells for bedtime...

my boy sleeps v.early at around 6.30pm-7pm or so, so if i come back late, i can't even play with him. v.v.sad feeling lor. coz morning when i leave house, he haven't wake up, evening i come back, he's cranky n tired to even bother about me.

good thing is that evening i've time to sort out my work. have lots of marking of worksheets/essays-the students' holiday homework to settle now! 1st week of school just over, 9 weeks more to go and i'm flat out already.

lots of topics flew by the past week! :D can only read briefly thru all the posts...

dodo
glad to hear ur anderson's fully recovered already. love those pics u posted of him. he looks different now as compared to the last time i saw him at gymboree, v.handsome leh. love his mop of hair. my boy is super botak, only got fine lallang bits waving in the air. :D

re: moving to KL/SA
dodo, do what ur heart tells you to do. we are stronger than we think. when faced with problems, we can work a way out somehow. trust in urself. mummies on this thread sure support u all the way.

pinky
dun b too worried about the development of ur boy. all kids all eventually move on to the next stage of development at their own pace. just provide him with lots of floor time, ie. let him spend time on the floor/bumper mat, give him opportunity to reach for toys, crawl,etc. the more physical exercises he has, the stronger his body which will help his physical development.

re: cancerians
wow... so many oct mummies are cancerians! i'm also a cancerian. but i think i'm the oldest amongst all. hit 30 liao. haha... happy birthday to all cancerians!

YL
congrats! do take gd care of urself n update us mummies if u have a boy or gal for ur #2 yah?

re: refusal to take solid food
my boy also not v.keen on solid food nowadays n sometimes even wake up at 3-4am for a milk feed. think its most probably teething. can see 1 tooth gonna come out soon. :D

cannot tahan already.. v.tired, gonna sleep. coffee dun work on me nowadays! i'm beyond caffeine help liao.

gonna spend my weekends marking and preparing lessons. sigh... but no matter what, must still make time to be with my boy.

re:cancerians. didnt realize so many cancerians either! i'm a cancerian too...

solid food:
my gal really dislikes her solid food..dunno what to give her. she onli likes mee sua which i try not to give too much coz if i'm not wrong got salt in it.
either that or she likes to eat rice with soup..but still bogay how to eat??
haiz.....

hi garden_dreamz,

u should come here more often!

my gal also sleeps early, at 8pm

today, mil told me that she didn take her nap at all!! wah.. awake since 6am!!

i have no probs putting her to sleep if she's in my care.. i dunno what they do.. haiz...

thanks all mummies giving me ur advices... i will think it thru carefully.. so touched to have all ur supports & advices on this...

junnie,

u are 9 days "younger" than me... so my bd this year over already :p
and i agree wi chintz, ur girl very beautiful... CM's girl very pretty and fashioned also

so indeed many cancerians in our oct mummy thread! i LOVE cancerians! coz my papa is also cancerian and he's SUPER SUPER NICE papa & hubby... he set the role model so both my hubby and my BIL will follow the suit.. hee..

re the 1st teeth toothpaste:
i bought at BP also, very cheap!

chintz,
i love chloe's special hat.. haa! next time i will let ziqian try that pose also :p

garden,
i was just abt to "page" for u!!! so long never see ur post... miss u gal...
hope the work is not too stressful on u, must take care ah... hug hugs.. *0*

chintz,

ziqian today also noti noti, dun wana have his noon nap.. so i play and "fight" wi him for almost an hour only then he zzz...

i very happy today leh! coz just now when i played wi him on bed, i let him tummy on my tummy and he said "mama" when i tickled him!!! though i think he dun mean it but im still happy to hear that lei..

re enfapro:

i have a enfapro voucher, it's a buy 5 get 1 free voucher, selling 5 tins of enfapro at $171 and free 1 tin. so average out 1 tin is $28.50 (just went to NTUC, saw that selling at $36.20 now!)

expired on july-08. i intend to get abt 2 tins coz i still have some stocks at home... any mummies wana share? but gonna collect at my place @ cck :p

chris & garden,

i read on a book that our baby boys are more fussier eater than baby girls.. think they are really testing our patience loh.. but no choice, we just have to keep trying... ziqian starts to take solid better but very selectively, if the mixture of porridge/ cereal vs vege/ poultry isn't right, he will clamp his mouth straightaway, cant bluff him one...

im more worried abt his slow progress of solid feeding will affect his speech development, PD asked me to try let bb self-feed some baby biscuit for him to exercise his mouth muscle... but i researched thru many baby biscuits, their sodium level seems high leh.. duno what to do now...

roughly what's the quantum of milk ur baby drink per day on top of solid?

any anyone started using olive oil or butter to prepare bb food?

*sob sob* i m lost again with soooo many archives to read from.
Its so hectic nowadays. Sean is sleeping later these days - 930pm. and he wakes up at least 2 times at night demanding to be latched on. these 2 nights are worse, cos he had blocked nose...tonight i dare not switch on air con liao.

dodo, glad to hear ZQ is well n back to his cheerful self again.
dun worry k, he is a strong boy..regarding KL posting, personally I feel that if i were u, i will follow hb to KL. cos i will miss him :p ..environment there should not be so diff compared to here i feel.

hippo, dodo, both of u r younger than me...i m yr 78....reaching big 3 in Oct liao..

chintz, really love to see chloe's pict everytime u put up...she is just sooo cheerful...so cute!!

garden_dreamz, poor hectic timetable!!! makes me worried *wink*...i got accepted but still considering...

jacq, hope Clare gets well and recovers fully soon..

junnie,
will pray for Lance on that day. dun worry too much k..hugs..rem to get enough rest too ah!! dun over tire yourself as u need all energy to look after ur 2 darlings.

jacq..if clare's fever still remain 39 or over, tink better to see doctor again cos u say she's like sian sian (sleepy, lethergic or the feet cold also means inside her body v hot), hv to keep sponging non-stop & let her sip as much fluid as possible..

doobom... may b jerry's fever due teething? keep sponging too..

jacq/doobom.. tink tonite u'll cant sleep well liao... tk care ya...

garden_dream.. so fast u went bk to work 1wk alr? lucky sat/sun liao, u can hv more time w r boy..

chintz.. ya, get the 1st teeth toothpaste via BP is much cheaper, ntuc selling $20 over!

dodo.. basically mine taking porridge now so no need add/use any of olive oil/butter leh.. unless u wanna stir/fry the food & gv bb separately or add in the porridge? tink use little bit shd b okie ba..

auntie chintz & dodo...u both say i beautiful arrrrr, thk u thk u arrrrr, but i v notti la!! ^o^ i also oct bb leh, my BD is on 7th... but i'm born in 2003! my didi supposed b oct bb but come out in september & he always look blur blur one...kekeke..
1517527.jpg
1517528.jpg

dodo,

try cheerios or oatis. It suitable for BB. If not u can try vitakid i think they sells teething biscuit for BB.

But i still searching high and low for oaties in spore.. haha

dodo, brig drink about 500ml of milk on top of solid. He take 2 full meal and morning snacks. In bet take his favourtie cheerio and avocado

unice.. thks.. will 'remind' u all again to help praying nxt mth
hope sean get well soon..

dodo.. tink my 'brain rusty' liao, duno how to calculate lah... so ur BD b4 me la.. paisay paisay.. v v belated happy BD 2u then, hehe.. re milk intake.. i duno how to count, but now bb lance drink min. 3x a day abt 7oz/feed, w 2 meal of solid (usually porridge). if i look after sat/sun, sometime i tend to skip 1 milk feed in the afternoon cos either he nap too long or timing too near dinner i dun feed him milk loh, anyway surgeon ask to 'cut' down his milk cos his wt on high side...but he cant let u 'tao gai' one, sure will wake up abt 12-1+am for milk then 5+ again.. so end up still min. 3x a day @@

there a organic onlie shop that sell this at 9.90 but charge 6 dollars for delivery. been emailing them if ican do self collection but no reply... anyone work near far east finance building??

chris.. jus read brig's upper teeth also popping arrr... sure no appetite like mine & doobom.. tink upper one v 'big' so diff to come out hence bb feel uncomfortable...poor bb hv to bear w it....

doobom.. u mean the 1st teeth toothpaste can ease teething too? or using the toothbrush alone??? hmmm.. i must go & try...btw, my mum used to let bb scattered some green bean @ the flower pot (as a symbolisation) of growing tooth smoothly when they hving prblm teething (i duno how true lah).., wonder ur mum knws too?? cos ur mum also knw the 'egg method' ma...hahaha..

chris... wanted to zzzzz, but our 'little friend' waking up for nite feed v soon... cos i jus finished hanging the clothes so dun want to go zzz then wake up again... (anyway tat's 'excuse' so tat i can sneak in here to 'chit-chat' w u all which is now partly my 'sole-mate' hahahaha)!! tml i need to work, sooooo sian... lucky i work 9am tml, (we need to rotate & once a mth on sat will hv to work 8.30am - which i hate most cos got to wake up earlier & sent bb to nanny's house)...

aiya... u see lah.. talk toooo fast... bb wake up liao.. got to go feed him if nt he'll 'tear the whole block'..... goood nite to all mummies who still awake =)

morning all

hi, sylvia.. u also working like me now? hmm... sooo quiet 2day? all go shopping/PS =D
doobom, jacq.. how's bb? ok liao?

junnie,

ya, his lower teeth popped. Now is upper teeth.

Just tried potatoes and carrot w his for breakfast just now, he take it!!! but crossing my finger for lunch.

sylvia.. soo good u can leave @12noon.. ours got to work till 1pm

chriz.. brig's breakfast sooo 'delicious' one arrr? got potatoes & carrot? eat w wat? then lunch will b even more delicious liao lo??? haha..
mine breakfast oni milk (i feed @6am today), dun tink nanny will give anything till 11+ porridge 4 lunch time.

morning junnie!

ur gal so so pretty! how come ur gal & boy's figure so diff?? :p

clare's fever is down now. but cant say for later. saw pd again last nite. he said fever will persist for 3 to 4 days. was concerned last note cos fever shot up to 40C but pd said it's ok. he mentioned it's not the height fo the fever dat i shld be worried, rather it's the behavior of the child. there r so many school of thoughts....

dodo: i share the same sentiments with unice. i will follow hb cos will definitely miss him lotz.. think ur hb will surely miss u and bb lots too... let me know if ur hb's posting to SA is confirmed cos me and hb will be going there next yr for hols! will surely visit u!

clare usually takes abt 3 milk feeds also. each feed averaging 120ml. so i will try to squeeze in one more feed if possible.

but surprisingly, with the viral infection & high fever hitting her this time, her appetite for milk seems to be better. these few days, she takes in ard 500 to 650ml.

domboom: how is jerry?hope he is feeling better today! thanks to ur advice. just went to WTS to buy the 1st toothpaste.

junnie: yes, will definitely keep lance in my prayers!

unice: u r considering a change in career to teaching? talk to more teachers before u make the decision.. i feel teachers these days r very different from our days. hv many teachers fren who are complaining. (not not i wanna discourage u) but just hear from more pple before u decide since this is quite a major decision.

Hello all...

junniez.. ur two lil darlings really cute la!

jacq: glad to hear clare's fever is down. hope it'll go away soon ok.
speedy recovery!

unice: thanks thanks! :D

dodo: chloe daily intake about 5 feeds of 5 oz milk on top of 2 porridge meals
her 5 oz milk is 4scoops of FM.. have to be diluted to avoid constipation issue

Morning... *Panda greeting*
Manage to sneak in a while as helper is with JErry for his feed now.

I sleep and wake up on and off, taking Jerry's temp. Gave him med. when fever reach 37.6c last evening. His temp. stagnant @ 37.0+ (below 37.5c) then. Till now, still the same. I suspect due to overheating as he is rejecting even water these two days. His upper gums are swollen, thanks to the teething of the upper one. Trying to feed him bit of barley since this morning. His feeds are not getting any better, still rejecting. Hopefully things get better.

Thanks mummies for your concern. =)

junnie,
Wow... I luv the pic of ur gal & Lance. Envy the jiejie & didi. Me still struggling with this notti boy, already wanna PENG liao! U are another brave & power mummy with 2 nice little ones! =)
The 1st teeth toothpaste... I try to brush for jerry every nite, to make it a habit. I can say that he keeps calm when I massage on his swollen gums, he kinda enjoys it.

wah..finally got some mummies join in the thread.. but i wanna go home liao la!!! haha..

jacq.. u mean their size? last time my gal also michelin like didi but duno y fm 1yrs onwards she shrink!! they both at birth not big babies, my gal 2.25kg, bb lance oni 2.55kg!! gynae said i 'small size' so cant expect big babies.. but after 1mth, their size blown up like ballon!! i oni hope bb lance will b back to normal size for his age not of any obesity..

doobom, chintz.. thks, u all also can, jia you 4 #2!

doobom, jacq, glad to knw bb fever under control. jacq, did PD said infection anywhere?

okie, catch up again, me leaving office now..need to go back dentist again cos my stupid bridging shaking again, hiaz..

chintz
i want to come to forum but i can't find the time to do so. the past week has been crazy, wake up at 5.15pm to pump, out of house by 6.20am to drive like a mad woman to sch. once reach sch, its like a mad woman on fire, dashing from class to class, firing at students for not handing in their work, photocopying worksheets to keep them occupied n try to do some decent lesson planning/teaching along the way. no time to surf net or eat proper meals. :D

worst still, got a workshop n last min meeting which effectively kept me in sch until 5.30pm for 2 days. i feel like i'm clocking 12 hr work n best part, i still have to lug back all my students work to mark/sort out. come back still have prepare for next day lesson.

contact hours with my boy is also drastically lesser nowadays. my only best day was yesterday where i just threw everything in my cart and lug it back home so that i can steal some time to play with my boy.

unice,
haha... yah, agree with jacq. must think carefully b4 accepting lor. the turnover and burnout rate is v.high. i've teacher friends who quit the sector after finishing bond, some transferred sch, some decide to further studies n to get some time out (i was one of them!!! ops!). it requires alot n alot of sacrifice to go into teaching field. has lots of pros n cons. on the good side, as long as u dun teach language arts, life shouldn't be as crazy as mine! n for sch hols, we do have a few days of break! :D

dodo
ur boy so cute, can verbalise already. mine still can't. haha... its ok, i'll just wait patiently for the day he says his first word. at the moment, just input more to him (if i can), hopefully he will output some day!

ya, my boy quite picky over food. sometimes can reject his porridge once he tried the first spoon. i dun make that an issue in front of him though, just clear up, wash him up n give him his feed some time after tat. he's not a very independent self-feeder, which i dun really think should be much of a concern. coz my niece was given't any opporunity to self-feed but she's going onto 2 now and can eat by herself for certain foods.

but if u wan, can give him some finger food to let him play around. just be prepared for the mess! :D

dooborn/jacq
hope ur babies resume back to their cheery selves soon. must also rest as much as possible coz its v.taxing to take care of children when they're ill.

okie, gtg liao. bb sleeping, better try to work on my lesson prep/vocab tests, etc. at least achieve something or else, when monday comes, i'll be so dead!

happy weekend! tata!

garden_dreamz: so long no see u online! come to the forum more often! yah my teacher friends also complain v busy during school term n they hate it when pple comment that teachers' work very relax...

doobom: glad that J is feeling better now.. can ask you how to prepare barley water? baby YZ hates water n sometimes his lips v dry scared he dehydrated. where to get those non-sugared barley to boil?

re solids: i think baby YZ is the last to start porridge. he still on 1 solid (rice cereal for dinner) n 4 milk feeds per day. so his milk intake is ard 800-840ml per day..
today trying to make veg stock n porrige for him. hoping it will turn out fine.. *fingers crossed*

hello again,

jacq: thanks for the link.
yes chloe still wake up for midnite feed. feeding time is about this:
6am milk
9am milk
12pm porridge
3pm milk
6pm porridge
8pm/before sleep milk
midnite milk

Back from JB for eye checkup. Tagged Raph along...Luckily he is very cooperative even during the jam...

Yesterday I just tell some mummies he got only 2 teeth. That night, when he is giggling with his dad, I saw the 1 upper tooth come out already....Wow, it is like out 2mm already then i noticed.

Teachers are quite well-paid right? By justifying the work to do...maybe it is likewise. I know that teacher's bonus based on student performance right? It is not so easy afterall.

ecookie,
Normally, we buy the 'English' barley from the dried food section @ supermarket. From what I noe, 'English' barley is better than 'Chinese' Barley.
Juz boil them in pot of water and then serve when cool. It taste very bland, almost tasteless. We dun add in any sugar in this case.
But do take note that barley water is 'liang' and not to be given on daily basis (if I m not wrong). For us, we only give when we feel that boys are getting abit heaty (such as 'red' lips, teething period, etc).

thanks doobom! will check out at supermarket!

may i know how much porridge u mummies are feeding baby for a meal?
anyone of u has the pigeon feeding bowl? is one bowl (the bigger section) enough?

doobom, how does an english barley look like??

ecookie: i'm using that pigeon bowl too. usually i scoop more of the bigger section. sometimes chloe can finish, sometimes not. usually i see her cue.. if she's playing with the food in her mouth and chewing reallllll slow, that means she's full already

garden_dream.. teacher really soooo busy arrrr?? like v chiam leh... dun overwork urself, jus do watever ur limit can tk lor.. tk care ya..

perlicia.. R's front upper tooth so fast 2mm arr? mine can only see white white... i waiting for it to cut thru if not bb really got hardtime chewing all sorts of things as long he can grab - cos gum itchy i tink!

ecookie, chintz.. the english barley can get fm any provision shop/supermarket/medical shop, my mum use to buy those 'tin' type, got'chicken' brand or something like tat, they comes in small packet too....the chinese barley size is abt 2x the english barely (can get at medical shop).

doobom, izzit? i thot english barley more 'liang' than chinese one?? anyway, i also blur blur which is which, so at times i add both to brew!! hahha..sometime i also add little bit of 'dong gua tiao' (dried winter melon) when brewing cos if not my gal wont drink leh, the taste w/o sugar is super 'bland'. if i cook plain barley, i'll use to make milk for both of them, of cos, cant do tat daily, may b once in two wks..

junnie,

ah brig must eat whenever my hb and i r having meal, ifnot he will get cracky.. haha

He has a morning feed at 5-6- am etc whenever he is awake. the breakfasr is ard 8-9 with us. usually is potoaoes, carrot, cheese, bicit, cherio, bread.

Yesterday lunch is pumpkin w br He finished it!! but diffeent he rejected.. millet w brocolis... sign. Seems tt he only likeall the ground veg, potoes, sweet pototoes, pumplin etc.
end up he ate plain white rice fr my bowl .. and he ejoyed.

junnie,
wow, your children very cute!!! i like your girl's hair
and boy, aren't lance very cute in the suit..hahah...make me wanna carry him. when i see him on 20th july, can let me carry him? haha...

welcome back garden dreamz!

re milk feed: my girl also waking up for milk very frequently in the night! dunno if she's teething or what.. will whimper and make noise and i just latch her.. after a while, she goes back to sleep. can be 2 times a night leh..3am, 5am! aiyoh...

ok, now abt Aria's SL photoshoot. It was a very pleasant, fun and nice experience with SL. Their place is very clean, nice, comfy and cosy! Really no regret signing up with them. Aria was very cooperative throughout. But alas couldn't make her take the sleeping beauty shot! she just wouldn't let me put her down on the floor! Didn't use much props also, only a pair of green wings, a polka dot flower pot, a pail and letter blocks. May be because we bring so many clothes and 3 costumes for her.. haha...So, don't worry if you have not many clothes to bring, they will use a lot of props on them

Aria really look so comical in the bumble bee suit, the cow and bunny head gear.(Thanks ika for the lubang!) And suprisingly, she did not make much fuss when we put it on her. I could not stop laughing when she was on the cow head gear. It was so heavy and big on her headn that she had to use her body to balance the weight..she was swinging here and there trying not to fall side way..haha...

we shot from around 3.30 to 6.30pm. Sean was very accomodative. Last minute i requested for certain shots and he just agreed. Really nice working with him and adelena. Adelena will help to engage the baby and catch the baby attention. Thumbs up for their very good service!Hubby already talking abt signing up with them for 1 year old PS! haha...

any mummy knows how to treat cradle cap?? i just notice that aria has this problem yesterday when i combed through her hair!!!aiyoh, what a blur mummy...

Hi aria jo,

Good to hear that you have a good session with SL ytd. Guess my boy is the onli notti and uncooperative one...

But nevermind lah... if photos turn out not well... take again when he is bigger... haha!
Yez agree with you that the couple is indeed very professional and yet accommodative. Enjoyed working with them too.
Looking forward to the group seesion on 19jul. Hopefully Kester will be more cooperative that day... keeping fingers crossed.
BTW when is your photo selection??