(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

sanbebe,

You can try grinding your brown rice 1st before cooking. Either till powdery or sand-like, depending on your bb development.
In this case, i didn't need to soak the rice.
Normal pot, about 20-30mins in slow fire.
Slow cooker, about 2hr++.
I prefer slow cooker as I don't need to watch the fire.

kindermusic... I guess I have to check with them see when they can conduct another trial. Any mummies interested too?

bbwow,
same regardless of day or night. He simply won't sleep until he's carried and rocked.

Zhenzhen,
So far I've adhered to attachment method as in respond to his needs whenever I can cos I thought this will inculcate baby's sense of security and trust. Maybe also bcos he was a tiny preemie weighing only 2.1kg at birth so i feel very heartpain whenever i see him wailing his lungs out.

Ya, the cry it out method can be very heartbreaking and earbreaking too! I tried last night and he cried non stop for 2 hrs so I gave in in the end. So useless right? Haha

jas,
By right cannot eat la. But if you are comfy, then go ahead.

dodo,
i left think right think and think everywhere, i think Im gg to get a playpen later instead of playyard. Playpen seems to suits my needs more for now.

ginger
Can't help but kept scrolling up to see lyn's pic.. so adorable huh.. enjoying her lolly so much... soon she gonna hv sweet tooth..tks to her mommy! hehehe

totoro
hahaha.. i was giggling behind my counter looking at yr baby photo, n my students gave me dis blank face, "huh is she ok?".. haha

Garden
Yes! Yr baby like mine.. Danny will only take his milk when he's sleeping. Dat 210ml will be gone in 20 mins only when he's sleeping.. dun ever dream he'll drink dat much when he's much awake... but lucky thing, Danny still drink plain water + glucose in it diligently..hehee

hihi mummies,

so many posts for me to catch up! later shall spend some time reading...

mummies who registered for the Kindermusik class:

it's CONFIRMED!!! YES!!!
later i will send out an email to u all on the details and payment... cya!

hapi fifi,

Read from somewhere that you can try to put your baby in the cot when he is drownsy. Then in the long run u no need to carry him to sleep. Or else set a routine so that will give him a clue to sleep. Another thing is mayb he is too tired. An overtired baby will have difficulty in getting to sleep. I used to fight with my baby when it is sleeping time and now is better when I set a routine and put him sleep earlier.

eil, i'm interested in the trial, if it can be on sat. sun i can't make it.

hapi fifi, the first few days are the worst! but if you cannot tahan, then don't try. not worth the stress for both baby and mummy.

zhen zhen, jas, eil,
Thanks for the advice on cooking brown rice porridge
I'm now cooking one for testing. If successful then will start cooking for Jav...heh heh...

Jas,
May i know where did u get the elephant brand organic brown rice?

re sleeping: normally at 9pm i ll just dimmed light and bring baby YZ to his cot then lie beside him.. he will flip non stop and i will turn him back non stop. he seldom cry cos he tot i playing with him *faint*
but normally after 20mins max (normally take 10+mins) , he ll just turn to his side and hold on to his pillow n suck pacifier. then i pat abit he ll sleep liao.

but yesterday, he slept at 9 then wakey up at 10+ refused to go to sleep till 11pm! he just lie there looking tired but dont want shut his eyes! so weird! then woke up twice at 3am + 6am.. me zombie today. sigh

dun know if he s overstimulated during the day or teething? hope will go back to normal soon

sleep:
myra sleeps when i sleep, i turn off the tv and lights and sleep and she sleeps next to me, after 5 mins, she knock out liao, usually between 9 30 to 10 30pm, so we sleep same time. hehe. if i come home late, she usually sleeps after my maid give her milk feed about this time cos she will eck eck eck for milk.

FM:
I bot isomil, hehe... see if she likes soy milk better. cos or else no chance to wean her off BM, need to moniter the next few days now.

I was juz commenting abt it.. and today she fell.
It was only a 20cm drop to the carpeted floor, but it was enough to make her cry her lungs out. I tot she was already going to sleep, so I left her in the usual corner of our bed, with all the pillows and bolsters surrounding her. I think her new found skill proves to be too good for all this barriers, and she climbed over one of the bolster and fell off.
Good thing we dismantled the bed frame and placed the mattress on the floor instead. I really cannot imagine what will happen if she falls from a higher height. Im pretty shaken as it is, and I do not even wanna think too much abt the 'what ifs'.
Held her so tight juz now to comfort her. Called hb and almost broke down. Brave girl stopped crying almost immediately when I cuddled her. Showered her with lotsa kisses and nursed her till she dozed off.
Looks like we're going shopping for a playpen tonight.

ecookie
YZ so good. Easy to make him sleep hor. Everytime i put sherry to her cot, she will play inside and then stand up. don't want to sleep on her own. I have to carry her and pat her to sleep.

gingerleaf & totoro... u both v good making up my day though i down w block nose/cough cant breathe, cant help laughing seeing the photos posted.. kelly & lyn sooooooo CUTE!!!
haiyo lyn fall?? sayang sayang, thk god the ht is not so high..

jonasmum.. fm the pix, jonas got teeth also?

bbwow.. i use normal pot to cook, abt half hr-45min congee 'gao tim' liao! i soaked the rice for abt half hr or longer b4hand, oni con is to 'look after fire' to avoid 'chao da'! i use slow cooker oni i v 'free' cos bb cant wait for lunch/dinner.

chintz.. i nvr knw can steam porridge, do u hv to add alot of water inside or jus like cooking rice? v interesting, feel like trying.. btw, re the salt matter, my nanny also add in porridge leh.. she said oni alittle bit wont harm cos is good for bb as they perspire alot???? (not add salt until u can taste it..like wat one of the mummy posted in a day cant intake more than 1g. for my case, i did told her try to avoid if possible cos bb lance got UTI prblm, but i duno she'll listen to my 'instruction' or not, at times, really hv to close one eye.. but i did heard abt soaking rice in abit oil/water to make it more smooth, usually those congee stall outside did tat...

re sleeping..lately bb cant sleep well at night cos got cough/block nose too, really duno how to extract the phlegm, taken medication still sooo much??? usually he'll sleep ard 8+9+pm in the sarong, then wake up again 4nite feed btw 11+pm till 12+am,if i cont'd to swing, then nxt wake up will b 2+am, so usually i'll try to feed abt 12+am. he'll wake up abt again btw 5+am to 7am for milk, timing quite 'zun', cant let u 'tao gai' one!

gingerleaf
man, poor lyn, hope you get your playpen or play yard soon, do you have a cot, put her in cot in the meantime. take care.

gingerleaf: aiyoo... poo lyn. sayang her for mi k...

sleeping : mi lucky, my ger slp throughout d nite fm 830pm to 7pm... but dan, do ur bb clinch to u esp during nite time b4 slp. mine will cry her lung out wen i'm out of her sight. even my husband oso cannot pacify her. my mum said jialet, every nite she nid me to go to slp. if not she did rather wait....

tiffy: yah but i think when he really learn to crawl or stand wont be that easy liao..

gingerleaf: oh no. mummy ecookie sayang lyn.. lucky is from mattres.. dun worry lyn is brave girl. quick go get the playpen just to be safe!

Re: Sleeping
Jav was trained to sleep when he was 4 mths old. I had to use the 'Cry It Out' method as he woke up almost every 2 hrs to feed at night. I was so tired so I decided to train him to sleep.

He was very stubborn. Cried for 3 hrs to sleep and then lesser hours throughout the night. This went on for 1 mth then he started to sleep through the night.

After he slept through the night, I decided to use the 'Cry It out' method again to train him off my breast and sleep on his own. As predicted, the few times, he cried for 30mins or less to sleep. Nowadays, he just fall asleep on his own after I put him in his cot and gave him a good night kiss.

It's really heartache to hear him cry but what I had learned from CIO is no pain no gain.

hi mummies! I long time no post cos busy with my work and schedule with to-ing and fro-ing from woodlands to punggol day and nite!

I got a question, not sure answered before or not. How do you ladies feed milk with the solids? after or before porridge/cereal? any interval in between? Or immediate before/after porridge/cereal?

my mum doesn't feed milk immediately after porridge cos she scared bb too full. i thot it should be that way, cos otherwise milk feed become in-between?

Also, do you ladies feed water and when/how much?

Need some advise! btw, 7mth liao can feed cauliflower?

Appreciate all inputs/comments! Thank you v much!!

sanbebe, wah! you managed to survive for 1 whole month using the CIO method? i took 1.5 weeks already i almost gave up. looks like hannah's not that stubborn after all.

junniez, regarding steaming porridge, i'm not sure which is better really. they say steam can retain nutrients, but very difficult to watch fire n water. or maybe it's just me who dunno how to cook porridge hehe

salt issue, we told MIL about the kidney issues. i hope she don't repeat the old method again. i still disagree to soak the rice with oil n salt. to make the porridge soft, i grind/blend it before feeding.

lyn, don't cry ok. all the aunties here sayang you.

gingerleaf, quick quick go buy your play pen!

bye mummies, i'm going stroller shopping now!

sanbebe: yah i remmeber u were using CIO method that time. glad it works out for you in the end!

velvet: now i feed my baby 1 solid meal per day (cereal + purees) and that replace one of his milk feed so i never feed him milk before/after the solid meal. the next mik feed is ard 4 hrs away..

water is a battle but i try to spoon feed him whenever i feed him solids or thru bottle (cannot make it one) in between milk feeds.. think he drinks at MOST 20-50ml per day. SIGH

sanbebe,
oh my, Jav still crying for milk every 2 hrs at 4 mths old? must be very tiring for you. poor Jav, poor you. glad things are better now.
so sorry you had to use the CIO method, very heartache.

velvet,
i dont give milk immediately after solids. my schedule is something like this,
9am milk,
11am solids,
2pm milk,
5pm solids,
8pm milk.

i feed water during solids and at other times as and when needed, but lesser than milk quantity.

cauliflower is suppose to intro at 8mths.

velvet,
i tried gina ford's weaning method (ie to feed some milk before solid then feed remaining milk after baby finishes solid) but wasn't very successful so i did some trial & error & modified his schedule:
7am - milk
10.30am - milk then followed by cereal mixed with milk
1.30pm - 3 cubes of puree (i try to give 1 fruit, 1 veggie & 1 carbo puree for a balanced diet)
2.30pm - milk
6pm - milk
6.30pm - 3 cubes of puree
10pm - milk (I'm hoping to slowly do away with this feed once he starts eating more in day time)

Re: cauliflower
This is one of the recommended first foods for babies. I introduced this to Aidan when he started solids at 6 months. Remember to choose those without any brown spots. Cut away the stem portion & steam till soft. Then blend into puree & you may put into ice cube trays & freeze. Actually Aidan doesn't like the taste of cauliflower (and spinach). I tasted the puree & I guess the veggie smell & taste is a tad too strong. So what I did was to add these to his cereal! Haha

Hi chintz, thank you. his double-chin is well-concealed by the collar mah. Hahaha. Hopefully he will slim down when he starts to crawl lah.

Haha Sanbebe …. Yep called him the rapper. “Yo-Yo”.

Hello ecookie yes yes must recover asap if not wait little jonas will catch it! Jonas’s tight deep lines because he fat haha my girlfriends call him hamburger now… but got such belief? Hehehe best if can get a sister will be great! I hope to have 1 boy and 2 girls ley.

Hi junnie, yes jonas has 4 teeth at the bottom jaw.... strange huh? ..i thought usually 2 bottom 2 top ...

Hi hapi fifi, I also starting to worry how I can make Jonas sleep on his own.

Now I bfeed him till he sleep. Kind of regret creating this habit …now breast milk flow slow liao worry if no more breast milk I will not know how to make Jonas sleep. Jialat.

also mummies, are all your babies very "busy"? Jonas is always either flipping all over the bed or trying to make whoever is holding him put him a standing position. he is constantly 'busy'. is this okie?

wow sanbebe, i am impressed! CIO! even if i want my mummy also will not allow it. she too sayang jonas. and besides you the old folks always say - cry liao when wind goes in! ..... so now cracking my brain on how to teach him to sleep without my breast.

sh**** clare just fell from the master bed! recently, migrated her to zz with us cos she's sick and we wanted to monitor her closely. put bolster beneath her legs followed by pillow. still she managed to squeezed her way thru. was in the living room when i heard a loud thud! quickly ran into the room when i saw my poor darling on the floor.
She actually DIN cry! oni started crying when she saw my kan chiongness. then quietened down when i sang her "rock a bye baby"

my poor bb, already sick and mummy din watch over her properly

hi jacq, dun be hard on yourself. accidents happen. almost let jonas fell off the bed twice today too. he was flipping and rolling in the bed today. he flip so fast that i almost did not catch him on time!

hi mummies, thanks for all the tips on the solids. feel clearer now. ohmigosh, so many many many posts to catch up!

Feel so sad to have missed out on the gymboree trial. so some of the pics and it definitely seemed fun!

Speaking of illnesses, actually that's what happened to my gal hence we missed the trial. Karine was having runny nose and that was the weekend (hence missing the trial on the sat!!) we brought her for her follow up with the pd cos the previous visit and meds prescribed weren't doing too well for her. that follow up visit was the beginning of a series of unfortunate events!! we had to do a blood test and x ray and at the same time, do a bout of nebulizing at the clinic itself. we were then sent home with like a dozen meds to take (see my fb pics and u'll know what i mean) as well rent the nebuliser back. we then had to return for another follow up the subsequent wed morn.

On Tues nite, my grandma passed away. Wed morn went back to TMC for the follow up and pd said we needed to ward karine that very day, intensify the nebulizing, medicine as well as undergo physiotherapy. So, me and hubby took leave, which we could take compassionate leave anyways, and we both stayed lor. So there we were, i had to also run to the wake, almost every night, and accompany our bb and make sure she is well hydrated, cos her appetite decrease a lot! I really didn't want her to be dehydrated and end up to be put on a drip! which thankfully that didn't happen.

She got really bored in the room though and became really really sticky to me. she also hated the physiotherapy, hated taking the meds, and only thing i think she enjoyed was the nebulizing. she seemed to be fascinated with the mask and the steam and the sound and stays really still during the treatment. bb was discharged on sat, which was the same day of the last day of the funeral. which meant we had to settle the discharge, hubby drop me off for the final rites and he brought bb home on his own. it was truly a tiring, hospital stay itself is already tiring and draining, let alone running 2 places and having to deal with the mental/emotional stress of both types of anxiety!!

All these because, I'm pretty sure, i passed the cold/flu bug to her from the office. sigh, feel so guilty about it.

so now gotta be really careful, cos apparently doc said that this would be her reaction to such bugs and that we gotta be really careful in terms of hygiene, ensuring distance if any adults are sick and avoid handling the bb. but, how to do that when bf-ing leh?! anyway now i try to stay away from sick colleagues also lah.

oops, sorry for the long post, didn't manage to ramble on about this to anyone so thot of just typing it all out here.

hey jacq, i realised that bbs/kids are really sensitive to our kan cheong-ness. apparently that's what happened to my 11mth old nephew also. according to my sil, when at home he falls, he's ok one. only when at our mil place when he have some little accidents, and when mil become v kan cheong, then he will wail to get the attention. 11mth old only leh! already savvy about such things!!

hi jonasmum, my gal yes. she treats me/hubby as her mountain, climbing all over and trying to squirm or reach for things or hair or specs. busy good what! heh...

oh, btw, good to get insurance! My hospital stay is fully covered! I also bought the AXA plan that pays an additional amount on top of my existing coverage, some tie up with TMC at that time.

sanbebe,
my sister always order in cartons then got free delivery. so i took it from her. But i heard that its also available in Sheng Siong supermarket (she mentioned Bedok branch has). This brown rice is much more tastier than the rest i tried before. think it cost 7-8 bucks per kg. (note: it only comes in 1kg form)

velvet: must be very tiring for you during that period! good to hear that ur gal has since recovered. yah when the little ones are sick, we felt it the most. v heartpain one.
and good thing you got the insurance too. hospital bills can b very exp!

jonasmum: wow 1 boy 2 girls! hee.. good lah. i think 3 is a nice no. but for me, think at most 2 ha. and dun worry, my boy also v active. dun want sit down one, will arch back till u bring him to a standing position then sometimes still not enuff, must bring him walk ard. v tiring.

jacq: oh no, is clare okie.. but i think she is a brave girl, never cry!
pray for speedy recovery for her!

Now we really have to watch out for the babies. Raphael can also squeeze himself thru the obstacles (pillows and bolster).

and every time when i am out of sight, he will kekekeeke very loudly.when i ignore this, his tears will drop. Once carry him, smile on his face already. My mil said that i am home then this will happened....

Also, I notice that my boy want to be carried very often now, put him on the bumper mat, immediately the crying starts. I guess that the grandparents carried him too much. I ask them, they denied.

Hi all, thanks for the concerns. Lyn is okie and is still very much a monkey as ever. As usual, she was crawling ard the bed and was trying to snatch my hp this morning while I was replying to hippo's smses.
Thanks garden and hippo for the smses and concern!! =D Heh, warmed the cockles of my heart.

gingerleaf: good to hear lyn is active as ever :D

velvet: sorry to hear about what u went thru. most importantly is now karine is well

jacq: agree with ecookie, she's a brave girl. sayang her on my behalf

velvet sorry to hear yr loss of yr grandma ... hugz to you ... hope yr gal is ok now ... hmmm long stay at TMC ... rest well too ok for yrself ...

jonasmum:yes yes yes my boy is also super duper busy ... we are also a mountain too for him

jacq hmmm carlson also fell from the table yesterdy night ...he was trying to stand but too slippy liao too fell and hurt the head on the ground