(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

dodo: thanks so much for ur concern and tips. am so touched! reallee appreciate ur effort to look for my number at the yahoo group to sms me. thansks babe

btw: saw ur post of going to SA. me and hb going there for holiday next year.. if ur family is posted there, WE will surely visit u!!!

how long will u all be away?

jacq,
my gal oso starts thrashing ard for her nite feed lately too! Juz now tried to feed her but it was so diff! I wonder when will it stop.
Hows clare getting on?? Better alreadi?

gingerleaf: she got well on fri nite.. this morning started coughing and by evening, nose oso started running. pd says might get worse for the next few days..

nanny saw her this morning, said her chubby cheeks gone

oh dear, the weather is so bad its making everyone sick! Hope she gets well soon too!
Nvm, next time I see her, I help u pinch her till her cheeks swollen again! hehe

Mummies, I know this is gg to shock u, but I couldnt help it but post her pics! Hahaha.

1446101.jpg

This is yummie!

1446102.jpg

One more bite!

1446103.jpg

Heehee, mummy, this thing is nice!

1446104.jpg

Heeehee, you are giving me more??

She really enjoyed my ice lolly! Initial she was hesitant abt trying it, then after her 1st lick, she keep coming back for more! When I moved away and refused to let her lick anymore, she crawl towards me n tried to clamber up my body n kept pulling the hand thats holding it! Hehe.

kindermusic...
few days didn't come in here and I miss this chance

Have been waiting for this trial for awhile already!
Any mummies if last min cannot attend, must let me know ok!! Must PM me ok!

sigh, msny babies getting sick now, tn weather msybe....Sean oso kena fever since yesterday afternoon suddenly, oso dunno y...maybe sunday went out whole day and weather was no good...
sleepless night for me..... sean oso cant sleep, kept making noise...now he is sitting in front of my lap top watching Barney....zzzzzzzz

gingerleaf, wahahaha! i like lyn's look.. reali enjoying her lolly...!

annie, poor bb.. do take gd care of him n urself ya?

junnie, drool... i also wana see bb lance n his michelin arms! so cute lor.. tink if i see him in person, i can't resist hugging him!!!

CM, do bring bb to see the PD... at least u know even if he's ok.. rest ur worries ma..

totoro, she's so happy to be inside the basket!

fifi, dun worie abt the hair la.. mine cut since 2nd n 3rd mth also take soooooooooo long to grow.. ha!

hmm seems like alot of babies falling sick. must be the bad weather! hope they will get well sooN! mummies pls take care of urselves too for we need to be healthy to take good care of them!

gingerleaf: ha lyn likes it hor! so cute!baby YZ scared of cold things. we always put a cold orange in his high chair tray .. then he ll touch it only to realise its cold then he will quickly pull his hand away.. then gingerly touch again. damn funy

garden_dreamz,

J only drinks max 100ml for each feed. Somemore have to coax, sing, dance for 1 hour then he drink 100ml. sometimes only 60ml. Sigh... He doesn't like water too. If feed during sleepy mode even worse, he'll arch his back and scream. But this mommy just have to 'ren xing' as long as there's milk going into him. haha

re: feeding cereal
he loves his cereals now! So strange. Watery, lumpy, anything also he eats as long as mix with cereal. I just tried porridge he also eats. but he doesn't take pure fruit or vege puree.

Yesterday my colleague brought her 2 month old bb gal and I helped to carry while she distribute the cakes. The bb gal kept looking at me and coo-ing. Everyone said there's a saying "If baby keeps looking at you and smiling, means no. 2 is coming!!" Is that true?!?! *GASP*

hi mummies, morning. wow u all so early start liao.

Any1 have bb porridge recipes to share? Mi cook till dunno wat to prepare liao. she's like eating the same every few days. mi c liao oso sianz
Btw, my ger recently had alot of phelgm . anyway to clear it har??? So heartpain to c her like being stuck wif it.

Jacq : so coincident. wat's ur hb surname... find 1 day both clare shld mit.

hippo : aiyo. being waiting for vri long liao ler. its like not growing lidat. sum time wonder did my ger grow well anot.

gingerleaf: so young u let her taste ice-cream liao. my hb sure scold me if i did. Ur ger so cute. njoying it so muz. heez

Morning all. MIA for few days, my Chloe was also down with fever on saturday
GP checked and said it's throat inflammation, said chloe is too heaty all along. He said, "see her red lips!! Don't think red looks adorable, that's too heaty!!"

errr...

but anyway, glad to inform she's all recovered yesterday.. though she's lost some weight (i think! face become smaller liao, no longer a chubby baby in this thread hehe)

it's really tiring to take care of an ill baby, all mummies, pls take good care
and speedy recovery to all babies that are not feeling well right now!

gambate!!!

mummies, do your babies seem to have prob passing motion after switching to follow on milk?

mine used to poo alternate day last time when on stage 1 milk. then poo everyday after i intro solids cos of the veg+fruit puree i guess. but ever since i switched him to stage 2 milk since last week , he didnt poo for 2 days and yest poo till cried abit. though it comes out in the end, butt hole abit red.. see liao so sad.

is this just a passing phrase cos they not yet accustomed or just need to be more diligent in giving water n veg/fruit purees cos stage 2 is more heaty in nature?

ecookie,

I think could be due to Stage 2 milk and also heaty.

J also had the same problem. And cry whenever he poos. But I feed him alot of water, even eating cereal. A few mouthful of cereal, then feed water

Re: Playmat
Any mummies know the difference between floor mat and bumper mat?? I saw the description in SSW website but can't tell!

ecookie, chloe faces the same prob, on and off constipation. doc recommends to dilute the FM when feeding baby, and yes, feed more water, water and water!

bbwow, chintz: thanks just got to be more diligent with water. sigh. n he HATES water. i try to feed water in between cereal feeds and he got frustrated and cry out loud for cereal. arg!

bbwow,
Sometimes my boy reject his milk, I get some stuff (e.g. mobile phone, milk bottle cover, pacifier) for him to hold to distract. And it helps most of the time. U may like to try. If not, get hb/helper to do something (e.g. talk/sing) to him.
I understand the feeling of bb rejecting milk. I can get so upset & resort to spoon feeding him. Takes 30-40mins each feed. No choice, really need to get him take his milk.
J is going thru teething again? May takes a while for him to take back his milk.

re: constipation
Can increase intake of fruits for the day if bb dun like water. Scrap fresh fruits (e.g. pear, apple, banana) n serve. Amount about 30ml-50ml of fruits at least a day. For my boy, he luv banana.

doobom: spoonfeed, he wont spit out.. i try to spoonfeed baby YZ water but he always let it flow out of his mouth DELIBERATELY one leh.

or is it cos water he doesnt like? sigh

ecookie,
Yes, he dun want to swallow the milk n deliberately let it flow out. Then I quickly 'hoop' the milk back into his mouth with the spoon. Haha... Telling him, 'Baby, drink your milk.' Need to pacify him to drink. Talk, sing, play, whatever u can think of. Thatz why 30-40mins.

When poo is quite hard, we will boil barley n give. If not, make fruit juice to drink. Give scrapped fruits most of the time.

bbwow,
can try to que J to open his mouth big big for the milk. U show him the 'Ahhh... Mummm...'. Sometimes it helps too. =D

Morning Mummies. How are your weekend?

me down with severe cough and running nose. just took my medicine waiting for the drugs to kick in. **yawn**

gingerleaf, lyn is so cute!

Seems like alot of babies are falling sick! wish all good health goes to all our little darlings.

jonasmum, take gd care!

not only e baies are falling sick. i'm also in agony with my fever n watsnot.. grrr... very irritating leh. take panadol n it doesnt work lo..

Sorie to say... Weather is real bad recently. Try to stay indoors if possible. Though it sounds real bored to stay indoors n spoil the weekend away. As virus is everywhere, maybe best place for BB is home sweet home. Anywhere is nice & wonderful so long we are having FUN with our BB. Prevention is better than cure.

All mummies who are caught with the naughty viruses,
Take gd care. Drown yourself with tons & tons of water! =) Speedy recovery!

re kindermusik,
wahaha..i'm so blur..yeah, suppose to put ariajo + aria.. i cut and paste and forgot to replace the word properly.. oh hubby can only stand outside huh..aiyoh, hubby will be really disappointed
ok, let me check out with him first yah..

hippo,
haha..'fu chi xiang'..keke....aiyoh, adri retro funny really cute leh..like she's trying to adjust the sunglasses..she has no nose bridge? sure or not? her nose look so pointy and the nose bridge like very high.. so envious!

so many new mummies and babies!!
shayla has really big eyes and lots of hair!! so cute! i think can tie 2 pony tail liao..

and baby aidan is so handsome!he's pure chinese? really look like mix blood leh..i think because he has big round eyes and double eyelids and his face shape also like those ang moh baby..

and clare is so cute too..her smile look like "fa chai" cat smile..so cute!!

haha, kelly is so cute and happy in the toy bag..haha...

gingerleaf,
yes, you did shock me!! OMG, lyn is taking ice cream! she sure enjoy man...hehe...by the way, i really love her chin..hehe...make her so girlish..

oh dear, 2 babies sick, kayden and chloe..hope they'll recover asap so that mummies will not be so worried..

thanks hippo.
in the past sick sick lor ...but now i am so worry will spread to Jonas. so obediently take my medicine and sleep as much as possible.

a little pic of jonas to share with all mummies here.
1446592.jpg

Speedy recovery to all sick mummies and babies. Rest well and drink loads of water. I'm also sneezing these few days..so scared I'll catch a cold. Hv been taking vit C to prevent.

Hey new mummies, WELCOME to our thread !!
The babies are soooo cute !

HELP
I wanna cook brown rice porridge but how long do I need to soak the rice? Or can I just cook it straight away without soaking? Is soaking the rice make it softer? Sorry 1st time cooking ...heh heh..

jonasmum: take care and recover soon! so many mummies+babies falling sick nowadays.
jonas thighs got deep lines! 1 line dont know mean ur next one is a boy/girl haha.

jacq, maybe your girl dun need dream feed anymore? i used to dream feed my girl at 11pm. but she start to reject, so i stopped giving her. she can last from 8+ to next morning 7+.

ecookie, hannah also has problems pooping. PD says stage 2 FM has more protein, so must feed more water. like what chintz says, can make the FM more dilute. can try feeding papaya or prunes too.

sanbebe, i usually soak the brown rice first. brown rice takes very long to cook, so must be prepared.

Welcome all new mummies here!

Gingerleaf,
Lyn surely look enjoying the ice cream..but so young can eat?

Sanbebe,
Brown rice...actually depends on the quality of the brown rice. Mine is the elephant brand organic brown rice..no need to soak..but my friend she needs to soak overnight. One thing i know of the brown rice, to cook till like cereal paste, it really take a long time...i in the end blend it! hee..faster.

Oh my, so many mummies & babies falling sick! Pray all the sickness to be out of your bodies now! Healing & healthiness be with you & babies..

re: milk refusal
hmmm seems like many oct babies are having this problem. I definitely hope this is just a phase. Aidan is a preemie born at week 34 and has always been a very slow drinker. I can feed him up to 1.5hrs then discard the remaining milk away. Tried all ways to force him to drink but nowadays he has more 'character'. No means no to him haha his record last week was a total of 500ml milk per day for the whole week. Even refused solids and not to mention he hates water too! Rather worrying indeed. I read that babies do self regulating when it comes to feeding so hopefully this is just a phase. Other milk refusal reasons could be not feeling well, teething, dislike of taste of milk since intro of solids, too much solid so too full to drink milk

my baby refuses to sleep on his own. I always have to walk and rock till he's sound asleep before i can put him on his cot. Very tiring. Any one facing same problem? Any suggestions how to resolve this? Thanks!

happififi, my gal too is like that.when she was younger ishe still could but now its impossible.
What i do know is that i will cuddle her on my bed and pat her .My girl is fiesty a nd will kick and scream but aftre 5 mins she is oundly asleep.

fifi, my boy also leh! dun wanna slp these few days... keep struggling even when i carry him... then the strange thing, when my hubby comes into the room and read his newspaper on the bed, then he slp instantly! dunno is coincidence or what lah...

sylvia,
i tried before but once i pat him, he takes it as a cue to flip! He will then flip over and pull my hair. Haha simply refuses to sleep. I think he finds it amusing that I'm laying next to him and that tummytime = playtime! *faints*

bbow: my MIL taught me to steam the porridge leh.. faster, but i find it very hard to gage between the timing and the fire. my porridge turned out to be very watery. chloe hates it! i'll stick to slow cooker next time (though i never tried yet)

happi fifi,

is it for night or day naps? J doesn't like his naps also. He sleeps very little in the day but will get cranky when he's tired but yet don't want to sleep! he'll scream and shout when I try to pat/rock/sing him to sleep.

But night time, he'll just fall asleep naturally when I give him his pacifier and pillow. Think exhausted out liao so no strength to resist. haha

sanbebe, can soak overnight will be best.

jas, agree that brown rice is very hard to cook until nua nua. so i blend too. dun waste time.

hapi fifi, it depends on what parenting method you subscribe to. i trained my girl using the "cry it out" method. but be prepared... it's very heartbreaking!