(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

chintz.. haha..not 'chor lor' lah, cos she enjoying the biscuit mah...
sorry huh.. wat is 'atas'?? i bought mine @taka while hving sales, abt $25-29++ cant remember how much liao, i bought it for my gal last time, so now can still use 4 bb lance... i got two, one is 0.9 & 1.3L if not wrong, ie, a small & big one, tink there r two sizes, got guarantee somemore!! like i say mine is those ppl use to drink tea, but i use for porridge! of cos, now they got many latest model which see liao 'yan hua liao luan'!!! jus get whichever u feel is good, personally i like tiger one as they r 'slim'..but v X leh..(remember oni metal one inside can last heat longer)...

sugarnut, thks, will go carrfour see when nxt visit there...

hi mummies... good evening...

lots of posts up today, can barely have the time to read thru them all...

dodo
re: thermos flash
actually wanted to get the JL one also leh coz its almost the same price as BP one n still got rebate so its still cheaper but now that there r comments that metal inside is better, perhaps i'll KIV first.

junnie
the la gourmet flask other than taka, any other places sells it?

sanbebe
i fully agree with u abt babies not knowing what is good food. my boy TILL NOW still dun take well to solids at all! asked PD if i can give him porridge, but ganna shot back n told me that i shouldn't give porridge when he can't even handle cereal n i should continue to give cereal. sigh... in a dilemna now - to follow PD, dun give porridge or just give porridge n keep fingers crossed!

re: rusks
was wondering, are rusks 'heaty' for babies? anyone has mothers telling u that its heaty n shouldn't be given?

ecookie
fully empathise with u. my boy also v.terok one, if not fast enough, he scold n scold n then get so angry, rather not drink his milk. same for food, once he decides that he doesn't like the food, his mouth will clamp shut!

re: keeping food warm
just a precaution, mummies who use another bowl of hot water below the cereal bowl, to keep the contents warm, try not to put it within the reaching range of ur baby. i almost accidentally scalded my boy today coz his hand swiped at the cereal bowl, causing some hot water to spill to his hand n thigh. he screamed immediately n i had a major fright.

i'm still looking forward to the day when he can open his mouth automatically when he sees food n relish good food. keep fingers and toes crossed!

Pinky,
I just bought on sunday at $80 dollars. If u want, i can let go at $70bucks...they say retail price is at $129 leh..i dun know..never check.

Gathering:
Hey! i want to join the gathering leh...Vesak day ok for me.

Need help on feeding. I understand that bb need iron intake now and that is why it is recommended to feed them iron fortefied rice cereal. However, my girl cannot take cereal at all, tried rice, brown rice, oatmeal and even the oatmeal with prune .. all of them resulted in constipation! Last sat after seeing all mummies feeding their bb, I decided to let her try the cereal and uses the oatmeal with prune which supposed to help but end up now, she constipated again! Fed her prune juice, papaya, sweet potatos, barley water liao but still did not help!
What should I do to supplement her iron intake if its going to be a big NO for all cereals!!!

Wow, the list is getting LONGER....

Jas, I help you add in ur name.......

1) Doobom
2) Annie
3) Dodo
4) Jacq
5) Ling
6) gingerleaf
7) eil

Sat/Sun: (Pls indicate day)
1) ponponta (sat)
2) ecookie (sun) or
3) bbwow (sat / sun)
4) hippo (sat)
5) chintz (sat)
6) sugar_nut (sun)
7) frostyfiona (sat)
8) cheval (sat)
9) Totoro_bb (sat/sun)
10) Unice (sun)

Vesak Day (May19):
1) ecookie
2) CM syeo
3) hippo
4) sugar_nut
5) frostyfiona
6) cheval
7) totoro_bb
8) ueno
9) Pinky
10)sanbebe
11) Jas
12) unice (mrg only) becos my dog's bday celebration in the noon time...

totoro, my class will be in Jap this coming sunday
u joining me this sunday wif Kelly?

Any more mummies & babies??? Come join us!!!

saw the JL sales and the Zojirushi Lunch kit set is really cheap .. at only $49 for member.
My view:
If u need to keep the porridge for very long period then maybe the metal inside one is good. But if u just want to keep warm for like 1.5 - 2hrs, I think this shld be okie. Has been using something similar when my mum prepared food for me during confinement. Another plus point is you can feed directly whereas the metal inside one, you might need to scope out into a bowl for feeding unless u have a super long spoon.

unice
If i joined then sat left with 2 babies, so I better stick with the schedule ... are u keen in joining? Am thinking whether can we start our own class if there are enough bb interested in it.

I already made the cereal very watery liao and somemore my mum has been adding more water/barley water to her milk liao so she drinks more but so far not really helping leh.

no never heard bishan got right brain sch lei...
my mum stays there but never hear her mention to me

totoro, i cant join sat class cos my sat is packed with piano lessons n then church in the evening....only sunday i m free lo...
u all keen in continuing wif Trio?

ueno, personally, do u feel comfortable wif Trio or Shichida?

gingerleaf
the bishan one is someone who used to work at the right brain school before. I think she posted her details here before. it might be home-based.

unice
u tried shicida before ? I'm trying to read up but don't seem to get much info. The big different is it is in 1 language whereas Trio in 3 right? any other things that is different?

I'm thinking whether am I able to sign up for another 3 trial class before I signed her up? juging by one 1 session for each language don't seem enough leh ..

totoro,
You dun hv to worry abt iron intake as it's in most food eg. pumpkin, avocado, squash, carrot, spinach etc..

Is the stool really hard? May be you want to dilute her fm a bit and feed her more water instead?

garden,
could it be your baby doesn't want to sit in high chair?

This is what happened to Jav. I notice he's been eating lesser and lesser and getting very frustrated in his high chair. He fuss and fuss and refuse to eat after just 1 or 2 spoonfuls. Today I moved him to his stroller after he fussed and surprisingly, he finished his oatmeal happily.

May be you want to try feeding him somewhere else other than his high chair?

totoro
did u recently switched to next stage of FM? could that be a source? my boy also not v.on with cereals. still prefers his milk. as with what sanbebe said, iron can be found in lots of other food, not just cereal. its ok if ur girl doesn't poo once a day, as long as her stool is not hard.

i dunk my boy with lots n lots of water to help him poo. also gave him apple/pear/avocado/pumpkin,etc. n all these amount is v.v.small portions coz he will shut his mouth after 2-3 spoons.

i'm also concerned with his meagre intake of solids but i also dun wanna force him to take his food as i guess not all babies will adapt to solids easily, some take to them like duck to water, others needs huge doses of patience n lots of positive positive thinking! (just trying to psyche myself lah... coz my boy is v.resistant to feeding still...) :D

totoro,

act Jayden hv constipation prob too.. so PD suggest him to change his milk to Dumex Mamil Gold .. After switching the FM, he poo quite well once every two days.

sanbebe
good suggestion!!! i never thought of trying it in a stroller. i tried carrying him on the lap to feed, but end up even more messy. okie, tmr i try him on a stroller. perhaps he needs a change of environment. :D

wah. never log on for a while, have so many posts to catch up on!

can't believe that hannah has such a long list of potential suitors. lucky girl. hahaha....

Help! My baby got heat rash (small little red dots like pimples - is it heat rash? ) on her neck and it is spreading to her body. What should i do?

I followed this thread since preggy. Thread has been moving so fast! My office cant access so I am always many steps slower...hiak...hee

Re: Food Jar
I am using the Zojirushif food jar to put bb porridge. It is quite good and my colleague swear by this brand so i aso follow lor.

chintz, can chloe finish 1 whole rusk biscuit at one sitting? i just bought the farleys rusk for hannah. wondering how much to feed, cos it looks quite big!

can't remember who was looking for farleys rusk... i got mine from NTUC.

wendy,

Sean had that too and PD prescribed a cream - Neoderm ....
I used aloe vera gel and it was of no use.
Bring ur bb to see PD for a prescribed cream

WOW how to read so much post in a day ... looks like the gathering make Oct Mummies more active in the thread liao keke

wendy ... if you are comfortable you can wait can see ... cos it will go off in 1-2 days time ... if not if its the 1st time you can go and see a GP ...

Dodo ... wow good new man... so you wanna to follow yr sis??? keke

YL & Jas ... No. 2 for you two congrats ...

WOW make me want a No. 3 too hahaha just kidding la ...

Food Jar i am using a jap with THERMOS hmm can't see the brand from Robinsons ...

Gathering hmm can we find a place that is easy to park the car cos i will be driving ... and am a new and very long nvr drive liao

and count me in for gathering!

1) Doobom
2) Annie
3) Dodo
4) Jacq
5) Ling
6) gingerleaf
7) eil
8) zhen_zhen

Sat/Sun: (Pls indicate day)
1) ponponta (sat)
2) ecookie (sun) or
3) bbwow (sat / sun)
4) hippo (sat)
5) chintz (sat)
6) sugar_nut (sun)
7) frostyfiona (sat)
8) cheval (sat)
9) Totoro_bb (sat/sun)
10) Unice (sun)

Vesak Day (May19):
1) ecookie
2) CM syeo
3) hippo
4) sugar_nut
5) frostyfiona
6) cheval
7) totoro_bb
8) ueno
9) Pinky
10)sanbebe
11) Jas
12) unice (mrg only) becos my dog's bday celebration in the noon time...

Totoro,
no, never tried SM before but another forum states that difference between SM and Trio is that Trio doesnt conduct ESP classes and oso no dots cards involved.

garden_dream
she has this problem before I changed her FM. I have monitored and if she is just on FM, there is no problem. problem comes when I fed her cereal, just need one session of cereal and this will happened!

pinky
Does this happen to bb born on 28th sept ??? I let go of the mamil gold stage 2 milk already. Now using both Friso 2 and Enfrapro. Like I mentioned above, she is ok with just drinking milk but the moment I gave cereal, this happen. Does ur boy face take cereal well? He drinks water or juice as mine don't like to drink!

Unice,

Thanks! I'm just concerned with cream that she will touch and lick her hands. She got very itchy hands and really cant stay still. My colleagues say when preggy that time if you had crab, baby will have itchy hands and legs. Looks like it's true...hahah...

Re: Rusks
I gave my bb the bellamy biscuits. It is very hard but she can lick until the biscuits turn soft. But must keep a close watch on bb because they may choke on the small bits of biscuits and may stuff the whole thingy into their mouth. Thats what my girl did and she choke...ever since then i dont leave her alone with the biscuit

dots card is for Maths right?
I bought the blank card and the dots but haven do anything yet?

I saw the GD one during the expo baby fair, the flash card just increase by the number of dots and u start with telling them how many dots and slower progress to addition and subtraction, multiply etc ... like if 2 dots, you will say 1+1, 2x1 etc
For Trio, I like the different languages although hb was asking whether do they have just the english version. I say yes SM loh but their price seems to much more expensive and I'm concerned with them being more and more commercial.

im so tired now... busy packing for the trip this wednesday.. seems like im moving house! baby's stuff to bring list is at least 3 times longer than mine...

anyone know what shd we do to prepare baby during plane take off & landing? thanks!

totoro,

Previously my boy was taking Friso 1 and when he started on Friso 2, he start to constipate.. Just happen that week bring him to PD for review and she suggest to change the FM..
same same, he dont like to drink water or juice, I have to spoon feed him..he is ok with cereal

dodo,

Enjoy your holiday

I heard from my colleague that she able to bring water when broading the plane with her BB...maybe u can check with the crew 1st... unless the provide hot/cold water...

dodo: enjoy your holidays!!! have fun! bb these days reallee fortunate hor.. so young get to travel unlike us... very old then get to experience plane ride.

ecookie: yea cos i ALSO think he is cute mah!

zhen_zhen: nope, chloe only finished one quarter.. then have to throw away liao!

re: poo poo
my boy is on 2 solid meals a day n he poos 4times a day.PD said its good, better to have more poo than no poo. She said he is just 1 of those babies tat react more to fruit n veg.

totoro,
u can give kelly broccoli, its high in iron. Lentils too, a good source of iron.

totoro, unice,
i will be changing my sat trial to a weekday cos i've something on. My boy is with SM now, tried Trio to see the difference. Unice is right abt the difference, there are no dot cards n ESP in Trio. Apart from that, the lessons r the same. I asked the Trio staff abt the difference n they said they are left n right brain training whereas SM is only right brain training. I will stay with SM cos i've not paid the term fee but i've paid $190 for their Parent education course and $300 booking fee, I cant get it back unless i stay with them for 1 yr. Trio doesnt require u to pay all that, u need to pay just the term fee.

gingerleaf,
think if u just fill up to the max line its ok. i use a ziplock bag to store my cubes then put in the freezer. Ur using ice cube trays right?

dodo: enjoy ur trip! yah like what gingerleaf says, can feed him milk or pacifier. so long got sucking motion will ease pressure in his ears. i hope ur hubby + u can have some couple time by the jacuzzi aft baby ziqian zzzzz.... ha

chintz: yah lah. he damn HOT. ha.

wendy:yah mine got same red rash like ur bb n PD prescribed neoderm same like unice and it went away pretty fast! so get it from ur PD?

totoro_bb; as what the other mummies say, other foods got good source of iron as well as fibre so perhaps can just feed kelly food purees and skip cereals 1st.. till later stage then just intro porridge?

mummies, i wonder when should we start cooking porridge to baby?

chloe seems to be taking her cereal well now, up to 5 FM scoop of cereal liao (those premixed nestle cereals)

garden_dreamz,

still no luck with your boy huh? My boy has started to accept the cereal but it really has to depend on his mood. If he's happy, he'll finish about 1tbspn. But he won't accept any other food now accept cereal.

Sometimes I just mix the purees with the cereal and he refuse to eat. haha...really fussy boy.

re: freezing purees
anyone knows how long can it last until we have to discard it away? We need to air-tight the freezer cubes? I only put on the default fridge cubes. Then after that scoop it out and put in ziplock bag. Is it ok?