i also got a "problem" MIL. actually we had quite a okay relationship but it changed when i gave birth my boy. she is also a "know-all" MIL, like many of your MILs.. she will have endless comments everytime we visit her.. when baby got rashes which is quite common, she will say i never clean his mouth after drinking, i told her i clean everytime, then she said must be your breastmilk got prob, i told her PD said it's normal, then she said i had too much birdnest when pregnant.. my "fire" was already up till my nose then hubby just told her it's NORMAL LAH and pls stop harping on this! then she keep quiet. Then many a times she will comment why baby like this and why baby like that, must be this n that la.. and the "this" and "that" all implying i did not do a good job loh.. really sick of her...
Got once i wana feed baby at her place, so i carried baby to room to feed coz they on TV loud and i dun wan baby to be disturbed when drinking milk, then she said why must be like that, last time she brought up all her kids eating/ drinking while watching TV, i really fed up wi her! i cant even have my own freedom and discipline to bring up my son meh?! so i told her "precisely, i dun wan to incalcate this bad habit since young." i was trembling when i said this but i dun care loh! really angry...
Then when my SIL gave birth, i visited her at hospital and encourage her to breastfeed, i know she dun like but i said just try for first few days and let baby has the colostrum then can stop after which coz it is the essence and very nutritious... then u know what my MIL said "aiya, dun force her la, what so good abt breastmilk, formula better ma, babies on formula so chubby and cute, breastfeeding so troublesome, waste of time... blah blah blah"... i kept quiet at once. i just try to encourage her to try it for few days and not long term, then my MIL gave me such comments. totally pissed off!
When baby was hospitalised, she didn't even bother to call and ask how is he, she simply bochap coz i know she buay song wi me.. i dun bother at all.. like what u all said, out of sight and out of mind! better for me and baby!!!