(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Me really very sick! down with bad flu & cough...little dayan also kana from me. Poor boy. Nowadays, flu really very contagious...either u pass to someone or get it from others! haizz...

oh poor Jas n little dayan...pls take more rest and drink more water...

I've been busy and not feeling well too...migrane is killing me ! log in today and saw so many posts.

zhenzhen,
so happy to know that you went to canada for exchange program
which uni u went to?

friso step 2
I heard it's 7 mths and above so mummies pls dun give it to your babies at 6 mths

junnie
so sorry to hear about Lance....
you're such a brave and inspiring mother. Do take care of your health too...Lance and his sister need you. Hopefully Lance will recover from his fever soon and get his op done asap. My hb's cousin also has reflux problem when he was a baby but recovered after the op. He's now a strong 16 yr old boy playing rugby.

sugar nut,
I'm still keen in Gymboree. I'm fine with either dates.

Same with Madlynette, I would love to hv 20 mummies together in one session so we can hv more fun together. I thought it's like one of our gathering. It'll be exciting for the babies as well to meet each other

madlynette,

hehe...healthy times got stock almost everywhere so not to worry. :p

btw, it seems that every mommies have no problems with weaning their babies.

I tried feeding my boy again but he just refuse to eat! I'm worried he rejects solids totally!! HOW AH!

So far, I've tried abit of:

1) Heinz cereal w/ milk
2) Healthy Times cereal w/ milk
3) Healthy Times cereal w/ water
4) Pear puree

At first I thought he doesn't like cereal cause no taste so I tried something sweet but he doesn't like it too! Always give the yuck face and turns his head away. Then 30 mins later cry for milk.

Like that how to start solids...

bbwow:if i didnt remember wrongly , your boy is older than mine by 1 week right? so u ve started solids? im planning to start only this weekend when he's 5 1/2 mths.. oh no, hope he ll take to solids fine.. :|

hope u all had a great weekend!

bbwow: last sat i also tried cereal on Chloe. first, she showed a yucky face. later on, she started enjoyed it, can move forward to the spoon and make the YUMZ YUMZ sound.. but shortly after that, she gets bored and rejected it, showing the sign of, "pleaseee i've had enough!"

lastly, she started turning close to me for milk milk.. hehee

so i guess we just gotta train babies impatiently, bit by bit, letting them have the idea of "cereal is ur next food!"

bbwow
could it be he's not ready for it yet?

I read in a book that the baby turns away from the food doesn't mean that he doesn't like it. Do wait for a while then try again.

bbwow,
most bb started cereal with the 'YUCKS' face. So you gotta be patient and feed again till he gets used to it. Or maybe like what sanbebe said, maybe he is juz not ready at the moment ba.

Hey, Raphael is 6mths today....Seems like quite fast and yet quite slow.

annie, same same for my husband. Carry abit then tell me hand pain. If I am carrying, anywhere, he will then bring out his mobile to play game. "Angry until no words to say"

gingleleaf, Haha...nope, he is trying to be a worm himself. He can use his butt and wiggles till from front to back of the mattress. One night, he wiggle till his head kanna stuck between the bed and the mozzie net. His dad had a good laugh. He also like to be a butterfly, everytime flipping his arms for take off.

Yesterday saw the news about the baby bites, some brand has high content of something that cause the baby to like tibits next time and not good for kidneys. Dunno whether the Baby bites we have in Sg is ok or not.

perlicia: u very funny leh.. describing raphael like a worm n butterfly haha.
i always feel mine like a worm too call him wormy (his milk name heheh)..

jas, sanbebe, do take care of your health ya. try and rest more, drink more water, load up on vit c.

sanbebe, i went to UWO in london, ontario. you?

bbwow, did you try feeding your son milk first? then when he's not hungry anymore, you try and feed him 1-2 tsp of cereal. just to get him used to feeding from a spoon and the texture first. then slowly increase from there.

or like what sanbebe mentioned, maybe he's not ready yet. read that babies, if not ready, will push out the food with their tongue. it's a reflex action. if so, then just try again after a few days?

perlicia, you know what brand of baby bites is not good? i was thinking of trying rusk instead. cos baby bites remind me of the want want rice biscuits. haha...

I am not too sure about it. I think more of those japanese brand. They were stating about the content called "na4". which i dunno izzit sodium or whatever.

Heard that those teething food also not so good once i read a magazine saying that might cause tooth decay. Aiyo. so much to consider. Actually i also buy the Heinz teething biscit...maybe I have to bite it myself already.

high chair
i think if baby is able to sit upright without needing much support can try on high chair.

stage 2 FM
im trying out enfapro.

bbwow
myra has been eating heinz rice cereal for past 2 weeks leh and she still wont eat a lot, only up to 3 tspn even then she sometimes cant fin. but when i try other brands worse arr, she is just too content with her milk feeds. but i still continue lor, today she already turn 6 mths so i am starting purees, apples first. see how lor, yah its frustrating lor, last weekend i feed her myself, wor the cereal go everywhere else except her mouth lor, ceiling, floor, walls, etc.

ecookie,

my boy will turn 6 months on 19th. So that means next week! hahaha

chintz,

yea, jayden has the same reaction so maybe that's normal I guess? Ok! Will continue to try.

I want him to get used to the taste then I can fang xin change FM next week. I don't want later both react badly and I dunno which one to blame. The cereal or the milk? hahaha

sanbebe,

I really hope it's because he's not ready and not because he doesn't like solids. But everytime he sees us eat, he will suck his tongue and make the drooling face one leh! *faint*

gingerleaf,

no wonder they say it's so much easier to just feed baby milk! hahah..

madlynette,

you mean myra finish 3 tspn of cereal or 3 tspn mouth. Cause if you mix 3 tspn of cereal w/ milk, quite alot right? But if it's just 3 tspn mouthful then different.

Re: instructing mil to feed solids
my mil just called me to ask if the PEAR puree should add milk or not! I WANT TO FAINT

bbwow: yes exactly 1 week older! mine turning 6 mths on 26th! LOL.

madlynette: yup heard good feedback on enfapro too.. heard its made in netherlands wheras similac is in USA...

bbwow: i made 1 tablespoon cereal, but chloe only took 10% out of it i think :p

mummies, can i feed bb cereal at nite? cos i didn't pass the cereal to mil this morning. i can anticipate her reaction after seeing bb only take a bit of it. so was thinking if tonite after work i can try the cereal again..

and is puree ok to try, when she's still not 6mths yet?

bbwow, think back in my mind, if I were you, I am thinking that do she eat pear with milk.

madlynette, I am trying on Enfapro A+ also. comparing all the figures, so try it first. Anyway, anyone know where exactly where Mamil made from?

bbow
i also had the same tot... PD say 6mth onwards can wean n move on to next stage formula milk. was thinking how to know if bb is not reacting well if i change 2 variables at the same time? so decided to try him on cereal first, get that stage started then when 6 mth onwards, intro stage 2 milk.

gingerleaf
my boy initially first few spoons of cereal, he still blur blur take, then after that, mayb it dawned on him that something's not right, he gave a YUCK face with his tongue just hanging out with all the cereal still on the tongue! :D after a while he screamed, so gave him his normal milk instead. guess have to be patient n keep trying...

madlynette
ur post made me laugh... ya, feeding bb really v.messy. first time fed my boy, cereal coated almost his entire lower part of the face! :D not so dramatic like yours but he like to put his chubby leg up on the highchair tray... ah yoh... so terrible!!!

btw, mummies who wanna intro next stage milk, which is better - mix 50% original formula and 50% new formula, or 1 feed original, next feed new formula? coz i'm not sure if babies taste buds r sensitive and thus find it tougher to adapt to a new taste... n whether shd try 50-50 first, then slowly go to 100% new?

perlicia,

precisely...I thought it's common sense ma? Then I told my hubby and you know he'll surely side his mom and so said "She thought everything must put milk" Then I asked him "So porridge also add milk huh?" Everything milkshake is it?? -_-

chintz,

I only made 2 teaspoon but jayden only ate 3-4 mouthfuls max

gardendreamz: personally i think its better to make it 1 feed old formula, next feed new formula..then slowly change to all new formula if baby does not reject the taste.
not very comfortable with mixing milk powder esp for diff brands one...

re: followon milk: anyone compare similac + enfapro?
I only did for similac + friso 2..

chintz: yah think i want to try cereal in evening.. cos not comfortable with tasking my MIL to do that in my absence...

but books said its better to try in the morn so if any allergy can go doctor during the day.. think better for us to try during weekend?

chintz,
haha! so cute

i think better to wait until 6 months then do the purees, cos the more develop their digestive system the better, less chance of getting allergies.

the way you all describe your babies taking cereal sounds so funny and interesting
I'm yet to try it to Jav as I still waiting patiently for him to turn 6 mths.

bbwow,
your baby is 1 day younger than Jav
Nowadays Jav also look at us eating with much enthusiasm. I even bring my food up to his mouth see how he reacts. Initially he'll just turned his head away or sealed his mouth but yesterday he actually opened his mouth for the food. Haha...I guess that's the sign to show me that he's ready.

zhenzhen
Hey I was at Ontario too
I went to Carleton University in Ottawa. Think it's further up from London
Where have you been when you were there? Did you go backpacking? Did you go Toronto or Montreal or Ottawa?

chintz
Haha...I also use Kodomo to wash my clothes whenever I handwash my more delicate clothes
Love the baby smell !!

chintz,
you made 1 tablespoon for chloe, thats a lot right, i start with 1 tspn (teaspoon) leh.
now only 3 tspn (teaspoon) after 2 weeks.

chintz,
nolah not confusedlar, becos at first when i read, i was like "what? 1 tspn? so little, are you sure or not" then i went to make 1 tablespoon for myra very first rice cereal, stupidly thinking that she can down that lot, then seeing how a lot it is and how little she can take, i revert back to 1 teaspoon for subsequent feeds, lol. so malu one.

madlynette, haha no malu la.. cos i also thought aiyo, 1 teaspoon where got enough? So i scooped a lot for 1 tspoon on saturday, ended up all go to waste. so on sunday i scooped one flat tspoon only, hehe, also took a bit only :p

seriously, nestle is too sweet i think. cos i tested it afterwards, it tasted like yogurt or milkshake!?

i'll go hunt for heinz soon..

chintz,

yea. nestle has milk powder content. I didn't want to feed jayden that cause later take Friso 1, then Similac Follow-on then still have Nestle milk content. All messed up liao..

I tried the heinz pear puree, like quite bland.

im back...

THANKS to gingerleaf, hippo, chintz, garden, pinky, unice, sugar nut, sharon, madlynette, ueno, zhen zhen, junnie, jojer, ecookie, bbwow and all other mummies who keep ziqian in your prayers... esp touched to received some of your sms during my hospital stay... im really touched...

Thanks to all your concern, Ziqian recovers well... We visited PD this morning and he said baby is strong and brave, he fights off the nasty bacteria well, but it may takes another couple of weeks to fully recover coz it's a rather stubborn bacteria.

It all started last tues when i noticed Ziqian napped longer than usual... he looks lethargic and din even wake up for his milk feeds. So i dream-feed him but apparently he has no appetite at all so only drank very little... his whole day consumption was only 500ml+ for that day, much lesser than his normal 900ml+... at night, i noticed he had the wheezing sound when he breathed and i sense that something must be wrong coz he was not at his usual self, no smile at all when i put him in jumperoo and exersaucer..

so we brought him to PD on wed and doc suggested to admit him and monitor closely at hospital... i never felt so worried and helpless before, i was weeping all the while when hubby did the registration work, the thought of admit my boy into hospital really scare me out...i kept hugging and kissing him, and assuring him that mummy is with him all the while...

Knowing my son well, we opted for 1-bedded ward coz he very sensitive to noise and will always cry when he heard other babies cries.. but 1-bedded wards were all full house that day so we take the 2-bedded ward... the next bed baby is very very poor thing, he was 8 mths old and wi many tubes inserted on his arm... he was very petite in size also.. i believe he was feeling very insecure coz whenever he saw nurse, he will cry loudly and keep screaming...

Then doc visited my boy when we settled down and he gonna do the test that i most dread of... he gonna inserted tubes into my boy's nose an mouth to collect mucus specimen for tests.. the doc wrapped his body up and told us to hold his head and body as he foresee baby will struggle hard.. it was too torturing for him and me, he shouted his lung out and i cried until i my vision was all blur... i kept talking to him and kept sayang him but i bet he cant hear me at all... im really guilty i din protect him well and brought all these sufferings to him.. im a lousy mummy...

the ward only allow 1 parent to stay overnight so i was wi him all the while... i dun even dare to close my eyes coz doc told that if baby got that terrible bacteria, one of the symptoms will be purplish lips... i din sleep throughout the night, just doze off once a while.. and i also expressing bm diligently in hospital coz i really wish to let my boy drinks more bm to strengthen his immunity and fight off the bacteria... i really believe in willpower now, i was amazed i can express much more bm there and sufficient for my boy to be on bm fully...

Doc visited us next day and was given green light to discharge as baby has been drinking well... i was so happy! i really cant bear to stay any longer there, coz i saw many babies and kids wi drips, and tubes inserted on their arms, they cried so pitifully when given injections and medicines, it was too heartache... junnie, i can now fully relate to your situation, you are really a very brave mummy! and lance is a very strong and brave boy! i really hope lance will recover real soon and back home again...

My boy still needs to have nebulizer and antibiotic at home till thurs... i did lots of self reflection throughout the hospital stay, i hope i finally understand what makes a good mother... whenever he is cranky now, i tell myself to have more patience wi him... It was very challenging to feed my boy previously, he can put on a fight when it's milk time and i will insist he drinks his milk... Dr Terence Tan is a good doctor, he shared wi me lots on parenting, he said i have a stubborn, clever and strong will baby, he is my boss and i got to follow his drinking cue, if i force him to drink, he will retaliate more the next feed which is true... This is indeed a lesson learnt for me, i really love my son and i hope i can take care of him better and love him the way that he wants and not the way that i think its good for him but actually not...

Hi all, I m due end of this month. The original CL i've booked just called to tell me she is going for operation 2 weeks later so now i need to find a new CL. Pls pm me at 9742 8258 if you know of any good CL ok. Thanks for yr help!

dodo: so glad to learn that ziqian is well on his road to recovery.. u r a v brave mummy too...
i can totally understand what u went thru. when my boy was admitted to hospital for 3N due to fever (he was younger than 1 mth old then so was admitted to rule out other possibilities, lucky its just a throat infection which he recovers soon from..).

i stayed overnight with him n was really at a loss then. very heartpain to see him sick.. and when they insert tubes to get his mucus for testing i cried too.. i was not even allowed in the room when they did that.. just heard him screaming in the corridor.. very heartpain then..

such incidents really make us reflect and teach us to have better patience with them.. hope ziqian will be his usual happy self soon!

Dear dodo, good to have u back and knowing ziqian is all fine..

I almost wept while reading ur post too. You have been very brave too. Do not feel bad for yourself okay.. You've been a top mummie!

Take care dear, and kisskiss to ziqian
from me and from chloe :D

dodo,
so nice to hear from you! reading wat u n ziqian went through really brought tears into my eyes. i guess its only when we go through such experiences that we see the world better n grow wiser. ur boy is just like you - strong, determined, courageous.

babies are amazing creatures... they know more than what they can say/express, but us adults are unable to 'read' n thus, what we assume is best for them may not be what they think is best for themselves. n i do agree with u that we should follow the cues from our babies coz that's when we truly understand their needs. its not easy though...

meanwhile take care n enjoy each day/moment that you are with him! :D

gingerleaf,

Got yr mail..
Thks

Re: Solid Food,

Im also having prob to feed my boy cereal and porridge.. Everytime I try to feed him , he will take the 1st few spoon than cry badly for his Milk so I have to standy his milk 1st ..

Dodo,

Glad to hear Anderson is fine...Hughugz

dodo,
glad your are back! reading your post really bring tears to my eyes, reminds me to treasure the moments i have with myra.
hope ziqian will continue to get better.

dodo,
so glad you are back n ziqian is gettign better now.
Your post got me sniffing alittle and Im so glad that everything is fine now! Told you that you are a brave mommy!

ecookie,

Any recommendation of high chair? I still have not buy one for my son.

Zhen zhen,

Yup baby bites. My son he like it, but i give him once every week only. His PD told me start only biscuit after 8 mth. I feed him, seldom let him hold the biscuit. I find it too dangerous....

Perlicia,

Ha ha.. so sometime i dun even bother to ask him carry him. I just carry my son wif the carrier.. much easier!! dunno why the guys ah, want us to give birth but they dun want to carry them.

dodo,

Take care will pray for Ziqian. Dun worry boy tend to be veri stong and brave.

annie: i just got mamalove high chair. got it mainly cos of it height adj/recline adj + wheels so i can push baby to be with me when im doing other stuff..

other mummies here recommend ikea chair.. which i have one too. to be placed in my mum's place but havnt start using it..but feedback is its a basic, low maintenance high chair.. but some mummies also feedback that there;s the risk of it toppling if baby is to kick on wall/table next to it..think with supervision, should be a value for money chair bah...

thanks all mummies for the comforting words...

ecookie,
yup, i can understand that.. the heartpain is beyond description... im glad ur boy is so healthy and strong now..

chintz,
thanks for the kiss kiss... i will peck on ziqian's left and right cheeks and told him they are from aunty dewi and chloe mei mei

garden,
yup.. it's really not easy... it's indeed a lifelong learning journey for us... gal, thanks for asking me to keep warm in hospital, it was really freezing cold! lucky hubby brought my sweater, i totally forgot about my own stuff.. just asked him to bring all babies stuff...

gingerleaf,
thanks... u remind me to be one.. and i think it's a very timely advice... thanks gal

re: baby rejecting solids,

when i started my boy wi rice cereal when he was ard 5mth, he loves it and always finish everythg in the bowl.. but after this sickness, he reject solid totally, he "clamped" his mouth tight when i offer him rice cereal, apple puree & green peas.. i told my PD abt this, he said i got to keep trying on n off and cant force him if he dun show any interest... i gonna start all over again...