(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

gingerleaf: so nice to see someone actually thinking of me! (pls dun vomit!) yeah ler a bit tied up with work, but im still catching up with ur posts no worries! :D

gingerleaf, maybe some of them already join the new Oct'08 mummies forum?? hahaha..

doobom, i know u long time oreadi in my msn!

sharon, i meant they no longer post in forums, at least not in oct 07 thread.

chintz, yeah leh, miss u la. hehe.

sugarnut, lidat is very fast loh. Hahaha.

Any mummies doing their bb's follow-up @ KKH?

Tot of changing PD over to KKH since they r specialise in BB & Child. Currently with SGH Baby & Child Clinic.

My bb juz did his 5.5 mths follow-up (for his 6-in-1 jab n prevenar). Next follow-up in Nov08 (bb @ 14mths). PD mentioned the need to go back only if in case of any emergency.

Is it a must for bb to do their 6-10mths review (as per guide in health booklet)?

hi mummies, got enquiry from my friend: where to get the medication to stop breast milk? is it from gp at normal clinic, or must be from gynae? thanks mummies!

hi chintz
i think can get from GP.

re starting cereal, wat are the common brands to start? i was thinking of heinz rice cereal which was wat i gv my elder boy.. any comments?

chintz,

I went to kk 24hrs women clinic to get medicine to stop my breast milk. Compare to my gynae i find it cheaper....

krissie,

I start my son on heinz rice cereal, after 5mth plus i gave him yu ren seng brown rice. Now he eat nestle rice cereal wif milk.

hey gingerleaf!! Thanks for missing me

same as Chintz, busy wif work

I am like a mad woman like that lei...come home from work must spend all my time wif Sean, feed him , bathe him, make him sleep...then wash baby clothes, do housework, sterilise bottles n pumping milk equipment.....sigh never ending list..

I m so tired of working these days....i wanna stay at home n look after sean sean.............................

Last week brought Sean for his last dose of 6-in-1 and also 1st dose of Pneumococcal vaccine...
His weight at 5 and half month is 8Kg and 68cm...
Although doc said is above average, I feel the growth is not as fast as before hor..

Anyway, i started him only on rice cereal mix with EBM/FM once a day....have not ventured into puree yet....no time la...

hello mummies, i am now in genting without baby xavier... ohhh i miss him so much!! going back home tml liao, first time look forward to going back home from holiday!! hahaha...

wah unice, long time no see!
I really salute working mums. So much scarifices they do for the babies. I really cannot imagine how you all can wake up so early, settle the baby then still gotta come home to a mountain of chores.
You're still gg germany this month with sean?

How come some of you started the pneumococcal jab so late? Lyn had hers with her 1st 5-in-1 jabs.

re: puree, you can find time out during a weekend n make them then freeze it. Quite ez.

Fiona,
wah, sounds so fun up there! Its been so long since I went genting. But if i go genting, very sian oso, coz I also dun visit casino. Go there enjoy the 'aircon' only.

ya, panda eyes liao...wake up at 6plus for Sean's first feed...then rush to prepare for work...

I am not going with Sean liao cos change of plans, now only going for 5 days business trip, so sian, will miss Sean..
just stock up my BM for him now and continue expressing out at Munich lo..
aiyo, make passport for him liao cannot use for this trip, so we decide must go cruise n make full use of the passport haha....

I wanted to start the pneumococcal jab at 3months old but PD told me if take at 3months old, it will be a total of 4 jabs...now when sean take at about 6months old, only need 3 jabs....and also at that time she told me tt if not putting bb at infant care, not so necessary to start so early lei...
woah, the pneumococcal jab is painful lei...poor sean sean cried

re puree: aiyo, u know ah, i bought carrots liao but still have not started using my new all-in-1 food processor tt i bought from taka yet lei...

Hippo18,
hi! i stay at blk 659B..you leh? Haha..neighbour..

Baby food:
So far i have only given my ds try heinz (4mths-6mths), but i found that its very starchy. So i bought nestle rice cereal with milk...smell nicer and sweeter. DS kinda of like it! Recently, i also bought the Healthy Times Whole Grain Brown Rice Cereal..quite smooth too. All is instant food one lah..dun know how to make puree too.

Gingerleaf,
Can teach me the easiest puree u ever made then can freeze type?

Pneumococcal jab:
Hmmm...i didn't take any of the jabs before for ds. Cos i heard its more of use if u intend to bring baby to childcare centre at a tender age.

jas n hippo
Geezz..think we all staying very close to one another!! I'm at blk656A! I'm at SAHM. =)

Just wondering ladies...esp those who have only 1 kid... are u gals planning for another one soon? How far apart is it advisable to get preggie again is safer, as in not 'damaging' to our own health? Cos I'm planning for another next year... is it too soon? Not good for my body?

gingerleaf, me too! i dun like to gamble... just go there walk walk lor... see how ppl play some games. hahah... just to take a short break from the hectic life i have in sg... and i miss baby xavier so much!!

baby food: i tried xavier on heinz rice cereal with BM. just for him to try lah... then i tried him on steamed mashed potatoes too.. i love potatoes! and baby xavier love it too! kekeke...

lavender, wah planning for 2nd one liao? i wanna plan for 2nd one too, but maybe not in the near future cos i wanna go back school to upgrade myself!! hahaz... become mummy liao then go back sch again...

hubby keep hinting to have 2nd one... ah yo, he will find all sort of things to tell me to have 2nd baby!! like i was filing for my income tax that day, i was reading out what i can claim for relief, then he said "oh, you know there is
this parenthood tax relief thing? can claim up to $10k for tax when we have 2nd one?? so faster have one more then we are eligible!"

unice, gingerleaf: yea lor feel very tired these days.. my daily routine goes from being a moo cow in the midnite (still not being able to sleep thru, i think she really needs to be fed cereal liao!), then go to work have to face so many nonsense political people, come back home be a moo-moo cow and soothe bb to sleep, after that gear up like a part time cleaner to do house chores..tired |||

cube puree: gingerleaf, forgot to thank u for sharing info on cereal/puree on our yahoo group! those are very useful! now my question is, the puree is to be fed alone or mix with cereal?? how many days can we keep those frozen puree?

thx babe!

lavender_lover,
I am also planning another one early next yr, hopefully can join Oct 09 mummies. Hehe.. My gynae said its ok n he advised me to continue taking the calcium n iron pills.

Re Tax relief / rebate:

The $10K is a tax rebate (means to offset against our tax payable) for parents with 2nd child (more rebates for 3rd & 4th)... can be shared among both parents, and can bring forward if not utilised.

For those with only 1 child, we will still be entitled to working mother child relief / qualifying child relief and grandparent caregiver relief..

But of course relief is a tax deduction, not as much as rebate.. but better than nothing lah..

unice,
ya i agree the pneun jab is painful coz when lyn had hers, she cried so pitifully!!

jas
Hehe, i like the heinz rice cereal! In fact, I like it better than the HT brown rice! Now Im wondering if i shld continue with HT brown rice coz the sodium content is higher compare to rice cereal. I find the rice cereal much more smoother than the brown rice! I never tot of feeding nestle cereal coz i heard the sugar content is higher compare to other cereal. Anyway, there is a consistency that I like which cannot be achieved with other cereal cept the heinz rice cereal. So all toes up for heinz!
There isnt any easiest puree, coz considering the steps you take to make them (steam, blend,freeze) all is the same. What would you like to feed ur ds 1st? Then you make that. 1st food would be carrots, pumpkins, sweet potatoes, apples, pears, bananas, broccolis, avocadoes, green beans, peas etc..

chintz

dun mention

wah, nuthin is worse than having to work in a 'political' place. So stressful to have to watch over ur own back all the time

re cube puree
I feed my puree with a portion of cereal for lunch everyday. Some ppl choose to feed it alone, or mixed into the cereal, but having introduced cereal as 1st food, I tot it'll be better to feed one mouth of cereal, one mouth of puree, one mouth of cereal mix puree. Just incase the puree is not to her liking, at least got plain cereal there to 'wash down' the yucky taste. Just like how we eat our rice, taste some veg/meat not nice or too salty, we eat rice to cover up the taste. Thats me theory la. Heeh. I also prefer my method coz, at least she gets to taste the pure original taste of the puree than the mixed version with the cereal.

re storage
Im not sure how long purees can be kept, but I normally make 6-8 cubes of purees. I have soem puree still sitting in the fridge which was made on the 8 march. I assume we can keep them for a while more, after all they are frozen.
The taste of the puree is still as good n no taste of freezer burn at all.

unice, you are going for a cruise? If you need some info, I can share mine with you. I am intending to go cruise in June with my boy. But still on a waiting list. Hope I can get a cabin.

The passport making is real fast now. 3 days I can go and collect already.

Frosty, you are in holiday and still so up to date with our posts.

Pureed food, Greber is not as starchy as Heinz. You all might want to try it. Oh, get it from Gaint, cheaper and don't get Heinz from Gaint cause abit more expensive. I think NTUC cheaper.

Income Tax, first time doing it by myself. Didn't ask husband for help. Just want to know whether is it really able to get rebate for the insurance we purchased?

morning mummies! jas/ lavender, i m at 658A! hahaha.. but u dun see me often with baby one.. cos i spend my weekends at my mummy's place.. =P lousy me, only brought baby home twice since she was born.. and i m scared liao.. terrible me. BUT! i m bringing her back this weekend!!

gingerleaf, for the above-mentioned reason, I SALUTE SAHMs! anyway, i m bringing Adri for her pneumo jab only tis mth cos dun wana give her too many jabs at one go also.. so since she had her last dose of 6-in-1 last mth, she can go for e pneumo jab tis mth.. =P

chintz, dun take e med to stop milkflow la.. heard so many stories abt the breasts shrinking big time.. use the cold cabbage method instead.. it really works.. but will take like 1 week though.

lavender & ueno, e 2 of u very power and brave! all e best.. =)

perlicia,
cruise oso neda be on waiting list??!! which cruise is that? I'd love to have a cruise too! never been to one at all.

fiona,
did u have a cuppa at starbucks? I find siping hot drinks at starbucks to shiok leh!

thx to gingerleaf again for the detail explanation.. hopefully i can make some puree this saturday (got 3 blenders as housewarming gifts, haven't checked which one to use!).

hippo, the medication to stop bm is for my friend. my bm has gradually decrease in volume

but i got a concern, if i make puree on weekend, when do i get to feed bb those? cos i got this feeling mil won't agree to try that on bb! and remember u mentioned, must feed bb one type of puree continuously for few days?

All SAHMs ... you all need a break too cos i am one of you last time and i know you work 24/7 and 365days ... we working mummies still got leave and MC but not you ... so must find time to rest ok ... or maybe you gals are better den i do ... cos i can only eat my breakfast at 4.00pm after i finish all my thing den can find time to eat or drink water ... kekeke ...

chintz,
Thats tricky. coz when I make my puree, I chilled it overnight b4 putting it in the freezer, which will take another night to set.
MIL wun be keen to even try any puree? I tot oldies would be happier coz they can finally stuff food into babies' mouth.
Yah, its best to feed baby the same type of puree for 3-4 days. I dunno abt how other ppl thinks, coz some ppl think its not a big deal at all, coz this food are hardly allergic causing, why waste time to feed 3-4 days to rule out allergies? But pumpkins gave my gal rashes on her chest, cheeks, chin n her poop was bad!
If MIL not really keen, then really no choice, have to follow their chinese methods of feeding congee cook with pork bone broth. But dun feel so bad either, coz we all grow up from that method too.
OR if you really wanna give puree... why not scare ur MIL that you had very bad reactions to certain food when you were young, and insist chloe be fed your way? eheheh, im so evil ;p

Anyway, Im learning how to prepare soup stock so I can freeze them to make congee for her in later months. I might be trying out pork puree soon.

hippo,
got mummy look after baby oso nice. At least popo n baby got the bonding there. Then you also can have couple time with hubby.

My baby went to work with daddy today, coz MIL wanna play with baby. So now Im very eng in the morning and I miss her so.

chintz, you're welcome.. cos' I just filed mine over the weekend.

Pelicia, is it life insurance bought for yourself? If so, you can claim a relief up to $5k of premium paid, i.e. if your CPF contribution is less than $5k, you will claim the difference between $5k and CPF (or lower of 7% of insured value)

haha, gingerleaf.. nice idea!

ok, last question (for now), i bought this nestle cereal for 6mths n above (i can't find 4-6mths heinz la!) is it ok to feed bb when she's only 5 n 1/2 mths??

Lavender and Ueno, I'm also planning for another kid early next year. So about a 2 year age gap. My gynae say best to have 1 yr break, cos I had c-sec. So let wound completely heal first. But now with 1, I already so tired. Wonder how I'll manage with 2? Really need to pray for strength!

Re: Puree
I just made pumpkin puree for Hannah yest night. I think it's one of the easiest foods to blend and the consistency is very very smooth. Easiest food to prepare would be banana. Don't need to cook and if ripe enough, don't even need to use blender. I just mash with fork. My opinion...

For brocolli, any advice on how to blend it until really smooth? I blend still got little green bits. Dunno whether it's ok to feed Hannah. So it's just sitting in my freezer now. Any advice??

Re: Pneumococcal Jab
My PD recommend we take later, since we're not putting Hannah in infant care. This way, don't have to give the little one so many jabs. Now that I hear that the jabs are painful, I'm worried how she'll react when we do give the jab to her. Argh!

gingerleaf, sharon is right leh.. we can go on leave and mc anytime, but u girls have to be there for bb 24/7.. =D ya, m very lucky to have my mummy look after baby.. but dat girl's SPOILT by her grandma and great-grandma lor.. tink she'll be like me in future. closer to grandma than mummy.

wat time u getting ur baby back? keke..
and btw, heinz really not so sweet huh? cos i m feeding baby nestle besides her porridge and the brown rice thingy.

chintz, tink itz really a matter of personal preference with regards to congee vs cereal.. congee seems like lesser nutrients but dun forget dat itz cos itz not processed in a factory! keke.. imagine all e nutrients from the fish or pork or chix seeping into the soup of the congee? u get my drift.. =D