(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

gingerleaf,

what time u going? maybe can meet up wi u & other mummies who going.. u bring along lyn as well?

gingerleaf,

haa.. why? coz he's handsome huh? (vomit!!!) :p must be his height loh.. if bb not feeling well then i go alone leh, hubby will look after him at home..

dodo: no lah from ur blog lah! hehe.
i ll be there from 3pm onwards.. dun think u should bring ander.. cos just recovered from fever.. i not bringing my boy too cos think will have lotsa pple..

so gingerleaf u bringing lyn?

ecookie,

oic.. i might go in the morning leh.. btw, what's ur blog addy? add u to my blog link ok?

hubby said he will bring bb gai gai ard the shopping mall but keep clear of the crowded atrium loh.. hmm.. will see how then..

dodo, not sure wat time yet. gotta chk with hubby. Ya, def have to bring her, no one to bb sit her at home.... other than the cats. hehehe

gingerleaf,

u really make me laugh leh! can let me know if u confirm the timing? so we might be able to meet up, i wana see lyn! and also get the leapfrog thingy from u loh..

ur hubbies can free from work tomorrow? think our hubbies must be thinking us very crazy over these sales and fair.. lucky my hubby dun have to give lecture tomorrow, so able to take leave! but gonna let him run some of his errands 1st...

ecookie, i found urs at dodo's blog liao...will add u tonight when i get back

i wanna go taka tom lei...still thinking whould i take half day...but hubby not free to go wif me....sigh.........

ecookie,

left my blog on your blog liao.

I dunno why. ever since got baby, I don't even shop for myself anymore. This is serious.

just finish reading all postings

mummies going for taka bb fair this weekend maybe can give us an update, i think of going next weekend.

chintz, the fisher price rocker chair that you thot of buying, i got one when my little Basil was 2 mth old, he is sitting on it everyday, he like bright colors and patterns and playing with the attached toys, it can convert from a rocker to a stationary seat (upright position) for older babies or toddlers.

me also just got lightweight combi stroller last week, currently using Graco stroller sturdy but heavy and bulky.

ladies, finally got 5 mins to post.. adri's fever hovering between 38.5 - 39.. heartpain.. and she lost 1kg liao!!

tink i will be going the fair 2mro but not bringing baby cos she's still feverish!! dodo, gingerleaf, sms me la.. we keep a lookout 4 each other.. haha!!

gotta go again... =)

Cheval, same here, i have been using Graco and its so big n bulky...waste so much space in the car boot....
which combi stroller did u buy?

Seem many of u goin to the fair... Me cant make it on weekday =(

Hippo,

BB adri will get well soon...*Hugz*

Dodo,

glad to hear yr boy is ok... Do enjoy yr shoppin tml =)

ecookie,

got it!

gingerleaf,

my hubby not a lecturer... just that he busy giving lecture to some other countries counterparts recently... luckily today and tomorrow has a break...

hippo,

oh dear.. do monitor adrienne's temp closely k... and if need be, seek 2nd opinion... really hope she recover soon.. will sms u again.. take care of urself as well.. hugs...

pinky,

sure thanks... we can meet up again on one of the weekends

im taking half day off to go the the BB fair. I have BB bjourn original carrier... Is a haven compared to the BB sling. So easy to use when im handling BB alone. But find that BB sleep not s soudnly compared with a sling. I had a bumbo seat and BB enjoy it so much that he refused to ly down on his bouncer.. haha

Taking about pram.. mine is a pegpergo(???) very bulky.. sign...

Aft much consideration, im converting to part time working from april... so that i have more time for BB.. of course suffer pay cut loh..

chris: salute to u for making the move to be part time working to have more time with ur baby. i want to do that but lack the courage to do so. i guess i still want the financial independence.

dodo: my boy nickname is wormy.. but his real name is yongzhi 勇智. no english name though

eccokie,

my manager is supporting.. not taking a half pay cut.. so still can survive loh.. anyway is for one yr only.. aft that will send him to a chilecare.. He so adorable.. cant bear to be away from him for long.

Cheval, same here, i have been using Graco and its so big n bulky...waste so much space in the car boot....
which combi stroller did u buy?

eccokie,
Can call him wormy instead?
Very used to caling him wormy leh. lol.

Chris, mine is a peg perego too, so bulky. Looking out for a combi!

ginerleaf...

but if buy a new pram... the old one v wasteful leh... Usually when i bring BB our alone.. i will use just a carrier.. im not very good at using the pram especiall yon a downward escalator.. upward is still ok...

But thought of getting a aprica (lightweight) stroller... hubby going to german.. think will be cheaper there as it is made there

gingerleaf: sure.. meself still calling him that. ha. but some said not a nice nick.. ha.. hmm mayb will STOP calling him that soon.. :p

chintz, i bought in Kiddy Palace paid $125, cos during that time my boy don't want to sleep in the afternoon always want to be carry, that why I bought this rocker which come with calming vibrations and gentle rocking motion that said will help to comfort and soothe baby.

unice, mine is combi miracle turn, have not use it yet, only put him in to try out for about 20mins, he seen very comfortable & happy also cheeky cheeky smiling to me lor.

cheval: wah, miracle turn, thats the expensive one im trying to tell chintz just now hee..
but it looks very steady like can navigate difficult turns.

wow... haven't had the time to log in the past few days and the thread really flies!!!

weather pretty chilly these days. do keep all ur darlings nice n warm, all covered up, especially if go out or in the nights hor. hippo/gingerleaf/dodo, glad that ur babes have recovered from their fever.

been busy the last few days hunting for car. didn't realise COE would close on 5th march, n there would b an upward trend after that. so last weekend was our first attempt to shop at cars n everywhere we went, salespeople were hanging the 5 march deadline as a bargaining chip n it was a stressful time trying to decide which car to get coz financially v.tight so have to consider the cost/loan,etc. in the end, finally decided on a car yesterday afternoon.

sigh. shopping for car is just as stressful as shopping for a house coz its such a big-ticket item. n i think i will have to 'eat air' the next few months/years??? to repay back the cost of the car. but really no choice, coz once i go back work, have to commute alot coz of bb n maid. next thing is to go for a refresher course, n hopefully i can work up the guts to handle a car...

gingerleaf
re: bblegs
yah, i also once tried to buy an item from a mummy. transferred $ to her liao, she promised me to mail out after CNY over. till now, i haven't receive it yet. mailed her many times but she refuse to reply. really hate these people who ripped people's hard earned $$ off. hope they will get their retribution in the end...

dodo/gingerleaf/unice/hippo/pinky
sigh... u all alr arranging match-making n arranging 'pak tor' dates with each other bb's liao, i still haven't had the chance to meet up with u all yet! :D

dodo,
ur PD say ur boy big size? my boy was 8.25kg at 4 1/2 mths, but my PD say normal leh, didn't say he is big size... but it can be tiring to carry him nowadays, even when he's in a sling.

gingerleaf
re: leap pad
i'm curious about the system too. is it worth the investment? coz need to buy the system in order to operate/use the books, so quite ex. but can't test-drive it in shops coz its always all wrapped up. does it really help to engage n improve literacy in a child?

re: taka bb fair
will carseats be sold cheaper there than at robinsons 20% sale? anyone have ideas?

alamak, gingerleaf, dodo, eccokie, u all going tmr, i can't make it. i suay suay got to attend a workshop tmr afternoon.
u gals happy shopping n keep us mummies update on what to look out for ok?

i intend to go somewhere next week coz by then mayb not so crowded n also there's a toy fair event that starts only on the 7th. so if i go next week, i can check out both events. heehee... anyone going next week?

re: bibs
plastic backing one is definitely better especially if main purpose is to catch bb's drools. my boy is a big big drooler, saliva always drop big big one. so with the plastic backing, at least his shirt still dry. cloth bibs are good for feeding times, when there isn't so much liquid, more mushy stuff.

re: strollers
my stroller can't beat all of you one!!! :D mine is a super super budget 'car', a gift we received when bb was born. whenever i go out, i alway lust after all those branded 'BMW', 'merz' - mclaren/quinny/combi,etc, whenever i see them going by. all of them look so sleek as compared to my boy's budget car. but dun intend to buy another one yet, just use until it give way then get coz v.occupying space at home leh. if i get another, also dunno where to keep at home. :D my dream one would b those 3 wheels type. very easy to steer n streamline design!

gtg liao. had a tired day bringing bb out to tpy walk walk n need to settle some bank stuff n the Q so long, stand until leg ache...

So many of you going tmr...too bad I can't join you all. I always wanted to meet you all but never have the opportunity. May be next time...

Will be going taka on Sat wz hubby. Who's going on Sat? Think I'll be there in the afternoon after lunch. Hopefully can bump into one of you.

Re: stroller
I've got a combi stroller. Very light weight and easy to use. It's one hand operation..just press one button to open and close with one hand. I use it everyday. Haha..besides going out, I also push around in the kitchen.

1283389.jpg

Re: High chair
I'm still pondering if I should buy another high chair as I already have the Combi rocker which also acts as a high chair. But I heard feeding is very messy so pretty scared that the cushion will be quite difficult to clean.

Regarding Ikea high chair, though there are good feedbacks from some mummies, but I read that it's not very stable due the base is not solid and broad enough. It will tend to tilt backwards if baby moves. It's better to lean against the wall when feeding and to supervise the baby. Just recently I read in the forum that a baby fell off the ikea chair even with the buckle on. So for those who wants to get it, please consider carefully. As in this case, I would prefer the fisher price booster.

1283390.jpg

Wow...comes to shopping, the tread really moves fast ...

Told Hb abt Taka sales starting on Thursday and he said so fast one year liao meh ... hee forgotten that it was Aug that we made a lot of purchase then.

I bought my Quinny Zapp during the last Taka sales and I'm really happy zipping around with it. The price at sales is normally 20% discount and I think Robinson would be the same as well.

High Chair,
I bought one that looks like the combi one but cheaper brand. the brand is Les something. Kiddy have the model as well but I bought it at JL at a lower price ard $159 and with a further 35% voucher discount then. It's more for bb to sleep at my mum's place. Agree that I'll need to do something creative when I need to start feeding her as I don't intend to wash the cushion everyday.
Have a ikea high chair pass down from my colleague but yet to fix it yet.

Leapfrog littletouch system,
I remember last year there is a demo on this product at Taka sales. I think I'm more facinated abt the pdt then my girl. ha ha

Ice cube container with lid
Went Daiso last weekend and bought 3 trays to standby. It only have 5 section, I think smaller then the one posted here before but I like the idea of Made in Japan. ha ha

What to look for at the sales?
- Thinking of getting a portable chair whereby we can carry and used when outside.
- wipes if there is something cheaper than what i normally get from JL
- avent cups side holder and magic teats, thinking of converting the avent bottle that I seldom used into a magic cup for her. I bought the NUK ones but realized it was not drip proved like the one from avent.

Most likely I might be going down on Sat or Sun morning. But I suspect I will go down a few time just like last year. See, think, hesitate and go home, item keep flashing in the mind and finally cannot stand anymore and go down to buy ... ha ha

gingerleaf,
How much you paid for shipping in total on your order? Was it troublesome on the tracking? u using vpost right?
oh, my girl hair was always standing up also but now she botak liao so kind of miss them. Waiting for her hair to grow back so that I can feel the softness again....

Hmm looks like I'm going to be a zombie in tomorrow training liao ....:-( going to ZZzzzzz

garden dreamz
I hv the leap pad for my elder boy. He only started to like it when he was 1 year old. Previously, he didnt really like books, now better.
but it depends on the kid. Some can sit and listen when they are 9mths old, some till 2plus still cant. They hv songs and qt catchy tunes. eg, they hv this picture of 4 lambs and when u press it, they'll sing, "these 4 lambs are going home, gg home, gg home.. (in the ba ba black sheep tune), can imagine? I find it not bad.

garden dreamz
if u're getting, let me know which title u plan to get, I'll let u know if they're good if i also hv them.

Re: taka sales,

start today? mayb try to go this weekend ;)

Re: sling,

My boy dun like to be in the sling.. thinkin to get those carrier...Is that useful.. me cant handle even lightweight stroller by myself with my boy.. so hard to brin him out alone..

wha, really hor, come to buying things, this thread really moves fast man! hahaha...

i thinking to buy a car seat, but budget budget less than $200. got any suggestion?

my hubby is more keen on the IT show than the baby fair... hahahah!

haha... women are shopping queens! nothing lights our eyes (besides our precious babes) better than 1 activity - Shopping n 1 word - SALE!!!

krissie
thx for the leap pad info. haha, quite cute leh, to think of lambs singing to you, but as totoro said, mayb its us adults who find it more amusing n cute than kids! but i'll see if taka bb fair/toys fair have any demo set for me to try first b4 i invest in the system n cartridge books.

totoro,
i also like u. i last yr went bb fair 1 time to check out their stuff, go back n think n think, in the end, still can see the things 'dancing around my head' so 2nd time, go back n buy! :D

pinky
the carrier is a useful alternative n its better for the back also. think gingerleaf ever mentioned b4.

frostyfiona
i also wanna hunt around for car seat!!! i currently have an infant car seat but think it will be outgrown v.soon. keep me posted if you manage to find any gd deals hor. heehee... esp. at the bb fair.

sanbebe the one you posted on combi baby chair seems good! but is this the one that dodo + gingerleaf has?

i wanted to get a feedign chair which height can be adjusted..
got a hand-me-down ikea high chair but dun really like it cos like not v sturdy as u said.. and also i need another one to put in my mum's place.. hmm. hope the fair will have some good deals later.

will post tonight to let mummies know what good deals are there!

Hi Garden,

ref: Bib
My boy oso a big drooler, must use with the plastic background type.
He started to drool since 3rd mth. Wonder when he'll stop to drool.. coz sometime feeling inconvenient to wear the bib around his neck