(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

<font face="comic sans ms">Congrats to all those mummies who delivered!!

Junnie:
keke I thought u staying near her.. keke.. actually me stay very near her.. haha.. today my last massage.. she also got bind for me.. she said she will come collect when she free to drop by loh.. dun think i will bind lah.. lazy.. she said if I dun bind either i wear high waist girdle or corset loh..

nans:
u really lucky that your bb can drink so much and sleep so long.. mine ah.. now every 2hrs will cry for milk.. want to give her more she also dun want.. she will drink until fall asleep and refuse to open her mouth le.. now her intake is like 70-80ml every 2hrs.. very tiring.. esp night time.. also same.. duno when she can start to sleep through the night..

my baby is 16 days old now, at his 3rd week... i find his feeding habit or "pattern" change since this wednesday... his appetite is so so good and will cry for milk every 1.5 to 2 hours, each intake ard 70 -80ml... i wonder is this the so called "growth spurt"? does any mummies here experience this as well? my worry is with this big intake of milk will cause reflux and vomit of milk...

san, my bb is drinking fm. maybe dat is why he can sleep so long? this bb doesnt know when he is full de. so we simply see how hungry he is after drinking his milk. cos after drinking 4oz, he was looking for more, so we gave him 5oz. dunno when he will ask for more later on. my CL says most prob it will only be after he is 2 months. see how things go.

and mummies,

any recommendation on good PD @ west or north region?

nans:
my bb taking a mixture of FM and EBM.. both same leh.. will cry for milk at abt 2 hrs leh.. intake also the same.. sigh..

Congrats to all mummies who have delivered

just came back from my checkup. Finally, baby weight has passed the 3kg mark but he is still not ready to be out. Haiz... Now become a pastdue mom, wondering if should induce anot? doc has given baby till next sun

Regards to e let down... I m now pumping out my milk n usually e 1st let down i can pump bout 3oz n follow by aonther let down n i can collect bout 4-5oz. Can i know wat is e max. no. of time u all ve experience... Am i normal or not?

Thks

sugar nut, my massage lady still can take appointments. She was recommended by my sister's colleague. I've done 5 out of the 7 days of massage included in her package. So far so good - relaxing and noticeable reduction in tummy size. She provides a girdle which I can keep. Tummy binder + girdle for 6 days - only massage for the 7th day. Her name is Nisah. HP is 97253602.

san and dodo, i think it is the bm that is causing your bb to ask for milk at an earlier time. fm stays longer in the stomach and my CL advises me not to feed him every 3 hourly. best of 3.5 hourly cos of the 5oz feed. if it is bm, it is easily digestable even though the amount may be the same. it contains more water than fm. only reason i can think of really.

Congrats to all mummies who have 'popped'

Valerie,

I guess wat u can do now is to monitor..hopefully everything runs well.

I went to see PD the other day n was relieved to learn that my bb dun hv wind in stomach. He has finally resumed his normal self these few days..not cranky at night but hor... a bit cranky in the afternoon esp today. I wonder was it due to the construction going on in the carpark. It was so noisy wz those digging, dwelling n drilling.

wen wen,

So envious wz ur good supply of bf. I pump n latch bb on so many times a day but still got very little. Hv been drinking papaya soup everyday but still pale in comparison wz u. Give some to me leh...I always not enuf 4 bb.

Thanks Kris and Val for the contact! Yoko, think your PM is not activated, was not able to PM you.

My massage lady say she may reschedule my appt to sometime later next week. If she doesn't fix it soon, I will start to contact the massage ladies that you recommended.

Congrats again to all new mummies who have delivered!!

Paisei Sugarnut
Got it activated liao. U can PM me
Her name is Hadidah 91471197. Tell her YEN introduce u. U chk with her schedule. I also getting her for my post natal. She is now doing my pre natal. Not too bad. She does it for 2 of my gfs.

Wonder if any of you have the same problem...my baby has a lot of phlegm and it makes him really uncomfortable esp when he's feeding. he sounds like an old man trying to clear his throat sia. a few times he coughed up rather big blobs of milky phlegm.

I've heard of some mothers bringing their babies to baby 'tui na' to solve the problem but wonder if it's suitable for a 12-day old babe....

hihi mommies..

congrats to all those who have popped..

can check with u all...do ur 1 week old babies tear when they cry.... mine dun seem to tear at the moment...dunno why...

Here's roughly my birth story:

19th October 2007
7:00 AM: Woke up went toilet when wipe with toilet paper found a drop of light blood stain, but no feeling of contraction or pain, decided to go to work as usual. Anyway I got appointment to gynae on next day.

10:30 AM: decided to call up clinic to check, nurse told me that since just drop of blood stain and no feeling of pain and contraction can ignore and wait since I have already got appointment next day to see gynea.

7:30 PM: On the way home and brought dinner, felt very mild pain (timing was short less then 5 mins). Went home have shower and dinner.

11:00 PM: felt pain again till mild, went to sleep.

20th October 2007
2:00 AM: Woke up went to toilet, feel contraction coming (pain still short), when walk around it stop, cant go back to sleep, decide to do some house chores, can feel that contraction like menstrual cramp about every hour.

6:00 AM: Drink some milk and went back to sleep.

7:00 AM: Woke up felt contraction cramp, went to toilet GOT SHOW think is TIME, so went to have a long shower washed myself from head to toes.

7:25 AM: Woke up hubby told him that our SON has decided to come out soon. Hubby woke up go and buy breakfast for me before heading to clinic.

9:00 AM: Called clinic told them my condition and check whether to go in to clinic or check-in to hospital directly. Nurse told me to come in first for CTG and whether got dilation. Since gynea clinic is in Mt.E hospital we can easy go to labour ward.

10:00 AM: Reached clinic at usual went for urine test and checked weight. Put on CTG baby heart beat & moment is good, and I have 1 X contraction during 10 mins of CTG.

10:20 AM: Gynea do VE check I am 2 cm dilated and already in labour, gynea said baby is coming, I can go for light lunch and check-in delivery ward at 12:30 pm.

12:45 PM: Check-in to Mt. E. delivery ward, change and go toilet.

1:30 PM: Gynae came in checked my dilation is 3 cm now, Gynae broke my water bag (felt a hot gush of water coming out from vagina). When the drip started (to hasten the contraction), the contraction pain came!

2:00 PM:
Doctor for epidural came, prepare for epidural asked me what is my pain level from 1 9, I said 8 so started me with high dose of epidural to help me to reduce the pain, I am too greedy lor, my blood pressure went down due to my greediness. They have to stop my epidural for about half an hour and give me oxygen to stabilize my blood pressure. They have to re-start from mild level 2 and step up to 3 to 4 for me and it maintain at level 3 & 4 all time.

3:30 PM:
My blood pressure are stable, and I more relax and epidural is wonderful did not feel any pain even my hubby saw from the monitor that I having contraction. Hubby and I talking about how long will my labour be and we think baby should be arrival around 6pm to 7pm. While we are talking the nurse came and check on my dilation, and she said i'm fully dilated and baby at the best position to give birth, she informed gynea and she will be here soon. A few nurses came in and prepare all the items and get ready for my delivery.

4:00 PM:
Gynae arrived checked my dilation again and she so happy that I am already fully dilated and delivery, everybody prepare and get ready for my delivery. Nurse checked if both of my legs because we must not totally numb the legs, as we need to have feeling for pushing.

4:10 PM:
Started pushing, there a few nurses (5 or 6) of them together with my hubby asked me to push and count 1 to 10 during the contraction, it like cheerleader team. About 10 push, baby Basil arrived at 4:31PM.

4:31 PM:
MY Baby Basil was born, weight: 2.825kg, 47cm.

Thank you GOD that I have fast and smooth delivery.

congratulations cheval!

bbunny, i cant recall if my bb had tears..but i know now he has @ 3-4 weeks old. he will be 1 month coming monday.

leona..congrats!
cheval...thks 4 sharing birth story ....
san..we can 'shake hand', our bb pattern same, mine slight better than u, he drinks 130ml @2-3hr interval..try gv more but he cant finish..we going to b 'panda' soon'...
dodo..may b u can try increase a little bit, see whether bb finish the milk, hopefully can drag longer..
bbunny...i didnt monitor but when my bb 'big cry' he got tears when he a week or so ba...

junnie:
ya loh..want her to drink more so that can sleep longer also cannot.. today her feeding pattern quite erratic leh.. just now from 6:30pm till 10pm.. keep crying.. duno why.. 6:30pm give her 80ml of BM.. then 8pm give her 80ml of FM.. 9pm latch her on.. she fell asleep so put her in bed.. the moment I placed her in her bed she cried.. then have to latch again.. then just now 10pm give another 60ml of FM.. finally she fell asleep half an hr ago.. so tired now.. even my mum cannot take it that she passed her to me and she go sleep le.. sigh..

san, at least your bb crankiness was from 6.30pm to 10pm. my bb was cranky from 10.30pm to 12.30am. crazy night. kept carrying him and offering pacifier to him. sighs.

junnie, envy u cos at least ur bb knows when to stop. my bb doesnt. just keep drinking and drinking. so we have to gauge the timing very well and not let him overdrink. sighs.

nans , san

My bb also cried for a few hrs last nite , dun know wat she wants.Milk feed already , diapers changed , "ru yu' oil applied liao . Carry her also cry , put her down also cry .Sigh ...

hi jovial,

pls help me to update:

sorry for the delay....
Given birth to baby princess Clare on 10th Oct via natural assisted by vaccum. She weighs 3.14kg. 50 cm long and head circum 34cm.

nans, sans, leona,
speaking of bb crying. my bb had one of the worst days ever. this morning woke up at 5+, he started becoming cranky, gave him milk but he refused. try everything still cry. he was cranky all the way until 2pm. in between, offer him milk but he just couldn't take much n kept crying n crying. if not for my mum (whom i called out of desperation, n my sis-in-law who dashed over to offer assistance) who took turns trying to carry him while some household chores could b done by my helper, i think i would have broke down n cried long ago. my mum kept consoling me that bb will grow up. sigh... its so tough to see bb cry n nothing can b done to calm him. he can quiet a while when cuddled, but few min later, again.

am resisting the temptation of a pacifier for now... in hope that this is just one of those days that he's feeling upset.

i know this is a subject that has been touched b4 in the forum but i'm too tired to scroll thru all the archives... but can any mummy offer advise on increasing BM supply?

really envy some mummies who can provide enough for their bb...

garden_dreams,
Keep latching on baby every 2-3 hrs or pump. At night oso make an effort to wake up to pump juz to get the mind to recognise the need to produce more milk. It helps alot in regulating the milk supply. My frd told me the 1st 2 mths are the most crucial period, so dun give up now.

Oso knead ur breast hard b4 u bump, knead out all the lumpy bits u can feel, most prob those are blocked ducts. I didnt know I had so much blocked ducts till my massage lady told me. I tot it was just plain engorgement. After she knead n press out the ducts(it was so painful), my milk flow increase again!

garden_dreamz, yup! my mum gave him a nickname called xiao bing =D bb cry very vexed de. really train my patience. sighs...but still must press on.

gratz jacq and tiffy!

garden_dreamz, I had the same experience as you 2 days ago. Baby just kept crying and fussing non-stop. But she returned to normal the next day. Think it's just one of those things babies go through bah. Hopefully don't happen too often.

Hi gingerleaf,

I did my yesterday as well but it was a total opposite. She was awake from morning till ard 8.30/9pm before she finally decided to sleep!!!

Am relief that it's over liao ....and that will means counting down for me to go back to work as well!!!! hmm ... it's going to be another change and adjustment!!

Anyone using the Avent Manual Pump?
I keep having the valve popping out in the middle of pumping and it's really getting irritating. Am thinking what needs to be change, the valve, the round suction thing or what!!!

totoro. im using that too.
no prbs so far leh. Issit because the round suction thingy thats connected to the handle isnt pressed down n seal properly?

gingerleaf,
thanks for the advise. i'm trying to pump away regularly, coz if dun pump, can feel the breast v.hard/uncomfy but each yield like so pathetic. tried drinking lots of longan water, soups, message also like no diff. mayb as wat u say, i should b more 'brutal' in kneading my breast, see if it helps. congrats ur bb finally 1 mth old, also means the end of confinement for you!!!

nans, kris,
thanks for the consolation. but he's fussy v.often, even after his milk feeds. so now carry/rock/sing,etc to him n try to get him to sleep. at the moment, wherever can get him to sleep we just leave him there, be it the sofa, spare bed, mattress. dun dare to move him back to bb bed for fear tat he wakes up n another round of battle starts again. i'm torn between trying to train bb to sleep in bb cot but worried that he wakes up n go cranky. his cranky periods still v.difficult to handle. my helper now doing most of the soothing coz i still can't quite soothe him yet n my mum scold me when she realised that i try to walk around while holding him, coz she say confinement shd b more rest.

my mum suggested that if he continues n is not getting his proper rest to grow, use sarang/yao lan, but not v.keen on those gadgets. dun wan he in future hard to sleep without the rocking movements of the sarong n the dangers of putting bb in a sarong. so torn between decisions on wat's best for bb....

hoping that each day that passes, things b more calm...

tiffy, jacq... congrats..

nans, san, garden_dreamz, kris, leona... tink may b tis 'batch' of bb all sama sama...after everything chkd/done, also cry... we hv to endure.... bo bian... mine 'merlion again' 4am today, so angry... he cried feed him milk, he drink so 'kan chong', stop 2x burb him, still throw out milk, even bedsheet also kanna... got to change him then he cry again, so made another 3oz, he only takes 1oz & fall asleep!!! end up almost 6am alr... one person really v siong...

I think everyone is busy either pumping,feeding or soothing the cranky bb cuz the thread is so quiet today.

My bb is also very cranky this morning. I bf him frm 9.30am to 12 noon in the end gave up, feed him fm n thereafter he slept still 2pm.

Garden dreamz, I think the problem wz ur bb may be same as mine ie not enuf milk. May be bb din't suckle hard n long enuf to get sufficient milk so he's still hungry no matter how long we latch him on. Try supplement wz fm if he's still cranky even after bf.

Junnie,

hmmmm...hv u tot of giving a smaller hole teat so bb won't drink too fast n perhaps will stop the vomitting?

hi been MIA for a period due to unexpected early labour. hence my bb is premature. please help me to update the list.

DOB: Sept 15
Weight: 2.1kg, 46cm

sighs...my CL left today. feel so lost. then bb was cranky from 12nn to about 1 plus. finally managed to sleep. at 1 plus only to wake up again at 1.45pm to drink milk. after milk sleep for less than 45 min wake up cry again cos regurgitate milk. then carry him till he sleep just now at 3.35pm. arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. now i go rest a bit. so shack liao..

My CL leaving tomorrow...so scared..don't know if I can handle on my own.

Junnie, ya, babies nowadays are so different from us in the past. My parents and CL keep commenting that my baby is behaving like a 3 month old, very alert. Luckily she wakes up only once at night, but is super cranky in the day.

wow kris, so good ur bb wakes up only once at night...=D my mum also mentioned that. she even say my bb may be able to flip himself over by 2 months! lol...

re: milk bags
Just for info, I'd ordered Lansinoh Milk bags from Amazon. US$20.99 for 100 milk bags (come in 4 packets of 25 milk bags)- free US local delivery.

I'd ordered 3 set (total 300 milk bags) and a box of diaper disposable bag and my vpost delivery is SG$50.61.

Total I'd paid : US$20.99 * 3 * 1.517 = SG$95.53 + SG$50.61 = SG$146.14

That is less than $0.49 per milk bag (less than $12.18 for pack of 25 milk bags) since my shipping charge include the diaper disposal bags .

Mothercare selling @ $18 for a pack of 25 (save approx $6 per 25 milk bags)

congrats to new mummies, will try to update the list ASAP.

Started work on thursday, really miss baby. 1st time express milk outside the house too, dunno issit too kan chong, took me 45 mins to express from both side to get 200ml total. So paieh as I had to occupy my supplier's big nice and clean toilet (having meeting there)
So decided to get a extra manual pump from forum (just managed to deal with one of the WTS mummy).

Anyone selling pigeon or avent warmer at good price and can self collect / delivery near punggol ?