(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

omg, u all dun be so evil la, I only suggest ma. My cooking is always nice if I try cooking the thing 1st time. Subsequent tries sure not nice one. Always lidat, dunno why!

dodo,
local dishes... chicken rice!!! curry and loaf... or ur supermarket got sell frozen prata? chilli crabs??? Wow, u can make onde onde!!!

hippo,
i am really undecided. So let hb decide la. Im selling away my combi, so if hb really wanan get the quest, at least can subsidise abit.
Peg is way too heavy, coz mine isnt the normal peg Classico. Mine is a Pramette, which can convert to a bed to put infant, so its much more heavier that the classic ones. I think if we really get the quest, might sell away the Pramette too.

gingerleaf,
kekeke....we not evil lah..you make us drool mah...anyway, wah you really got a lot of stroller leh..hehe..so, if you sold some away, may be can really consider getting quest..hehe..

aria,

we bot the peg b4 lyn was born.. didnt take into consideration that it will be too heavy for me to handle alone. We thot, the bigger the better. So its permanent resident inside hb's car now. =/ Then bot combi which I handle with ease, but it got too small for lyn, coz when she sit inside, like very squeezey. So got volo which Im using most of the time now. Only drawback is, cannot recline lor.

seems like the peg like white elephant for you? can sell away to subsidised the quest lah. if you're not planning for no.2 so soon, may be can sell away the combi too..hehe..

Hallo mummies,

i wonder how come so quiet the whole morning, not knowing that i didn't receive any email updates from the thread hehe..

gingerleaf, ya ya, the dish u suggested sounded so gooooood!!

hippo, thanks for the thoughts. i'm generally ok, just don't ask me to walk/stand more than 5mins nia.. then i'll start to feel really giddy :p

twinkle_star: smooth delivery for ur SIL. first baby?

gingerleaf, oic... i can understand y u wana buy quest liao.. pramette not only heavy! itz super bulky... woah! but like u said, let hb decide and if reali buy quest, then sell away those u dun need later when u r back lo.. =P
hey hey! u made me drool too.. when are u going to create new dishes? i dun mind being guinea pig one leh! hahaha

chintz, oh my.. take real good care of urself ar! and have u seen the gynae? i'm just worried the fainting spells could be due to blood pressure.. just rem to check with ur gynae on ur next visit okie? missed ya!

hippo! my check up is this fri. can't wait!
so far my blood pressure has no prob. will talk to gynae about it, thanks babe.

so i assume u r pretty free today ha? hehehe

dodo
very gd liao , at least you can cook.I tried recipe books all like very chim.
Got any recipes to share .

My SIL give birth liao , her boy is 4.1 kg .Will be taking leave to visit her tomorrow .So happy.

gingerleaf
i got a combi to , i find it too filmsy , i also want to sell .
I think tiffy can cook very well too.

Chintz
yup this is her first baby ;)

twinkle star,
congrats to your SIL woh..wow, 4.1kg!!! very huge bb leh..her 1st one? wow, no epidural! pei fu pei fu..

twinkle_stars: congrats to ur SIL! and salute to her! no epidural and natural birth to a 4.1kg newborn!

hippo: yes come in more often! we all miss u!!

hippo,
glad to know u coping well wi ur new job!

sure sure! will definately let u know when im coming back! cant wait!!! my 3rd trimster starting this weekend... but recently start to feel abit giddy.. hope all is well..

gingerleaf,
hee.. actually it's very simple. coz my MIL made some sambal chilli and belachan for me, so i just use that and rendang paste to cook this dish..
1) diced potato and fry till half cooked, sieve out from the oil
2) fry some small onions till turn light brown
3) put in rendang paste & chilli
4) stir in circular motion slowly till the fragrance out
5) put in 1/2 cup of coconut milk (prefer thick than thin coconut milk)
6) continue to stir till the mixture thicken
7) put in the chicken (pre-marinate wi curry powder)
8) keep stir fry the chicken, simmer it for a while then stir fry again
9) till chicken abt 80% done, put in all the fried potato
10) continue to stir fry till chicken fully cooked
11) pour is 1/4 cup of coconut milk, stir abit and ready to serve!

paisei if i sound confusing coz i dun have proper written recipe, just typed out what i remember in mind... :p

any recommendations for function hall of restaurants/ hotels to host bb's 1st month party?

actually not party lah, just wana keep it a very small celebration wi family and good frens.. maybe 3-4 tables within a private room..

appreciate ur suggestions & helps! TIA!

Hippo,
Hihi! Long time no see. Glad to knoe that you are working well there. Can send Dayan to your mummy to toilet train him?? keke!

dodo,
yr rendang sounds yummy! I am pretty sick of what i cook every day. Wau rau! I got very limited cooking skills. U see ah:

1) Chicken Curry
2) You Tau Foo soup
3) Chicken Stew
4) ABC soup
5) Fried Rice or Noodles
6) Stir Fried Vege and pork
That's all leh! Then it will repeat the next following week again! My god!

Mummies out there can share with me simple one-dish recipes?

Me gotten influenza. Keep shivering and high fever. This am went to see Doc, the fever shot all the way up to 41.2 degree. Shiver like hell man! Really very grateful to HB to take leave to take care of the kids to let me rest for the day. If not, i dun know what to do.

jas,

oh dear! how are u feeling now? glad ur hubby able to help out and hope u had a good rest... drink more water and eat ur med on time ya.. hugs..

as for one-dish recipe, how abt spaghetti? easy to prepare also.. and actually i like to steam chicken drumstick wi dang gui & wolfberry, plus abit seasoning of sesame oil & soya sauce, very convenient not not time consuming preparing at all.. just marinate and steam wi dang gui for abt 20 mins (depend on the size of the drumstick), can eat this wi white rice, the gravy very nice also

and last time after my 1st month confinement, i almost cook papaya fish soup everyday for lunch! also very easy to prepare and filling..

Jas, oh dear take good care leh. drink more water and get some sleep. mebbe u're overworked?

Wow that's not bad liao leh. i think i can only cook ABC soup from the can. hahahah.

dodo, hai xiang at parkroyal on kitchener road is quite nice. it's ala carte buffet and quite affordable. had a nice meal there for matty's first birthday celebration
think got UOB discount also. http://www.parkroyalhotels.com/hotels/singapore/kitchener_road/parkroyal/restaurants/hai_xiang_restaurant.html

twinkle_stars, congrats to ur sis in law! wow 4.1kg without epidural...hope i can also go without epi for no.2! thanks again for offering to lend us your cot...so pai seh forgot to tell u when we managed to get one. how are u n garina? all ok? garina learning to walk?

karrie,

thanks for the recommendation!

will a function room be given for 3-4 tables of guests? roughly how much per pax huh? thanks!

dodo, that time i only had 1 big table which was in the private room--but they didn't draw the sliding doors/partition leh. but i was ok with it coz it was secluded enough from the other diners. if i rem correctly there were 2 other tables in the private room...think u must request specifically for them to draw the sliding doors.

yah it's pretty reasonable for hotel buffet. that time we ate until wanna explode heeheehee. and they were very nice abt refrigerating matty's birthday cake :p

karrie,

haa! sounds like a good deal
how's the food & ambience?

how's ur bb girl doing? few more weeks ur turn to pop! must be very excited ya, how heavy is she now?

hi mummies, any of u keep ur baby girls' nb-6m clothes that u dun mind parting with for a small token? dun really wanna spend too much money on nb clothes for no.2...i gave most of matt's nb clothes away liao. that time didn't know would get preggy so soon :p

food was not bad! they have a wide variety, we didn't manage to order everything, coz we were so full! we purposely order all the expensive fish, scallops, etc etc hehehehe. very good deal. in terms of ambience, like a normal chinese restaurant loh. i quite like the deco.

my bb girl is super active these days leh. scared she more hyper than matty...getting braxton hicks more frequently. think she should be a little more than 2kg at 33weeks now? the last time i scanned was 1.8kg at 30 weeks.

how abt little darius?

karrie,

thanks for the feedback!

haa... u have a gungfu cow girl inside ya! u already week 33, very near to ur popping date! little darius more gentle compared to zq.. he seldom had those very fast & rigorous moves, but more like long & draggy movements.. haa, hope u understanding what i mean :p

as for his size i duno leh.. coz long time never visit gynae liao.. will schedule one visit here at BJ this month end..

dodo, no prob...it's a small place tho, if u inviting lotsa ppl mebbe not enuff space...

yah yah i know what u mean...heheheheh. wow he's more gentle than zq? zq is oredi a v gentle boy! so u will have 2 guaiguai boys! matty is so hyper and cheeky oredi, and his sister is so much more vigourous than he was. think mine will be double trouble....

karrie,

no no.. zq is super hyper & cheeky also!
he everyday got "new patterns" to cheat and trick me.. just now i put on a cap for him and show him wi mirror that he looks good.. then shortly after that, he took his daddy's underwear (luckily it's clean one!) and put it on my head! faint.. din realise he did this coz i was sitting down and writing somethg.. he did this from my back! argh..

hee.. actually dun mind another cheeky & active boy, just hope his drinking milk pattern is better than his gor gor! can feed on bottle and not spoon/cup feed! :p

twinkle stars,
long time nv see u pop in here to chat. U been busy?
congrat to ur SIL.
me not a good cook lah, just so-so only.

dodo,
ur rendang and onde onde sound yummy leh. hehehe

dodo... pls share more recipes with us! haha, guess what, i copy down all ur recipes liao.. if u dun mind, i wanna learn how to make that papaya soup also.. i remember having those really thick n yummy ones in TMC. but my MIL cooked one, not so nice :p

jas, hope u r feeling better now.. rest well while hb is on leave oh!

karrie, so will u be taking early maternity leave?

morning ladies!!!

ecookie, yup yup! missed u too... =P

dodo, great to hear dat! dun suddenly come in to tell me u popped in sg b4 i meet u ar.. keke..
rem to bring ur condition up to ur gynae when u r back.. and take care in the meantime ar!

jas, u sure ar? she's very strict leh! hohoho.. poor dear! ur fever's so high! pls rest well and sleep it off okie? drink lotsa lotsa water...

twinkle stars, ya.. reali peifu ur sil! no epidural for 4.1kg?? woah!

karrie, i dun mind passing u the clothes! lemme go back to mum's place to check on the condition & PM u tis weekend okie?

Jas
Hope you are feeling better , drink more water & rest well.Get well soon .

karrie
U r welcome ,no worries

Garina is now very cheeky ,whenever she do not want or do something , she will wave & tell you "bye bye" she pronounce as "popeye popeye".Veri funny.
Yup she's still learning to walk.
U take good care.

thks for all the well wishes for my SIL , looking forward to see her & BB later.

dodo
haha ZQ so funny haha , remind me of my hb who like to chase me around he house with his clean underwear & try to lab it in my head.sigh ..
I tried the food @ parkroyal before , not bad , quite nice.

tiffy
Eversince my colleague left , i've struggling @ work , everyday work till 8-9 p.m , rush home eat dinner , then abt 10 p.m , pat & sleep with Garina .
Very hectic ,last month somemore did not hit my quota , 1st time working for 9 yrs in the company , no commission

Me & my previous teammate got very good 'Mo qi" & he's a very good & the top salesman.

twinkle stars,
oh yah hor, u ever mention ur colleague had quit. from then till now, ur company never employ someone to take over?
it's really v tiring for u. How's ur maid? Have she turn over a new leaf? Is her hand still 'dirty'?

jas,
poor girl...fever 41 degree no joke man...must be a strong virus! pls take care and rest well..

twinkle star,
hahah garina saying "popeye" and wave you away definately a funny sight! like dismissing you like that..haha..so cute!!
aiyoh, poor girl, no wonder we hardly see you login in here and chat with us.. work until so late. also your PS pet also not much progress, everyday got flies one..hehe...what are you working as by the way?

twinkle stars, yes she's still at gymboree but we are going to the sat morning class now... =) join us?
poor thing. .so busy.. headcount freeze?? must hv been so tiring!

hi mummies, on mc today coz my back is killing me. maybe it's prolonged standing. baby is really getting heavy!

dodo, hahah so cute lah zq. think our babies at this age really v cute. so many funny antics loh. but i think zq is still a v sensible boy leh. when he does something wrong at least he will have the sorry look, and i remember u teach him to say sorry and he really did rite? matty just laughs it off. dunno how to discipline him sigh.

chintz, i'll be going off 2 weeks before my EDD. Hope that will be enough time for me to prepare coz i haven't sorted out a lot of things yet. e.g. matty's sleeping arrangement, clothes, diapers etc. i haven't even packed hospital bag. and then also have to scout for cc for matt.

hippo, thanks so much...can give u wipes or diapers in return...let me know which one u prefer and what brand/size adri uses ok?

twinkle_stars, poor girl. u must be tired with the long hours at work...do take care of urself yah. garina so cute hehehe. can imagine her going 'popeye popeye' hehehehehe...

morning mummies...

hippo, so happy to see you back chatting again..

jas, do rest more.. 41 degree very high.. u feeling better now??

twinklestar, poor thing.. u got to work so late everynight...u must have missed garina.. so cute she say byebye as popeye..heehee...congrats to your SIL...4.1kg natural w/o epidural..really salute her!!

tiffy, u also another good cook.. saw those cooking in ur fb..yummy,,,

dodo, zq so funny...putting the undies on ur head...

sianz, anders having high fever again,,depsite the medication, his fever still shot up to 39.8..keep sponging him to keep it low..but he hates to be sponged..haiz...

according to the PD, he got stomach virus and red throat...all comes as a package from infantcare..really hope he build up more immunity from there...

karrie, no need la.. silly! but i reali need to check cos i dun wana pass u things that are very worn in liao...

ponponta, aiyo! poor anders... must hv been so uncomfortable for him, the fever & the throat... hugs hugs for him!

poor anders, get well soon okie?

karrie, that's still a lot of things for u to do while on ML leh.. hey i think u better pack ur hospital bag soon, you'll never know :p 2nd child supposed to come out earlier i heard. pls take care!

morning mummies.. still closing for me.. sianz

ponponta: anders sick with fever? oh dear, hope the meds will work soon and he will recover fast! yah this most babies will go thru a period of falling sick to build their immunity..

karrie: take more care of ur back. if not may lead to back problems when you are old. try to rest more..

jas: drink more water and take care of urself too!

tiffy,
u can cook well lah! saw many yummy dishes on ur FB! slurps :p

chintz,
haa.. i really can cook v basic food only.. as for the papaya fish soup, mine definately not as tasty as TMC one loh, coz i think they brew for many many hours.. i just used some cubes of green papaya, ngoh fish/ ang cho gish slices, some slices of ginger, ard 5 red dates, some wolfberry.. get a small saucepan of water and cook wi the papaya, put in the red dates & wolfberry together, boil till papaya rather soft then put in the fish & ginger.. put abit of salt to taste, then once the fish cook it's ready to serve, very fast and simple right! haa..

hippo,
sure will let u know when exactly i fly back! wana meet up wi u wi my big tummy.. haa, then psycho u & hubby to have 2nd one soon :p

twinkle star,
ur hubby got same "hobby" as zq! haaaa..
thanks for the feedback

karrie,
haa, u got good memory! yup yup, he will say sorry with the hand gesture.. sometimes he will do it automatically w/o asking but sometimes i will insist he says sorry b4 he move on to his play... of coz he will struggle and fuss but i will look at him sternly and lecture him.. he will give in ultimately..

gal, u really must have some good rest b4 u pop.. now im coming to 3rd trim, feeling heavy and giddy at times, so i can understand it must been hard on u to stand and teach almost whole day.. catch some rest whenever possible ya!

ponponta,
hope anders recover soon! poor thing.. aunty hugs hugs.. his fever more than 38.5 can feed ibufren rather than normal paracetamol?

hi mummies, thanks for your concern...

dodo, ibufren helps, can buy from pharmacy? PD only give paracetamol..=( even though his fever is high, only ask us to bath him in lukewarm water if it hits 38.5....

karrie, do rest more.. have you been sleeping more recently? the last time, u mentioned u wake up early to do marking etc..must take care of your backache hor....