(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi Yoki...
Perhaps u wana see if anyone can help u buy the jumperoo from US...my sis bought it in NYC...and it only cost S$140!

Mommies...
Anyone interested in Graco toddler car seat??? i have one brand new one which can be used for new born to 4yrs old...chocolate/beige in colour...selling for $230...anyone???

oh blues, must be tiring time for whole family. take good care.

got to miss taka fair..anyone going isetan private sale on 13 mar?

Amy: waah...again...i may go after work! I haven't received the mailer leh...Any good buy?

Blue: aiyoh..ur hubby also kenna eh, take care!

Blue take care hope the saga be totally over soon!

Irene sure if have any competition i give u a call straight away so that u can be on ur road to becoming a xing ma hee..hee.. become xing ma don't forget ur coconut kakis huh haha joking lor!

Magoo ok thanks for the info. see whether lawrence want to bring me go down taka fair or not to see see look look.. hee..hee..
but lawrence ask me get the ikea high chair cheap n good only 39 me still considering????

Atinarin,
Yep, I bought the Bbjourn carrier too. Zac likes it. But I don’t use it often now as he’s quite heavy (and I’m quite weak!) so we use the stroller wherever we go.

Wiselyn,
Regarding cultivating hor.. I think you and Clement can teach her lah..

Angel,
What reason did you give HDB with regards to renting your whole place hah? Can share? Found your new place already?

Emily,
Can share with me your mover’s contacts, and the problems faced by your FIL in renting out his place?

Poohwai, Irene,
I’m very scared after hearing your stories of how your darlings bite you. Zac is a fully latched on baby
He is already biting me already when nursing (just that he doesn’t have teeth yet). I’ll always scold him very harshly but he’ll unlatch himself, look at me, and smile. Then relatch on and continue to bite.

Blue,
Jordan also got teeth liao!?!

Good morning ... aiyoh I tell you hor, I often hear HFMD in adults very mild ... I beg to differ! Last night I can't sleep the whole night cos my hands and feet very pain ... felt like they are burning!!! This morning I discovered many more spots! Then hor, so painful I can hardly walk cos the spots are spread all over the feet how to walk? Can't tip toe also cos my toes also have!

Bena,

since you are the one telling her to cultivate mah...so u i better position to teach her...haha...

Clara also have been "bitting" (no teeth yet) when she latch on...pain ah...

hi bebeng,
really US selling cheaper?
then mayb can make arrangement liaos..
i will go and chk it out..
anyway, is FP fr USA?if yes, then shd be cheaper liaos

thx for the info

mummies with sept babies,
anyone receive ur bb bonus already?
wanna deposit bb ang bao together with the bonus to his acct.

baby bonus:
havent checked but the first payment was given few weeks after bb was born i think.

taka baby fair:
anyone knows if they sell tollyjoy wet wipes cheaper there?

bluesky:
take care. hows bb?

vaccines:
my colleague's dd is down with chik pox despite having been vaccinated. think she around 4yo. the 2yo girl not vaccinated but didnt get it.

those with elderly parents, do note that they are also at high risk of pneumoccoal bacteria so i think a good step to take is to get them immunised esp if they are your bb's caretaker.

hi phoebe,
haven check yet. should be end of this mth then get bazz..

hi atinarin,
think for wipes not much difference. Coz i saw the Pigeon one selling @ 10.10 which is the same as selling in department stores.

i have a 3 pack Pigeon wipes, bought at $10.10 also, willing to sell at $9 if anyone needs...i dont use pigeon already, switched to Tollyjoy..

it expires 2010

yoki: now the pigeon wipes everywhere are quite std price, $10.10, fairprice selling at $9.95 which is not much diff. Cheong Choon selling the cheapest at $8.70.

Angel: Have you intro sweet potato or broccoli to Jade? How's her reaction? I just bought the purple sweet potato, will steam and blend tonight for Sam.

Hi yolksac, u still around? Want to check with you what type of veg do we need to strain and sieve after blending? Broccoli required to?

Can I check how much milk your bb taking now huh? I've not increased Jordan's milk intake for a long long time liao ... he's still taking 160ml about 4 hourly.

Wonder if it's time for me to increase ...

thanks tiny voice.is cheong choon at chinatown? tats real cheap as compared to departmental stores.

hi bluesky,
my bb is taking 130ml oni but timing nt fix one..should be normal for him to drink at this amount bas..

can i ask when you feed bb rice cereal, how much can your bb eat ?

mine will only take few spoonsful (share half with his bib), then refuse to eat liao

Bena:

My bb also start gumming me! >_< He pulls real hard and stares at me waiting to see my reaction. When i scold him he will be like Zac unlatch and smile.. Its very painful even without teeth... cant imagine how it will be if he bites with teeth..

Activity Gym:

My bb starts out growing it. he starts pullin all the toys down and bites them..

Vone,Wise,
How ah? How to prevent bb from biting huh?

Cereal:
today I jus asked my PD. She said at Zac's age, 2-5 tablespoon of cereal is good.

Atinarin,
I asked Zac's PD regarding prevenar and rotarix vaccination leh.. she talked alot but bottomline is these vaccinations are safe wor..

Hi Tiny Voice

Peas and green beans should be run thru a sieve after puree-ing - this is to get rid of the skins. Broccoli should not need this extra step.

I come in now and then, but if you're looking for me, best to come into the July thread ok?

very long no 'see' liao...ever since CNY, many things had happened until I really have no time for the forum...so sian

Missed out so much &amp; now don't know where to go back to read from..haha

blueskye
Glad you are getting better..I used to think that HFMD only attacks children...hmmm

RE: Teething
Rae Yan still a bogey as of today..PD checked her last Wednesday when brought her fro 6 in 1, no signs of teething yet..*Bleah*

RE: Milk &amp; solids intake
Blue, my gal still taking 100~120ml every 3hrly.with two solids feeding in a day..

Re: gathering
Poohwei organising a gathering?

bena :

wat i heard was unlatch n put baby down for a few mins and relatch. when bb bites push baby towards u so he will unlatch when he cant breathe and tell him a firm NO rinse n repeat so tat he knoes this will happen no milk milk if he bites

today i started with a teaspoon of rice cereal with breast milk for 1 meal.

may i know when to increase to more then one meal?

are we suppose to feed the baby milk first n then follow by rice cereal?

when my bb bite me, i 'beat' his cheek, he will stop n look at me, and then i will tell him "NO", try to let him know NO mean cannot.

Managed to take some pics of my HFMD symptoms ... not very clear though.

1287751.jpg
1287752.jpg

1287753.jpg
1287754.jpg

Don't underestimate these little spots ... very painful ok! So no wonder Jordan was extra cranky that few days ... my MIL said he was literally screaming in the middle of the night. I finally knew why when I was also experimenting the "burning hands and legs" sensation last night.

atinarin: it's 42.90 at taka now. the day before i was at robinsons and it was 49.90.. no sale for leap frog items.. but my friend said toysRus are also having a sale, though i'm not sure how much it is

blueskye: how does the pain feel? issit like hot pain, or ouchhsore pain?

Shotbyfau: The pain is abit like freeze tear or multiple paper cut kind of pain.

Shirley: Jordan looks well now ... just waiting for his spots to completely clear.

Wah blue,
Looks like some kind of rashes. Din know HFMD is so painful..

Vone,
Thanks for the advice. I think if I unlatch Zac, he won't even miss a thing. Cuz he's now more interested in play than in milk.. Tell him firmly NO he just smile at me, thinking I'm playing with him. I have a tendency to scream when he bites, and he never fail to be amused by me and sometimes even laughs at me.. I'm beginning to feel that he did it on purpose so as to trigger a response from me..faint.. I'm actually very scared cuz while at TMC, I saw a mummy whose nipple was hanging loosely on her aerola as if it was almost severed from it(yes I know it sounds gross). I think baby might have bitten her.
I'm thinking I dun want this to happen to me man..

Shirley,
Actually I used to slap Zac (bad mommy) out of reflex, when he bites. Now I refrain from doing that cuz I'm thinking what am I teaching my kid? Physical violence to get my way? And slapping doesn't work on him.. he'll just unlatch and look at me curiously.. I think he has high threshold for pain. Today brought him to his pneumococcal jab and he din even cry. In fact he laughed cuz PD asked us to entertain him while she carry out the deed.

Emily,
Today I asked my PD abt baby waking up crying with eyes still closed. Is Edison still like that? My PD says it's a form of disturbed sleep (something like nitemare but not exactly it) but it's a phase that baby will outgrow. Zac has it all the time.. even during his daytime nap. He'll suddenly wail and when I check on him, his eyes are still closed. Then if I wake him up, he'll even smile at me..so those sleep training ideas cannot be used on Zac. What of wait 5 mins then go into baby's room to soothe baby through talking and then leave room and then wait 10 mins before going to baby if he cries again. I doubt talking has any use to wailing babies who are still unconscious in their sleep and who are screaming their heads off for no apparent reason. I tried this sleep training thingy and within 3 mins Zac wailed till his whole body was shaking, his fists and feet clenched up, his whole face bluish red and his voice hoarse with mucus coming out from his nose and mouth. How to take it? I think if I dun intervene, he will cry till he lose his breath and maybe faint or go into a comatose.

bena, u very kua zhang. but i think i aso wont be sleep training my kid aso. i no heart to do it. for now, i simply 'train' him by no more walking around all over to house to make him sleep. i just try to sit down and pat or rock him to sleep. so far it works. but just now, he was wailing like mad. think too tired liao...so had to stand up and rock a little. just 2 minutes of rocking, he sleep le. =D my kid aso wail with eyes close today. think he is going thro the phase ur bb all going thro. hope it wont be too long a phase which he will outgrow?

isetan private sale:
i think im going after work but will be FULL of pple. gosh. anyone gg?
some offers im interested in:
-safety gate, think lucky baby brand is selling ard $30+ per pc
-richigi daily baby clothing going at 5 pc for $10!
-bra sale as usual!
-shoes! gg at 15-30%!
most baby brands less 20%..

highchair: think rainforest is really out of my range.. anyone has mamalove high chair saw it @ kiddypalace today and it seems quite good.
height adj/varoius recline/waterproof seat material/wheels/5 point secure belt.. at $99
thinking of getting it...

blue: ur spots look painful! get well soon!

hi any mummies using baby powder on their babies?
i know that powder is not encouraged on newborns nowadays cos risk of allergies/asthma.
but when is the safe age to start using it?

pinkyj: Thanks girl but i prefer the packet type, the bottle type is tough to come out and overly wet.

fau: thanks...its 49.90 at Thomson PLaza too...may go buy, is the fair still on tomorrow?

bena: docs are definitely pro vaccine, they have to be. dont know la i think abt this everyday too..

my mum asked the doc about the jab for herself, doc said good to have. nurse said not necessary...see, even health care professionals dont knwo...

after a bad experience with my first gynae, i generally dont trust them much...hehe

Hi Bena..
Edison still wakes up crying once in a while.. I will immediately carry him, pat him and keep telling him that he is at home with mummy now, nonit to be afraid... He will stop crying after awhile &amp; goes back to sleep.. I was told that sometimes babies dream of their past life?! I wonder if tat's true...

My mover's contact is:
Moving Star - Express
Long Yun Removal &amp; Transportation Services
Mr. Jason Ang
Tel #: 6384 2803
www.movingstar-xpress.4t.com

His price is reasonable. I engaged him 3 times liao, I like their service. Their workers are fast!

Re: rental. It depends on luck whether you can find a good tenant. My FIL used to have an Indian expat tenant, who is super demanding. She will call my FIL over small small issues.

ecookie, I have already started using powder on my boy liao ... think if you use the other type of powder sponge should be ok ... cos the other fury type cause the powder to "fly around" easily.

ecookie: i used powder from the start but the talc free one, roll on, from Grins and Giggles.
I just put some on her chest and some on her back.

can u ladies put up a pic of the mama love high chair?

Today I brought Jade for her 6 month Heb B jab and 1st Pneumococcal jab. Its true when they say the jab is more painful than the 5in1 jabs! She really cried hard until her tears come out and it was difficult to soothe her...felt so heart pain but I was relieved to know that she can feel pain in her thighs coz she never cried before when she took the 5-in-1 vaccines.

Hi Voice,
Yup Jade loves sweet potato...gave her the japanese kind too...must add alot of water while blending otherwise its very lumpy. She also loves broccoli! I was surprised coz the book says most babies don't like broccoli. So far she's tried pumpkin, sweet potatoes, potatoes, cauliflower, broccoli, green peas (frozen), green beans, apple, pear, peach, carrots, banana, papaya, mango, and plums. The only thing she refuses to eat is CARROTS! Dunno why lor...the book also say carrots are favourites among babies coz they're naturally sweet, but I tried 3 times liao and she always spits it out. The conclusion I made is that Jade is not like most other babies!

Hi Bena,
I told HDB that I wanted to rent a place near my SIL's house as my baby is being taken care by her and the travelling distance I have to make everyday is very far lor. Gave them my SIL's address to verify and then they approved the next day
I found a nice 5room flat near my SIL's house which is next to Bukit Panjang Plaza...renting for $2K. And I rented out my 5-room for $3K...so every month I got $1K income. Plus I save on petrol costs and time travelling...so we can use the money to renovate our house when we come back in 2 years. Its a win win win situation!

Em,
Can you give me the contact for the movers please? I'd like to get a quote from them for comparison. Thanks!

blueskye:

Oh dear looks really bad. Get well soon

Bena:

omg tat sounds really bad... poor mummy... ya i think sometimes they just want to see our reaction. If this is the case, control. Don't entertain them and they'll stop. whenever bb bite, immediately use ur last finger and put into his mouth and take out ur nipple.

hi yolksac: tks for the info, we will try peas sooner or later, bought sweet potatoes and pears today and pureed pear tonight and tomorrow going to do sweet potatoes.

Hi angel: waaah, ur jade tried so many type of food liao eh, Samuel don't like pumkin on its own but like it when it's mixed into his cereal, you may wish to try mixing carrots to cereal and let Jade try it. Sometimes a taste on his owns for the initial times are difficult for babies to accustom but you can always try carrot on its own again some other time.

Blue: Sam is taking 165ml now except for last feed is 150ml, cos' is a dream feed and he usually KO at 130-140ml most of the time. Hope the pain will go away soon on your hands/legs, must be agonising to have gone thru' that.

My boy seems to be going thru' a growth spurt this week as his solid start picking up, here's a skeleton schedule of his feeding:

6:30am – 165ml milk
7:30am – nap again
9:00am - Water
9:30am – Bath time
10:00am – 1 fruit puree
11:30am – 165ml milk
------play------

1:00pm – Cereal + veg puree
------play-------

2:00pm – Nap
3:30pm – 165ml milk
5pm – Water then Nap
6pm – Cereal + veg puree
6:30pm – Wipe or Bath time
7:30pm - 165ml milk
-----play--------

9:00pm – Water
9:30pm – Sleeping time
11:30pm – Dream fed 150ml

My Jordan not yet start on solid yet ... he doesn't really have a routine ... but usually about 3.5 - 4 hours, I will feed him lor ... each time prepare about 160 ml ... sometimes finish, sometimes left 20-30 ml, sometimes left alot! As for nap, usually will let him nap after 3-4 hours of "play". Bath only in the morning and wipe before changing into his sleepsuit.

Hmmmm, that's about it.

He's about 9kg now as of 6 months ... comparing to my gal as I looked at her past records, she was only 8.1 kg when she was 9 months!!!