(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi darmae, i also panda eyes liao....but these 2 days my gal wake up only once at nite, monitor liao, 1st day is 3.30-4am, then yesterday 5am...last time she used to be every 2 hrs interval feeding (during 1st mth), then 2nd mth depend on her mood, twice every nite, then these 2 days better, only once, so now i a bit more alert during working hrs. phew.....

btw how old is ur bb liao?

thanks rxsti,

i oso gave dream feed at around 11pm.. her bedtime usu 9pm too. but the hor, i think i 'make a mistake' by letting her nap between 7-8pm. cos most of the time, she will ek ek ek... latch her she dun wan.. then pat her she fell asleep.
i really hope i can train her to sleep thru.. been trying hard but nv get it right somehow. feel vexed esp so cos i have returned to work liao....

btw, any mummies can advise if it is alright to bring bb (4mths old) to the bird park or zoo?

bubumama,

maegan 4mths old (born on 4th sept). last time when she was 1-2 mth old, worse... every 2 hrs interval she will wake up for nite feed. xiong oso but cos not working yet, still managable.

now cannot liao lor.. ned to focus at work, esp lab work, require precision lor.

so now... 2-3x she will wake up for nite feed even after giving her dream feed at 11pm by latching, she will still wake up at 1am, 330am, 630am.

darmae, heard from someone that bb can be train to sleep thru, but can only do so after 6mth when they go solid. they also sd to feed bb ard 11+ then sleep, so they will wake up only once but sometime not true one....i hv exp it and it doesn't work.

u know i sometime very bad, my gal (now 3mth) sometime make a lot of noise, as long not loud cry, i don't care no wake up to latch her cos really really tired liao, so she will stop after a while (but u don't try this if u really sayang ur maegan). :p i also sayang my gal (jia hui) but really boh pian lah, so try try lor

amy
i also using ameda dual pump but so far ok leh.. which type of funnel u using?
if you are using the original funnel they provide you might want to check for cracks cos mine crack at the neck so end up change the whole funnel to plastic one.. now much better. =p

but my problem now is the connector to the 2 tubes, the stopper cant seal the air properly, so vacuum not strong enough, order the spare part but can only reach singapore on Friday.
So now i cannot use single pump, can only use dual but when i go work must bring so many things....

Any mummies can give me recommendations abt the sterilizing tablets or buying a travel sterilizer or microwave sterilizer?

hi darmae,
thanks. just did another pump and this time, no milk splashing to teh top funnel..will see how it goes lor. I use the high setting leh for both leh..sometimes a bit soar..haha...

nynke didn't give me 'face' for apst few nights- cried so badly at bedtime,s round 8pm. MIL interfered and wanted to carry her away form me. she did so eventually lah..cos nynke stopped crying once MIL took over..so sad...

hi mummies who is using the ameda dualpump, i had problem with the connector. it keeps jutting out, resulting in weak suction.

do give them a call if ur unit is still under warranty. they replaced another set for me at no charge since its under warranty.

I have the following for sale. not sure if any of you are interested or any of your friends. Help me ask around ya. Thanks!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/climbabe/

Things for sale:
1) GRaco Stroller
2) Bum wear
3) 'The First Years' milk bags (4 packs)
4) Sofa set
5) 2 bags of milk caps (10/bag) @ $5/bag for those glass milk bottles obtained from hospi. Pix not on website.

I have the following for sale. not sure if any of you are interested or any of your friends. Help me ask around ya. Thanks!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/climbabe/

Things for sale:
1) GRaco Stroller
2) Bum wear
3) 'The First Years' milk bags (4 packs)
4) Sofa set
5) 2 bags of milk caps (10/bag) @ $5/bag for those glass milk bottles obtained from hospi. Pix not on website.

Please PM me or sms me at 9489 9008 for fast deal if interested.

Hi keki,
I'm also a sept mum. Have been following the thread regularly but never posted. Saw ur concern and wanna encourage u to perseverse in bfing...
I almost gave up bfing after the 1st week my baby was borned. Cos got very serious crack nipples. Pump also got blood. Baby latch-on also very painful. Went to see a breast doc and was on antibiodics.
From then on, I stopped latching and just pump out because of the pain. Now, my baby refuse to latch on anymore and I have been feeding EBM through the bottle ever since baby was 2 weeks old. (Though sometimes I really feel quite down without being able to experience the closeness of latching baby)

Now, I'm back to work and below is my pumping schedule.

6am - 410ml
11am - 260ml
4pm - 260ml
9pm - 260ml

As seen above, I only need to pump 4 times a day now and supply is still good. The initial weeks, I have to wake up twice to pump and day time, every 3 hrly.

Be encouraged, cos u can actually tune your breast to produce enough milk without engorgement even with delayed pumping.
Jia you.

bubumama,

i thk some mummies in our thread who babies can sleep thru the nite with dream feed.
smtimes i'm not sure if its individual bb's habit or i didnt do it well.. end up she kept waking up at nite.
sometimes i oso tempted to ignore her ek ek ek... but then after the ek ek ek, she will either scream or cry. so i dare not ignore for long....
a colleague as me to try giving water, but i didnt try. not sure hw tis will work...

phoebe,

i wasnt comfortable with the smell of the tablets so i bgt the travel size steriliser from pigeon. its compact.. i left it for use in office. but the dwnside is tat it can only fit 1 funnel and 1 bottle at a time... so ned to sterilise 2x.

amy,

i understd hw u feel when nyke stopped crying aft mil took over. maegan oso once did tat before when she was younger... i felt so hurt and useless tat time.

pillow,

zombie.. yes, exactly the feeling. nw me abit stone oso.

darmae, my bb now aso wake up 1-2 times every nite. i still have yet to go back to work. quite scary to think what would happen when i do go back to work. i guess i will just trust god la. he will take care of everything. i just pray hard. LOL

darmae,

regarding baby sleeping thruout the nite, i guess it's up to individual bb's habit. not that u didn't do well.

my colleague previously also mentioned abt giving bb water if they wake up at nite so that they will not have the habit of wanting to drink milk when they wake up at nite. but i never practise that method.

btw, my gal is also born on 4 sept like your gal.

Hi Bigzero,
Dun feel down that you cant experience the closeness of latching baby, i also same like you, cannot latch, so pump all the way till now coming 4 mths on the 12th. try to do most of the feeds yourself you will still feel the bonding. =p Your supply is similar to what i use to have last time, but ever since i work it drop due to stress.
so keki and bigzero and to all mummies still BF, lets all Jia you together !!

Pillow,
mine not under warranty anymore, so must buy the spare part seperately, the pump belong to my sis, i dunno shld buy another pump for myself or not. saw online $200 2nd hand.

darmae,
how much you buy the sterilizer huh?
dunno shld invest or not? cos 2 more mths can start weaning him off so nt sure if it is worth the investment. New year cming must save a bit money

hi phoebe, the secondhand pump $200 is also ameda ? if it is, then not worth it since a new one only cost $320. moreover ameda secondhand, not sure abt its durability .

I 'trained' Jade to sleep when she was 4 weeks old by giving her less milk when she woke up during the nights...and sometimes also give her water/pacifier. So during the day she was hungrier and drank more milk, and she eventually stopped waking up for milk in the middle of the night liao. It only took abt 1 week or so! You should try it...then every night you can have peaceful undisturbed sleep liao!

Its really impt that we get enough rest, otherwise milk supply will slowly diminish. Especially for those mummies who are working now, I really admire your perseverance to continue breastfeeding!
Jia you ok!

Hmmm I dread the thought of going back to work in March

phoebe/poohwei/bigzero

million thks to your replies.
at least i see light at d end of d tunnel!!
but not sure whether i can produce as much milk as u girls. cureently, at interval of 3-4hr, i only manage to pump out 60-90ml. i am into my 4th week liao. but i will perserve. hopefully by end of second mth or third mth, my ss will increase then i can reduce d frequency of pumping.

thks again!!

keki, for me, the 1st month is always the worst. After that, things will just get better. Dont give up yet. its only the 1st month, so u still have a good chance of increasing your milk supply with freq pumping. for my #1, I was doing exclusive pumping with PIS. First few months, my supply was pathetic and I had to give her FM. But much to my surprise, my supply actually increased (I was pumping 6x a day) over the months and she was mostly on BM from 5-9 months.
So...jia you!

keki,

your milk flow is not at your max yet...usually milk flow will reach max amt in the second mth...there are many other ways to help increase your milk flow..

hi keki, like the other mummies said must jia yyou on the breast feeding. i also can't see much supply during my confinement (don't know izit becos i c-sec). only managed to pump out the most 40ml for both side. now am taking the fenugreek from gnc 4 tabs per day, 4-5 hrs interval, can see ard 150-200 ml per pump. maybe u wld like to try that.

i also like u during confinement, no milk, get very emotion, tears juz came out very automatically.....then kanna scolded by mum. now don't hv to liao, though bb mix my bm with formula at least i feel much better

don't give up. must preserve

Re: sleeping thru the night, I think its a lot to do with the BB himself/herself. From 3rd month onwards, my #1 and #2 woke up 1x at night (sometimes they sleep thru tho), until they started solids at 6mths. I then started giving water instead of milk and they just stopped waking for the night feed. I figured that they shouldnt be hungry since I'm already giving them solids, so just "harden" my heart and fed them water :p

My latest addition, #3, is 2.5 months (born 20Sept) and he has recently stopped waking for night feeds totally. Last feed at ard 10+pm and wakes up at 7+am. At 2 months, I started with dream feeding him around 12am so that he will wake up ard 6+ am. Gradually I noticed that he doesnt drink much during the 12am dreamfeed. He'll much rather sleep :p So I just tested w/o the 12 midnight feed over a weekend and he was sleeping thru.

Sorry ah, a bit lor sor. Getting very auntie liao :p Just wanna drop in to give some encouragement to mummies. Its sleepless nights for the 1st few months, but things will just get better. So long as the little ones are healthy and chirpy, its all worth it

btw, just wanna check..my boy has been drinking 170 ml since 2 month. Is that a lot? My 2gals only drank like 150ml around the same time.

ben mum,

yeah.. not easy lor. cos really feel very tired at times. but hv to tong, esp in the meeting, feel like prying my eyes open. wahahaha

meko,

thanks... i hope things will get beta. if doesn't oso bo pian.. my own daughter leh, for her, anythg ok... so long i can tong. juz duno hw long.
so our gals same age... hehe

phoebe,

i bgt the steriliser from baby kingdom at $39. tat time on sales.. think ori price $54.80.
if u dun get the steriliser.. hw do u sterilise? i noe some mummies use tablets.. if u are comfortable, i guess its ok. i'm sensitive to smell... so it does bother me.

angel,

thanks for sharing your tips again... i will try again. mayb i din try hard enuff...

keki,

me same as bubumama... supply juz nice oni... but for our darling. juz perserve and try.. increase pump sessions.. and try papaya and fish soup. it helps for me

darmae, me just bring extra accessories to pump lor. =p
i only pump 2 times so bring 2 sets lor then go home sterilize them.
bt now need to use dual pump, i have to brign 4 sets of accessories which is so troublesome, plus i always get more supply on my right then the bottle i must bring extra lor. bag already very heavy le with all these extras my shoulder will break lor... somemore i work so far...

sorry to side track....

so angry with my stupid maid!!! Argggggg......

I just saw shit stain (yellowish big patch) on the cloth diaper which i use to cover my boy when he taking nap. Then I told her that she did not wash clean enough. She told me she did and insist that its the hanger problem that cause the stain. Then i went to smell the cloth diaper and still got a bit of shit smell and ask her to smell since she insist its not shit. BUt she refused to smell the cloth diaper! Worst is she got angry with me and give me those 不爽 look and when i talk to her she act as if she did not hear me and I need to repeat then she say ok.

Whats wrong with maid nowadays ah? I did not even scold her leh...I talk to her nicely and she dare to give me 'black face'! Gosh!

SO ANGRY!!!

arisz,
so angry for you. is your maid a new maid or old one?
If is a new maid, i suggest that you tell her that cleaniness is very impt, regardless is hanger prob or cloth it is her responsibility to ensure that it is clean. Tell her if she continue to do that, you wont hesitate to send her back.

arisz, if your maid is new one, you gonna have more problems. coz seems like simple request yet she gives u "attitude"

so angry leh...
Hi, Phoebe and Pillow, mine is a new maid, employ her mid of aug before I gave birth. I told her I wanted to send her back twice already but she like not scared leh. She even quarrel with me before and I was so pissed off leh. I'm waiting for my hubby to be back (he is out of town again) then I'm going to bring her to the agent and ask the agent to talk to her. I really don't know how to talk to her already.

The only good thing about her is she has experience with baby and so far she has been quite nice to my boy.

arisz, i'm quite scared for u leh.. not trying to scare u lah... but cos the maid can quarrel with u then dunno will she take it out on ur bb when ur not at home not...
better to change to another maid and retrain instead of retainin her...

Arisz,

Got to be careful with her then. Esp if you need to leave your bb alone with her cos you wont know if she bear grudges and take it out upon your bb.

arisz,
I also angry for you! She never wash properly still want to argue? *faint* She obviously not scared of you and your threats to send her back even. So 'da dan'.

What I cannot tolerate in maids is a bad attitude. If they don't know and do something wrong its ok...but if they still want to argue and show black face, I will send them back to agent lor.

lol...tok about maids having attitudes...

my maid today supposed to cook 2 types of vegies for dinner. in the end, she said she din hear what my MIl said and cooked only 1 type. but she had already washed and cut the other vege. so i told her, to cook the vege after her dinner before she sleeps. then just now i asked her whether the vege cooked or not. she actually told me "i think hor, can keeo till tomorrow then i cook.". I was pissed! i told her i wanted her to cook it before she goes to sleep. she then mumbled that she did not hear my MIL. i told her she heard me asking her to cook right? she finally said yes, then say sorry mam. i thought that was end. guess what, she went to bathe! now cooking after bathing! gosh! so silly maid! i give up!!!!!!

halo
So busy at work recently until boh eng to come forum during office hours

Just got to know from boss that I may need to travel after CNY! Super sian liao.

I wonder how am I going to pump during the flight/work etc plus that I have to pump & throw all the milk, my sim very tia..

Ben Mum
Ever thought of that too but when I work, don't think hb can manages an active toddler & a baby leh. Unless they stay in the hotel all the time..

Argh..the more I think of I have to pump & throw, the more my sim tia..sian sian

hi arisz, given your maid is quite new, and she already give attitude so early, hard to bear w her for 2 yrs ! not to mention, u wouldn't feel comfortable leaving her alone w bb. can't imagine new maid start quarreling w you, no end. sometimes agency will give free replacement if within 6 mths.

my maid also new, from mynamar. i actually have 2 new ones from mynamar. previously all indonesian maids. the new maids are really much better ! they are v polite and hardworking. however, communication is a barrier but so far with our charade skills, we get along quite well.

so anyone who is thkg of hiring mynamar maids, do give it a try. so far i have positive experience.

lbs, dun belittle him la. he may be more capable than u think. somehow they will survive! =D check with him ma...no need sim tia then...=D

hi all mummy, think it been almost a month i have logged into forum after I started work...so busy.Really not easy to cope.
Btw, anyonw interested burberry blue bag. My cousin study in Japan and would like to sell in singapore. If you all are interested..drop me the model to this email [email protected] i will get her to quote e price.

Hi pinkyj, Miraclecraz, thats why I never leave my maid alone with my baby at home till now. I dare not la coz I heard a lot of horror stories from my colleagues. There will always be someone around or I will leave them at my mil's place.

Angel, Pillow, I want to bring her to agent to re-educate her liao...cannot tahan her bad attitude towards me anymore. Not as if i ill-treat or scold her lo...say nicely also gimme black face!

Ben mum, you should be happy at least she say sorry...mine so far argue with me many times and quarrel a few times only say sorry ONCE!

I tolerated the maid so far coz she knows how to take care of my boy and so far she seems to dote on my boy a lot.

Somemore she can cook a decent meal.

This is why I tolerated all her nonsense so far, but really getting on my nerves liao...

arisz,
not to scare you but i will suggest you send her back for good, if she dare to quarrel with you, even with re-education, the problem will still be there. She may improve in front of you but when she is alone with ur darling... no one knows. We employ maid is to assist and relieve us from stress, worries and house work not to create more stress more worries and additional arrangements.
there are new maids good with babies not only her usually if she is a mother herself and is first time in singapore, and of a bit of age more mature will usually behave better.
Look at how your maid behave, i don't think she is first time in singapore. Maybe you are not her first employer?? first time maid dare to be so daring ma?

arisz, ur thinking is the same as my mil. our reason for keeping this maid is that my mil only needs a helper till end of next yr. my fil is retiring by end of next yr. so there will be help for my mil when she looks after my boi. we all dun like to have a maid intruding in our lives. but no choice, my mil cant cope with housework and looking after bb alone. so my mil is unwilling to reteach a new maid to cook, wash, etc.

this maid does not handle bb at all. but still, my mil dare not irritate her too much for fear she will do something bad to the maid. SIGHS. the woes of employer nowadays...

Good Morning to all mummies and clement,

Hope all of us have a nice day ahead!

mummyfaith thanks for sharing!

Hi lbs,
I will "siam" all travelling now, I dont think my HB can cope with my boy at night if I am not around. Luckily, my boss is understanding.

Ben Mum
if at a 'controlled' environment then hb shld be able to but if he is bringing the kids out.....*faint*

Emily
I siam lai siam qu cannot siam liao...

arisz,

re : maid - bad attitude

i feel you shld send her back and get a new replacement maid. if she is so daring hor plus give attitude and unapologetic abt wat she has done, duno wat she will do next.
she may think tat she is indispensable and become more 'ya ya'.

share wif u a colleague's experience on her maid. not to scare you.. she oso has a new born baby like us, engaged a maid 1 mth before she gave birth... everythg was well and fine till 4 mths later. similar thing, she refused to acknowledge.

she wanted to change, but her mum say wait ned to train new maid.. troublesome. so they carry on with her contract. who would have know that 2 mths later, her mum had an argument with maid over some cleaning issues... the maid actually said, ah ma, u force me, i jump down. horrified by that, they send the maid back to agent liao.

suggest you discuss with your hubby when he's back

lbs,

sometimes very diff to siam.. can understand. so far i oso siam lai siam qu... there's 1 cannot.. but i delegate to my assistant. haha, in the end , she very happy lor cos can travel. hee