(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

arisz.. hahah... ur not alone.. i've oso been thinkin abt the same ques... hahaha

atinarin.. dun really understand ur explaination leh...??

phoebe.. hahah.. yalor.. ur son can 'buoi' chabo.. hahhaha

pinkyj: haha im too good at summaries, not good at details.

Ok, i think whats most important is that the water should go in first. Dont add less water than whats neeeded.
So if its 120ml you are making, ensure only 120 (125at most) is in thebottle.

Then add the required powder.

Of course with powder added, water level increases, but its not like water is increasing so its ok for level to go up.

Then mix and feed lor.

You are still feeding bb 120ml of milk, not 130 or 140 or whatever it goes up to.

i wanna bring my bb for the hydrotherapy too then my hb said see i told you from week 1 that we should just immerse her in the pail!

His idea of the perfect bath was one pail with soapy water, one with clean water, dip bb in soap, then remove and dip in clean water...let bb float for few mins, remove, and you are done...

men...

hihi mommies...

jus checking, does ur bbs lick or trying to stuff their thumbs to their mouth? Do you let them lick/suckle their thumbs? i think my bb is trying to stuff the whole fist to his mouth...haha..

I find it difficult to stop bb from doing this..so dirty.. :p

charsiew... my bb is also tryin very hard.. hahah.. so far only managed to get in 4 fingers includin the thumb.. jus let ur bb suck lah.. they find it comfortin..
aft my gal noe how to suck her thumb.. she can sleep better and noe how to sooth herself back to sleep when she wakes up...

WOW! 4 fingers! ur bb managed to stuff 4 fingers into her mouth?! haha! so cute! my bb is trying hard, but i find it amusing as he looks so frustrated when hes not able to stuff the WHOLE fist to his mouth.. haa..

oic..actually i try to use pacifier to substitute thumb sucking, but he spat it out & make a big fuss everytime..hmm...so i let him amuse himself by tasting his own thumbs, but i will still stop now & then..ahah.. :p disturb disturb bb.. :p

hi all .. i have the following FM to let go

2 tins of Frisco - Selling at $40
1 tin of S26 - selling at $20

Anyone interested? As I have decided to stick with NAN :p

my bb also trying to suck her hand...she started a while back already..now even her wrist and forearm she sucks..headache...very hard to stop..mittens on, will get wet

charsiew...
sometimes one in the nostril..hahha...
i will stop her from suckin from time to time too!! ahaha.. then she'll get very pek cek and will cry if she still cant suck her fingers.. its like her 'drugs'hahaha

atinarin, better take out her mittens and let her suck.. cos the mitten will have those 'mao mao' things.. worse if she sucks it in rite... the little hands will be a bit cold initially.. but aft awhile its will be okie...

true...but icant cut her nails...even when shes asleep, she wakes up. shes a super light sleeper...sound of velcro opening also can wake up

hi all mummies who have gone back to work...
how do you sterilise your pump at work? Do you use sterilising tablets to soak the pump or?

On the amount of milk baby takes, I always take the amount of water added. Like someone mentioned, let's say required amount is 150ml for 5 scoops, I will usually add slightly more water so probably around 155ml.

Mummyfaith, I brought my own steriliser to work. Can buy the Pigeon Travel Steam Steriliser ... can sterilise 2 bottles or 1 pump 1 bottle at one go ... so I have to sterilise 2 rounds.

atinarin, haahaaa...ur hubby makes it sound like bathing baby = washing dishes! haahaaha

When bb is awakes, u try to get ur hubby to entertain ur girl while you do the cutting..distract her.

hey charsiew, my auntie told me if baby wants to suck thumb, should let them suck...it taste SWEET to them! hee hee... my boy also learning to suck his thumb/fist...very noisy..the 'zuk zuk' sound i can hear in the living room while he happily suck away in the bedroom.

ladies, can i ask when ur babies with blocked nose, did your pd do the suction of mucous ?

anyone whose pd also requested a lab test to be done , which the nurse will insert a cotton bud thingy into the nostrils ?

wondering should i let my boy suck his fingers or should i give him the pacifier ? i see him sucking his fist, so messy w saliva, wonder if its better with the pacifier

pillow,

pacifier will wear and tear, need money to buy, will have to sterilize, must always to rem to bring along, bb will cry when it drop out. with a thumb or fist... its always there!!! ahahha...

hi gals, i'm finally back at work. That gives me time to surf and post here. Too busy at home with my DoReMi.

I notice the discussion about pacifier VS thumb/fingers. My 3YO sucks her 1st and 2nd fingers. My 2YO sucks her 2nd and 3rd fingers. Nonne taught them. They just had a preference for different fingers.
One thing to note if the suck their fingers. You have to constantly wash and keep their fingers clean as they pick up a lot of germs on their hands.
Also, the fingers may "rot" due to the saliva from excessive sucking. Long periods of biting also caused the hardening of the skin around the fingers.

i woke up tis morning feeling very happy cos its our 9th rom anniversary today. HB lined up some plans for the evening.. but found my bb dwn with flu. she has caught the flu bug. kept crying when she drink her milk... i think she's trying to grasp for air cos her nose is blocked.
very heartache.... haiz.

hi blueskye,

which pump are u using? is the pigeon travel steriliser universal? where did u get yours?

dArmAe, same same here. my bday today..... planning a nice dinner outing...

now all cancelled... by my bb's side, hope he gets better.....

Hi <font color="0000ff">pinkyj</font>..
Yeah, my PD is Dr Lillian Lim from the Kids Clinic.

Hi <font color="0000ff">funny76</font>..
Thanks for informing, so I dont have to call the Polyclinic to ask. Will go straight to my PD.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Wiselyn</font>..
Yes, Edison went to Infant Care already today. He has recovered from his cough and runny nose. Thank God!

I went shopping with a friend today, buy some new clothes & shoes today.. so happy! Havent been shopping so easily and freely for a long long time...

How is the pneumococcal jab being integrated to the 6-in-1? Edison has taken his first jab of 6-in-1. Can he take the pneumococcal jab with his 2nd jab of 6-in-1? Does that means total only take one jab? Or 2 jab at the same time?

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..
Edison also likes to suck his fist or thumb, and sometimes so loud until you can hear from the other room...

Sometimes he reject pacifier, prefers his fist instead.. maybe like u said, its sweeter...

Emily: My doc recommended doing tog with the first jab for my girl..its not integrated...will be one jab each on each thigh..

Hi baby piglet ur FM is it Friso? Am interested, try to PM u but u not receiving. Maybe u can email me at my email address, where is the collection?

I'm going to try the hydrotherapy too!
I'm going this Friday afternoon coz my hubby is on leave. Looks like fun. My friend tried before and said her baby initially cried but after that kicking happily.

Funny, thanks for sharing your experience
I better time my feed properly otherwise I will waste my trip there (its a loooooong way from my home)!

Atinarin,
Ya I read an article abt immunisations causing autism and asked my PD abt it. He say the likelihood of it happening is really low. Very much lower than the likelihood of getting all the diseases/sickness that they're getting immunised against, some of which can be fatal for infants, so in the end he still recommend to take the immmunisations.

Pillow & Darmae,
Happy belated bday and anniversary!
Hope your BB recover soon!

Hi Blueskye,
How does the pigeon travel steriliser work? Must put in microwave or just plug into power supply type?

I don't have microwave in office so cannot get those microwave type which Avent has.

Hi Angel,

It will be fun if ur Jade enjoy it...can bring ur camera or video cam to capture the moment...let mi know if u r there. Mayb I can bring Summer to watch ur cute Jade doing the hydrotherapy....juz less 5 min fr my hm... I pm u my hp no.

angel,

thanks for ur wishes... too bad my bb maegan hving flu. otherwise i can join u n bb jade tmr.
take some pics ya... mayb u can chk for grp discount... keke

dArmAe, I'm using Avent Isis Uno ... my colleagues got my Pigeon Travel Steriliser from John Little. Think many places got sell ... retail price is $50.95 I think.

Hi Angel, will be there if Summer nt cranky... recently, she had been quite cranky...getting older, naughtier.... hope to cya...

I have a nice babysitter here. However, coming Jan08 I'll be sending my gals to childcare.

Anyone looking for a babysitter to care for newborn or toddler? her charge is about $650 neg. she is 40+ chinese speaking, have 2 children in sec sch. She only do daycare for 5-day week.

mummies, if you know of anyone interested in looking for a babysitter in toa payoh pls pm me.

Thank you for your help.

Can I ask those of you who are storing EBM in milk bags to freeze, how do you organize them in the freezer?? My milk bags are frozen in all different shapes and sizes...I take forever to find the bag with the earliest date...and my freezer is a big mess!!

Is there something I can do or buy to keep them organized?

Hi <font color="0000ff">Atinarin</font>..
One time 2 jab seems like quite "shiong" for baby wor. I'm worried he will get fever after the jab. I'm considering whether to take the PD jab during his 2nd jab of 6-in-1 next month.

emily:ya true also..

do ur bbs startle easily?

minejumps at sounds..even when someone sneezes n today,everytime she jumps,she cries too...

thanks blueskye,

i will chk out JL for the travel steriliser. hope my ameda pump accessories will fit in lor. i really hesitant about using sterilising tablets. hv a smell leh. wonder if i can rinse wif hot water before use....

angel,

not sure if this is the best way - i bgt 3 lock n lock containers (long type) to put my milk bags. arrange the containers from left to right, with the left most holding the earliest date. so far it works.. no confusion for my maid who is handling them to feed my bb during the day.

atinarin,

my bb used to jump at the slightest sound. but mum ask me to put the 'beansprouts' pillow on her chest. seems to work..

wud like to check re: medication. hw do u feed bb medication? my bb dwn wif flu, ned to take flu med. but each tm hv to 'force' it dwn the throat and she really cried terribly. somehow she knew the trick of holding it in her mouth then 'spitting' then out...

dArmAe, i use my fingers press the cheeks of bb, u see the mouth become goldfish like, then insert the syringe, slowly inject liq part by part, making sure bb swallow before injecting more

darmae: i use the buckwheat pillow on her chest but when im carrying her as she is falling asleep, she will startle and jump and cry...dont know whats wrong with her since yesterday...sleeps at most for 5 mins only