(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

The puggol hydrotherapy place tummy massage is something similar to what that place teaches, not exactly the same..but if u have the extra cash can attend the full bb massage lesson at TMC but pretty X..i attended the Philip Avent Seminar, and Mrs Wong was demonstrating, the seminar is only $5 per person.

angel,

yeah, my colleague oso mentioned abt chinese wordings on the float. when i get back to work can email my china colleagues in shanghai. see if she can find similar ones... then we compare the cost and start a bp. wahaha

actually HB and i kinda agree tat hydrotherapy and massage may help maegan recover faster... we dun mind trying. but mum and mil strongly against it, say will catch cold and worsen lor.

phoebe,

okie dokie... then i dun bother to chk out robinson liao. will get fm breastfeeding grp or mums r us.

Hi <font color="0000ff">angel</font>..
Actually, there is a baby pool at my place.. I will go & find out what is the water depth & whether suitable for infants. Then u all can come to my place... The float is $50+ huh, super ex leh!

hi hi mommies... any of ur babies are having only 4 feeds per day? my gal is only havin 4 feeds a day of abt 130mls per feed? her last feed of the day will be 8 plus or 9.. then she'll sleep all the way till 5am then wake up for a feed, but for the past 2 days she slept thru till 7am and only drink at 8 plus.. there aft is a 4 hourly feed... i'm happy tat she can sleep thru, but is she havin too little milk ah?

Hi pinkyj (pinkyjac),
My daughter is exactly the same feed pattern as yours...I went to the PD thinking she's not having enough, but he explained that their intake is already stabilised. If she can sleep through the night, meaning from 8am to 6am(mine too! arent we blessed?!), that means she can dont need milk for 10 hours. And they wont starve cos they are covered with fats. So not to worry. My daughter wakes up at 6am, and she doesnt want to be fed immediately, so we give her some water cos she sleeps in the air con room. Then about an hour later, we feed her milk.

Hi pinkyj and The Chiangs,

So I am not alone! My gal has not been crying for milk for A long time. Its usually me who will force feed her when i feel that she is not drinking enough.

Btw, how long can their fats last time? Very worried that my gal will starve, tho my in-laws said that babies are very smart, they will definitely cry if they are hungry.

the chiangs & poohwei,

PHEWS!!!! this really put my heart and mind and ease!!! i was so worried!! i was quite shock and suprised tat she didnt cry for milk then i tot something is wrong.. i'm so happy when she finally cried!! ahhahaha..

poohwei,

we're siao wan hor.. cry also cannot, dun cry also cannot! ahahah.. the bb must be wondering why my mommy so funny wan...

brought bb for 6in1 first jab today and strangely whole day no fever, but only started now, is that normal? doc said 37 degrees is already fever so we gave bb syrup to drink.

regarding bb's feeds, my gal has alwys drunk very little and her intervals are pretty long so not to worry, they do cry when they need to feed.

im confused, these few days, bb cries DURING feeds, throughout the day she's very restless, its liek shes in pain or something. heart hurts seeing her this way.

hey pinkyj, my boy these days like show less interest in his milk...during the day, am the one who will fed him when the time is due for his milk though he didn't cry or sometimes still sleeping. During the night, he can sleep for 5+ w/o milk. ie. last feed is 11+ or 12+, then he will only ek ek at 5+am then i will make his milk. Feed him these days very siong too, halfway thru' ie. 50ml or 100ml, he will struggle and want to stop and show no interest in continuing. He used to be able to finish 150ml but lately always left 20-25ml after 30-45mins of feeding. If he sleep drinking, he can finish his milk in 1 go w/o stopping but if he awake, he will tend to struggle. Sigh..dunno why leh... anyone facing similar situation?

Voice, as shared with you on MSN, mine also same. Last time he can drink 160-170 ml ... now we have problem even with 125 ml. But when I latch him he sucks very fast leh ... don't know what's the problem.

Hi Pinkyj,

Yeah, u are right! Baby must be wondering why we want to fatten them up tho we keep commenting that they look chubby. Hahaha!

Hi blueskye,

My gal is pretty similar to ur baby. When she latch on, max that she takes to complete the session is 10 min, sometimes she will only latch on for 3 min n can last for 3 hrs. If i bottle feed, i can take 20 min n she will only drink 50-70ml.

Hi Tiny Voice,
Your boy is better than my gal. When my gal is awake and we try to bottle feed, she will struggle n push away the bottle. When she is asleep, she will struggle less but still will not finish her milk.

Also, my gal tends to cry when she does not want to drink anymore. Is that normal?? I tot babies will only push away the bottles or unlatch from the breast? Nowadays, if she is not hungry, she will cry at the sight of the milk bottle. Haiz..

hi mummies.. my baby is having the same problem too.. used to drink 900++ ml a day but now only 600++ .. was told by a friend that babies change habits and have different problems every other week.. we used to have colicky bbs prob and now less milk intake prob..hmmm maybe their growth spurt period is over le so drink lesser...

can i check with any mummies what is the normal body temperature for babies? how do i know whether baby is having fever without using thermometer? can i start using the ear thermometer on my baby?

Hi Tiny/ Blue, Poohwei
My girl used to drink 125ml every 3-4 hours too (very 'zhun' one like alarm she will cry on the dot), nowadays she doesn't even seem interested when its past the time, and sometimes she doesn't even finish half her feed! Only take 20-30ml after I force her. Feeding her now is such a struggle lor... Then my heart pain to see all my hard-pumped milk go down the sink!!! Thought its colic and it used to be only in the evenings she would cry and struggle with feeds, but these 2 days its in the morning she dun wanna eat. Sometimes I try to put in the bottle she will smile at me and use her tongue to push the teat out. Sometimes she will cry the minute the teat touch her mouth. So i think it depends on her mood!

I surfed the net for info and it seems that our babies go thru low and high growth rates...so when they are not growing much, they will eat less. I think we just need to go with our babies and let them tell us when they're hungry. If they're hungry they will cry.

angel, my gal also like tat last time!! ahhaha like alarm clock.. zhun zhun wan.. yalor.. think if they are really hungry they will cry lah.. so as long we feed them and they are growin well, then we shldnt worry hor..

Hi Mummies...
Back to work today, feeling so refreshed & good! A bit rush this morning, haf to feed him and change him before sending him to infant care.. Think I have to wake up at 5:45am in order to reach office on-time..

The infant care has been doing a good job so far, so less worry for me & I can concentrate on my work..

Hi <font color="0000ff">Wiselyn</font>..
How r u & Clara doing? Hope u r coping well with your work & taking care of Clara at night.

Emily,

Clara is doing well in infant care...still adjusting back to work time...clara is a easy baby at night dun need to wake up...so still ok..

Hi <font color="0000ff">Wiselyn</font>..
That's good. Edison is also doing fine at the infant care, the teachers there r nice...

Edison still need to drink at 2am-3am at night, so I still hafta wake up once... But he goes back to sleep after drinking, so still not too bad..

Balancing between work & family life isnt easy, but we got to work hard to achieve it..

hi ladies, to stop milk supply, should i half empty the breasts at longer intervals or should i slowly extend the hours to pump but to empty breasts totally ?

Hi angel,

Thanks for the information about the Hydrotherapy at Punggol Plaza. After i saw your posting i called them immediately and fixed the appointment on the same day (Sat) hahaha...

my son love it so much ...

1090778.jpg

Hi dArmAe,

I am not sure about the item u are going to buy from Breastfeeding Mothers' support group.

However, just for your info, i just bought "AMEDA Lactaline Dual Breast Pump (electric or battery operated)" from Robinson. The retail price is S$350.00 for the Breastfeeding support group :

Non-member : S$335/-
Member : S$305/-
from robinson with Robinson card after 5% rebate : S$332.50

Which is slightly cheaper with Robinson card if you are non-member.

I was horrified to see my freezer door not closed tightly just now ... the ice packs in the freezer door already turned from ice rock to being soft. The bottles of EBM nearer to the outside were moist and when I tilted the bottle, can see some parts already thawed. How huh? Can still consume?

Aiyoh, my freezer really full of EBM now until the door can't close properly. Sometimes the freezer door gets "pushed out" when I close the chiller door below. Thinking whether to get a separate freezer just for EBM cos really no more space liao - btw there's no other stuff like frozen meat or what in the freezer now and yet it's still full. Sigh ...

TiNy VoIcE , Ryann also the same... so envy the rest with babies who can slp thru.. mine will start screaming for milk but when i feed him, half way he dun wan to drink le... waste my milk...

Dramaqueen, YESS.. i want to buy...
is it better then the First years bag? i dun like the first years bag... I spill alot of milk most of the time when i use tat... so wasted.

EM, Please check the pool, would love to see babies swimming together.=p

Hi Shirley,
Yr son so cute hehe!

Hi Pillow,
Don't empty your breasts whatever you do!
The Baby Whisperer book I read recommended to slowly reduce the time we're pumping at each session. If you normally pump for 20 mins, then reduce to 15 mins for the first 3 days, then 10 mins the next 3 days, then 5 mins the next 3 days. This is to avoid getting engorgement and blocked ducts which can be very painful.

blue,
Ya i think must consume within 24 hours, cannot refreeze. Your whole freezer full liao??!! How many packs you have? Btw, I'm curious..why are you keeping so much frozen milk anyways? Your supply got alot...no need to scared run out of milk mah!

Phoebe, the problem is ... I don't know which ones have been thawed already. I just took one bottle to see leh. How??? These FBM are driving me crazy! Already stressed enough having to arrange them according to dates and packing enough to bring to my in-laws' place each week ... now this happens!

glad to know i'm not the only one when it comes to baby drinking less. I was still thinking how come he is feeding much lesser these days and still complain to hubby about it. We were quite worried initially. Now after hearing from you mummies, i feel more at ease. Thanks for sharing!

Hi Shirley, I lost count liao cos really so full until it made counting difficult. The last I counted was 60+ bags of 150ml FBM. Now maybe got 70+ in my freezer? My in-laws there think got about 20.

Angel, I pump and give my boy "fresh milk" whenever he's at home but when he's at my MIL's place, he has to be fed FBM mah. So whatever I pump when he's not at home, I will have to freeze lor.

Wah, I am also quite tempted to bring my boy to the hydrotherapy.. will call to make appt this weekend... if he doesnt cry & enjoy the session, i will buy a float & do at home bath tub..

Hi <font color="0000ff">Angel</font>
Do u buy the bath tub from them also? I think its $600 for one tub..

Hi <font color="0000ff">Phoebe</font>..
Let me know ur opinion after the therapy & massage.... I'm also thinking to try the massage on my son..

Btw, I saw in an article that this hydrotherapy is only for infants from 3 months above.. My son is only 2.5 months, will they accept?

Blue, 70++ bags ... i only store 16 packages at 150ml each, just in case i am sick. Moreover, my freezer also cannot keep much.

how many package you have to bring to your MIL's place each time?

Hi Emily, bcoz you go the hydrotherapy, you can ask them what if your baby doesn't like it (ie cry when put into the water). Because last week when i called up, they said if my son don like it, just pay S$10/- lor...

i think the float can get it Sg, bcoz the next day after i bought my son for the hydrotherapy, i heard a loud crying sound at my house downstairs and i looked down, i saw a couple using the same float (but in red instead of orange) on their baby. Maybe the swimming pool water is cold so the baby cry out loud...

Shirley, each time I just bring as many as my cooler bag can take lor. Then the moment I reach there fast fast put everything back into the freezer.

blueskye and Phoebe,

Lansinoh milkbags r suppose to b the thickest milkbags. definitely better dan first yrs dat i have used cos they also leaked! each box of 25 will cost ard $11 including shipping. if interested do let me know.

anyone wants to buy desitin n 1st teeth toothpaste can also let me know. thanks

hi blue,

i oso sim tiah for u on the milk thingy.
thks for the link of the steriliser. i very kia see wan.. so will get new ones. i saw in kiddy palace tdy. they hv pigeon compact steriliser. is tat wat u hv? its really small n compact.

will still get extra funnels and leave it at work. like tat i dun hv to transport so many thgs. ned to bring laptop home oso.. no hands lor

shirley,

u were at PP on sat? wat time? i walked past wif my mum n bb last sat ard 2pm. saw a boy swimming in the tub n his parents taking pics of him. duno if its u.

my bb having stuffy nose so trying to convince my mum lor.. bring her there hoping....
but she say water cold.

phoebe,

cant join u n cookie monster tmr. mum dun allow although maegan is much beta tdy. will bring her on thurs or fri

hi mummies, tks for sharing...at least i know my samuel is not the odd one out...think for next feed, i'll try to make lesser milk, then won't go to waste too, hee hee!

hi dArmAe

I just bought Pigeon travel steriliser at baby kingdom $39.00 now on offer. Able to house 2 wide neck bottles ie. Avent bottles also can. HEard that original price is at $50+.

Any idea where to get the float besides from the hydrotherapy @ PP?

Tks

Angel: mine also sometimes will cry when the teat goes into his mouth, haven't even suck. Really have to be very patient to feed baby these days...

Hi blueskye,

We r both in the same shoes! Freezer is packed with nothing but frozen ebm. I have even given away 30 packs..gonna give away more to make way for the fresher ones..

But come to think of it, since i am giving my gal fresh milk each day, dunno why i m freezing so many packets.

Btw, think it is more economical to get another fridge. I bought 1 extra fridge during my confinement n apparently can still use both fridge!

I have been latching my gal fully for the past 3 days. So for a 18 hour interval(2pump sessions), my expressed milk supply dropped from 900ml to 500mL. Can i safely say that my gal has drank at least 400mL of milk? Cos when she drinks, my body will produce more milk right?