(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

atinarin... do you let your bb sleep on her stomach..? it works very well for me.. my bb will sleep better and longer..and she doesnt get frighten easily..

darmae, u can try puttin the med in the milk..
i'll make say.. 30mls of milk then mix in the meds.. then when she finished.. i'll make the rest of the milk for her.. sometimes i'll use the syringe to feed her by the side of the mouth...then i'll use the hand towel to press her mouth close then i'll talk to her to distract her.. so far it worked for me.. but i can understand the spittin out.. there's one time she spat out in my face!!! kenna my eye somemore!!

atinarin, maybe ur gal is very jittery... try lettin her sleep on her tum tum like wat jme suggested.. they say it will help them feel more secure...

angel, u can try using the containers as suggested. Or can also use the ziplock bags. I store my milk bags in ziplock bags, one bag per month. Its like additional layer of protection for my milk bags cos there's also other foodstuff in freezer.

atinarin, I put the beansprout pillow on BB and switch on radio / soft music for him. Babies tend to sleep more soundly when u place them on their stomache. But pls check on her constantly to make sure she is breathing properly. There is a increased risk for SID when BBs sleep on the tummy.

ya i sometimes do let her sleep on tummy,started in the very first week actually but these few days she sleeps only 5mins at a time so when i put her on tummy she will struggle and cry so ust turn back again

pinkyj,

my mum oso suggested putting in milk.. but i was afraid tat she might reject milk altogether.. so din try. gotta use the 'forcing' method. each time we pry open her mouth by squeezing her cheeks, she started crying liao.

one question on giving bb EBM, do mummies give thawed (frozen) EBM or refrigerated EBM? i used to give refrigerated EBM expressed the day before to my bb. but since i step up my pumping sessions, i hv excess that she is unable to consume (within 24 hours) for freezing. now i have frozen milk which is stored about 1 month liao. should i freeze the milk from current pump sessions and start giving her the thawed (frozen) EBM?

another worry i hv is the quality of the frozen EBM. i thawed 1 pack this morning and there is a smell which i can't put a word to it (duno if its considered soapy) but it smells diff from the refrigerated ones. i tasted both to compare.. but none taste bad though. so i was wondering what went wrong? is frozen milk supposed to be like tat?

sorry to be so longwinded. appreciate your advice.. thanks!!

darmae, try usin the syringe to feed her? jus tap it on her lips like u're givin her milk.. she shld be able to open big enuff for the syringe to go in... as for the frozen emb.. i heard from my fren tat it will have a funny smell wan.. as long it doesnt taste funny then its alrite..
and emb can be kept for 48 hours in the fridge with out freezin..

frozen EBM can be kept for 3 months. So far, I notice that those frozen for less than 2 months do not have the fishy smell. Thus I'll clear my frozen stocks before the 2 months.

Other than the fishy smell, the frozen EBM is perfectly OK. It is known that sometimes, frozen EBM will have this smell. Some babies dont like it while others dont mind.

I saw a few posts on the 6-in-1 jab and whether to give the other optional jabs at the same time.
My comments are, I brought my daughter to a GP when she was 2 months, and she had the 6-in-1 jab in one thigh, the pneumococcal jab on the other thigh, and a oral rotavirus vaccine..total 4 on the same day! The GP says its perfectly fine. Total cost = $408. So far, thank God, she is alright, no fever, nothing. Except that day she came back from the clinic, abit cranky cos the thighs hurt frm the jab, but the next day, she's up and about.
Hope this clears any worries and doubts of mummies intending to give all the jabs at the same time.

Emily,

My boy also having cough(wf lots of phleym) n running nose 3 days ago, aft taken medicine, still no improve...am worrying

wat medicine did ur BB take?

darmae,

my pd says to feed baby medicine using syringe...feed from the side...dun feed directly into the mouth..the baby might get chocked...if u see your baby's pd feed you baby medicine before,,,u shd be using the same way...from the side of the mouth

atinarin,
I also use beanspouts pillow for Ryann so far it works also. if you want can get it from my sister http://beaniepillow.multiply.com
2ndly in the day, i try to get him used to loud noises, while he sleep, i will on radio or tv,at least some noise. plus with my nephew screaming away... now Ryann slp like a log in the day.

darmae,
I also feed using syringe, also feed from the side after tat i will get ready water to feed him as well, then he will stop crying... some time i feed him gripe water.. cause it is sweet ma.. so he will like the taste and forget abt the medicine.

btw anyone gt lobang to buy milk bags? i saw got spree on the milk bags but dunno worth it to buy or not. anyone want to combine to buy during the spree?

Hi darmae,
Re frozen EBM, I try to keep the frozen EBM less than 1 month old...coz the contents of our breastmilk changes as our baby grows. I will use 1 pack of frozen milk each day. And store 1-2 packs of new EBM each day.

Hi ,
I am from the Nov thread Mummies. I have a brand new Ameda Lactaline bought from Mothercare to let go at $300.

Seal was opened to check items. Warranty left another 20 months from now.
This is longer than the usual 1-year warranty period if u get from other places.
I didn't manage to use it cos family is not supportive of BF-ing.

I also have a pair of Mumsfairy Supershield to go along with it, at $320 together.
Self collect from Jln Jurong Kecil.
Interested, please PM me.

hi darmae, the trip is to tilt baby's head slightly backward so that the mixture will flow to the back of his/her throat. I also do that and hold it awhile for Samuel to swallow before lifting up the head so that it won't flow out. Somehow my baby is alright with medicine, didn't cry although at times he will grim his face. I don't feed him water right after medicine cos it will not be as effective. Best is wait till 30mins later then feed water. Same theory as we adults, after cough mixture, cannot immediately drink water.

thanks all mummies for ur advise on feeding medication. i tried earlier... use syringe to feed. but well, i guess she simply dislike the way we squeezed open her mouth or probably the taste of the medication.. kept wailing... we caught her tearing too... really heartache. even when she had wind in stomach, din even tear a drop. haiz.... hope she recover soon

re : frozen EBM... gald to hear tat its common for some to hv fishy smell.. i was skeptical at first. and yes angel, thanks for telling me tat the contents wil change as bb grow. i beta start letting her consume the earlier EBM 1st.

Hihi mummies,

Re Hydrotherapy session at Punggol Plaza - Conclusion = Money well spent!!
It was so fun for the whole family haha. But I asked abt group discount and the lady there 'bo hew' leh. 1 session is $25 for 15 mins. Massage is additional $20. She asked me to sign up for the package then got 20% discount (buy 4 sessions get 1 free). But no further group discount. And the package cannot share. I didn't sign up coz decided to install a bath tub in my toilet then Jade can do therapy everyday haha!

If you're intending to go on weekends, do make appt first coz very crowded. Tel: 6489 4847. They provide towels. No need to bring anything except your camera and diapers!

Here are some pics to share from Jade's session today.

1087253.jpg

1087254.jpg

1087255.jpg

1087256.jpg

1087257.jpg

angel, thanks for sharing, sound fun but too far for me. i like your comments, install bath-tub and ur girl can have therapy everyday! haahaa..invite samuel to enjoy too eh when your bath-tub is ready! LOL!

Jade so cute.... =p
cant wait to bring Ryann there... BTW mummies who is onz for the hydrotheraphy, shall we go next sunday? 2nd Dec?? since now quite a few babies not well.... hope they get well soon, then we can book appt first.

When we organize our next gathering, you all can come my hse... i prepare bath tub for the babies =p

Hi, I am new to sept thread.
My bb was born in Sept...too...
Someone ask abt the bb massage. I attended Mrs Wong Boh Boi's class and it really good. I try the tummy massage on my bb and it work, less wind in her tummy nw.

Hi Amy, Welcome to the Sept thread!!

Next time those mummies who went for the massage class must teach me hor.. Ryann stomach like balloon now... no wonder keep crying...=p

wow... can see tat jade is enjoying herself very much. keke. i cant wait to let maegan try.

Phoebe,

dec 2nd i cant.. niece bday part. if majority of mummies can make, pls go ahead.
actually if maegan is beta by nx week, i might bring her dwn to try during a wkday. last week of ML for me liao...

angel,
wow... interesting to see baby in action. Is the water warm?

Aiyo, been so busy with work recently... hardly got the time to access the net.

mummies who are using ameda lactaline pump.. do u noe of any steam steriliser that is compatiblew wif tat. i wan to get one to use at work. currently i am using the boiling method at home but i cant do the same at work

Re hydrotherapy, yes the water is nice and warm...and they wash the tub and change new water for every customer. There are only 3 tubs so only can do 3 babies at a time.

Hi Amy, welcome to the thread!

How to do massage for tummy? I also wan to learn! I wonder if Mrs Wong's method is different from what I learnt at the hydrotherapy place.

Hi darmae,
My sis is using ameda pump and it fits with the avent and pigeon sterilizers. Think any sterlizer can leh...coz the ameda pump accessories are not very big.

Btw, instead of buying a sterilizer for the office, maybe you can consider to buy another set of pump accessories? That's what I intend to do when I start work coz I intend to pump twice only. Another set of accessories cost abt $40. It works out to be cheaper (for medela but dunno abt ameda) and less hassle at work.

angel,

tats a gd idea too... but ned to chk out cost of the accessories vs a new steriliser.
gum siah ah. i show my mum photo of jade doing hydrotherapy. she say sooo adorable. ask me to bring maegan there when she recover.. hee

Any mummies out there who have babies who are drinking lesser than b4 or not increasing in amt?

My gal is coming to 10 weeks old. She only consumes abt 700mL of ebm(max) each day. Also, she has difficulties drinking 150ml each time. We normally have to give her abt 50-60ml every hr.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Race C</font>,
The doctor prescribed the following for my son:
1. Rhinathiol infant syrup for cough and phlegm
2. Klacid antibiotics for his throat irritation

I think the Rhinathiol is good. His phlegm is reducing and cough has stopped.

I bought a Iliadin 0.01% nasal decongestant from the pharmacy to clear his blocked nose. I also apply some Vick Vaporubs on his chest at night before he sleep.

Hi <font color="0000ff">The Chiangs</font>..
Thanks so much for sharing ur experience. I intend to give Rotavirus vaccine for my son too. I will consider doing it during the 6-in-1.

Hi <font color="0000ff">angel</font>..
Jade seems to enjoy the hydrotherapy, so ur money were well spent!
She is so cute!

What kinda bath tub that we can use to do this hydrotherapy at home? Special type or the normal bath tube that we have at home?

Hi Em,
Ya I think Jade really enjoys being in water
That's why my hubby willing to install a bath tub for her! Then mummy can enjoy also kekeke!

Actually the normal bath tub is not that ideal coz the water is too shallow for the baby to be in an upright position like how the hydrotherapy place has it...but it comes close lah.

Hi <font color="0000ff">angel</font>..
I have a bath tub, but never use it cos lazy to wash & clean it.. hee hee... where to get the baby float? Any idea?

Going back to work on Monday, sianz... Missing my boy oredi!

darmae,
for ameda, i think most of the steriliser can use but i brought extra accessories too. i brought mine at breast feeding support group, not very ex la, 2 valves and 2 'funnel like thingy' cost me abt 56. so only 27 per set.
If u need the contacts let me know.

just brought the LG playmat for my son .. quite gd.. brought from cheong choon and i would say some of their bb stuff quite cheap, i brought the baby wipes at $2 cheaper. mummies can consider go there buy buy things..

Hey Em,
The hydrotherapy place is selling the float for $50+! You can buy then use it at home liao
Then we can all come over to your place haaha!

phoebe,

BB Natalie and I cant join you n Baby Ryann on 2 Dec, I already booked 11am slot this coming Tue.

Angel,
Jade looks happy in water and really enjoys it. =)

Puppygal,
You can call TMC Parentcraft n ask, I think non TMC babies can join the massage class too. The number is 62514090. I paid $97, bring BB for the class and daddy can join in too to learn the massage techniques.

Hi cookie, i was thinking of gg on tues too =p cos my hubby off on that day =p
might want to go there later to book appt.
see if can see u and bb natalie there too...

dArmAe, u wanna join me on tues too??

phoebe,

i dun mind getting a steriliser if i can find the travel size. the std ones too big to be place in my office lar.
i'm considering getting extra set of funnels and valves.. btw, dun ned the contact, i found the breastfeeding support group website liao. but is getting frm the breastfeeding support group cheaper as compared to robinsons?
if not too much diff then i get fm robinsons.. stil hv not spend the vouchers i rec'd during bb's 1st mth.

angel... waah, the float so ex ah. i have a colleague who's bb tried hydrotherapy oso. she was telling me tat the owner is chinese national. hmmm.. cud they hv gotten the floats from there?

poohwei,

my bb's daily feed kinda stagnant oso since week 7th. hv been giving her 90ml EBM per feed every 3 hrs (3x in the day). i latched her at 7am, 7pm, 10pm, 1am, 4am (but not sure hw much she consumer though)... tried increasing her day EBM quantity to 100 ml, she cant even finish.
PD say she is growing fine and so long contented after feed then ok. nw she is 11 weeks old... still 90ml.

phoebe,

i dun mind gg on tues if maegan can recover by mon. her nose still kinda stuffy wif slight cough. i was trying to aim thurs or fri. giving her more time to recover.

darmae,
Robinson is much more expensive.
breastfeeding support group is much cheaper. if not u can try mums R us too. I went to research the price before i decide on them.

Hi darmae,
Ya the owner and the staff are all from china! The float got chinese words also so probably they bought from china too. My hubby is asking his china colleagues to help us find the float. I'm sure it costs less than $50 there!!! If they manage to find it, will organise a BP hehehehhh.

Re maegan's stuffy nose...actually I dun think the hydrotherapy will be bad for her..might clear up her nose instead!
Its like taking a bath like that mah, and only 15 mins in the water, which is warm. Hmmm...but then again if she's not feeling well she might get irritated easily too.

baby piglet

is your friso still available??
i have i open tin for NAN HA. open 5 days ago. used only 20 scoops.
u wan? give you. cos very wasted to throw away.

my bb not used to it. no poo poo for 4 days, whereas for friso, he poo everyday.

poohwei, 50-60ml every hour ? u mean you have to bottlefeed your bb every hour ??

my boy's intake a bit erratic, ranges from 90ml - 120ml, every 2 hours in the day. from 6pm onwards, he "automatically" switch to 4hourly. strange....

Hi Pillow,

Yes, tat's what my mother will do since she is very free. But when i am the only person looking after her, i will try to extend the timing.

Nowadays, my girl seems to have mood swing. On certain days, she will insist on latching on, on other days, she will scream when i latch her on..Haiz..

wow, i thot my boy is "bad" enough with his 2hourly feed since he is 10 wks old already , yet behaving like a newborn

i did ask my PD before, that sometimes bb "cry" for milk, but only take 50-60ml then fall asleep. she mention that this means bb is not really hungry in the first plc.. we may not be interpreting his signals well.