(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi darmae,
Sounds to me like your baby going thru a growth spurt if she's suddenly waking up more than usual in the night. Read that babies supposed to have growth spurts ard 8 weeks. Try increasing her milk intake during the day. If you're feeding by bottle, give her 10-20ml more each feed. If you're latching, top up with 10-20ml EBM after a feed.

pinky,
Hahaha really dripping wet or you "kua zang"?? Do you or hubby have sweaty palms? Sometimes its in the genes. How's your baby today? Still colicky? My girl hor...when I lay her down on her back she will cry and cry. Now must feed her when she's lying down on her side then she won't cry.

ooh.. thanks angel. she's 10weeks old now.
before that, hv not noticed any signs of growth spurts. probably its coming now...
i will try to increase her intake. anyway now giving her EBM during the day to prep her and my maid before i go back to work in 2 weeks time.

hi angel.. dunno kua zhang or not leh... cos really wet leh.. can really see the water droplet on her feet and hands leh... so dunno its normal not...??

Hi ladies I m fm oct thread, but my baby came out early i.e e sept 22 so i will pop in this tread everyday also. It seem e symptom of my baby is quite alike of e baby here.

Atinarin, u say ur baby having flu. Did e doc give u any medicine? Last 2 days i was down w dad flu n suay suay my bb got it too. Went to gp n e doc says too young to give anything, e bb will recover himself. Went to kkh e same story. Now my bb ve difficulty breathing cos of e block nose n he will wake up cry n cry. so xin tong.Cos waking up many times in e nite, i m so tired tat i cant do any pumping at all n now my milk had decreased badly.Can anyone help? Thks

Hi Darmae,
My girl also 10 weeks now but no growth spurt yet. She's been drinking the same amt since 3 weeks old (125ml x 7 feeds). Heh...but this is a good thing for my girl coz she was already overweight at 3 weeks. :/

Pinky,
Yikes! I dun think that's normal leh. Is he too hot? I read on the net abt a mother complaining that her boy had very sweaty palms and feet since birth, and had problems walking later coz he'd kept slipping and falling. Got ask doc anot?

Hi Mui, welcome to sep thread
Have you tried sucking the mucus out of his nose? I was sick with flu last week too and my baby was coughing and had runny nose too. I helped her suck her mucus out. Some mums told me to use my mouth to suck...but err I couldn't bring myself to do it
so I bought the Pigeon one - comes with a bottle and tube.

angel, yup.. i read abt tat story... havent ask my pd yet cos she's away for a conference.. was shock jus now cos i put her on her bouncer.. then i was wonderin how come the cloth is wet where the feet is.. then i saw her feet is like wet lor.. like u can get a foot or palm print with the tissue.. hahha

angel, my bb actually taking quite little as compared to other bb of the same age. she is taking 90ml x 3 feeds during the day. then rest of the feed by latching (approx. 5 feeds) - but i duno hw much she's taking when latched on.

hw long can ur bb last with 125ml? surprisingly with 90ml, my bb can last 3hrs. duno normal or not. will ned to check wif PD this coming monday for assessment + jab. i worry she's underweight.

HELP! My bb is 9 weeks old now and is still refusing bottle-feed! I have tried introducing bottle to her since week 2 and till now she still refuses. I have tried all kinds of teats and bottles and she still cried her lungs out every time we tried to feed her via bottle. Last 2 days were worst cos she's simply not drinking, she rather goes on hunger strike than to be fed by bottle. I'm left with no choice but continue to latch her though the LC kept asking me to persist. Guess my bb is more persistent than I am. My ML is coming to end soon and if she still refuses to drink from bottle, how am I to go back to work?? Sigh...Anyone can advise?

hey angel, re: the sucking tube...i saw the pigeon one in taka today but not sure how effective it is, i didn't buy. Care to share issit really good? Did your girl cry when u insert the tube into her nostril? How deep must we insert in? I scare hurt bb's nose if bb sudden jerk, my son also got blocked nose, caught the flu 2wks ago and yet to recover. His nasal is congested.

hi tequilapop,

my bb refused bottle initially oso. but then we realised that it is becos i am the one offering the bottle. bb can smell mummy hence will tend to reject bottle for some. when i hand over the baton to my maid.. problem solved. i hope it helps.

hi tequilapop,

I experienced the same problem also. My gal rather suck her thumb then n wait for me to latch her on than to drink from bottles. However, my mum n hubby do not experience this problem.

These few days, i tried to feed her by allowing her to sleep on the bed. This way, she will not be able to smell me as much. Situation improved a lot.

Hi daemae & Poohwei,

All this while it's my hubby or my mum whom is feeding my bb via bottle. I even tried to get out of the house during feeding time so that she will not have the alternaive of me latching her but she simply refused to drink. Real headache...

Hi darmae,
Usually, the 125ml will last abt 3 hours during the day, and then she goes for 8 hours at night. Hmmm...but sometimes she may take only 60ml and can last 3 hours too.

Hi Tiny,
Pigeon has 2 types - the tube one and the bulb. I find the tube one is more effective than the one with the bulb coz we're sucking and can control the pressure and increase as necessary. The bulb one didn't work for her - press and press but nothing come out. Its very safe to use...nothing goes into the nose. You only put one part on the outside of the nose and it creates a vacuum so that you can suck the mucus out. And the mucos goes into the bottle (not in your mouth)
My girl didn't mind it at all.

My SIL insists using our mouth to suck is more effective though...so if you're the Fear Factor kind..can try haha

Nice meeting you yesterday
Again...must apologise for my lateness! I totally misjudged the time I would take to get there...somemore not familiar with the area..should have left earlier. Paiseh

Hi angel, i bought e pigeon sucker too. but it seem my bb mucus is inside e nostril n when i try to suck nothing come out but i can still hear my bb snorting around...

Mui: The PD gave me a nose drop and syrup for her phlegm so i dont understand why the docs didnt give your bb anything?

I used the Pigeon and tried on my bb before too but nothing comes out. The snorting sound may just be underdeveloped nasal passages.

My girl's phlegm is bad.

Mui,
My PD also gave me a nose drop for my son. and it is effective. Sometime when my son sneezes i will use the cotton butt (small type from pigeon) and clean the nostril but only the outer part. Manage to clear the nose sometimes.
Everyday after shower i will clean the nose and ears so that the dust and dirt will nt be accumulate.

tequilapop,
If ur bb refuse to eat for too long u can try spoon feed first .. before i intro bottles to my son , i also use spoon first thou it is very troublesome but at least bb wont be in hunger..

Hi <font color="0000ff">Phoebe</font>..
What's the name if the nose drop? Sigh, my HB passed the flu bug to my son. He has been coughing since last night, and a bit of sneezing every now & then. Tmrw gotta bring him see PD.

He also makes a lot of snorting sounds, I wonder if he got nose block too.

Emily,
The name is Beoptic nose drop. Good for block nose and sensitive nose
Ryann also got snorting sound tat time..

My Milk supply suddenly drop alot lor... now 4hrly i can only manage to get 160-180ml after compressing and massage... i wonder wat happen... Is it becos i stop pumping during midnight??
Now i usually pump at 11.45-12.45 then pump again at 6.45-7.15am lapse for 7hr-8hrs... after which will be 4-5 hrly.
Usually i can pump more then 1000ml but now drop to 800 plus....
Any mummies experience before? i dun wish to give up BF leh... hope to BF until he 4 months old.

tequilapop,
it must be hard for you.... did u ask for professional help? LC?
maybe must really heart pain let her hungry then she have no choice but to drink?
pls take care... i believe u must be under alot of stress...

tequilapop: i hope things will get easier soon. Must be tough for you as a mummy.

bena: hey how have you been? so long no posts from you?

phoebe: to me, your supply is tremendous! cos i only have 20ml at most when i pump now. Sometimes really very depressed as if i am not providing my bb with the best..other times i tell myself i am still giving her FM and its not like im starving her. But really thinking of all this is making me ill.

Im going back to work in Jan but i suddnely already feel like im losing too much time with bb and i wont get to see her enough. Dont know if mum and mil will be able to handle or do a good job..this and that...wow hormones really taking over today. Dont even feel like talking to hubby.

Phoebe,
Dun worry, its prob just temporary decrease in your supply. Our supply is affected by alot of things like amt of liquid & food intake, stress levels, etc. I think your going back to work has definitely some impact on your stress levels. It should even out soon
I stopped pumping after midnight too but supply not affected. In the morning I get double what I normally get!

Oh btw, I saw that you clean your baby's ears and nose after showers. Learnt from Mrs Wong's class that these parts are self-cleaning and we shouldn't clean. Like sticking cotton buds into the nose might push the dirt further in or damage the sensitive membranes inside the nose leh.

Angel,
initially i don't clean Ryann's ears and nostrils too. but the other time when Ryann is down with blocked nose and sinus, PD told me that it is very dirty inside his nostril and advice me to use cotton butt to clean only the outside part of the nostril. cannot dig inside. and true enuff, after i tried to clean, the cotton butt came out dirty.
As for Ryann's ears, there were alot of ear wax on the exterior part of his ears and it is very dry, i see already so scary. so i only clean the external part but not inside. Ryann very dirty ... my mum call him dirty pig! =p just nice he born in yr of pig =p

Hi darmae, my baby woke up every 2 hours last night too
1am, 3am, 5am, 630am,730am. Terribly exhausting. Hope it won't become a habit.

Hi tequila, my son is also rejecting the bottle. He even came down with watery stools for the last 2 days so no choice but to continue to give him breast cos' worried that it's due to stomach upset. I am returning to work on Wed so I am really cutting my weaning very very close. Promised myself that these 3 days must harden my heart and give him cold turkey. Today he took 1.5oz in morning and 3 oz in the afternoon. Refused the 6pm bottle (I ended up feeding him breast cos' very engorged) but just now he took another 2oz so still got hope. No choice but to persist, cannot lose to him in this battle of wills else both of us will suffer when i go back to work.

atinarin, dun be depress.. actually u r giving ur bb the best le... if i were u i would have given up but u persist on.. so u r a wonder mummie... u sacrifice for ur bb more then anyone... Jia you... even a little BM will be able to benefit ur precious bb. so stay happy..

Hi peapod,

My gal sometimes only drank 80ml in all for the day from 8am to 5pm! Every feed she will cry and cry so loud that even neighbour came over to ask what happened
She will cry until her face turns black and gaping for air, quite scary.

I can't continue to let her cry this way cos her intestine is protruding out at the belly button as a result of her exertion. When she just turned 1 mth old, it was at the groin area! PD said if at umbilica, it is not as worrying as at groin, but still...

My mum is almost raising her white flag and asked me to consider quitting my job so that I can continue to bf her direct...sigh..

Atinarin,
Hi.. I've been reading the thread but not really posting cuz busy with baby. Everytime I type halfway I get interrupted. Been down with engorgement again
Tomorrow will go TMC seek LC's help. It will be an ordeal getting treated. Feel so depressed. Supply sure drop after that

Good morning everyone.
So tired it's monday again but i'm on leave today cos never sleep well as my boy was cranky past few days maybe bcos i brought him for jab last sat & he dun seems hungry though he can drink 125ml every 3hrs but he only drink 80ml the most for every 4-5hrs & imagine i told my hubby not to warm too much ebm but he never listen in the end need to throw away quite a lot
My boy really looks very tired cos he always yawn but he just dun wan to sleep. Tried many ways like giving pacifier, pat him to sleep etc... but he sure wakes up when i put him to his cot. Anyone encounter this also? Sorry for being so lor soh but really heartache to see all ebm thrown away....

Angel,
My boy was also down with blocked nose few weeks back & PD used the pigeon brand cotton bud to dig & i'm surprised he digged out a lot of "gold". He said to clean & dig daily on the exterior part like wat Phoebe say or when u can see "gold" when bb sneeze only.

Phoebe,
My boy also has a lot of ear wax but my mil said it's bcos he like to sleep on the right so all dirt flow out from there

Hi tequila,
Wah you must be so frustrated...keep trying...some babies are more difficult than others and just need a little more time.
My LC told me sometimes we have to be more insistent if we are dealing with a stubborn baby, must 'out-stubborn' him. Have you tried to feed the bottle when baby is not so hungry? If wait till he's hungry he won't be in the mood to welcome any changes. Or try lying him on his side to feed? Or maybe try to bluff him by latch him awhile then switch to bottle, cuddling him in the position like how you normally BF and get someone to bottle feed in that position? Talk to him softly and encourage and praise him when he lets the teat in his mouth for even a few seconds.

phoebe, irene,
Oh really! Ok glad that now I can dig my girl's nose
Coz sometimes I see the gold coming out liao then very tempted to dig!

Peapod,
Your girl wake up so many times? Gosh..you must be really tired! Maybe she is sleeping too much in the day. Do you feed her everytime she wakes up at night?

Hi <font color="0000ff">Wiselyn</font>..
Thanks for ur concern. He spent half day @ infant care last Thurs & Fri, and he seems OK. But he got nose block and cough yesterday evening. We rushed him to Mt A 24-hr clinic last night as he was crying badly. After the medicine, he looks better this morning. Will keep him at home for 2 days b4 sending him to infant care again.

Today is your first day at work hor. How's things? Missing Clara at work, I suppose. Its normal. How's Clara doing at her infant care so far? Are u satisfied with the infant care?

emily,

So far so good for clara lor...yeah..missing her already..the infant care, not too bad lar...cannot expect 100% right? got 80% not bad liao lor...

you take care of yourself and edison okay...rest well

Hi angel, yep, I fed him at these feedings. He seemed hungry leh. The thing is that due to his rejection of the bottle, his intake is insufficient during the day so I was hoping that at least I can make up during the night feeds.

Hi tequila, I read that some babies can go on hunger strike for 12 hrs!! Maybe you try feeding him when he is half asleep. I learnt that from reading some of the threads on babies refusing to take milk. But it is touch and go, sometimes it works for me, sometimes it woke him up instead and of course, the crying starts again. But we are not alone, apparently it is quite a common thing to have feeding problems near the 3rd month.

Oh, what teats are you using? I tried the Avent and pigeon ones but didn't work. So now I'm using the NUK Latex Teats cos' its closer to nipple. I also poked 1 more hole to make it flow faster. Someone else also mentioned that Bfree teats are soft and I bought one to try too. But haven't used it yet cos' my baby only taking about 2oz so very pathetic to use the 260ml bottles. I am still using the smaller 125ml bottles.

atinarin...me using diamond distilled... there are several other brands in the market.. was initially skeptical when my friend introduced.. but quite appalled by the dirt on the filter when husband first cleaned it.. so now everything also use filtered water for bb..

Hi <font color="0000ff">Wiselyn</font>..
Sure, will take great care of Edison.. Next Monday, I will be feeling the same as u now when I start work... sigh

For Edison's infant care, there are 4 teachers and 16 infants, so ratio is 1:4. I found that most of the teachers are quite OK. Just that there is not much activities for young babies below 5 months old. They just let them sleep on the bouncer and talk to them a bit when they r awake. At home, I carry him, walk around and play with him. As u mentioned, I cant expect 100% there. 80% is good enough already.

irene,
my boy oso same case like urs, cries loudly whenever need milk n after taking unable to get asleep even we'd tried all kinds of method...
finally i decided to use "sarung" to rock him, haha..he can fall sleep quitely ler...my boy coming 2 mths , how abt urs?

aft feeding for quite a while, i always play wf him, recently he got response,always say :ah,ooh,eeh and kicks his leg/hands syncronizely..then let him hav sleep,he oso can sleep nicely...

Nice to see all your cute babies all growing so well. I have also delivered my girl, Faith, on 24 Sept and have been TBF her since. Its really not easy being a mum and even more challenging being a BFing mum!

I will be going back to work next mth and will also be sending my girl to infant care.

Hi Emily & Wiselyn,

Would like to ask are your babies taking EBM at the infant care? If yes, do you bring just enough supply of EBM for the day for the teachers to warm up at each feed? And how do you transport the EBM there?

mummyfaith,

i dun have enough ebm, so will supplement with fm...i have bought a FTG for transporting of my BM...i bring in the EBM everyday...

hi tequila,

i hope situation hv improved for u....

hi peapod,

u in same boat wif me.. despite increasing more feed during the day. she is still waking up every 2 hrs for feed at nite. i'm totally exhausted nw. duno hw...

hi phoebe,

you are doing well... i nv had tat much of milk supply from pumping. i oso will expect my oredi low supply to dip once i start work. duno hw.. but like u, i wud like to BF at least for 4mths.
lets jia you together.
btw, u using ameda lactaline pump rite? usu wat cycles n vacuum level u use? hw long per pumping session? i duno if i'm doing the correct yet. usu pump on 70 - 90ml per session every 3 hrly. pathetic hor

any punggol / sengkang mummies who tried hydrotherapy for bb?
i read in straits times tat there's tis hydrotherapy at punngol plaza blk 168. claimed to improve bb's general health, circulation which helps them sleep beta.

tempted to let bb try.

mummies, wats ur thot on this?

mummies who have gone back to work and still giving your babies BM...how do you keep ur supply or even increase it, anyone any advice?