(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

for those whose babies are down with nose blocked. can try to use vicks and rub on their sole and wear socks... apparently it helps them to breath better...

works for my baby

hi mummy faith.. ur faith is so cute.. my gal is also faith.. wat's her surname...? if i didnt rem wrongly.. we share the same gynae too rite? Dr Sim fro tmc?

hi dramaqueen.. my gal will sleep at abt 8 plus or latest by 9pm then will wake up at abt 5am for a drink..

Hi pinkyj, yup we have the same gynae. My gal surname is Toh.

She will wakeup once in the night but timing can vary from 3plus am to 5plus am. But she only sleep at 12am every night! In the day she also seldom nap...so its really tiring to care for her fulltime.

wah pinky, ur girl can sleep so many hrs w/o waking up eh, good!!!

Hey Em, am sure you will 'fang xin' to continue working lah...like what wise said, cannot expect 100% from infant care or caregiver, unless you take care yourself.

BB piglet, tks for sharing the tips on blocked nose, i will try out tonight.

mummy faith.. hahah.. so qiao hor... same gynae, same name.. only surname not the same.. mine is tan

tiny, she only starts to sleep so long recently oso..

For babies who sleep through the night, how much do you feed them at their last feed?

My girl at 2 months is still taking pretty little.

Hi dArmAe,

I hav oredi let my gal try the hydrotherapy at punngol plaza blk 168 yesterday morn....

At 1st she was ok...but after 5 min in the water, she was crying liao.....so I picked her up out of the water...after coaxing her for awhile, she claim down liao...tried 2nd time, she stil dun wan...so I dun force her liao loh... In the end, the owner didn't charge full price...

I guess she was sleepy n gg to be hungry soon....so quite cranky...

So my advise is...make sure ur BB is well fed n after her sleep...happy mood...Then she can enjoy her swim there...

Better to book 2 days in advance n usually they r quite crowded during the wkend.

Wiselyn & Emily,

can i check with you both where is yr infant care? I am at farrer road but can't find any care centre for my 10weeks girl.

atinarin, i fed my gal the same amt of milk throughout the whole day..
and her last feed is at 8 plus or 9.. then she'll sleep thru the nite.. so far its like tat for the past one week.. sometimes siao siao she will wake up afew times at nite.. will see how is it lah..

pinkyj: how old is your girl and hw much is her avg per feed?

My girl has been so uneasy today she has not slept at all th ewhole day...on avg, 5 mins sleep then she's up again...think im going crazy...

She is still wide awake now looks like a long night ahead for me

BB,

the infant care clara is attending is in Serangoon North...and the infant care edison is attending is in Seng Kang. you can use the mcys website to search for the infant care nearest to your place

morning mommies...

atinarin, my gal will be 3 mths old this thurs.. and she'll drink abt 120-150mls..
but she's drinkin less this few days cos she's unwell...
got alot of phlegm caused by reflux and a sensitive runny nose.. hope she'll get well soon..

Hi. Urgghh!! I will be going back work TOMORROW. Time really flies man

Baby's waking up at 1am, 4am, 6am again last nite. Very erratic timings. The day before he woke up at only at 4am and 6am. But i suspect it's because he is not getting enough food in the day
So far he will only take 1.5oz to 2oz at every feeding. That's very little. Really cannot fan xin to go back to work leh

Hi <font color="0000ff">peapod</font>..
Maybe u can take another 2 days off from work and monitor the situation.

Now, I feed my son at 10pm, then both of us go to sleep. He will only wake up once at 3am for milk, then the next feeding will be 6:30am - 7am.

my gal now at 8 wks old also still keep taking 1.5 to 2 oz at 2-3 hrs interval. she's waking up at 1 and 4 am nightly..so my panda eyes are worsening...

peapod, hope u have a great 1st day at work tml
I'm into 3rd day at work..started last thurs and still adjusting.

funny76, saw the hydrotherapy at punggol plaza last sun. so amazed with the 'transformation ' at the plaza..just 6 mths and so many changes. my girl suffering from running nose and cough since we came back..so poor thing, she practically 'struggling' for air when i breastfeed her cos nose was blocked.

tiny voice, u back at work too?

Hi Em, my boss is expecting me back ... I heard from my colleagues that she already planned work for me :p I was thinking of taking leave the week after next instead as he is getting his jabs and I'm worried that he will get a fever.

Hi amy, my boy is already 11 weeks and still taking 2oz. But he was drinking more when he was on my breast (direct latching). According to the lactation nurse who assessed him, he took 130ml last time. Now, it dropped by half when I start give him the bottle. It has been more than a week and no improvement in his intake. Sometimes I so heartpain and still give him the breast ;p

Hi <font color="0000ff">peapod</font>..
My boy will be taking his 2nd jab on 14 Dec. I choose a Friday, so that I can take care of him the next 2 days which will be a weekend. I will be taking leave on tat Friday. I believe we are entitled 2 days of child care leave which we can take.

I am even more 'bu fang xin' than u. At least ur boy is taken care by PIL, better than an infant care.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..
Have u found a nanny for Sam? What I can say abt infant care - they provide all the basic needs, i.e. feeding, putting baby to sleep, bath, diaper changing etc. But we cant except the luxury unless we take care of our babies ourselves. So, as Wiselyn said, 80% is good enough.

<font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..
PD recommends Iliadin 0.01% nasal decongestant for relieving blocked nose in infants. I bought it at Guardian last night, ard $7, its quite effective. Perhaps u can try.

dArmAe, i also very tempted to try the hydrotherapy at PG plaza cos it is so near my hse and Ryann love water!!! very interesting hor.. u stay SK or PG too? And YES! we must Jia you together...

Wiselyn,
My supply drop quite a lot recently, maybe due to work stress and also i always miss my timing.. sometimes in meeting cannot pump then will drag till 5 - 6 hrs. maybe tats why my supply drop. but i still make sure i pump at least 2 times in office.Try to drink more warm water. When i went back to work, due to the aircon in my office (which is like aircon no need money like tat), i find it hard to pump too.. too cold... Just give until i no milk le lor... no choice...

peapod,
gg back to work is really tiring.. especially with the night feedings.. my son also wake up at least 2 time for night feeds... thus try to slp early and drink DOM or chicken essence.

I really envy all those mummies whos bb can slp thru the night or with only 1 feeding..ryann dun drink alot at night thus will wake up more often but in the day is ok...

SK/PG mummies, maybe we can meet up 1 day and bring our babies for a swim at punggol plaza together??? So fun to see so many babies swimming together =p

hi wisely

dun think i'm the best person to advice on BM supply cos mine not alot. but wud say tat sufficient for my bb inthe meantime.
i feel the supply = demand theory works. angel advised me before to pump every 2 hrly. and it works for me. started to pump every 2 hrly during the day while putting my gal on EBM.
i can see the increase after 3 days of pumping..
u may want to try

hi funny,

tats wat i'm afraid of. bb cranky during hydrotherapy. hope to find 1 wkday to try out... at least not so stress. do u hv the contact number?

hi phoebe,

i'm staying in serangoon... but i frequent my mum's plc in SK during my ML. going to end soon.. tempted to let bb try b4 i start work. since its less crowded during wkday.

btw, hw do u sterilise ur pump acessories at work?

phobe,

i also try to pump more at work lor...trying to pump 3 times....once in the morning (not much cos i latch my darling in the morning)..afternoon abt 120ml, just nice for one feed...evening abt 130-140...haha...my milk quite little hor...but will try to give as long as i can...

Hi dArmAe,

U must make sure tat ur BB is well fed n after sufficient sleep loh...mayb they dun charge u full if ur BB is cranky n u decide nt to continue( after ard few mins or 5 mins) Their no. is 6489 4847

Hi Phoebe,
Tats is a gd suggestion....I might wan to let my gal try 1 more time...coz the unsuccessful try might be due to she felt sleepy...after the swim, she fall asleep almost immediately.. I live almost opp PP. Quite convenient for mi to let her try one more time..tis time round, must make sure she is well fed n hav sufficient sleep... ;p

funny76, Shall we organise one swimming session?? I stay 105B at punggol too... walking distance to PP.

dArmAe, lets see who can make it wkdays then we go together =p .. But i am only available on Tuesdays. This week only got Friday Afternoon available cos have to work.
I only pump 2 times at office so i got 2 set of acessories. When i wash i will use hot water first then bring home and sterilize them.

Wiselyn, ya, i guess we can only try our very best to pump as much.. cos not all bosses will like. we must all jia you together...

Hi Phoebe, got to organise 1 in wkend coz my hubby oso wan to c her swimming....We took a bit of video n pic last sun....

I dun mind Sunday or Tuesdays... =p
This friday on half day thus got time =p
dArmAe,you can make it on weekends? We can book in advance to be garanteed a slot.

How abt other Mummies?? anyone interested?

Hi. I am interested in the hydrotherapy too
But I can only make it during weekends cos' starting work liao. How much is it?

hi amy, am still on ML till end of this month but i applied annual leave for whole of dec..so going back to work only next January.

hi Em, my replacement maid coming in a few days more, so will try out and see how she fares in taking care of baby. Hubby bought the pigeon nose suction tube yesterday and we tried on Sam, not bad, at least it provides some relief for him.

Atinarin: You tried putting your baby sleep on tummy during the day, will be able to sleep longer.

hi funny

i'm interested in the hydrotherapy session. how much do they charge? I saw fr the pic looks like one tub per baby. Is it rite?

My baby is sucking his hands now and at times his mitten is very wet, any mummies experience this as well? Without mitten, his hands can be quite cold so i decided to put on his mittens while he is sleeping.

star, Ryann also suck his hands until his mittens all wet, i just keep changing lor... scare skin allergy ma.. =p

Update the list, mummies =p
List of mummies onz for Hydrotherapy
1) Phoebe n Baby Ryann

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..
Good to hear that u haf got a replacement maid. So your mum will come to your house to supervise the maid when u start work? Otherwise its kinda 'bu fang xin' to leave ur baby alone with maid.

i am also interested in the hydrotheraphy thingy. thinking of letting my BB try. I stay at 160B, within walking distance to PP.
Is there an age limit, like 2 or 3 months & above, then can swim? If we feed BB before the session, is it 1 hr before?

1) Phoebe n Baby Ryann
2) Cookie n Baby Natalie

Anyone joining Mrs Wong's BB massage session this Sat? Im bringing BB for the session.

Mummies, did you use powder on BB? My MIL keep suggesting that BB need some powder, then they feel comfy, esp in the neck and folds. But I'm afraid Powder mix with milk (in the neck area) or sweat will cause rashes. Is it ok to sue powder?

Snowy Casper,

the hydrotherapy will improve blood circulation and makes babies sleep better and improve bowel movement. The tub of water is prepared in BB's body temperature and BB will wear a float around the neck annd swim in the tub. this is featured on Sunday times few weeks back.

Not sure how much though.

Has anyone brought ur baby for the jab for pneumococcal disease prevention?

My PD is charging $169 per dose. I am checking if Polyclinics offer the jab at lower price. Anyone knows the price at polyclinics?

cool!! i wan my bb to try hydrotherapy.
wkday (start work on dec 3rd) or wkends both ok.

1) Phoebe n Baby Ryann
2) Cookie n Baby Natalie
3) dArmAe n Baby Maegan

funny, hw many spa pools do they hv? if grp larger than available facilities, we may hv to stagger the timing liao. and mayb we can oso ask for grp discount hee

emily, i dun think polyclinic provide pneumococcal jab leh.. only gp or those private clinic.. is ur pd oso from kids clinic?
i'm not giving the jab to my bb..

Age limit is between 0 mth to 12mths. They charge $25 for ard 20 min in the tub....If I am nt wrong, there r ard 3 or 4 tub...Yup! 1 tub for 1 BB. They oso do massage, hair cutting n bathing for BB...They hav package for tat...

Emily, Polyclinic confirm dun provide tat jab...I ask liao... Only private provide tat...

1) Phoebe n Baby Ryann
2) Cookie n Baby Natalie
3) dArmAe n Baby Maegan
4) Funny n BB Summer -> tentively, depend on her
mood, after fed n sleep, prefer wkend
5)

For those of you feeding your baby FM, i realise when i use 100ml of water, after putting in the milk powder to mix, the water level rise to 120ml. So am i actually feeding my boy 100ml or 120ml of milk? I'm confused coz when i record, i always record 100ml of milk but recently i thought about it, how about breastmilk. If i record 100ml, the milk level IS at 100ml.

I know this is a silly question.
But I juz want to clarify on how much i'm feeding my boy actually.

arisz: i always add water first so i put slightly more than whats req, like 90ml, i put 95ml then i add the 3 scoops, goes up but thats ok.