(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

voice, your boy very friendly leh.... my gal will only let others carry with me or my hubby around.... even PIL also dont want.... We also tried to disappear and not let her hear and see us.... after a while when she cant see us, she will start to ek ek and then cry.... "sigh" so we have not been dating since...

atinarin, my gal also... whenever she pek chek, she will start to raise both hands and scratch her head and ears and when her fingernails are sharp, she will have scratches on her head and face.... and then she will cry out loud. I tried to trim her nails but no matter how i trim still feel sharp...?? She is also grabbing my hair since the past two weeks.... im now experiencing hair loss and its getting worse with her grabbing hairs off me.

Blue, I won't take it as a negative comment if someone comment that my milk is oily. In fact I take it that it's very "pu3" that's why it's kinda fatty and good for baby! Hahaha - you should tell your mil that- else how did Jordan grow to be so big?

Phoebe, I used to feel the same way as you with my niece. Yes, it's crazy but I'm possesive of my niece before Zac came along. And if her maid tries to take her away from me when she is crying, I'll stop her and tell her I'll handle and ask her to go do her housework. This is how I assume ownership of my niece when my sis is at work :p. I won't even hide my displeasure when the maid tries to help so that she knows there are times I need to be with my niece. But agree with blue that a maid is afterall an outsider and our kids will be smart enough to know that when they are older. But sometimes they do experience separation anxiety when a maid leaves and they might start to feel insecure, feeling that someone they have built a relationship has left. It can be quite bad for their emotional well-being- at least for a while..so try as far as possible to spend more time with your baby bah..

Vone,
The thing is I believe that a fatherly figure is very important, esp so to a boy. I read the book "Raising Boys" by Steve Biddulph and he said the same thing. But sometimes I feel as if my hubby is quite absent as a dad. This is despite the fact that he helps with the diapers and sometimes the bathing. But I know he tries his very best but he's just tired after work. During weekends he'll also want to rest and relax. I really hope that when my Zac grows a little older, daddy will start to play a bigger role in his life through sports and other guy recreation, and that Zac will start to look up to Daddy as a role model. Mummy don't mind taking a back seat and be just a caregiver.

blue,

lucky my boy nv 'question' abt the clothes i bgt for him.. if not where can i find so many clothes wif dinosaurs... smart move, sell n recoup some money. hee

u very lucky leh.. 2nd wan labour so short. my 1st labour lasted 16hrs (with 1st 5 hrs w/o epi).. 2nd wan 12 hours... both cases oso induced

mummyfaith,

u very steady wor.. 12 hrs w/o epi. my total labour 13hrs but 1st 6 hours no pei.. so tong until i almost breakdown. mayb same as rxsti, mine oso induced labour, so intensity of pain is higher...

blue,

i oso got 1 hole too.. nw i use clips to adjust my hair to cover the hole lor.

angel,

thanks. decide go get the leapfrog groove station for maegan. yours the same or you bgt safety 1st exersaucer?

Hi BuBu, your gal is so chubby and cute! Hair where got messy

Re: Jealousy feelings

Definitely jealous of my MIL. Caelen will smile at her so readily and yet it will take us ALOT of effort just to make him smile and many times he just stared at us blankly
So sad!! But no choice, she takes care of him whole day and we only come back and play with him at night. By then he is tired and sleepy liao so only spend about 1hr and he zzz. Initially was VERY VERY jealous and sad but now I am resigned to it. I comfort myself that once Caelen is more 'dong shi' he will still be closer to parents since we are the ones buying him toys and bringing him out hehee... bribery is the best policy hahaa.

Nowadays it is getting dangerous to put Caelen in the bouncer. He gets up to all kinds of funny antics in it and tries to sit up and flip over whenever we put him there. See?

1199764.jpg
1199765.jpg

Topic: Car seat

How are your babies taking to the car seat? Caelen doesn't quite like it. He will sit in it for about 15mins max before starting to cry. No amount of distraction will work. I am very torn between making him sit (else he will think "if cry can come out") and picking him up just to stop the noise. Now he will keep trying to sit up in it (similar to the bouncer) and once he gets tired, he will start his complaining which is even shorter than 15mins. At my wits end!

Darmae, how to "cover"? I tried changing my parting but realise the other side also got "hole". So no matter which side I flip my hair to, will see bald patches.

Peapod, car seat sitting must "train" one. If you don't train now, you will have difficulties making him sit next time. Last time my gal also everytime sit car seat gua gua jiao ... want to be carried and sit on my lap. We had to resort buying a portable DVD player and keep her entertained during car journeys. It worked. Even till now at 3 years old, sometimes if she does fuss, we will bring out the DVD player to entertain her. So it's a great investment. Haha.

On the other hand, Jordan is a much nicer baby compared to his sister. He usually keeps himself entertained in his carseat ... looking out of the window and sleep when he's tired.

Radiance, my boy also ... his "tap" always on! So I have to let him wear bib at all times. Think drooling is natural ... cannot train them to control one I think.

re: drooling
how come my gal not much drooling leh. only like to play with ther saliva - u know like blowing bubble kind.

re: flip
wow so gd, can see most of the bb here can flip liao, mine still not steady yet, always like to flip half way, then not succeed, will scream out loud, then even if successfully, will not know how to turn her head left or rite, juz straight downwards, so very scary, if no one is ard to chk.

peapod,

agree with blue.. seating in carseat must train one. my elder boy oso 'refuse' carseat as much as he dislike stroller.. always wan to be carried. but we use all sorts of toys to enertain him while he is in carseat. in the end, the one that works best is in-car entertainment system. we installed a unit in the car.. from then, he kwai kwai sit there.

maegan more tame.. she can sit in stroller or carseat and entertain herself.. with maegan, i can still drive alone. but with my elder one, i cudnt do that.

blue,

so far, i oni spotted 1 bald patch.. so i took abit of hair from each side, overlap and clip...

re : dooling
same here.. not much of drooling, more of playing wif saliva.. whole face and hands oso have. my blouse oso got wet...

Hi peapod,
My situation is totally different from yours. My boy cried so badly when my PIL carry him. Especially when we go to our PIL's house, he is not familiar with the environment, thus he keep crying until we finally leave their house... Sigh!

My mum advised me to go more often to let him familiarise with the environment.. But it is so heart-wrenching to see my boy crying so badly everytime we go to PIL's house..

yeah blue,

i think so... smtimes i wonder if its because they are the 1st born, then we tend to give them too much attention plus protective.. tats y like tat.

is it raining at your office place?
here in woodlands always rain at this time... very heavy somemore. very sian, office carpark not sheltered... ned to take umbrella plus carry my barang barang of cooler bag containing EBM and the pump. not forgetting laptop..

blue, darmae, rxsti,
hahaha, i knew right from beginning that i dun want epidural...want to go natural all the way so have been preparing myself for it since early pregnancy. i wasn't induced but admitted as i started feeling contractions and my gynae say i was already 2cm dilated so she will break waterbag for me loh. she initally predicted faith to be out ard evening as i was already admitted at 11am. but dilation very slow...drag until 11pm then can start pushing.

thinking back really dunno how i can tong so long but maybe bcos i was alittle "gong gong" from the gas so didn't have any sense of time at all. but my poor hubby had been keeping vigilant by my bed the whole time with me holding onto his arm tightly everytime contractions come and asking me to breathe properly, so thats why he also end up super exhausted and till now cannot get over those 12hrs!

peapod,
Faith also wants to sit up everytime shes on her bouncer and want to flip whenever she is laid down even when changing diapers! So now can not leave her alone unless shes in her cot and must always make sure you buckle your boy when on bouncer. Theres one time i left her on her bouncer w/o seat belt and i turn ard to get something but when i turned back she was leaning forward so much that she almost fell off the bouncer. As for carseat, i was also advised to train baby from young to sit in it. Faith can sit in her carseat w/o much problem now as she has learned to play with her toys during the journey or she will sleep. But occasionally will still fuss and wants to get out of the car seat lah. I believe we can slowly train her or if not can try blue & darmae's method to use dvd to distract them loh.

re: drooling
my girl really can drool man! her whole bib will be soaking wet within abt 30mins of putting it on! don't think we can do much abt it, they will outgrow it eventually lah.

Peapod,
I trained Zac to sit in the carseat by letting him cry it out! Ya, what mummies do to train baby to sleep thru the nite, I used it for the car seat. So now he knows no matter how hard he cries or struggles, he'll have to stay put till the journey ends. So the moment my hubby off the engine, he is now programmed to struggle cuz he knows he has the right to get out of the car seat. It also helps if you have a rattle to distract him. I noticed that many babies love rattles.

Very sian, Zac is so naughty. I just scolded him very fiercely and he cried so loudly and so badly for so long, he shivered. Now his voice is hoarse. I was so angry that I just put him in the yaolan and left him alone there. He fell asleep in an instant. I wonder if he'll feel like a nobody's child or whether I've done permanent damage to his self esteem
On hindsight, think he is quite pitiful. Sick already still must kenna scoldings from me, his only caregiver.

Re: Balding of bb
Think due to hormonal changes, bb will drop hair bah. Heard about an interesting myth which I thought of posting here to "verify".

I heard from people (myth) that those bb with gu gu (Aunties --BB's Dad's sisters) will drop hair in such a way that there is a bald patch that forms a line across the head (from one ear to the other ear). Otherwise, probably it is generalised balding. It is supposed to call "ah gu lu" (aunties' road). Just for fun/curiousity

Anyone with or without gu gu with that bald line?

Re: Car Seat

I need help!! How to put baby into the car seat?? How to adjust the strap?? It seems to be fixed and we cant put baby in!! So..my car seat has been a white elephant. We are the blur blur parent who dunno how to use car seat..

hahahhaha.
Just realised that nobody seems to be talking about bb's balding.
You all talking about yourselves huh? hahhaaha
I browsed too fast. I was still thinking to myself then how come ur BBs have so much hair for u to flip and cover hole. hahahhaha

darmae
My boy is super siao LEGO & those construction vehicles...hahaa

Re: drooling
My gal tap also non stop one...& she seems to love her 'pig trotter' very much..hahaa

re: formula
can any mummies know whether is it true that we need to consume the opened can after one mth? cos currently am actually partial BM, but then 1 day at least my gal will take formula, but that can (think) hv been opened almost 1 mth+ liao, wonder still edible. any one can advise?

Goldfishy, I was LOL when I read your "I was still thinking to myself then how come ur BBs have so much hair for u to flip and cover hole".

Darmae, I'm on leave today lah ... that's why got time to "chit chat" here on and off. Took leave to clear my house ... if you notice, I have lotsa stuff to sell lately cos I'm doing spring cleaning ... haha!

Bubu Mama, mine also ... now my boy sometimes don't even take FM at all ... think that tin has been opened for way past 1 month already. Guess as long as it's tightly sealed and the powder didn't harden, should be ok bah ...

k, tks blueskye.

u sd got many things for sale, can i know wat items, cos need to get a few things also. but am also trying very hard to get rid of my nappy liner, wonder any mummies here wants...
cos bb is on full diapers.

re: diapers
can i juz chk wat brand u all use har...been using bet. NTUC and drypers brand. find that they are quite similar.

also wonder how long u all change bb diaper (whether wet or not wet), my mum sd must change interval of ard 3 hrs - true?

BuBu Mama, I'm doing clearance mostly of clothes, toys and some other miscellaneous stuff that we don't need. What are you looking for?

For diapers, my boy still on cloth diapers in the day and Mamy Poko at night. We usually change his Mamy Poko between 12-14 hours cos we usually change him around 8pm+ and then take off his diapers around next morning 10am when he wakes up and bath.

goldfishy...

u really very cute. haha
btw, re: 阿姑路, it did not happen to my gal, maegan but to my elder one. his balding is like one loop around his head. so my mum ask me to get hubby's sister to buy clothes and shoes for him to wear. we did, his head grew.. but still, we werent sure if its what we follow lor.. but his hair did grow eventually.. hehe

lbs,

yeah super blur. i was chatting wif one colleague abt it then she say 'huh, we had tat long ago and u tested it out before as well.'
sieve brain lor.. forgot alot of things

blue,

on leave ah.. not bad leh. i wanted to clear some leave for spring cleaning too. but boss say his turn to take leave since i'm back. so i speechless lor...

Re: car seat

How to train?? Just make sure he stays in the seat until journey is over? I tried that once and the next time, Caelen immediately started to cry the moment we put him in. Scared that he will be tramatised and cry everytime he sits in there

RE: Formula

Think it is really not advisable to keep opened FM for more than 2 months. I had this tin of Enfalac which I bought when bb is borned. I then switched to Friso. When I tried to give Caelen Enaflac when he was 2 months plus, he had a stomache and cried very badly after a few mouthfuls. So I threw the tin away.

I am a fan of NTUC brand of diapers! Cheap and good

blue
so u wan nappy liner? hahaha, like am selling off. clothes - urs is bb boy rite, think i can't wan. actually i need a few things, but now cannot remember, i go back see wat then i pm u can?

wow, so gd the mummy poko, so is not necessary to change every 3 hrs lah. sometime i see whether got wet or not if not i juz leave it, like yesterday since 10+ pm i change for her, then till this more 8+.

Peapod,
For me I let my boy cry it out in the car seat lor. He will start to complain abt 5 mins into the journey and the complains will turn into struggles and cries. Then I will distract him with the rattle. Before the rattle came, I let him cry it out and keep talking to him to explain to him why it's important to stay in the car seat. After the rattle came, somehow he is able to stay distracted throughout the journey.

Bubu Mama, I am selling mostly my elder gal's clothings lah ... cos alot either she outgrow or some she only wear few times then she don't wanna wear liao. You can browse through lah ... if you like any can buy and keep ... haha.

Nappy liner that time I just bought 2 boxes ... should be enough to last me through cos will be switching him to disposable diapers once he's actively flipping cos it will be more difficult to keep changig him then.

darmae.. ur son head or hair grew!? hahahah... my gal's hair also droppin liao.. its also tat ah gu lo spot.. but personally i think its becos they sleep on tat part mah.. then got friction sure drop hair...

re car seat.
my son aso doesnt like to sit in his car seat. but not sure if it is cos the angle i put is too high for him. he always slips down. just bought a rattle. see if can distract him for long. hehehehe

bena.. me still got 5 kg to lose.. btw are you also like me 30++ SAHM with first kid? think you very brave leh already thinking of 2nd one..where to find energy? me dont even have the energy to "en ai" with my hubby le let alone "making" a baby....
btw you mentioned that your baby is now sleeping in the other room liao.. you mean baby is sleeping ALONE by himself?

Hi bubumama,
Re formula, my PD recommend to throw away after 1 month (it also says so on the tin). Better play safe and dun give your baby anymore coz it may cause tummy upset. I also use Enfalac formula now when we go out rather than EBM coz easier...find it difficult to finish the whole tin. Wish they come in smaller tins! I can't bear to waste the formula, so will give my girl formula more often even when at home.

Re diapers,
I usually change diapers abt 4-6 hours when using the pampers brand. Then recently tried drypers and my girl got nappy rash on 3rd day. Think some diapers don't absorb that well and so must change more frequently. But if your baby's skin not sensitive and no diaper rash, then no need to change so often bah.

Bena,
Yeah daddy will enjoy baby more when they're older and can play. Hehe your poor Zac kenna scolded? What did he do to make you so mad?

Re car seat,
Yah impt to train baby to sit in there coz safety comes first. Don't pick them out when they cry otherwise they will know once they cry they can get out of it. I hang those small soft toys on the rear window so its constantly moving...seems to keep her entertained most of the time. But the DVD player is a great idea!

hi hi mommies.. anyone of u tried the brand GOO.N brand? this is the website.. http://www.diapers.com.sg/home.php

i tried the samples and its not bad.. quite soft and got wetness indicator somemore... anyone interested to get? maybe can consolidate the orders.. cos min is $60 for free delivery.. if not must pay $8 for delivery charge...

just found from a property agent that my place can rent out for $2k.. was quite surprise cos staying at jurong west 5rm flat only... used to pay only $800 for 5rm at punggol 3 yrs ago.. so tempted to rent out and then stay with my in laws.. can buy many many many many toys for my girl with the money.. but scare will have the in laws problem leh..

jme, i have a friend who could rent out his 4-rm flat for $1800. area in sengkang / ponggol.

hmm...been hearing a lot of NTUC diapers. really that good har? hmm..maybe time to give it a try.

no one seem to notice me ah..hais..

usually came in to read and seldom post..nw post, no one notice me..haha..

hi mummies, your bb can sit up by themself aredi mah? Saw peapod Caelen photo,he is able to flip and sit himself

jme,
Heehee I also feel like renting out my place in queenstown..can rent for $2,500-$3,000, then rent at my in-law's place is only $1,500-$2,000. I can make $1K a month! And save the travel time and petrol to send my girl to my in-law's house every morning and taking her back every evening.

But my friend say its illegal lor...coz I haven't stayed here for 5 yrs and cannot rent the whole house out? Is that true?

Peapod, Miracle,
Ok me also wanna try NTUC diapers! Seems like alot of mummies here using. And so cheap some more!

Mummies using car seats,
Have you turned your carseat to face forward yet? Mine still facing backwards leh...then was wondering how to see the DVD player!

pinkyj,

u very sharp.. caught my 'mistake' haha..of cos i meant hair lor. LOL
actually if u notice the time of the post.. me rushing to post for the last time b4 i cheong home lor. hee

Yo,

dun like tat say leh.. hehe.. we nv ignore u lar. juz tat smtimes the thread can be moving very fast lor...

angel,

if i'm not wrong, think cant let out the whole house out for rental. not very sure oso.. but shld be able to check from HDB website.

re: carseat
used to put maegan in the infant car seat (back facing one). but started her on the britax eclipse car seat which is front facing. actually this one is suitable from birth but too bulky so we din start using in the beginning.

hi darmae,
so happy got someone notice me..heehee..
ya, this thread work super fast..in fact i just change my profile to 'reply' to my post and ended up my inbox flood with 200+ msg..so scary..

but at least can keep track of the posting..hope to get more info from mummies here since our bb born in the same month..

wa.. so many ppl thinking of number 2!!

Mummyfaith, me also like you insisted want fully natural, dun wan epi... 14 hrs of labour pain w/o epi... i thought abt time to give birth le.. who knows my cervic refuse to open.. only open 3 cm nia... Doc say cannot le cause baby can be too stressful inside... no choice took epi... wait for another 4 hr cervic only open till 4.5 cm... ended up went for C section!!!! super suay right... i cry before taking epi and my doc scold me lor.. she said: "give birth no need so xin ku one...last time ppl no choice, nw you gt the choice you dun wan..." One thing i feel... the laughing gas doesnt work on me... =p it didnt make me laugh! =p My hubby see me like tat he say he dun wan no 2 already ...
Actually i miss my preggy days, my labour time(exclude taking epi and C section) but i cannot tahan confinement!!!