(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

lbs,

re : cradle cap
i read tat tat cradle cap is yellowish-brown crusted lesion on the scalp. so when i saw maegan's scalp increasing yellowish scummy deposit... need to do smthg liao.
tried the method from angel and low family.. it works. apply baby oil and i massage in abit... before brushing with soft bristles.

justme,

i hope sarah is ok... i agree on the super paranoid part. sometimes it does happen to me as well

blue,

re: breastfeeding

i aiming 6mths lor.. but now my worry is tat she will reject formula if i introduce to her after 6mths. my colleague wanted to stop at 6 mths.. but bb still ned milk, introduce formula but bb din take it well.. simply refuse lor. in the end, my colleague is still breastfeeding her bb.. now 15mths liao.

lbs
ya true, using the bb oil and in circular movement rub off the cradle cap, i did that for my gal (of cos with my hubby help) then after that we shampoo her hair (1 did twice to completely remove the cradle cap & use a comb to comb it off), wow lau, she really enjoy it - like go for salon for hair wash kekeke

need some advice...bb been very uneasy since yesterday...keeps making groaning noises like she's forcing herself but she already pooed 2x yesterday..

anyone encountered this?

BuBu Mama, yes, I had a Coleman Cooler Bag for sale but sold already. Why leh?

Darmae, if you intend to stop breastfeeding at 6 months, then maybe you should start giving your gal formula once a day to get used of the taste of other milk. But then after 6 months also must change milk powder ... then she have to get used to another taste also.

blueskye
tout of buying it from u...but too late liao

i actually hv one cooler bag from kiddy palace, but can't fit in too many bottles (cos am using the avent via cups + need to put in ice bag, then very diff to zip off, so intend to get another one.

Thanks mummies for reassuring me abt the weight of my baby. Guess mummies all are quite easily paranoid.. hehe..

I saw the gathering that was last organized and it really looked fun. My hubby was asking me: Eh! Why din you join in? keke...

hi all, sent my laptop for service so have been out of action for a few days and had to spend awhile to read the past threads.

blue, your Jordan so adorable in the CNY outfit! So will get lots of angpao one! I also bought 2 outfits for Faith, 1 red one and 1 pink Hello Kitty one from BP but still feel like buying more
but then wear only once leh.

darmae, have you found the CNY outfit for Maegan? You can try Bum Wear at United Sq, I bought Faith's there. Theirs is batik material so is more ex than chinatown ones.

Here are some photos of Faith to share with all

1196843.jpg

Faith on her bumper mat after flipping

1196844.jpg

Faith enjoying herself in her exersaucer

1196845.jpg

Faith practising her Gong Xi Gong Xi for CNY

hi, anyone already bought play yard barrier/fencing for your baby? Pls share where you bought it from. Am thinking to buy 1 soon cos' my boy can crawl out of the bumper mat already, the way he kicked and lift his bum very cute....can go out of the bumper mat.

ben mum: his version of crawling is kicking and lifting his bum bum till he can 'move'. haahaa! He been flipping like nobody biz and i leave him sleep at night with his tummy down, when i tried to turn him over, he fuss alot and i just leave him be.

blue,

yeah, i din wan to introduce FM now since it is required to change after 6mths again. like tat double trouble wor.. i give myself 6mths on TBF 1st lor... see how she take it when the time comes. hopefully ok...

mummyfaith,

i hvnt bgt any yet... cos nothing catches my attention leh. will try bumwear, shld be more cooling than the usual cny clothes... i worry she may feel warm wearing those.
you oso bgt from BP ah.. hello hitty wan sounds cute leh.

voice,

u can try cheong choon for playyard... a colleague bgt hers (4 panels) there. come with 1 activity panel, and a door panel, so not juz the usual plain fencing, keeps the bb entertained...
i wanted to buy.. but hubby worry it will be a hazard cos we have an active boy at home. he might tear dwn the panel with his sis inside. hahaha

hi darmae, tks..will check out cheong choon. So farnie ur description of your boy...haahaaa!

blue: yah...even his hair cut very advanced mah....everyone who saw him asked why i cut like that for him, i told them is 2008 fashion! haahaaaa

my gal too.... when shes on her tummy she will tip toe and lift her bum as if trying to crawl but cant really advance a lot, cos her hands not moving.... but when shes lying down she will kick her leg and move herself upwards till she kena block at the end of her cot..... She can also turn around on her tummy.... very siong have to watch out on her.

Atinarin, my gal also been like that during the weekend leh.... as if like gek sai... kept on "eh eh ing".... dont know why??

Hi Ibs, phoebe, darmae, jme,
THanks for your concern. Sarah's seems ok, but when she cries these days, she seemed very very mad. Maybe she's mad at her parents for letting that accident happened to her. argh...

Oh, I love to see children and babies dress up for the CNY. Question: why aren't the adults wear cheongsam or qipao during the festive period?? Think it will be very very NICE!

Hi Mommies...
Re pumping while away from home...I have to do this every sunday coz I'm out the whole day. Just to share, I use my hand to express milk directly into a feeding bottle right before a feed...rather than bring my pump with me. Just find a nursing room or do it in the car...squeeze breast gently like milking a cow hehee! It takes me abt 10-15 mins to express 125ml enough for one feed. But I realised my breasts must be really full then its easier and faster to express coz got more let downs. Usually will need to wait till abt 5-6 hours after my last pump/feed when its full and feel like gonna 'burst' then I can yield 125ml.

Re pacifier use, has anyone weaned your baby off the pacifier yet? Am interested to hear your experience

I've been using the pacifier with Jade when its sleeping time...will let her suck suck for 5 mins and she'll fall asleep then I'll pull it out. But she wakes up a few times in the middle of the night looking for her pacifier and can't get back to sleep without it. I've been reading up and most books I've read recommend to wean off by 4 months as their sucking need is not so great anymore, and they say not to wait too long otherwise they'll become too attached to it and will be more difficult as they grow older. So last night I decided its time to wean Jade off it. When it was bedtime I carried her and pat her to sleep which is what I'll normally do, but didn't give her the pacifier. She cried and cried till her face was red and voice changed
The whole ordeal lasted for 15 mins then she finally fell asleep (I'm guessing probably from exhaustion).
It was the toughest thing I've had to do to...15 mins seemed like hours! She woke up at 1.30am making 'eh eh' noises looking for the pacifier, but I pat her and she went back to sleep without much struggle this time. And the rest of the night she didn't wake up. *phew*

I'm hoping tonight won't be difficult...if not I dunno if I can bare to see her crying like that again.

voice,

u noe lar.. boys are boys after all. he can very rough w/o realising.. sayang mei mei but duno hw to ctrl his strength lor. when she's on the jumperoo, he will move her if she's resting

justme,

i plan to wear cheongsam tis year lor.. but dun thk will fit. tailormade in shanghai last year in jan w/o realising i was pregnant. so cudnt wear during cny when i'm back. wanted to wear for tis year cny.. but looks like oso cannot becos till hv 4kg to go.

angel,

u very steady wor... use hand to pump. although hv heard of it before but nv tried. i may try your method this coming thursday. hving a conference, need to be there from 7am - 6pm...
can't bring my steriliser.. so was worried since i can only pump once. i may try your method if i feel uncomfortable and engorged. thanks

re : pacifier

maegan oso rely on pacifier to fall asleep most of the time now. in the 1st 3 mths, she dun need pacifier to fall asleep during the nite.... only the days, mil and maid use it cos they find it hard to make her sleep.
but 2 weeks after i returned work, she seems very addicted to pacifier. even need pacifier before able to fall asleep in the nite. i was frustrated when i learnt from the maid that mil actually give maegan pacifier at all time of the day even when she is not sleeping.
i oso tried to wean her odd but she was crying terribly like wat jade did.

so smhw, it gives me a feeling tat she might be stucked with it for a while. cos i'm unable to stop mil's doings during the day

angel, my gal also on pacifier, when she sleeps her pacifier will drop out, then in the middle of her sleep she will cry out once.... then fall back to sleep... but sometimes she will cry non stop then no choice have to give her the pacifier.... She will also turn her head from left to right as if like very restless.... but with her eyes close. I think weaning off pacifier need some time.

hi mummies, thkg of renting toys (like the jumperoo). thk someone recommend Rent That Toy. any other recommendations ? so that i can look see look see first

re pacifier,
So far I AM the human pacifier. Haha. Just use my nipples if sarah needs it. SO that means when baby gets restless in the middle of the night, I'll give my breast to her and we both went back to sleep with her tightly wrapped in my arm.
But cos, she doesn't use pacifier, at times, she used her 2-3 fingers to suck and goes to sleep this way. Pros and cons... pacifier can be weaned off... but fingers...err.. will take awhile..hoho. yeah, my girl still sleeps with me and my hubby in our bed.

angel, I can't stand my bb crying too. so heart wrenching.

I practise attachment parenting, to the dismay of those around me. People think my child is going to be spoilt and inconviencing me. I carry her in sling most time of the day, total breastfeeding as and when she wants and respond to all her cries. TIring, yes...What I am looking for is the long term benefit.

But I believe, I will have a hard time letting go of my girl when she is old enough for child care. Separation anxiety. Dread the idea of letting her out of my sight. Especially, after what happened last week at the library...

justme, my emotions were tested when i went back for a one day course last week. i have been with my boi night and day for 3 months plus. on and off i will go and meet my friends for about 2-3 hours max. that day, i missed him so much cos i was away from him for a good 8-9 hours! i came back home and saw him asleep in my MIL's arms. i just teared!!!!! MIl laughed at me saying i am silly. but she also went through the same thing when my husband and my BIL were young. but now she looked back and said it was silly....sighs...but the separation anxiety is very real. me going back to work soon....28 jan...really dreading it...

Hi pillow,
You can check out Gogomummy which is where Peapod rented the toys for our gathering. There's also a Rent-A-Toy webiste. Their prices all different.

Rxsti,
Yeah Jade does that too...sometimes she falls asleep and spits out the pacifier herself before I can pull it out. But sometimes she will cry when she realise it has fallen out, and then I'll have to stick it back in again. Then in the middle of the night, she will 'ek ek' and turning her head left and right and her hands flinging around trying to find the pacifier, and she'll cry louder and louder if I dun give her the pacifier.
Sometimes I wish I didn't start using the pacifier in the first place!

Haiz...just tried to put Jade to sleep without the pacifier again...she was yawning so I knew she needed a nap...tried to put her to sleep but she cried for 10 mins and then she finally stopped but this time she was wide awake. So I played with her for another 10 mins and it was feeding time, so I fed her and she fell asleep while she was feeding. I feel like I'm stopping one bad habit but think I'm starting another one!

ben mum,..yeah... i know. It is horrible isn't it?? but we all have to go through it sooner or later.
But those mummies who underwent separation with their babies when their are really young won't go through worse period like those whose children are smarter and older. At least the baby won't be crying or throwing tantrums upon being left by the mummy.
I remembered, during my 1st wedding anniversary (yeah, i just celebrated it last month) my sister helped take care of sarah while I went down to parkway parade with hubby. Supposed to be a happy occasion, but my mind wanders off to baby all the time. In the end, I rushed home after an awkward evening. My hubby had to confiscate my phone and watch to distract me from looking at the time .. haha...

i only give pacifier to my boi only if he is tough to be kept quiet and hard to sleep at night. usually i just carry and rock a little and sing him to sleep. last night, he was so cranky. had to use the pacifier. still he could sleep, guess it was cos it is only 20 min to milk time. during his drinking, he fell asleep! lol

Justme,
I had hoped that Jade would start sucking her fingers instead of the pacifier coz with fingers, its available when she needs it! With the pacifier, I'm a human prop too coz I'm the one who has to put it back into her mouth several times a night when she wakes up

lol angel. my boi will suck not his fingers in the night when wake up. but suck his wrists. it is so cute to watch him suck his wrists and then fall back to sleep again. think it is cos i let him wear mittens till quite old. about 2months plus. he learnt to suck his wrists by then....so habit liao...

ben mum
same as my gal, she used to suck her wrist too cos the same lah, i also wear her mittens ard the same time as u, only recently then take off...now she starts put a few fingers into the mouth. sometime really very scare not wearing her mitten cos she like tend to poke her fingers into eyes....

angel,

maegan oso sucked her fingers at times.. but she smtimes gets too confused, choosing pacifier or fingers. taking pacifier can be a chore cos smtimes she will let out a loud cry when she woke up knowing her pacifier is out of her mouth (whether if it dropped out or pulled out intentionally).
i feel you are doing well... juz need more time.
unlike me... not really doing anythg about the pacifier. smtimes i 'bluff' myself by saying tat she will outgrown it soon... very bad of me hor.

my boy lagi funny...he pulled out his own pacifier and then started to ek ek ek. Then i stuff it back and the cycle repeats again. Better to leave him suck his fingers at least it's always available and easier to wean off than pacifier.

Angel: since u're still on leave...can try out various method of weaning off Jade, don't hurry and exasperate, slowly transit her to the next level which you want her to progress.

Hi Tiny,
Hahaha Sam can't decide whether he wants it or not!

Darmae,
Ya I know what you mean by 'bluffing' yourself. I also was in denial that its a problem. But each time I wake up to stuff the pacifier back in her mouth..I know I'm only reinforcing the habit...and the addiction is getting worse and worse each day.

I only hope this will pass soon coz my heart is getting weaker and think I might give in to her...then she'll just be super confused and she'll learn that if she cries long and hard enough mummy will give her the pacifier

hee...since we're talking abt pacifier and i happen to be reading my friend's blog...share with you all...

----------------------------------------------------------------------
The pacifier (aka the Nee-du) is an amazing invention. I always try to visualise the expression on the inventor's face when he discovered this simple device that can pacify even the most rowdy baby and help them go to sleep. He must had been very proud of his invention.

Or maybe not. Many babies grew so dependent on the pacifier that it became their opium. Jan was one of them; when she wanted to sleep, she would start searching for her pacifier like an addict.

We had been wanting to wean Jan off the pacifier (aka the Nee-du), but had been putting off the decision as it seemed daunting. Moreover, it was an easy way for us to get Jan to sleep and to quieten her in public places.

However, many times the pacifier would fall out of her mouth while she was asleep, and then she would wake up almost every hour from 2am to 6am screaming for her pacifier. One night, after Jan threw her pacifier out from her cot, my darling wife decided that Jan should say farewell to her nee-du.

In the following days, Jan constantly screamed for her pacifier during naptimes. She would scream at the top of her voice for as long as 45 minutes, with such intensity that ALL my neighbours came over to find out what was happening. I thought they would ring the police to report me of child abuse, but my plan was to clarify to the police that I was the real abuse victim. It was extremely challenging to listen to your own baby cry and not doing anything about it.

Our plan was to try for three days and then see how, and we prayed hard we would succeed. Thankfully, and amazingly, we pulled through! After the first night, Jan was able to sleep (at night) without much screaming. She screamed a lot during her afternoon naps though, but by the end of the three days, that became easier also.

So our recommendations to people who want to try this: have total agreement on the plan with your spouse, pray hard and get ear-plugs.

justme
with qi pao, what I dont want to reveal all reveal leh aka my extra flesh!..how to wear like that...

is it a bit early to wean off pacifier ? should it be better done after teething since they will be cranky during that period ?

me not too sure...

ever since i started the pacifier, he needs it before he sleeps... he would suck 5-10mins and doze off to sleep. but luckily he doesnt cry if the pacifier drops off. if i am around, i would also pull the pacifier before he is totally knocked out , when he is in "semi-conscious" state so that he can "fall asleep" on his own....

tiny voice: your friend's blog entry is very funny.

Re: Walkers
Anyone not using the Leap Frog exersaucer and able to explain the diff with the usual walker? I mean apart from the bells and whistles that the Leap Frog one has.

Reluctant to spend so much if she is gonna outgrow it so quickly.

The Bumbo seat is already a white elephant in my hall.

yeah angel,

absolutely right.. me in denial state. hee.. 1 part of voice's fren blog is very true. "Moreover, it was an easy way for us to get Jan to sleep and to quieten her in public places". as much as i dislike the use of pacifier, but smhow i am oso giving in where situation arises esp in public. u are not the only wan who is reinforcing the use of it...

atinarin,

bumbo has another option of usage for me. when i'm bathing my gal now, i will put her sitted in bumbo in the bath tub. i find it easier and less stress to bath her like tat. worried tat i will let her slip off my hands.... hee, insecure mummy

darmae,
wat a gd way of using the bumbo! the bumbo seat is also not serving its purpose very well since Faith don't enjoy being in it, she will try to push herself out of the seat which is so dangerous! I was just telling my hubby that the bathtub is getting too small for her as she likes to kick about and I'm very worried she'll slip. Hm...think I'll start using the bumbo to bath her also...hahaha...hope it works!

atinarin,
we bought the leapfrog exersaucer. initially wanted to get the jumperoo but found it quite limiting as my girl is quite big size, worried she can't fit into the seat for long. so we started looking at exersaucers since we din want to use a walker also as apart from the reasons we heard regarding the potential "health hazards", we also did not have enough free space for my girl to be zooming ard in the walker. so far the exersaucer seems to be a gd investment as she is enjoying playing in it and it also allows her to exercise her legs by "standing" in it. maybe u can consider renting one to tryout 1st?

angel,
it was exactly bcos of this tat i did not intro pacifier to Faith. worried it might become an addiction so now faith can only suck on her fingers or me for comfort. but recently her sucking need seems to be getting stronger and she is sucking them all the time since its so convenient! she also needs to suck her fingers to fall asleep at night...its very unhygienic leh so i need to wipe her hands and face all the time too. tats why now i'm wondering if i should have given her pacifier instead.

Angel, think it's still early to wean off du du lah. I think if babies want du du it's better ... at least they have something comforting so when need arises, they can be comforted by du du. In fact, both my elder one and Jordan didn't start to like their du du ... it's their mummy who keep offering them du du ... haha. Call me siao ... but I find babies look very cute with du du ... imagine a baby never eat du du ... where got "tong nian" right?

Personally, I don't find anything wrong with du du lah ... not to worry too much about weaning off ... when the time comes, your child can be weaned off pretty easily much to your surprise.

I didn't try to wean my elder one off her du du till she went childcare last year (when she was about 2.5 years old). My mum asked me to wean her off only after she settles down so that her du du can at least comfort her when she has separation anxiety. It worked!

The weaning process wasn't too painful though she had grown addicted to her du du by then. When she sees her classmates not eating du du, she will follow suit. She doesn't eat her du du in school but when she reaches home, she wants it. It was till her daddy told her Ninja Turtles came and took away all her du dus (she was frightened of Ninja Turtles that time and btw, she had a "collection" of 6 different design du dus then) that she was completely weaned off. That's about 1-2 weeks after she started her childcare.

Now when she sees Jordan's du du (some happened to be same designs which she used to have), she will smile to me and tell me "Mummy, this du du same as my last time one".

So mummies, not to worry too much about all these ... they will be weaned off when the right time comes. Let them enjoy their babyhood. Haha.

Mummyfaith, think about this ...

Is it easier to wean off an external object aka pacifier, or to wean off something that's part of your baby aka her hand?

I was being asked this question when I was deciding whether to introduce du du to my elder one also ... of cos, I agreed the former is easier to wean off. Once du du is out of sight, your babies will soon forget such a thing exists though it takes a while. But the hand is always there to tempt the baby to suck lor. Hee hee.

i prefer the pacifier than hands actually. but my boi still cannot suck the pacifier well leh. though he is awake, the pacifier still drops off. anyone having such a problem? or is it just me boi?

Hi Mummyfaith,

Can check with u...1) What's the height limit for the exersaucer 2) How much u paid for it 3)Where u bought it from?? Thanks. Thinking of buying one for my gal cos i cannot tahan her standing on my tummy.

Poohwei,
Hahaha...same reason which compelled me to get an exersaucer! I bought it from Cheong Choon in chinatown for $185. The height limit must go chk the box but it is height adjustable so you can adjust according as your baby grows.

Blueskye,
I also thought it might be easier to wean extenal object but hubby strongly against using pacifier as his own sister was addicted to it till she was 4. Anyway will see how the situation goes as I am now trying to intro toys like teethers to faith so that she can suck or lick on them instead.

blueskye, well said... mummies like me worry too much ahead these days. my hubby dislike my bb to eat pacifier as well , although he himself has lots of it when he was young. shall show him your posting !

amy.. my girl cannot be confined to a place.. she will get bored then wanna look around the house so playpen doesnt work for me lor..

initially tot of getting exersaucer cos heard that it is safer than walker but my girl will be stuck in it and i know she sure wont be pleased too.. me scare to waste the money cos not cheap..

will ask aglow dr ong this coming fri for his opinion..

mummyfaith, if worry addiction hard to get over, at most, last resort, put chilli or someform of unpleasant tasting stuff on the du-du to scare them off. bad mummy HAHAHAHA

was drinking a glass of coke with ice and my girl kept looking at me.. so i let her licked the cold glass... she was super happy and excited.. haha.. me drank coke everyday when i had her.. hmmm maybe she can recognised the taste.. i also had macdonald literally everyday when i was pregnant.. highest record in one month is 14 mac delivery on my credit card excluding eating in..thats why i gained 18kg.. sigh!

Hi Peapod,

i heard got to get out of the house for awhile so that baby cant see u... he's screaming crazily whenever he sees the bottle so heartpain. Even went on hunger strike till i return home *sighs* but for the sake of my relationship with hubby ! i got to wean him off the breast at times ! so me and hubby can go relax for a short while leaving baby in my mum's care. Its straining the relationship between me n hubby and baby has been really clingy towards me.. he's rejecting everyone only wants me to carry him. Sometimes i feel im breaking down =(

But i also hate the thought of leaving him in others care especially Hubby. I feel he always do the minimum... coz whenever baby cries he takes his own sweet time and not rush to him immediately.. leaving baby to cry out real loud instead of pacifying him.. *sighs* When i get out the house for like 2hrs i cant help but keep thinking how baby is doing =( Is he ok... knowing that he'll keep screaming for me in others care. I also hate the thought of others offering him pacifier and how they comment that they got to add formula milk into my ebm when i insist to tbf!! i didn't intend to give my son pacifier since he's born. He's now 4 months i don't think we should intro pacifier anymore but hubby wants coz he doesnt want him to suck his thumb. Whats wrong with thumbsucking ? Its jus a passing phrase right.