(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

choco,
I thk Medela has a new one called freestyle or something..Think its handsfree if Im not wrong.

Glee,
Your girl so funny..take balloon for nanny..hahah!!

Nining,
Got your mail..thanks! Im still relly trying to figure out about the maid thing..I cant seem to put my heart at ease about hiring a maid..I've been so troubled by this that my milk supply dropping..*sigh*

Choco,
Mathias same as Ze..he will also ask me to on the TV in the room...hahah!!

good morning mummies

today is friday...will be fetching my boy home from my mil place.
hopefully he will not cry like last friday

Mel: you can call and talk to me if you feel so troubled about maid hiring. I am a living example, hee hee... my boy with maid alone since infant till now!

Choco, i have a friend same scenario as you, her son refused to leave ah ma's house and most week day nites chose to overnight there instead, now #2 also prefer the grandparents. Her MIL is the selfish type lor, always look forward to them not bringing kids back and sometimes will snatch the kids from her(she just took over and carry). I would say every family has their own set of challenges and up to us how to manage and take ownership of our kids.

tiny voice

geeess...thats bad..

but my mil is not like that..i know she still prefer her free time and is more then happy for me to bring back my boy during the weekends.

its my boy lah...maybe cos everyday see her 18hrs a day..so super sticky to her..

its the same like when i bring my boy to my house, he will be sticky to me and not hb...does not let me go toilet or bath

Choco,
Ike was like that with me and I learned that if I talk to him and make him understand about a situation, and keep on reassuring him, he's OK. Like when I wanted to go to pee, I told him mommy needs to peepee, will be very quick, Ike will be here and not cry, Okay? promise? and he said NO and I repeated mommy will be back very soon, OK? after few sentences he will say OK and he will be OK. but if I quickly made a dash without him knowing where I was or he knew where I was but not permitting me do so, then he would wail..

Woof ,
damn bad looor.. but getting better each day, I hope weekend I can get out..

Mel,
I am guessing you will wanna go check out families with good maids instead :D there are more than you know ;)

nining

i have tried reassuring him, try so long until i super urgent cannot tahan the pee or poo already..then no choice have to dash for it or leave the door open...duh

if not, he will say ok, but the moment i reach the toilet, not yet even pull down my shorts, he starts to cry for me already..faintz

woof,
i told me hubby to be the baddie since i m the one who spend more time with her, but he is always too soft

Mel,
this morning she wanna bring her sweets to the nanny

choco,
my fren gave up and put up her boi in her mum place. Only comes home for weekends. Her girl is ok - comes home every night.

shane and luke juz had their school performance. V funny. I will uploadz them later. Shane dance and all. Luke... err stand there frozen - stage fright!

heheheh admitting I also sometimes jealous with my maid cos she has more time spent with Ike, but can't have everything in the world, am oldie oredi if now turn into SAHM by the time Ike is ready to be left to work, nobody will want to hire me..

Choco,
ya that's the tough part when u have to hold ur pee and he is not understanding.. heheheh one thing to remind him off whne he's big!!

nining,
by the time u finish ur course, u can consider to do consultation works and work fr home. Ike can be wif you everyday.

Re spending time wif kid,
I missed so many milestones of Ivan coz i went back to work when he was only 2.5mths old. For #2, I enjoying the ML a lot as I can talk to Ian and play wif him everyday. He now can laugh wif sounds when i said mama mama or baby baby...so cute. Never notice this kind of motion from Ivan coz came back fr work, got to bathe, dinner, pump milk, seldom have time to 'play' and 'talk' to Ivan.....may be this make him still speechless up to date.

Glee,
Liz is so funny to threaten u....

Wiselyn,
He only speak simple words. And prefer to point here point there to get wat he wants.
Asked him say 'g', he said gaaaaa
Asked him say 'h', he said hoooo
If he is happy,he will follow me to try to say A to Z
He still called me jie jie sometimes...haizzzz

Loh
U are sgprn now, aren’t u? how long is your ML?
He calls you jie jie? That must be very cute hahaha.. ask him to continue calling jie jie till he is big hahaha!

Nining
I guess your main concern is that u want to work next time, tts y u cant bear to become sahm…

Loh,

I dun think there is any speech developement delay for Ivan, just that he might be lazy to speak...cos most of them he no need to talk, when he wants something, he action then he gets it...so he chooses he easier way out which is by pointing

cola,
Me a new citizen now...kekekekek
He first called me mama twice when he was 7mth old. Then totally stopped calling me till #2 was born. That period he called me jie jie for more than a year. He just be noti to call me jie jie now coz he likes to see my sad look

choco,
My boi is not ready to talk, may be he is shy. Coz when he wants to learn new word, he just open his mouth, think a while then give us a smile

Loh,

so try not to give in so much....but dun worry so much if he have already started talking...i was once worry about clara's speech....now she is talking so much and can receite a passage by memory...so dun worry

and children tends to wants to be sure of what they say before the say the words...so give him time

wiselyn,
Clara is so clever
Kids can remember things very well.
Ivan can almost pointed out all the pictures on his ABC chart when we asked him abt the objects.

Ivan will confuse on those words that have similiar sounds like cake and kick.
Last time when we went to cake shop and i said 'cake', he will go 'kick' the 'cake'.
Now he said apple for elbow

Loh,

give him abit more time...it is not that he cannot speak, but i think he can get abit confuse over the words when they sound similar...keep saying the words to him over and over again then he will know the difference...give him more confidence he will be able to do well....

Have been reading to Clara more often nowadays...that help her in her speech...

Children can learn faster then adults....so just try to teach them more..

Wise

I have been so lazy in reading to Meg ler, I am now become lazier and lazier.. haiz!

Yes, I agree with you, reading does help the vocabulary of kids and it lengthens their attention span..
I was so amazed with her, one day I was reading the usual book that we read.. then I accidentally skip one sentence and then move to the next, she told me “COME JOIN US” which was the sentence that I left out.. that made me realise actually she does pay attention every time I read to her, it’s just that sometimes she gets bored and plays with other things..

Loh
If you are worry maybe during their 3 yo assessment, u check with the PD see what he said, the professional knows better than us laymen..

By the way, my boy calls papa papa papa, je je (as in jie jie) and very rarely mama mama.. hehe so the daddy has been in cloud9 ever since the boy calls him papa papa then crawls to him..

wiselyn,
Ya, recently we are trying to hav bedtime stories wif him. Last time we were playing like mad on the bed only...kekekeke

cola,
Doctor said 2yrs old is a bit early and hard for speech therapy as thye still can't understand much yet. He also said see how when he is 3 years old.
Ur hb must be v enjoying the words of papapapapa liao

Loh
Oh ya, congratulate for being a Singaporean :p

Yes, my hubby is definitely over cloud9 now haha.. anyway, he is so used to calling papa, that mid of nite, he wakes up also calls for papa.. haiz.. then I was thinking “mummy is the one who feed you at nite, yet u call papa..” then last week, suddenly he woke up, and call MAMA… kekekee…

loh,

it is also quite recent that i read to clara at night...and the improvement is good.....she can even say words like firefighter,magicians when she is shown the picture...i was tot that we should not stress children when they are young...after starting to read to her, i realise reading to them is not stressing them...is letting them learn....

Wise

Yes, reading is not stressful for kids, it’s an entertaining thing to do.. and over the time they will love to read or love to see books!
I am a rather cheapskate mummy, I seldom buy expensive toys or gadgets for her, but I always buy books for her..

There was once I smacked her that I felt super guilty, so I bought her books the next day. At nite, I asked her if she liked the books I bought for her.. guess what’s her answer..
“I love it. Thanks mummy. I love u too” so heartwarming to hear those words from her..

Loh,
I passed everything oredi just need to register with MOM but too lazy to write my resume hehehee...
Yes I think so once I get this title can start own consultancy already for small firms.. but I rather get more exposure first..

Cola,
yes if not I am too itchy hands and will be a nag hahahaha..

reading is the best give ever that we can give to our kids every night. Ike has his own bookselves and I think his books are now reaching 100 titles already! Just thomas series he has like 4 different series, each series he has at least 5 episodes, then got Elmo, Pooh, independent titles, clifford. Everytime we see book sale or go popular he sure get some books. and I almost swear I think he can read!
the other day he tried to climb the living room's bookselves, then I scolded him, and he said he wanted his harvey book (he mentioned to me in the long title I can't rem now). I looked and I saw harvey book not facing him, he can only see it by the title on its side meaning no picture, plus this book is not often read to him. I am guessing even tho he cannot spell or corelate between spelling pronounciation with the associated letters, he knows the formation of words (thanks to wordwolrd I think)

re: books
i didnt buy books for Melcolm at all, just go library and borrow, cheapo me wahaha, but recently stop doing that cos very tired, time to buck up.. my auntie gave me alot of books during cny oso, all from my younger cousins.. Melcolm is funny.. he keep wanting me to read the same book over n over again.. i'm already bored of reading but he is still happily listening.. but i'm glad that he don't reject storybook, i really agree that reading must be cultivated from young !

Re reading books,
Last nite i brought in a few new books into the bedroom and read to Ivan while #2 was sleeping. Ivan keeps wanted me to cont reading even though it was already 11pm+...we were so tiring and went to off the lights...hahahaha. This morning when he woke up, first thing was saying hot hot, he referred to the hot soup tt Barney cook in the Barney's Book Set...kekekek

I do not have reading habbit since young. But my hb's family members all like to read. Hope Ivan follow his papa to do reading

Loh,
hahaha Ike is like that too, reading sometimes become his excuse to avoid sleeping!! of course now max 3 books then light off and sleep.
And yes after wakes up he will sometimes look for the book that impressed him the night before hahaah..

You should take the course, now only 10% price for Sporean and PR. But I was the only female in the class and tell u the guys rely a lot on female!! grrr....

went to the cc open house and it was so crowded.

Still not confirm whether can get it or nt.

But he was enjoying himself there, playing with the toys. Guess that's a good start.

my boy keep saying he got stomach ache, but after applying the oil, he is ok.
Other then that he is ok.
Do u think should bring to see doc?

nining,
I talked to MOM b4 about this course, they prefer intake of those recomanded by the company. I dun think they want 'self sponsor' student. Some more need company support on year end project
haha, then u are famous in the class and lots of guys surrounding u.....

Just realised tt reading can make Ivan fall asleep faster...gagagagaag

choco,
if he still complaint stomachache, better bring him to see doctor.
My boi scratching his penis these few days, seems like v itchy, dunno want to bring him see doctor or not....

Loh,
yes MOM prefer company sponsor cos last time its not cheap, the self sponsored tend to bail out when the time to pay haaha..
Also, got lots of projects related to work place, particularly manufacturing plant, chemical plant / lab, contruction and marine / off shore operation. so if self sponsored then got no place to do project, plus may have problem later with their bosses when need to do homework etc. company sponsored tend to get support from boss so the passing rate is higher.. but the batch I did, only few are company sponsored although they get fully supported by each bosses in term of fulfilling assignment loor.. like me my boss is very supportive but I paid myself since its cheap, dont wanna be bothered dealing with HR training application then miss the closing date.

Loh,

possible reason is because, reading clams Ivan down...so it is easier for him to fall asleep faster.....

too much activties for children before they sleep will lengthen the time they need to fall asleep as they might be too excited to fall asleep

Choco,
morning

need some advise..

any mummies know where can I buy those glass bottle cap and roughly how much. Does it fit all glass bottles as the glass bottles I have are all different milk brand. I collected some empty glass bottles frm TMC for storing breast milk but I think the cap cannot reuse rite?

an_gal

he still say he stomachache.ask me to apply the oil for him...he can point out to me where is the pain, below the belly botton..

i called the PD, the nurse ask me to monitor whether he got vomit or diarrhoea or not...if he still eating and playing as per normal then its ok....

an_gal
i just now went to the shop and save coffee shop for bf...my hb say the kopi o not nice, he still prefer the kpt..hahaha