(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

brought meg to PD for assessment this morning.. she is 9.1kg and 83cm.. all the development is normal except that her weight is on lower side. PD said no concern since she is eating well.. told him she didnt like milk recently, he suggested "fresh milk?" then i told him "also dun want" haha.. but anyway he told me no concern so long as she is eating her normal meals..

Went to baby fair as well.
Loh
there is a booth selling the bumper mat.. looking at the real thing, i didnt buy at all coz doesnt look really nice.. but we had our family pict taken for free coz we subscribe for mag.. will scan the pict and post it here hehe..

Nothing much to buy there.. in fact i didnt buy anything!!

me too just brought my gals for 18mth assessment n injection yesterday. jiejie is 10.2kg and 82cm, meimei is 10kg and 81.5cm. so happy both never cry at all during injections. guess they really grow up liao, haha

Hi Nor

Welcome..

hi tek koh, i brought my son to canada last dec, he was alright for most of the flight sectors except fuss abit when want to sleep and also he was running a temp from HK to SIN on the plane back, i think due to change of climate back to SIN, he was in good health in Canada despite the -20 deg temperature. For long flight, if budget allows, it's good to have an additional seat for him so that there's more space for him to stand or sit, for added comfy.

hi nor
welcome welcome!

cola
we r goin dwn for assessment end of next wk & final outstanding jab, will update official weigh in and stats after PD visit but unoffically last weigh in didi is 10.1kg and abt 83cm.
does meagan drink much milk? did yr PD say can put on more wt if drink fresh milk?

twinkle2
yes agree, our little babies have all grown up now
time flies huh?

TiNy VoIcE
did yr son "convert" back to sg timing ok after trip? oh dear, running a temp on a flight for the lil one must hve been so uncomfortable. did he catch snow in canada?

tek_koh,
yes, the staff did request for the letter..

loh,
same like jete, i bought my LG mat from alien too... she's gd

hi nor,
welcome to our thread to chat chat hee my son actually pop out in Jul'07 too keke

tek_koh,
I was using ABC foam mat as well last time, but now he will dig out the alphabets eps the 'small' piece fr O, B, P etc. Hard to maintain the mat in shape...hahaha

Jete, an_gal,
thanks for the input

nor,
Welcome

cola,
meg not really petite ler, my boi was 79cm only last few weeks.

Anyone heard drink chinese herb 'tian qi' can make that baby taller?Hahahahaha. My col told me can shoot up a lot if drink during growth spurt!!

moms
a quick question - if yr maid goes astray and u want to send her back before 2 years contract (she has been with family for 1.5years) is up - how to go abt it? plse help, mommies with maids ..

tks!

cola,
ya, same size so can save $ mah. can share clothes etc. shoe size also same, yeh!

tek koh,
i think they r very fun to play with now. lets just sit back and enjoy their cuteness before they outgrow this stage!

tek koh: he don't have much problem adjusting back to sg time, he did slept abit longer than usual for nap time in the day, that's it. Plenty of snow in canada, we did tobogganing too.

re: sending maid back before contract up.
You need to do it discreetly, don't preempt her that you going to do it. Call your agency and inform them you would like to terminate her contract, usually they will recommend transferring her to another employer while you choose another maid, this way you don't have to buy air ticket for her. If she said do not want to work anymore and want to go home, you have to bear her air ticket cost. This is my experience which i can share with you.

Breastpumps

For me I use quite a number of pump also...for my #1, I use Avent Manual and Medela Harmony manual pump for 6months, its quite good but hands tired lor, cos I wastn't sure if I will continue to BF mah but after 6 months I finally got a Ameda cos decide to continue, it was such a relief for me, and BF my boy for 1yr... then when I hv Chloe I invested a Avent Single Uno for office use and a Avent Duo for home backup use, many pumps horhh...but if really want to BF, I think its worth to invest lor...

If U ask which is good?? I think all the pump I use I find it good lor...manual pump also good but like I say tired lah..but electric pump is better lah...cos not tired mah...Ameda is light weight, so its easy if you need to bring it out..Avent Duo is bulky but I think its stronger than Ameda lor...basically all manual pump and electric pump I use, the timing to empty my milk is almost the same, I use around 15-20mins to empty both breast, only for 1st month is more tough, need to pump like 30mins or so to bring the supply in lah...Ameda I can pump like around 250-260mls per session of 4hrs Avent duo I can pump ard 310mls per session of 5-6hrs, I guess the amount on average for both pump is the same lor...

I have sold away all my other used pumps already and jz deal my used Avent Duo with a buyer in ebay today...lugi about S$100 from the price I purchase, guess its really a good deal for 14mths supply for Chloe...

Tek koh

If your maid did not complete 2yrs contract, you just need to buy her a ticket and send her back then cancel her work permit lor.....last time my 1st maid only work 1yr only and still home sick, so we send her back and cancel her permit, my 2nd maid also left ard 15mths cos her mum sick...we also send her back then cancel permit leh...I get the maid agent to settle for me cos I get new maid from her...you can check with yr maid agent to see if they can help, should be ok de.

TiNy voIcE
is there any form of "board" or "levy" or "penalty" whilst maid awaits transfer?

Adeline
its actually not me but my sis. having loads of problm now bec maid playin up. she was quite upset abt it when i caught up wth her over dinner juz now

Tek Koh,

Can't remember which one you are refering to liao...kekeke...too many le...before my this maid, really a lot of prblm lor...cos my old maid wnt back cos of her mum mah, after that got 2 Indo, but both stay only for a few days niah...vomit blood lah, then the agent also one kind gv me underage maid, so I change agent lor in the end...I think when maid hv off days, a lot of prblm kicks in...all my maid I never gv off day de....I rather pay then another S$20.

good morning all mummies,

the thread fly again during weekends.

Nor,

welcome, I still remember u cos u post yr 2 gal's wearing the cheongsam pic in my BP b4, both very pretty gal and cute. dont know u r actually July mummy, I only knew that quite a lot my cheongsam customer r July mummy later.

Jete,

totally agree with u, that's the reason I never think of buy from oversea though it's cheaper, acutally send the pump to local supplier already very troublesome liao, hv to take half day(waste my $$ since leave == $$) but lucky they change for u very fast one(on the spot), so no need to worry if u feel the suction is not strong enough.
cola,

wow, Meg is very tall to me leh, 83cm already. her weight is ok at 9.1kg.so far no one can fight with ruoxi for the shortest gal in aug forum.

Loh,

never heard such Chinese medicine to increase bb's height leh, if hv I also want to try on ruoxi.haha.we both kiasu, actually I still hope that they will grow up suddently later at teenage.
no need to be too tall, but dont be as petty as my SIL I will be happy.haha.

Adeline,

yr AVENT DUO u bought second hand one right?seems still worth it since only paid $100 and used for 14 months.

coolzy,

maybe Jete's comment on the 4 different pumps can give u some idea on what to buy?I will either buy a AVENT DUO later or dont buy at all, see if I hv good supply first. only decide when going back to office after the maternity leaves.

morning mommies,
thanks for the warm welcome!

<font color="119911">xman</font>
yeah i bought from your BP, the cheongsam is so nice, fit my girls nicely.. thanks for your kind words on my two vain girls

<font color="ff0000">tek koh</font>
re: maid issues
From wat I know, employer have to bear flight cost for the maid regardless of the duration of their service. So unfair right?

my first maid
She works for me for 13 mths and started to show bad attitude. So sayang cos her work is actually good and can juggle housework and child care well.

So when she threatened me to give her off day or else she want to transfer, I made up my mind to send her back to agency. I wasn’t so for the idea of sending her back cos I want her to experience working with other employers and compare her plight.

within a week I got myself a transfer maid and I ask her to pack her stuff there and then. She was shocked at my decision as she thought I wouldn’t have the means to send her back considering my mom was nursing my sick dad then. Anyway, my ex-maid got herself an employer within 2 weeks and last I heard she left last month after working for 5 mth with the new employer.

yah that was one hell of a time i had with my first maid.

good morning mummies!
I had a wonderful weekend with no shouting at all.
Tricia was sweet as an angel!

Cola: Meg grew taller!! I cant rem how tall tricia is now... hmmm

good morning mummies

adeline - how's your son now? Has he seen the pyschologist yet?

For the pump, I am using the medela one but then it's super noisy but i get good yield everyday when i was pumping..but you must be able to stand the noise but then i saw isetan selling the soundless one, maybe that's quite good too?

rc_cola,
ya meg is taller now, wow she grew 6cm in less than 3 mths! incredible!

charlize went for her checkup too, now she is 9.4kg and 82cm.

Hi mummies morning..

Xman
I thought i saw someone who looks like your hubby at bb fair last sat, did u go.. or did i see the wrong person, trying to look at the lady beside the guy, but the lady didnt face me at all, so dunno whether it is your or not hahaha..

Loh
Yes, "tian qi" is for enhancing the height.. but for consumption during puberty only lar.. not now hor.. anyway my mum gave me "tian qi" when my puberty is over, so the med didnt have any effect on me.. but my youngest sis is tall ( about 1.63cm now ) she had "tian qi" before her menses came..
Hubby also took "tian qi" when he was young, coz to begin with, he was just as petite as meg during his toddler's age haha...

Glee
she is elongated but not fat, in fact her weight dropped, from 9.4kg to 9.1kg now..
Actually i cant remember what's her height 3 months ago hahaha..

Zhu
I think Tricia should be taller than meg, coz she is a tall girl!!!

good morning mummies

yeah, book my HK trip...

an_gal
YESSSS, i am bringing baby ze and my PIL.

this trip came about cos my hubby want to bring his parents go for a holiday.

he has seen his collegues lose his dad before he has a chance to bring them oversea. so he decided there and then that he dun want to have regrets also.

so now we bite the bullets and go 1st...all the money issue, come back then think abt it..

xman
the whole package is ~4200 (5D4N)
we stay 3 night in HK (Royal Plaza) and 1 night in Macau(venetian)

airport trf, ferry rides and got 2 half day city tour, all included already.

just heard in the news the HK Feb average temp is 24, which is dun know how manys yrs high.

so in mar will be cooling lor.

now need to think abt the stroller and milk bottle issue.

mummies who are giving birth and planning to breastfeed...

my friend got extra milk bag(the Lan...brand) to sell.

3 box. any one interested?

rc_cola,
oh, reali elongated hehe i rem she was shorter than charlize during MMR,76cm? anyway they all have grown and now can reach things on the table
so have to be extra alert.

Charlize is teething again.. her 13 &amp; 14th tooth erupted last few days.. super cranky :S

田七 not be be mistaken is used for blood circulation.. not boost puberty height. ;)
It is best used for when injuries occur like: bruises, sprain, etc etc.
It also comes in 2 forms: 生, 熟
most people take the 生田七

Re: Teething
Tricia has got 16teeth. Her upper and lower 1st molars have all fully erupted. Left that little bit of eruption on the incisors

<font color="0000ff">cola</font>
what is tian qi? herbs?
so no more effect after puberty ah.. so wasted.. thot i can be a bit taller.. i'm only 1.55m! so can't afford to put on weight or i will look like an exercise ball! lol

zhuzhu,
good la, left 4 more oni

Charlize's 2nd molars are not out yet.. and upper canines, in fact she followed the general pattern quite accurately

The general pattern of emergence is:

Lower central incisors (2)
Upper central incisors (2)
Upper lateral incisors (2),
Lower lateral incisors (2)
First molars (4)
Canines (4)
Second molars (4)

Zhu zhu..
Wow you are so informative, but for elderlies, they believe tian qi is also consumed during puberty so that it could help with the height haha.. this is what i (my mum, mil, gmas) believe, anyway i will let meg have it during her puberty :p

Nor
I am even shorter at 1.53cm keke tts y my mum always say lucky u are not too fat post delivery, otherwise you will look like a ball haha!
It's kind of chinese med (or herbs?) i am not sure, but it's good for body like what zhu's has explained..
very "bu"!
For my case, no more effect after puberty haha.. no wonder i stay at 1.53cm now and forever :p

Glee
Meg has 16 fully erupted teeth.. i remember charlize got more teeth than Meg previously ler..
Now only waiting for the 4 molar2 to erupts (2 upper and 2 bottom), i read from the health books, supposed to errupt sometimes when they are about 20 mths.

Re: language
Now my girl speaks rojak language haha.. she mixes everything into a sentence..
when we asked her "Where is gpa?" she said: "Gpa ituuuu" itu (indo) = that
When we asked her "Can you sing ABC for me?" she said "bu yao" (dun want).. mixed here and there.. sometimes she follows us to speak hokkian, some indo, some chinese.. blame it on us hahaha..

田七 can be taken like herb or they come in pill forms.
I personally think the raw 田七 alone is good. Some places sell with ginseng and stuff which I don't really like.
Another thing is if u decide to take chinese medicine, please do not take radish or carrot otherwise it just kills the effects of the medicine.
No tea or watever within 2hrs after consumption. This is to maintain the effectiveness of the medicine or herb.

choco,
I had paid deposit for my aussie trip oso at natas hehe.. most likely will be going sydney then to canberra to visit my sil n bil.. so excited..

zhuzhu,

oh, finally know what herbs u r talking about liao, I never heard that tianqi is used for boost height b4, just know it's for blood circulation leh, anyway, will try for ruoxi later when she grow up.

choco,

which agency u signed with?SA? sounds quite a good deal for 4 adults plus 1 kid. for stroller so many of them they been to hk b4 said it's not stroller friendly leh, so better bring carrier if yr boy is not that heavy.

cola,

no, we didnt go to expo last sat, unless my hubby go alone with another woman?haha, bcos I went to facial at afternoon and my parents with ruoxi shopping in J8, my hubby stay at home alone to clean the whole house, there's 2 hours no one with him. but when I back the house is really clean.haha, so dont think he go there lah.

Re:teeth

ruoxi has 14 teeth now, think 1 month ago got 6 or more come out together, she's ok with it, no fussy no fever and no drop on appetite.

cola,

can Meg sing song already?ruoxi can sing those chinese er2 ge1 when she's 17 months, but no english song yet, she seems not interested to english at all.

thanks cola &amp; zhuzhu, very informative

wah a lot of ppl i know planning for a trip! i'm so inspired too.. maybe i should plan too..

according to my mum:
to grow taller, the crucial period is during the puberty period. That's when u must be eating enough and nourishing meals. Not junk food.

So if u consider me to be tall then what my mum says is true *winks*

rc_cola,
yeah, the 2nd molars can be nightmare, may come out after 2 yr-old,.scary
ya her canines are slower this time. i suspect her upper canines also coming out, but she refused to let me inspect so cannot be sure ;)
Meg's canines pointed or not?

Xman,
I might have seen the wrong guy then haha.. dun get me wrong k.. just asking.. coz only know your hubby by picts mah :p

Yup meg can sing songs, like ABC, twinkle little star, old mcdonald (elmo version), babaaa black sheep.. and some indo er ge which this mummy teaches her
chinese song, she is not that fluent ler, only know yao yao yao yao dao megan sui jiao hahaha (self creation by me!!) dang wo men tong cai yi qi.. and the san ji jing, she know the tail words only.. i dun think i have the energy to teach didi all those when he is born..

Glee
Yup pointed, but the upper ones are more pointed, the lower ones tend to be less pointed.. i think when the upper ones errupted halfway, they are very cute ler, coz super pointed haha..
I dun dare to inspect her teeth, scared she bite me normally hubby will inspect coz dunno y she never bites hubby at all..

rc_cola,
exactly, i oni managed to catch a glimpse of this eruption when she was laughing.. then wanna to inspect on the upper ones too, but she was struggling to get away..
I no preggie also no time to travel.. now can't reali take leave, esp my hb.. has to work extra hard to be competitive in bad times like this..
(yet i'm snaking here :p)

Glee,cola,
wa, ur gals so many teeth liao, my boi only got 8 teeth. Did ur gals eat a lot of cheese? I think i shd buy slice cheese for him to gain more calcium, but slice cheese is so salty

zhu,
so got to cook the raw tian qi ?

cola,

seems ruoxi and meg has the same pace on language development. every night b4 sleep she will sing a lot songs to me then after a while she will sleep, no need pacifier at night. of cos at first I sing the song to her.

Glee,

soon they can all sing songs liao, as long as u everyday repeat the same songs to her. ruoxi favovate song is "我在马路边检到一分钱,把它交给警察叔叔手里边,叔叔拿着钱对我把头点,我高兴的说了声叔叔再见“.she learn this song from tv program that my parents watching.

I also dare not take leaves, but got rumers said com got mass vacation again on mar, but it's not offical announced yet, if confirm then can go somewhere. We hv 2 mass vacation during xmas and CNY, already clear more than 10 days leaves liao, we went nowhere just stay at home very boring leh. so this time round if got mass vacation again i want to go somewhere nearer to relax.