(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

cola,

I see, it's the same brand that I was talking about, tried it's toner and shampoo b4 for myself feel so so and never buy more products from that brand, dont know they got bb products too, so exp hor. same as u, I last time use all those exp brand shampoo body shower b4 I hv ruoxi, now I use the cheap brand from NTUC for myself, less than $10 can use for half year, but buy branded one for ruoxi, so u mean kethl's body lotion is better than cetephil?I only tried cetephil shower for myself but never tried their body lotion.actually ruoxi's back is very rough, not smooth at all, dont know why, the other part of her body is ok even use nothing also smooth.

Xman

Actually i heard some ppl saying the barrier cream (nappy rash cream - draplone brand) is good for some flaky parts, maybe u can try ruoxi nappy rash cream on her back? coz sometimes due to perspiration, tts y the back is not smooth.. u may wanna try, meg took watever lotions, either nappy rash, face cream, or body lotion to apply on anyparts of her body that is itchy haha.. remember she cannot scratch and must "fang yao" ? haha so next time would remain pretty keke..

I think all bbs their skin is smooth one lar.. haha last time when i was young, my skin was also very smooth mah, my mum didnt put any lotion for us at all, just put powder (oops.. haha actually i have been using powder since baby, i am fine ler hehe..)

cola,

I see, will try to apply some lotion on small part first, see if it works then only apply to whole back, sekaly got even worse then jialak liao.I think it's not itchy as she never try to scratch it, I'm the one who feel uncomfortable with it whenever shower for her, at first tot it's due to the hot weather, but later found even cold weather it's still like that. so hv to think of something liao.

xman,
Hope ruoxi is better, charlize also running a fever last night after her booster jab..
I also multi-use nappy cream (desitin).. but not on a regular basis.. too lazy

Baby powder:
Oni recently, I started to use powder on charlize except on the genital area, cos i feel that its quite safe that she is older now.. oops i even pour onto her palm so that she can apply on her body herself.. i think i better not do tat since there is such concern on breathing in of the particles.

Charlize had several spots on her hands, not palm (like 7-8 nos) during CNY then they developed to become bumps with fluid inside!! The doc said those were too few to be chicken pox or HFMD and charlize did not have fever so was oni given some cream to apply.. anyone has encountered this before?? till now the marks are still there thou the fluid has dried up.. the nanny said it could be "false measles", could it be due to the MMR, given 2 mths b4 the outbreak??

Die, I calculated wrongly for 5-in-1 jab for my boi. Suppose to take at 18th mth, but brought him to take the jab last sun, which is only 17th mth+...how how? The doctor also blur blur and poked my boi

cola,

ya, thanks for the info about cream.

Glee,

last time after 5 in 1 ruoxi also fever for 2 days. so should be normal unless the fever become so high.as long as not exceed 40C I'm not that worried.

dont hear anyone around me talking about the bumps on hands b4, last time after taken MMR ruoxi is ok.

Re:powder

just now heard from my colleagues says if apply the powder in the genital area and if it's goes in can cause cancer, she said heard from newspaper, so scary. so better dont use it around genital area and also keep it far from bb's nose.

Loh,

ya, call yr PD for assurance, should be ok since only some days difference.

xman,
wa, coused cancer somemore, scary ler

I call tonight, dun have his contact on hand now. Anyway, not a PD, only a gp at normal clinic

Loh
Dun panic, should be okay lah..

Glee
Hm.. last time MMR think meg got a bit fever.. cant remember liao ler.. she has so many jabs recently, start from MMR, chix pox, pneumoccocal.. her 5in1 will be sometimes in March or Apr, must check the health book, cant remember.
U brought her to see PD for the bumps? sound like HFMD..

Xman
Dun think the effect of powder is so serious bah.. anyway, nowadays without diaper no need to put anything at genital area.. only when nap or sleeping then we put nappy cream before putting on diaper.

xman,
wah.. powder can cause cancer? sounds serious.. but we all grown up with powder leh.. old ppl oways like 2 apply powder everywhere for babies..

an_gal,
May be our generation's bb powder are good quality, but dunno wat they put into the powder now, pure or not...hahaha

baby powder,
ya better to avoid genital area as told by the kk nurse last time.. but shld be ok to apply on the body and armpits, if realli so harmful, they would have been banned or boycotted..

Rc_cola,
she has seen the doc 3 weeks back when the spots became bumps, the doc said not HFMD and she didnt have fever so not so worrying jus that now the bumps are flattened but can still see red patches.. i also dunno what are those.. sian

Glee
Ya if there is no itchiness or fever, just leave them since PD said not HFMD rite.. dun worry too much..

Re:powder
Agree with an_gal, we grow up with baby powder and we are fine hehe..

an_gal,rc_cola
ya looked like chicpox :S but no fever.. think like wat rc_cola said, jus have to leave it.. at least now not so worried after sharing here hehe thanks

loh/cola/an_gal/Glee,

that's what the news said, scary hor, it said may cause cancer but not absolutely will cause. so better believe it and dont apply it around genital area.

any MTB going to the bb fair this weekend?I seems nothing to buy leh esp now dont know bb gender yet, at most need buy some new bottles and teats, others all can use recycle one.

Xman
I think i might go, but havent decided on which day. So sleepy... i know the gender of #2 but stil no idea what to buy, the big items that i need are another cot, fisher price bouncer (newborn to toddler kind) and a drawer/shelf to put #2 clothing. other than that everything can be recycled.

Loh
I think i have never changed bottles for Meg, so far the bottles are well maintained, no sign of them turning yellow ler.. and the color is stil the same, not fading or anything. But for teats, i changed quite often, especially after she got teeth and keep biting onto the teats.. can change like once every 2 wks, coz after awhile i notice it's not just one hole, but multiple big holes on the teats while washing them keke..

Glee
Ya dun worry too much, can discuss what;s your worry here :p today my girl is officially 18 mths!!!

Loh,

I only changed once after heard about the BPA thing I changed all ruoxi's bottles to either BPA free bottle or glass bottle. but heard that we need to change bottle every several months leh. esp if it's non BPA free one, the BPA will leak more when it been used for longer time.

cola,

happy 18 months to Meg, u reminded me about the drawer, I need to buy 1 too to put #2's cloth. but need to think a place to put the drawer first.

cola,
wa, meg got sharp teeth arh. Ivan bites the teats, but never deformed....kekek. Anyway, happy 18th mths to megan

xman,
I am still using the 'bpa' bottles for Ivan. hhehe

Loh Xman An_gal

Loh
Yes her teeth are so sharp.. i kept telling her dun bite, waste my money haha!

Re:BPA
I have never bothered about the BPA thingy at all.. Meg has been using pigeon bottles since baby..

loh/cola,

u 2 r so 有主见huh?whenever I read news said something is harm to health I'm very serious and go to change it.haha.

zhuzhu,

it's the baby fair at expo from this friday to sunday.

Xman
I think a lot of us here doesnt really bother about BPA thingy :p
Anyway this type of things very hard to say.. Is it really proven that the BPA thingy harms any baby.. i doubt so..

cola,an_gal,xman,zhu,
My hb said they used BPA to make plastic. But think no one proved the BPA will 'leak' when in use
I am more concerned abt the water quality, heard my colleages are study about the hormones level in water, this is more scary, we drink everyday

morning mummies

re:milk bottle
i am using avent...i read that should changed bottle every 6 mths...
i have got 2 old bottles(1yr already)and 2 new(4mths) so all mix up already.
will change all 4 next monday when he reach 18mths..easier to keep track.

re:baby fair
my advise is to go early cos its the same day as NATAS.
i will be going to NATAS at 9+ cos i dun wan to be caught in the carpark q.
after NATAS then i will pop into the baby fair

re : milk bottle
i change my son's bottle every 3 months =) just have 4pcs everytime. I use pigeon PPS, cause i did read about the BPA-thingy...so just on the safe side, we changed all his avent bottles to PPS (which is BPA-free). actually before when the BPA issue was very 'hot' avent said those who dont want to use their bottles because they are not BPA-free then dont use...then after few months they made PPS bottles...hehehe, i guess their market dropped so they need to do BPA-free bottles to gain back their customers. but since ive changed to pigeon, steve got used to it so been using pigeon PPS since.

It's raining again..

Xman, Jessel is like you :p hehe changed bottle so deligently.. choco also huh..

Loh
Actually i think BPA shouldnt leak easily unless we go and burn the bottle and it melts...
Since the bottles are so well-maintained, i really dun think i will ever throw them away unless badly scratched due to the washing brush (so far my bottles are all without scratches)..

Preggers..
do u all eat a lot? My colleague said i ate really a lot.. i have a bowl of rice + soup + 3 pokpia hehe.. but i dun gain much at all ler, so far i only gain 7kg...
another colleague who is preg about the same time as me, she gains 17 kg already, and she eats very little ler.. today we went for lunch together with other colleagues.. and they said i eat a lot.. hm.. i thought on normal days i have also been eating this much hehehe..

Jessel,

wow, u r even more kiasu. I will check my gal's milk bottle see if need changes, actually the glass bottle is good, can use longer just must handle carefully, so far we only broken 1 glass bottle during washing.

cola,

I dont hv good appetite ever since pregnant, recently only gain back my appetite, still eat as per normal, dont know how much weight I gained, till 15 weeks check up think only gain at most 1kg. next check up will be 20 weeks detail scan then will know how much I gain so far.
Gain how many kg weight during pregnancy is not really correlate with how much u eat, this is what I feel, my colleagues who gain 15kg all eat normal leh, and I eat quite a lot just healthier and only gained 5kg last time. but those who gained more lost more after 6 months from give birth, so this time round I dont care about weight liao, as long as bb big I'm happy,targeting #2 at least to be 3kg this time.

Xman
Ya i agree.. actually this time round during first tri, i got not much appetite, so i lost 1 kg, only slowly gain back after first tri when the appetite came back.. i dunno how to target bb's weight haha.. i eat what i feel like eating.. meg was about 2.9kg last time, this one is a boy, i think should be more than that.. keke again, i dun hope to have too big baby so that i can deliver naturally and easily hehe.. let me check with gynae tomorrow, how big is the baby now..

cola,
me too, not really concerned too much. My bb v lucky liao, using branded bottles. Last time I use wet market bought bottles and teats only. Since aft 12th weeks, I dun vomit liao, but still eat quite little. Think i will eat more v soon. LAst weekend, we went to kopitiam, I told me hb, i want to eat tao hua, zui gui, and mee. He asked, u can finish? I was v full aft tau hua and 4 pieces of zui gui. hehe

xman,
i will be more concerned of weight gain this time round, as losing weight is a very tough job. last time i gained 12kg, hope will be the same this time.

My doctor friend told me, if shorter than 154cm, pelvic bone is hard to open fully. But if 1st labour no problem, #2 one shd not be a problem

RE: bb bottle
i used to change my boy's bottles abt half yearly leh. but now i switch to Avent BPA free think may change after 1 yr? kiasi mummy... =P

loh
LOL. we diff by 1 day nia... haha...

cola,
my boy also rejected milk last nite and today! Just gave him some cold fresh milk and he finished all!

re: bb bottle
changed my boy's bottles to colour BPA-free one when he rejected milk in avent bottles last time.

cola,

last time my ruoxi is too small liao, I remember at 38 weeks only 2.5kg, 36 weeks only 2kg, was told that bb can't grow bigger due to plancenta aging, but I dont believe and just eat a lot and bb manged to gain 0.5kg within 2 weeks. so this time round I will eat more at 3rd trimester which is the timing while bb grow very fast, my colleague eat 1 boiled egg everyday and her bb is very big, but I hate eat boiled egg only can eat steamed egg and can't eat too much.
may just eat more fish/durian(if no GD) as I dont like eat meat at all for this pregnancy.mainly on veg and noodles only, dont like rice too. scare later small bb again, and the most imp thing is bb so small yet I still can't nature birth, feel waste if c section with a small bb leh.haha.

Loh,

I'm not high risk but yet still cervix never open. think still it depends on individual gua. after knew that VBAC is only given 6 to 8 hours to try, I got no confident can nature this time.

so good yr appetite back to normal at 12 weeks. till now my appetite still not that good, never craving for anything leh, only like to eat soups with some soft handmade noodles. hope I hv better appetite and can eat more later.
I'm also the type that easy to gain weight but hard to lose, but dont know why last pregnancy only gain so little weight though I eat normal.only reason I can think is GD. but for bb's sake I dont mind put on more weight as long as bb is bigger and healthier, when ruoxi was born she's so thin without a lot fat make me so heartpain,she looks like a little chicken to me.still prefer chubby bb, and it's easier to take care at the early stage. last time ruoxi see so many PD just to cure her phlegm problems.

Xman
I think it depends on individual..
See what's the best advice from your gynae..

dun worry too much about baby's weight.. so long as the baby is born healthy it is fine.
See now ruoxi is chubby rite?

Now i have cravings for so many things, pork, pokpia, che cheong fun, penang guo tiao tang, haha..
not forgetting apple strudle.. oh.. yummy!!

Loh
Haha.. ai dong gua like me considered high risk har.. :p

Mic
But he drinks the cold fresh milk, which is also milk..!!! that is good :p

cola,

ya, ruoxi is chubby now, just ai dong gua.haha.

wow, u craving for so many things, good good, I wish I hv some craving soon. this morning vomit out my breakfast though I hv been taken cab to work for 2 plus months liao, if take bus sure vomit everyday.

RE:milk,

u all dare to give bb cold fresh milk?I tot read somewhere it's hard to digest and can only give after they r at least 2 years old?

an_gal,

u plan to go perth?can check newspaper see if NATAS got package. I want to go hongkang but not decided yet, no time to go NATAS this weekend.hope there's some more later at mar.will apply passport for ruoxi recently, heard it need 10 working days.

an_gal,
I took budget airline front row, about 620/pax. I saw an ang moh only buy 2 seat, but taken 1 row (3 seater in a row), put their baby at the center. They paid 2 but taken 3 seats. You can try ur luck, then can save 1 seat for ur baby.

Better get stay in service apartment,Mont Clare is our 1st choice, but fully booked. We stayed at Marque, Perth, cost $170/N. WE rented a car fr Hertz, $70/day, there are some extra charges for booster seat and insurance. Insurance abt $150Aus for 4Days.

Think total we spent abt 4K+ for 3adults+1 baby in Perth for a 6D5N trip. Mainly spent on airfair, Hotel and car. We only carry abt 1.5K Aus$$ over, and still got 1-200 left.

cola,xman,
Will u invest in a better electronic pump this time? I am still considered. Saw Ameda, $300+ ler. Will elctronic pump too loud?