(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

xman,
just 1 2 find out from loh more abt expenditures in perth but i guess is quite ex... i oso not going natas, sure veri veri crowded.. don 1 2 go there n squeeze haha

loh,
thks.. accommodation veri ex there rite.. budget airfare is veri cheap nw.. but i guess hubby wont agree to go since can spend quite alot there and now economy no gd.. he say better save for rainy days.. actually hubby relatives in perth but not veri close to them, wasted rite if nt can save alot in accommodation haha

an_gal,
ya, correct. Accomodation and air fare are the most ex for a trip. Food wise can choose fr cheap or ex one....

Good Morning mummies,

Happen to snap Chloe pics yesterday, found that is cute and want to share with you all...

2198682.jpg

Cheeky Face...

Loh,

I haven't decided if buy a good pump or not, last time bought AVENT ISIS IQ DUO cost me $799, sold it after used for less than 1 year as dont want to waste the warranty, so this time round either buy another AVENT DUO or dont buy just use hand. AVENT DUO is quite quiet, not sure about AMEDA, think last time JETE use it and give good comments too.

Adeline,

ruoxi sometimes show me such cheeky face too. surprise to see this pic about chloe, they r quite alike in this impression.

loh
the medela PIS is GOOD! haha. i used tat the last time round and sold off after i stopped at abt 7mths. this time round i intend to buy back PIS as well...ahah..but i think i will buy the us version. machiam almost 1/2 price leh. =P

Loh
Wah spent about 4K+ in perth? that is quite a lot ler.. we plan to go either japan or goldcoast year end with baby and Meg, but dunno if this will materialise or not.. let's see how it goes first..

Hehe.. so we are both ai dong gua :p

I have ameda pump already during meg's time.. and will just re-use it again.. i find ameda quite good, it will make sound like ik ek ik ek ik ek.. when the motor is running hahahaha... if the suction is stronger it becomes ikkkkk ekk ikkkkkk ekk hehehehe first time round, hubby also laughed hearing the motor sound keke.. but after awhile we are used to it.. :p

Actually u can just buy a good second hand ameda which the motor is still good and under warranty, as for those spareparts, just buy new ones lor, especially those that will in touch directly with your milk..that is my opinion..

Xman
Wow u took cab to work everyday.. very po fei ler... hahaha last time i fell down during preg (i think sometimes in dec and bump onto my abdomen), hubby told me to take cab to work haha.. but i dun want, very exp early in the morning CBD area.. hahaha tho my house to office is very near about 10 mins only.. but i think hor, morning i would be spending about S$10 if i take cab.. haha..

But hubby said it costs more (consultation fee) when he needs to bring me to see gynae for check up if i happen to fall hahaha!!

Re:fresh milk
Xman, actually at this stage, i think they can eat eveyrthing le ler.. hehe.. i am not very concerned about her food, so long as she doesnt get addicted to coke.. i am okay :p

Ade
wow chloe looks so cheery... :p i have never seen her smiling so openly before hahaha..
cute!

Miaon..
This time round??? Are u preg??? :p

Xman
Meg also has a lot of picts with such a smile hehehe.. grinny cheeky smile, there is one in my hp now, taken last nite, exactly that smile.. anyway her signature smile on pict is that grinny cheeky smile :p

miaon,
opss, sorry, did i miss out something? U pregnant? 1 day behind/b4 my edd?
U buy US version? Got to convert the adapter lor? U asked for shipping?

xman,
Woo, I heard Avent ISIS is v v good, price also v v ex

cola,
We actually v giam siap liao. So 4K is a stingy trip in Perth liao. We make sandwiches for lunch or tea sometimes. Brought thermo flask to make coffee too. But didn't like the tuna in Aus, they only have those soak in Olive oil or saline, taste yakky. So stopped making aft we finished the smuggled mayo tuna fr Singapore...hahaha

miaon,

but buy from US no local warranty,right?and need to buy adoptor. I think warranty is the most imp thing unless u lucky it never spoil, last time I use AVENT it spoil twice within half year leh, send to AVENT show room they straight change me a brand new motor when the old one spoil. That's why i dare not buy without warranty one, if motor spoil then can't use as AVENT show room ppl told me they dont sell the motor if u dont hv warranty.

cola,

ya, every morning ERP plus the extra 35% about $10 to $11, but popian, when take bus I vomit like merlion plus if no seats hv to stand and vomit, very tough.just hope the morning sickness totally stop so I can save on the transport. actually such spense is ok, agree with yr hubby, see doc is much much more exp. same as our kids, I dont mind spend more on milk powder/food/fruits, that only at most $100 or $200 more per month, but when they sick it's min $50 per visit, sometimes see PD once can't cure hv to go back several times. Read from another thread got mummy mention just to cure her gal's cough within one month the PD visit fee total 1K.so heartpain, the PD is bad as only last visit then give the right medicine.

Loh,

AVENT is exp, bcos last time I always got blocked duct, when go to parent craft they let me tried both AVENT DUO and medela PIS, I feel AVENT so soft and can give more milk, so just buy. bought it at $799, sold $430(including a pair of new silicon set cost me $40), so total cost for me is $400 for 8 months use, about $50 per month, still cheaper than u buy FM.

cola/loh
*grinz*. 1 day be4. =P
i bought the sweden version for my boy's time from Robinsons at SGD700 but seems like the price is much higher than tat now. managed to sell off 2nd hand with abt 5 mths warranty at half that price last yr.
i intend to buy the US version this time and either get someone to bring back (to save shipping) or ship back lor. i thot the adaptor can buy easily. maybe from 1st few years shd have liao since what they sell is the US version. my sil only spent <SGD400 in total for shipping the 1 set back herself and buying the adaptor. tot it was quite a gd deal. altho got no warranty lah. so a little bit of a risk. but i see a lot of pple doing tat leh.

loh,
actually airfare is veri cheap nw.. yest i check jetstar oni abt $500 for 2 adults n 1 infant travelling in April tats y i so tempted to go.. but after u mention abt accommodation and expenses there.. i shall giv it a miss keke..

Xman
Ya actually i think prevention is better than cure.. thats y i hope that my kids will just grow up healthily and dun keep falling sick.. not only the expenses, but the pain and the uncomfortness during their sickness are really no joke.. that why for meg, we let her take whatever jabs that are available so at least she is more or less getting the passive immunity..

That's why every time i told my mum, how come my girl so petite, eat so much but cant gain weight bla bla bla.. she always tells me.. so long as she is healthy and not keep falling sick, it's okay.. so long as sleep, eat, poo well, it's totally fine.. she told me last time i also very petite, but seldom falls sick..
At least her words are consoling.. nowadays i dun want to bother too much about meg's weight liao.. as long as she is healthy, happy, intellectually developing well, then i think it's okay..

xman
yah. agree no local warranty a bit risky, but hor the PIS i used the last time round did not have any prob at all. in fact after 7 months still machiam liek new like tat so think the motor shd really be quite reliable bah? =P

Miaon,
Really? u mean your edd is one day before loh's?
I thought the "1 day before" is referring to your boy's jab is one day before loh's boy jab or sth..
anyway congrats!!!

Re: pump
This time round i bought myself - ameda flexishielt (which is the soft rubber part) to be fixed onto the flanges.. last time i didnt know such a thing exist, now that got the rubber parts, i think should stimulate the aerola better, and soft!!
For mummies, who wants ameda spareparts, I am selling the flexishields and flanges and valves hor.. hubby bought a lot for me so i am selling away some hahaha.. he hopes this time round i could bf longer hehehe.. and more comfortably..

An_gal
I personally think for flight longer than 2 hours, taking budget airline is not fun at all, i would rather pay more for qantas... u may want to check qantas whether they got promo during the months you want to go.. sometimes it's cheap.

cola
thanks...erm yah hor...ambiguious remark by me. shy shy mah...heh. but really no fun leh. feeling very tired and roller coaster ride with my "stomach" even till now.

xman

i am going to HK...in march also...

i am going to NATAS, early in the morning. it opens at 10am..so i target to reach at 9.15...

wahaha...typical KUSU

miaon,
Congrate!!!U also purposely planned for an Aug baby? kekekke

miaon, xman,
Last time i used hand pump for 8mths. This time think not much time to spend on expressing, so might go invest on electic pump.

Adeline,
Ur gal is chubby ya!

loh
was interested for aug bb lah...but dunno so zhun. heh. now got 3 aug bb in the house. hubby gonna go broke in aug. haha.

wah piang eh. hand pump for 8 mths?? u really gd leh.

an_gal
$500 for 2 adults is cheap! last time i went, i paid abt $800 a ticket for one adult! but it was SIA lah. still quite ex leh. we borrowed a fren's car when we were there so no car rental charges but we bought them dinner
&amp; we mainly cooked with food we bought fr supermkt so everything else in terms of expenses was still ok. for us it was the airticket tat was X

miaon,
My baby also enjoy my hand pump. He always put his little on the handle and saw his 'food' dripping when I am expressing ..kekekek.

Ask u gals,
Do u have lots of air aft stopped bf?

tek_koh,
yeah tempting rite... hahaha 1 2 go perth again :p

cola,
not going perth lah.. jus asking loh the expenses there in case i 1 2 go in future keke

loh
what is your verdict on Jetstar? we r keen to consider taking it for hol but todate hve not yet tried it out yet - how is leg-room &amp; space? toilets : gotta wait long time? only 1 cubicle? food? do we bring our own?

(sorry if i sound ridiculous *embarrassed look*)

talking re:travelling

just wondering mommies, do u tink at our todd's current age is it advisable to go US for holidays?

nining
last time u took ike did he have trouble adjusting back to sg timing?

Loh
What air do you refer to? u mean kept farting? :p haha i dun..
Btw, i have a qn to ask mummies who delivers naturally.. i personally feel my anus turns bigger after delivering (oops..) i have to use at least 3 metre of tissue paper after doing business to clean up! or it's just my own feeling.. dun dare to ask my gynae coz phaiseh haha..

choco,

update here what package u signed later, I interested to SA 5 day hk trip, it's $688+90(tax) but for special aparture date only which is mar 11th, I can't make it as ruoxi's passport wont be ready by that time.

Loh,

ya,what air?stomach air?for me I always have a lot air in stomach during or after pregnancy no difference.

miaon,

maybe PIS is better quality, like that can just buy from US, AVENT one though it's good to use but the motor always spoil, or maybe my luck not so good.

cola,

haha, I c sec but also use a lot tissue paper after big business.

xman
alamak! my brain cells not really working well recently. heh. din really think of tat so much when i counted myself. haha.

tek_koh,
i taken jetstar b4 when I was 7mths preggy with Melcolm. I will say the experience was gd. Mayb i preggy tat time got special service n they treat me with care, give me bigger seats oso haha..

personally btw air asia n jetstar, i prefer jetstar.. haven try tiger air yet but heard is ok too..

cola,
Yalor, keep farting ler, so embarrassed. Sometimes sneeze, the air leak, so paisheh. But aft pregnant, dun have that problem liao wor. Strange.
Hhaha, ur description is so funny, 3 meters of paper a lot ler! Never noticed it became larger

tek_koh,
We added axtra to get a front row for bigger leg space. Originally was abt $520/pax, aft this and that + luggages upsize, we paid $600+/pax for return air flight. I check Qantas, they charge infant tax for 300+.
It was Tiger airway, not jetstar. My boi also self entertained wif the stewardess when we on flight at the front row seats..whazhah. Their services were quite good. I had bad experience wif quantas last tiem to Melbourne. I asked for extra mineral water and the old stewardess gave me bad face. She said 1 person only entitled 1 bottle...now we hav extra and I will give u 1 more...so bad!There are 2 cubicles of toilets at the front, I believed there are 2 more at the back also.
If you get front row, ur baby can stand at the leg space also, and there is a space at the front, near toilet and water point where I saw parents brought kids there to walk walk in case kids are cranky.
Food: I bring in baby biscuits/cereals/fm to Perth. If u hav a baby, everything easy going at check in point. We even bring our own instant coffee and tuna mayo there.
Ya, feng sa yuan/bao ji huan is prohibited in Aus.

xman,
Dunno issit i keep blowing in front of fan during confinement; didn't eat ginger much and DOM, so all wind still remained inside...lol

xman/Cola/Loh,

I think all kids are same lor...when thy laugh in this cheeky way, all faces machiam the same leh...kekeke..

Infact, she is not as chubby as before le, just recover from 5days fever mah...now slowly building up again lor...

Did I see anyone looking for confinement lady(CL) for July'09? Or I see wrongly?? If anyone need let me know...will recommend my sis de...she is staying with her now as confinement mah...heard that she have a few calls enquiring for July, but at the moment not booked yet(not confirmed), so if need better fast fast call her...PM me if need to book, I will let you know my sis home number to call. This CL is good according to my sis, her few colleagues also use her before, highly recommended lor..

choco,

Then fast fast loh
cos if people booked her than no chance liao...she is good lor, a lot of good review, cos she can cook variety also can take care baby, got many years experience...she is at my sis house now, her hp hv prblm, so call her faster. I hv email you my sis contact le, pls check yr mail and call fast fast to book horh.

Hi Loh/Xman/Cola,
Am still also looking for breastpump. Dunno which is good. Last time i used Medela Mini Electric. Found that the suction is not strong enough to stimulate milk flow. This time round, considering Ameda. Ard $388. But saw fr overseas spree, can get medela freestyles fr US at $500+. So still dunno which to get?

cola
same as u, i was also "natural" but i normally use quite a fair bit of toilet roll prior &amp; i tink in terms of amt its e same after, so no chnge
hope it ans yr query - maybe u r more conscious so u tink u r using more?

an_gal
jetstar let u fly at 7mths? did u need a Gynae letter to prove "flight fitness"?

loh
oh so tiger also not bad ah? good good - more choices

i absolutely agree w u re:Qantas service. i tried several times with Qantas last time when visiting frens in Oz &amp; ea time tere is some service drama. dont even get me started on it

just a note on buying breast pump from overseas.... my fren bought a duo from the US, not working well new (working just not working well and nosiy) and had to send back to US. this is after calling the customer service many times, even turning on the pump, put to the phone and letting them hear the pumping sound. then wait for a new one and send back to sg again. it was very very troublesome. have to think about whether it is worth the trouble, esp when it comes to electronic stuff which is "time sensitive". it's not like it's a camera that you can stop using for 2 months and wait for replacement/repair.

if you buy locally, if it's noisy or suction drop in performance, you can go straight to the supplier, but if it's from overseas, you have to send it back, then you'll either not do it (and your pumping suffer) or take the trouble to send it back and pay for the trouble in term of both $ and pumping efficiency. so it's a decision of risk/money. lucky nothing happen then it's great to save the money and pay less for the pump.

------------

i'm helping a fren check with another fren on ameda lobang. if can find, will let the mommies know. should know in the next 2-3 weeks hopefully.

-----------

since i was exclusively pumping, i used 4 diff pumps in the course of pumping. i used the medela swing, ameda lactaline, avent duo. also rented the medela lactina.

medela lactina - ugly but works the best!!! exp to rent, even more exp to buy. short term rental, if i remember correctly, is $9 a day. rent for longer term is $5/6 a day. to purchase it is about $1300.

medela swing - comfy but took a long time as it was a single pump. i like the soft funnel but it only comes in one size.

ameda lactaline - good initially but performance dropped with time. i find the suction not strong enough for me. maybe for mom with good supply, it is enough. think adeline had good result with it?? the flexishield was ok, not as comfy as the duo ones. didn't do much for me in term of stimulation. a better fitting funnel (correct size) works better. or try using supershield. i didn't like the hard plastic funnel at all.

avent duo - initially also good but i find the performance dropped quite quickly with time. the service center recommend pumping not more than 10 min per session. eh.... seriously not many moms pump for only 10 mins per session. most people i talked to pump 30-45 min. the petal cushion thing was comfy but the joint between the cushion and funnel cut me and i ended up bleeding quite a bit.

this is just from my pumping experience and using 4 diff pumps, it may be very diff for you since each person is diff. HTH.

jete
wow tat is an extensive &amp; helpful compare &amp; contrast list u go tere

an_gal
so the counter staff at e check-in checked e letter?

jete,
wah, good reviews on pumps ya...v informatics!

Am thiking to buy a second hand playmat. Any commends on small small world vs LG mat?
New L-shape sofa came in this morning, no arm rest, scared bb fall down as he is v mobile nowaday.Is 12mm has big different compared to 15mm thickness?
Anyone wanna sell urs?

loh
small small world sells the LG mat. on bp it's small small world selling or alien77. think pretty much the same thing if you buy the LG bumper mat. the 2 kinds are parklon or LG. personally i prefer the LG one. the surface is slightly diff. i bought a 2nd one in dec from alien77. smooth, easy transaction. will recommend her as a seller. never bought from SSW before. as for thickness, when we bought the first one didn't know if it's any diff, since my fren bought the 15mm one from korea, we just took it. the 2nd one my hubby insisted on 15mm or thicker, cos he said he can feel the diff. since he's the one paying, let he decide lor.

hi tek koh!
thanks for the invite to join this thread

you're so cute.. i was only kidding in the July thread, but i'm happy to join this thread too.

hi August mommies, i'm from July 07 thread.. have 2 girls, first is Lis (5yo) and second is 19mths.