(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Selvi,
no no dun be too hard on yourself la.. of cos u have done alot for your boy, even worrying abt his food intake and trying to get advice from others.. dun be too worried la, kids are like that, i was a difficult kid who was "kam che", who would not eat proper meals but preferred sweets and tibits only, while my cousin was a glutton, eating non-stop..

Xman
Haha.. not really experience lah, but i am a light sleeper, i noticed that ppl will laugh, cry or say dream words during sleep but never have i heard hubby make "that" sound even tho the next morning he told me he had "fantastic" dream haha!

Ya i rem ruoxi doesnt eat much, tts y u ever mentioned not worth cooking porridge for her alone haha
Meg is a lazy girl when come to self feed. for every meal, i will give her a bowl and a spoon, if i dun give her, she will request for it "bowl!" then "spoon!"
I will give her a scoop of porridge, but most of the time she will wait for me to feed and will do all sorts of funny things on high chair.. the scoop of porridge inside the bowl has never finished unless i scoop for her to eat!

Glee
when we are eating, normally we give her a spoon and bowl as well, put some plain rice, and she will be busy eating keke.. not disturbing at least!
We always make it a point as "family meal time" :p

Selvi
Ya i know it gets on our nerve when they are disobedient.. haha.. normally i would also love to scream on top of my voice at her.. but after several attempts of yelling at her, i realised she started to follow us, yelled when she cant get her way.. i've tried to control myself, and i think it really works, coz they think what we do is acceptable and they will follow.. i will never laugh if she did what i did to her (in a bad way ie yelling back!) Normally she will auto come and say "sorry mummy" whenever i look at her with fierce face and she realised "oops i am wrong!"

Ya like what glee said, sometimes they tend to be naughtier, it's like that, as what my mum told me, no need to force if they dun want. once they are hungry will auto look for food. so long as you dun give them too much snacks, they should be eating sufficiently for themselves.. dun make the meal time as nitemare k..

Try to be easy on yourself :p

This week quite crazy. Sun went to grocery and P was touching the juice going "cold cold" and fell on the metal railing. One side of her cheek blue black within 1 minute and got a nasty line. Until now still blue black.

Then Tue she woke up and was sitting in a corner of the crib. she was pointing to something on her bedsheet. I put on my glasses to see what she was pointing to and i saw blood!! I jumped out of bed so fast and saw her right nose had blood, her PJ and sleep bag also got blood. freaked me out. Quickly cleaned her up to find the bleeding but other than knowing it came from the nose, can't tell anything else. Brought her to the nearby PD and she also couldn't give a definite cause. Said maybe she has sensitive nose (cos daddy has sinus) and the past few days the haze was quite bad so could have irritated her nose. Usually the PD is very crowded but that day it was empty so she took her time to check P and talked to us about her weight. P weighs 8.8kg and she said that is underweight. She recommended we switch to pedisure. Eh..... don't think so lah. P looks so chubby and she eats so much, don't really care about her weight as long as she's healthy. Any way next week she will see her official PD, we'll see what she says. I doubt she'll say much abt it cos she has seen P since the day she was born and she always say the weight gain is steady, so no concern.

Quite a big diff, one PD said min 24oz fm a day, the other one told us 15oz.

Since P was sick over CNY, she rejected milk. The Pd said she was teething (4-6 teeth) so we knew it was her norm to reject milk when she's teething but it'll pass. She started taking milk again, but only with straw. Since then she will no longer use bottle with teat. Only straw. I can make the milk in the bottle since it's easier with the markings but must serve with straw. Hubby is happy, less things to wash!

---------------------
xman
When she was younger, she didn't know how to protest, older then know. But protest a few times, no effect, she realizes it's useless tactics on mommy. some times P will whine when i say no, when she does it, i tell her "stop whining, i don't do whining". i don't have much patience with whining, in fact i hate it, it irritates the hell out of me. there is a higher chance P can get what she wants when she sign (language) and say pleeeaze and give me a sweet smile than she will by whining or crying. When she is very cranky, then she'll throw a fit, recently hubby told her no and she went screaming. i put her in the crib. she cried and stopped, cried and stopped. My problem was it's not just crying, she was screaming and when she gets into that stage, it is beyond reasoning already, so I prefer to let her work it out. I think I left her in the crib for 20 min, she knew I was in the connecting room. Finally she stopped and I went over and she started again. I was a mean mommy, I smiled at her and told her to call me when she's done crying. Then I walked away. By the time I reached the study, she had stopped crying already. I waited another few minutes then I went back. This time she didn't cry any more, she picked up one of her stuff toys in her crib, called me and offered the toy to me. That's her peace offering. LOL

Nining
yup, that's it lor. On the same issue, P will push it with daddy but knows no chance with mommy. Next time she will learn to pick her fight. I do the same with sleeping, she doesn't want to sleep and keep standing up in her crib then I tell her "you don't want to sleep, then you sleep by yourself, mommy going out to do my own thing". She will quickly lie down.

jang
i tot the JG discount is for additional classes for current student or a sibling? Jae has lengthened, not so chubby already. he looks like 2.5yo.

mel
hope your m/s is better.

selvi
no more night feed since 8w old. P drinks milk around 10.30pm/11pm (7-9oz) before bed. She'll wake up 10-12 hours later for milk (6-9oz), brunch, then milk (3-4oz) before nap, snack after nap, dinner. She does drink about 3oz of soy milk or fresh milk with her brunch. it is also common for teething to mess with kiddo's eating (amt/taste etc), so don't have to fight so hard about eating.

zhuzhu
i love the show. used to follow it in the US. now no time to watch, think hubby is taping it for me.

Jete, i realise time out is also the best thing for S. Whenever she scream i will just leave her alone. It works better than reasoning out with her there and then. I will reason out with her after she cooled down. Her peace method is to sayang me

Jete,

what a tough week for you, it's really not easy to take care bb alone hor esp when they r sick. very tiring. now even after work and weekends my parents still help me to take care ruoxi, maybe too many ppl liao, that's why she cry at most 1 min then sure got someone go to concole her, but if she want things that I dont give, and she knew I'm angry, my parents can't really get her stop cry, only after a while I carry her and tell her she's wrong and cry is useless she will stop cry and request me to use tissue paper to wipe her tears.so far she never cry for 20 mins, if I let her cry for more than 2 mins my parents will shout at me, that's the disvantage of let parents help, can't discipline kids in our own way sometimes.

Paige so early stopped use bottle and teast liao?that's good thing, yesterday I just asked my colleagues who has kids oldder than ruoxi, they said normally at 2 yo they will start drink milk from cup instead of bottle. so far ruoxi never drink milk from cup yet.She has 14 teeth already, recently suddently 6 teeth come out together,so far teething is not a problem for her, no fever, no reject foods. hope it continue like this way.hehe.

Jete
Hope Paige is okay now. Dun worry the blue black will sure fade away. As for nose bleed, you might want to consult her normal PD.
As for weight gain, same as you, so long as our baby is happy and healthy and the weight gain is not dropping, I am okay.

Hm.. i didnt realise the cold cold section in supermarket is so dangerous. Normally my girl loves to go and touch this and that as well, capsicum, tomato,carrot, but she groups them all as "carrot" haha faintz.. i realise Meg is naughtier whenever papa is around, but with only myself, she is still controlable. I cant stand her kicking me whenever she throws tantrum on bed! I will spank her feet!! As for getting it her way, i will normally just leave her to cry, she will stop within seconds if i didnt bother about her.. after that her peace way is to give me a kiss and say "sorry mummy" which i will then let her know that this is not right, at least she knows what the sorry is for.

Jete: That was a rough week!
Regarding the show, I like it but no time to watch

rc_cola: Tricia also says sorry by giving a kiss. Whenever she does something wrong I tell her to say Sorry she will give a kiss.. Tricia is also calling everything 'bird-bird'

any bb drink Wyeth brand FM?I received email said "Recall Wyeth brand formula milk by AVA", it mentioned inside the formula it containing lutein which is has not been approved as a food additive in infant and follow up formula.

rc_cola,
charlize says sorrry in mandarin with one hand on her head with a semi-bow.. but her pronunciation is not so accurate tat i can oni hear 对..起

lately she will "wow, mummum, hmmm, hao chi" whenever she sees "food" on the tv

Good Morning Mummies!

Need some advice for mental preparation on Total Breastfeeding, especially from working mums

only breastfed for 1 month for Doren and this time i hope i can do much better...

<font color="0000ff">- how do you cope with the exhaustion from latching on thru out the night?
- how to latch baby on comfortably? is a nursing pillow worth investing in?
- must i change the position for latching on frequently?
- any ways to reduce no. of latching on at night?
- need to pump after each feed?
- when going back to work, need to stock up milk bank? if so, how much supply to store and how soon should i stock up?
- should I continue to pump at work? what are the hiccups that i will face?</font>

currently, i only have Pigeon manual pump.
for #1, supply was not an issue, hopefully #2 also okie.

will be grateful for any advice!

Glee,

charlize is so cute, in this age think they can't distingush what's real and what's the tv/book things. when ruoxi reading books and saw toys/food, she will request me to pick up for her, explained to her so many times I can't as it's in the book but she still can't understand.

jete,
P so poor thing, i can imagine how painful it is.. thks for sharing with us so at least we knew in future when we bring our little 1 for grocery shopping mus b careful.. don wori, P will recover well soon.. she's a strong gal

bliss, here's my 2 cents.

- how do you cope with the exhaustion from latching on thru out the night?
<font color="119911">I'm not a good example as ruoxi has this bad habit every night get up a lot times for comfort latching only, I get used to it and never feel tired at daytime. but later when she accept the dreamfeed at 12am then she wont wake up at night for latch on liao.</font>
<font color="119911">I bought a nursing pillow cost me $79.9 from TMC parent craft, but only use it for less than 5 times then give up liao, ruoxi refused to latch on at the first month,later when she ok to latch on I use the craddle postion which is comfortable for both me and ruoxi.think the nursing pillow only useful when bb is very young, later when they r bigger u can try the lying down position which save a lot energy.</font>
<font color="119911">as long as u and bb feel comfortable any position is ok, no need purposely change so frequent unless some postion bb can't drink well.</font>
<font color="119911">use bottle to feed her EBM b4 u sleep. it may helps for some bb, but for ruoxi she simplely reject bottles at night, day time when I'm not around she's ok with bottles.</font>
<font color="119911">I never as I dont hv so much milk, after she drink already no more.
- when going back to work, need to stock up milk bank? if so, how much supply to store and how soon should i stock up?
<font color="119911">if u hv a lot milk then of cos good to store some in case yr milk supply suddent drop or u sick and can't breastfeed. but no need store so much as most of the bb dont like the taste of the frozen EBM.</font>
- should I continue to pump at work? what are the hiccups that i will face?
<font color="119911">if u want yr breastfeeding succesful, must pump at work, else milk supply will dry up if no pump. the first few months when u back to work can pump every 3 hours(about 3 times per day), then later can reduce to 2 times per day(every 4 or 5 hours once).
the hiccup I faced is the pump got problem and need to send for repair, so it's always good if u can master the skill of use hand to express milk.I'm not good at it, and fully depends on my AVENT ISIS IQ DUO last time. and got once pump got problem hv to use hand, the output is less and it's so painful. so try to use hand b4 u go to back, u dont need to everyday use hand to express but it's good to hv the skill as back up.</font>

bliss,

ya, I heard the Pigeon manual pump is not that good, quite painful if u pump longer. not sure as I never use it b4.

Thanks xman and an_gal for the advice!

Pigeon manual pump is lousy.
but it's very gentle and I dun feel that pain last time. and it can't really empty the breastmilk.

xman,
what is dreamfeed?
why EBM helps to reduce no. of night feed?
I read that we should empty the breastmilk after each feed. then what can we do with the EBM if we continue to latch on?

Glee
Charlize is so cute. Meg will pretend eating the food from TV or from book.. it's pretend and she wont really go and eat hehe

Hehe.. they are learning to pronounce words :p Meg can say "yi hou bu gan le" (next time i wont dare to do it) when i ask her " can you stil do this? "
Now she can tell things liao ler, yest my hubby was on MC, but went out to buy sth when i reached home, she told me: "papa hui lai le" i think she means just now papa was back! hahaha..

Xman
sure u will be able to give advise to bliss coz u are so experienced in latching on.
I have pigeon manual pump keke.. it's quite good, but very tiring for our hands :p

Bliss
If you plan to pump when you are back to work, you may want to invest in electric pump.. easier and much faster..
I am not worry about supply actually, coz tis time round (as of now) breasts are much much bigger - I am wearing D cup now hahaha! cant imagine when they are full of milk, what size should i wear! hahaha! dun worry too much bliss, this is your #2 liao, u will know what is going on naturally keke

bliss,

dreamfeed means u feed bb milk when he's sleeping, they can still open the mouth and suck. amazing hor.
purpose of dream feeding is to make bb full, some ppl feed bb FM at the last feed, but since u hv enough supply, just feed more EBM at the last feed to make bb full and can last them longer, else some bb just for comfort suck and drink a bit then sleep liao, and hungry again at night for latch on again, u will be very tiring. also if use EBM u can let others help to feed bb at night, so u can rest well.
ya, we should empty the breast if u want to increase supply or if yr milk really too much if not empty then easy to kena block duct, for me I tried but after bb suck no more milk liao, so I never do that.
dont forgot u still hv Doren, can feed him the EBM if bb can't finish the EBM and yr supply so much. I plan to let ruoxi drink EBM or latch on later when #2 born. she missed latch on so much. the only concern is heard our kids drink FM for so long time and wont like the breast milk taste any more. If that happen then pobian, use the EBM to bath bb.

cola,

wow, b4 pregnant what cup r u? I think I dont hv enough milk supply again as my breast size never change,same as last time. dont know why.

rc_cola,
charlize hasnt started to speak in sentences, mostly 2 or 3 words.. but nevertheless now is the fun stage to be able to communicate with her :p

Xman
haha i am a Bsize mum for normal days.. last preg, also remains at B during preg time, only increase in size when bf...
but now they have increased so much ler.... hubby and I also amaze keke!

Glee
very soon charlize will be chi cha as well.. yest she was saying "gdnite gpa" then i told her to say "see you tomorrow" she cant say the whole thing, only say "tomorrow" hahaha

Long time never log in to this thread, so much posting.

Hope all the preggy mummies are well and getting lots of rest before your little one join.

Bliss,
Dun worry about breastfeeding, tell yourself you can do it. Sometime the more you plan, the more thing work out otherwise. Agree with others that it is good to invest in a electri breastpump if you intend to bf for a long time.

xman,
Yes, if they have not latch for a long time, they probably will not like the taste of BM anymore. For me, I'm doing tandum feeding meaning bf my bb and #1. It is imnportant to express after latch in order to stimulate more supply. I still get around 60-100ml after latching both. My freezer had too much ebm liao end up now, I'm giving my ebm to my cats (4 of them)

Mummies, all the best in breastfeeding.

Btw, just to share some pic of my girls. Qweii at 18months old and Quinnlyn is 3 month old this week.

2177446.jpg

Who is the next in line to give birth? Cin right??

cola,
wow, D cup! really big ya.

Jete,
My boi likes to go to the cool cool place in NTUC and touch here touch there too, must be careful liao. Hope she is alright

Bliss,
I bf my boi for 8 mths, went back to workplace aft 2.5mths of maternity leave. Really tired to express in the early morning.
-how do you cope with the exhaustion from latching on thru out the night?
Do expect to sleep only 4hrs/nite if baby waking up 2-3times for lacthing.

I never use nursing pillow

Remember which breast was used to feed the baby each time, take turn, so the breasts size r the same. Use the most comfortable position, coz nb baby sometimes can suck very long time

Some said training can help, make sure the baby drink a lot during day time, but not working on my baby. Dunno how much he drank if latching

I dun do it, too lazy. But if your supply is low, u need to drain off the breast to build up the supply. Demand=supply

I stored a lot, but baby never need my frozen milk. I used them to bath my baby in the end

- should I continue to pump at work? what are the hiccups that i will face?
Working hr is 8hr if you r full time. U need to pump at work ,if not u feel very pain coz of engourgement.
I pump and throw away the ebm. When back to work, I woke up at 6am to pump, then pump again at 12pm, last pump at 8+pm. Using Avent manual pump, quite tired. Then when baby about 5mths old, I never pump at work liao. Slowly reduce the pump frequency if you intend to stop bf. How many time to pump depand on how much supply u have

Thanks cola and xman for the advice!

cola,
Ya, will invest in a good pump if I really intend to pump at work. will see how for the first 3 months...
me 80E cup now ah. before preggie was 75C. before Doren was 70D. hope wont grow any further cos not proportionate leh.

xman,
actually last time when i BF Doren, i had a very painful spot on the nipple which i was clueless about.
now then i know it was block duct at the nipple.
i regretted not engaging a Lactation Consultant to check on it so this time i will not hesitate to do so...
i think i might give the EBM to Doren as water to dilute with his FM? can or not ah? will it be overkill?

Snowwy
the pictures are very small but can see that the baby has grown so much and qweii is a big gal now... Wow.. besides taking care of 2 little kids, you also have 4 cats!!! Salute to you, Mummy!!!!

Loh
Haha.. not really that big lar, comparing my tummy and the breasts keke.. but after birth, huhuu if they remains at D, i cant imagine me in my normal tshirt! i used to hate them last time during BF, super wierd ler on my body! phaiseh phaiseh!

Bliss
Wow 80E!!!!! i am only 74D :p haha i am so worried about the inproportionate thingy also keke..
When is your due date? very soon rite?

Opps.. my contractions again, checked with gynae he said it's harmless if there is no discharge, just braxton hiks.. but last nite was so painful like i am gonna give birth

cola, bliss,
Lucily not F cup, F=Fake!!!

I went for DS scan yesterday, the fetus is now 6cm, wif hands and legs liao, can see the nose somemore! 6cm baby can swing legs/hands and streching in my tummy liao...so amazing!!!

But the baby is really low at position, asked my hb, how come my tummy is so big where not the baby located, he kept laughing and meant I AM JUST FAT....GRRRRR

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Hi all.!
How's everyone doing.! =D

Cola,Bliss,
you 2 are really 丰满. Dunno when I can reach tt size.. hahaa...

Loh,
Feels very 幸福 right? lol. it's just like when u're having #1.. =)</font>.

Loh
dun worry i am also fat during the earlier month, tummy very obvious, but seems like now not really fat liao, the skin on tummy is really streched keke.. comparing me and my colleague who is 2 wks earlier, mine is very small and pointed.. only fat on tummy, grown on breasts and no where else kekeke..

Xue
haha.. i dun want to be so feng man... not proportionate, to start with i am not big size, so it's like super wierd..

Thanks snnowy and loh for the advice!
will bear them in mind.

cola,
i only have 2-3 Braxton Hicks so far.
this time round, tummy really bigger than when having Doren.
now the size is like going to give birth.
backache is very bad! now reaching 35 wks, about 4 more weeks to go for me.

i will check with a Master on the date of the C-sec. anyone has a good recommendation?

Bliss

Y u need csect? My Braxton hiks has started few weeks ago, and it's painful cramp, each day like 10 mins, nowadays getting more frequent, so i ask gynae, he said if no discharge, it should be harmless.. anyway i will be seeing him again next week, will tell him that it's so painful like gonna give birth feeling..

4 wks to go ar? but you can go anytime after36 wks rite? very soon hor.. :p i cant wait for my 36th wk to come :p

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Cola,
Not tt big la.. lol most C is enuff for me.. hahahaa..

BH :
Having BH will feels painful? I experience BH too. But it's only tightening of tummy wont feel the pain....
Btw contraction feeling is like BH too? Never exp the real thing before....</font>.

Xue
Ya BH not supposed to be painful, but this time round my BH is just like the contraction pains.. it's really painful, that i have to hold onto something whenever BH strikes when i am standing, tty i am a bit worry, but gynae said it's harmless so just listen to him lah..

cola,

so envy u, if can maintian then u will hv very attractive figure.haha. so sad mine size always maintain at A to B, and even BF still no change in size.

bliss,

ya, dont worry too much, can always seek help from hotline or look for LC. last time I went to see the LC in parent craft for 3 times, at the end still got block duct, the most efficient way to clear it is still pump plus let bb suck and massage more during pump time.It's damn painful, I feel it's more painful than c-sec.

I dont think u can use EBM to replace water for FM leh, can just warm the EBM and make less FM and add EBM to the FM. try add a bit EBM first if doren accept it then slowlly add it.

snnowy,
ya, still remember u bf Qweii during pregnant, so she should be ok to latch on after u give birth. by the time I give birth ruoxi stopped latch on for 8 months liao, hope she wont forget how to latch on and still like the taste of BM.
yr milk supply really good, yr 4 cats have so good benifet to enjoy the EBM.

Qweii wear cheongsam in the pic?I like her hairstyle, it match with the cheongsam, yr little one doesn't look like 3 months only, she can hold her head so high liao.remember ruoxi not good at that, only 4 months then can hold her head when we put her to tummy down position.

heard there's SA travel sales at Suntec Hall 601 this Sunday on 22 Feb 2009 10am to 8pm. A lot attractive deals like second pax for free(KOREA package tour), and others like sec pax 30% off, but only for the first 30 pax. my colleagues said need arrive suntec at 7am then wait the door open then run to get the first q at hall 601. quite good deals but I dont think I will do such things as u hv to be reach there early and run faster than others.

Mummies who is preg with #2,
check with you all hor, for those who has stopped bf #1.. during preg, when u squeeze your nipple, does the milk flow out??
Hm.. coz today my right breast is so painful and tender on the aerola area.. the pain is like block duct feeling, but i have stopped bf since 1 yr ago.. hm.. just wondering if this is normal for preg lady to have sore breasts.. and when squeeze milk flow out

cola,

for me no more milk when squeeze, but I heard that even for first time mum, after 4 months pregnant if u squeeze and can get a little bit milk as yr breast is get everything ready for the little one. I'm not sure how true it is, I read this from online.

Glee Xman
Thanks.. I have just gone toilet and squeezed the milk out and massaged the right breast, can feel like a blocked duct at the nipple there.. i think it's colostrum flowing out.. sticky and yellowish.. oh wish my girl can suckle so that i have ready milk and colostrum would be good for her rite..

during first preg, i didnt have any milk leakage or flowing out, until meg is born.. so i really have no experience in this...

cola,
Ur body is all ready to welcome the second baby!
BTW, when did u start to put lotion/stretch mark cream on ur tummy?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> cola,
mine oso... sometimes will have those tingling feeling on my breast.. dunno if it's blocked ducts.. From my 4th mth will drip sticky watery liquid.. Water or colostrum... now is flowing out... hope this time will hv more supply.. =D</font>.