(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Loh,
Ike also kiasi in that case, he hates sand in his toes.. but weird enough he doesnt seem to mind mud!! he was playing with mud at my parents' garden hahahaah..

Loh,

for #1 I hv no experience on latch on at all, totally lost at hospital the nurse showed me but might due to engorgement already so bb doesn't like, kept cry when latch on and I can't hear the sound that she swallon the milk, also went to parent craft for this problem twice but still couldn't help. until she's 1 months plus I die die must let her latch on else wont give her milk. after 1 whole day she ok liao.

snnowy,

ya, first 1 C due to vernix not open after induce for 10 hours, so choose C but very regret, should waited for longer.

yr gynae very good leh, normally emergency C need to pay for both, that's why it's exp. Mine only waited at the observation room for 10 hours still charge me several hundereds leh.

How u train yr #2 to sleep through the night so young?ruoxi sleep through the night only when she's 15 months old leh. I always get up to latch on her last time, so tiring, want to train #2 to sleep through night as early as possible.

snnowy, xman

i tried natural but ended up with c-sec too.. paid quite alot too.. if there is a next time, i won't try for natural at all..

xman,
nobody fr the hospital teach u how to latch? Which hospital was that?

nining,
May be Ike tot it was chocolate...kekekek

snnowy,
Ur gynae v good ler. Heard emergency c is v ex!

Loh,
true.. Ike used to dislike chocolate and candies and everything sweet in that short.. but hoor, when we were in Jakarta, he saw his cousins licking lolly and he did once too!! he didnt like it actually cos I saw he gave up after a few lick, but when I took it away from him he was mad!! Also yesterday my maid made him gingerbread cookies with choco cip and he picked on the choco chips and ate it.. weird.. cos he hated choco in any form before..

Nining,

i think the kids are ever changing their preference.. my gal likes the things she used to hate too.. eg, sweets, icecream, her old toys, and even her playpen.. now she keeps pestering us to put her into the playpen..

Morning mummies..
I am going for gynae appt this afternoon

Xman,
I think for bb to sleep thru it really depends on each baby, there is no fixed rule on sleep training thru the nite at all...

Snowwy,
I also wanna latch my #2 ler last time used to latch meg, but dunno y until 2nd months she refused to latch on, cried like mad whenever i latched her on..
haha in the end i pumped.. again i am working so not really easy to latch on rite? somemore bb not sleeping with me, tho Meg slept thru since she was about 6 wks old as well.. until now she slept like a pig hahaha!

Loh,
You are gonna be a sgprn?? ic ic.. me and hubby have no intention to apply at all :p he has been here since 10 yo, and no intention to convert :p

Glee,

I quite conflit too, sometimes want to try nature, but sometimes so scare at the end emergency C again, not only waste $$ but hv to bear 2 different types of pain.sian.

Loh,
I was in TMC, the nurse did came and show to me, but failed, then she comment that my nipple too short. but at the end when I successed latch on when ruoxi 1 plus old, I dont think there's any problem on my nipple. she enjoy latch on since then. when I pregnant again I stopped latch on ruoxi, and told her when bb born I let u latch on again. she happily accept the fact and sometimes when she missed latch on again,she will tell me "baby出来,一起吃neinei", very funny. but I'm scare I dont hv enough milk to let her and baby drink together, last time I mixed with FM as my milk never enough for her though she drink very little only.

Cola,

I tot ruoxi has the bad habit to latch on at night for comfort only, thats why only till 15 months then can sleep through the night. wondering how to train #2 not latch on at night so that I can hv more rest.

Xman,
Yeah that could be the reason, y not try the trick of giving bb ebm at nite.. so taht when u know the quantity of feeding and make sure bb drink all before falling asleep again, then easier for u. I've heard another way is if you latch on at nite, make sure bb dun fall asleep during latch, once bb starts to doze off, dun latch on again.. if bb is really hungry, it will actively suckle instead of doze off.. haha.. but so far i dun have experience of latching at nite, coz my Meg was sleepign with MIL. During first month, she woke up at 1am and 4am for milk.. After about 4 wks, she only woke up once.. then subsequently slept thru until 6am..

I hope that this #2 i could deliver naturally again, less pain and i think recovery is better..

Loh,

Congrats...!!

Xman,

In order to produce more, I suggest you pump after you latch on, cos always remember demand and supply, if your baby is drinking very little, yr breast will not produce more than the baby demend. I still remember I almost dry up after my breast infection during Chloe's time, due to the infection, I could not pump for 3 days and my milk almost dry up, I was so scared I cant give Chloe breastmilk during that time, then the breast consultant told me to pump every 2hrs to bring the supply back and I work really hard during the 1st 2 months until my supply came back and I was really glad that I produced more than what Chloe can take, so I should believe you can do it also and ruoxi can also share milk milk with her little siblings...another thing is, I find that feeding using bottle save more time, for me I never latch on since the day I am home, cos my nipple also short, so end up, I pump all the way for 14months for Chloe.

Talking about kiasi, I think my elder boy is worst than Chloe, nowadays we can tell that Chloe is better then her big Kor Kor, she is not scared of everything but her big kor kor everything also chicken out...I tell hubby, the Kor Kor should be a gal and Chloe should be a boy instead...

cola,

yr Meg is such a sweety, ruoxi wake up 3 times at 1st month for milk, but that time got CL to feed her either EBM or FM, I get up 2 to 3 times at night to pump only.

hope this #2 I have more milk and bb can sleep through night at 2 months too.

Adeline,

last time think my milk supply was low due to I use the not so efficient pump at first 3 months, after change to AVENT DUO, supply increased a lot, but still not enough for ruoxi, my mum always comment that my milk too little though I'm so fat. make me so pissed off.

will try yr method after bb latching pump again, but so far haven't made up mind to buy a new AVENT DUO again as I sold my previous one, the concern is if keep it then by the time I need use it warranty no more and if spoil then so wasted as I know that pump is easy to spoil though it's very good in improve supply.

Xman,
u can try PST's method for her ISaac, she did tandem, one side latching one side pumping..

my BM was also very little during the first 2 weeks, but I pumped and pumped like mad, every 2 hrs I spent 40 min pumping using double, 1 hr if single,.. so it's liek 50% of my time I pumped.. I continued to pump despite strawberry milk, just pump n trhrow so even after infection healed, still got SS..

xman,

Actually, a good pump will be better of course...but then people without good pump also can hv good supply leh...like Jang, she also don't pump, if baby latch well, even without a pump also can hv good supply de. For my #1, I use manual pump for 6mths then I get a 2nd hand Ameda, then when I hv Chloe...I also use Ameda only and upgrade to Avent Duo later on leh...I guess is only matters how often you latch and pump lor...always remember, the more you latch and pump the more milk you will have.

cola,
My hb still prefer not to let me convert...kekekeke

xman,
rouxi really cute, can let go her precious neinei for the younger one. But she might forgot how to latch when ur #2 is born.

adeline,

I was using ameda dual pump for the first 6 months. After that stopped pumping and freezer stock. Only direct latch since then. Guessed a good pump matters! At peak, I can direct latch and pump 300ml to freeze! Those were the days...

an_gal, still searching lei. if not too far then no good comments. Now also duno wat to do. Actually never expect myself to fall into this category (to let Shannon go school so early). i feel she very lonely at home, whenever someone come to my house she will be super happy 1. Think she tired of seeing my face. LOL.

Jang think not the 1st time i made this comment here, my greatest regret is not getting the ameda pump. I did so much research on this pump and tell myself that i must buy it.

Loh I think if ur kiddo is SPorean u can get the child benefit, u dont need to be sporean.. dunno bout ML tho.. I think if u make ur boy PR, might as well be Sporean kekekee cos PR gotta NS but no benefit..

Xman,
Ike didnt suckle for comfort cos I never lied down when latching him night time kekeek.. I made sure I sat down in the bed and put him on breastfeeding pillow.. and when I saw him stop suckling I disturbed his cheek so he suckled again..w hen he's full he'd spit out my boobie and I went to bed hehehe.. Sometimes I pumped and put in bottle, let hubby fed him at the wee morning like 3 am or so, after midnight..

Xman,
Adeline is right, demand = to supply. I am currently doing tandem nursing too, I latch Qweii and bb (they take turns) and also pump when they are sleeping so now I still got a backup stock of 60 bags of 100ml ebm.

It is really like a cow, but so long both are healthy (as in they dun fall sick often) from taking ebm. I dun mnd.

In fact you should latch bb on at night so that it save you the trouble of warming up milk, feeding baby and pumping when engorged.

Glee,
I'm still thinking of trying natural the next round but I doubt my gynae will agreed. In fact I very very persistant to go for natural even though he was against it.

Ivy,
You referring to the guessing game?? No worries, I'm sure you would like to share the joy of the unknown preggy mama mah.

It's just that I recalled of my miscarriage which happened 2 years ago and people actually commented that it was partly due to us announcing to the whole world of my preggy. I cried when this kind of comment reached my ears. So for my #1 we only announced to families in my 4th month and for #2, announced to them in 5th months even though friend in forum and the msn chat group knew at 7 weeks.

nining, coolzy,
Ya, need at least 1 parent as a Singaporean then can apply the kid to be a citizen. Else have to wait till the boi finished his NS then he apply his own. I dunno about gal

Coolzy/Loh,
heh I dunno bout that?? cos when we applied for Ike's social visit pass, the officer asked if we will wanna consider converting him to Sporean.. told her we boht non SPorean, she said can try altho no guarantee.. I guess if boy, can get easier than girl huh cos NS kekekeke..

Snnowy,
aiya these ppl are so insensitive leeh.. loosing a bub already a pain, and it's a way the nature takes its course, why still finding ways to blame ppl.. U know one of my close friends in Jkt, she got misscarriage 3 x and the MIL pestered her after the gynae visits asking if its not her son's fault!!! stoopid.. THe gynaes in Jkt also stoopid sayign my friend's womb to acidic to welcome sperm.. if too acidic then how come the egg can be fertilized??? the sperm should die first lee before reaching the egg... only after I brought her to prof Tay in SGH he convinced her it's just nature course, natural selection.. she just needs to worry less bout herslef and be selfish a little, make herself happy and dont worry what ppl say.. then now she has a healthy baby girl..

Jang/Nining/Adeline/snnowy,

u gals really hv very good supply,my best yield for 1 day is only like 450ml at day time, never have any frozen milk in fridge.

I hope to let ruoxi and #2 to take turns latch on at day time to burst up the milk supply ,and at night latch on bb and pump the excess if there's any. hope ruoxi still remember how to do latch on.I always tell her wait for 7 months she will hv mummy's neinei to drink. she's so expecting it, but my mum always say those negative words like last time only 1 already not enough, this time how to feed 2 at same time.

Xman

Haha.. then my supply is slightly better than u, last time per day i can yield up to 1.2 litre.. those were the days.. on good days i ever pumped 340 ml 2 sides for one session hahaha.. thinking about that, a bit motivated to moo moo again hahaha..

dun worry lar, like what the mummies here said, the more demand = the more supply.. dun think too much of the quantity, if not enough there are still FM around..
when you are relax, the supply will come.. u try your best anyway
cheer up

Xman,
ruoxi still on BF? Ike stopped at 7 months due to my SS dried up during the US trip :S was really a stressing trip!!

congrats to those preggie mummies! So happy for you all.

My in laws are very traditional..keep hinting me to give them a boy. sianz..

My mil didn't want to take care of my girl even though we want to get a maid for her. Said things like she has hbp and got knee cap prob. But now she is taking care of her own daughter's baby girl.

sorry, jus need to fa lau shao to you all.

Xman,

Don't worry too much! I remembered being so upset when my supply didn't kick in after 4-5 days and everyone kept telling me to feed FM. A good pump is important, the hands-free helped a great deal, you really have to take in enough food ( I ate 3 full meals and snacks in between ). Of course, baby has to be a good "sucker"

snnowy,
u mentioned 'trying natural the next round ', when are u gng for #3? really peifu u...

coolzy,
so who is gng to look after ur #2? same baby sitteR?

Glee,
Mathias has not taken his Chickenpox jab cos the nurse was saying that its better to take it after the 5-in-1 booster jab..

snowwy,
wow! U bf 2 kids now..steady lah u!

xman,
When pregnant cannot let ruoxi latch on meh? How come?

btw, I have a friend who fully latch on for the past 10mths and now he boy rejects bottle..do u all hv any tips on how to intro bottle? Cos my friends boy dont even want to use straw or spout to drink water...so my friend want to try for no.2 but but want to deprive her boy of bf...

Nining,
Thanks for your words. It touches my heart. Till today I will still mourn for my unborn every year on the day I miscarried and its edd.

Is Pro Tay your gynae? I went to consult him in my 38 weeks for #1 due to breech position.

Xman,
I think Ruoxi should remember the technique of latching unless she has decided to self-wean off your breast.

I latch Qweii on throughout my entire pregnancy so technically, she has never stopped bfing right from day 1 of birth. However must confess that it is not easy during preggy due to spre nipple.

In a way, it is also good as #2 has milk to drink immediately right after birth. Not like #1, when my milk only kick in on the 4th day.

Mel,
People believe that 1 should not continue to bf while pregnant as it will lead to pre-mature birth of the fetus, will cause early contraction, malnutrient for #2 or even leads to miscarriages.

But all these are not true. I still continue after my research that prove that 1 can still nurse during pregnancy though there are servere dis-encouragement from my family. See this link: http://baby.lovetoknow.com/wiki/Pregnant_While_Breastfeeding

Loh,
Hee. That was our family plan right from the start. 4 is just half of what my parents had.

I dun have a helper. Laundry, mopping, cleaning, cooking, looking after 2 kids all by myself. I always tell hubby he has married a maid - the only different is that he can sleep with the maid and she can help him give birth w/o him being sued. Haha

cola,
oh, dear, I never dare to dream one pump give me even 200ml, u r really fantastic. this time round u sure hv enough milk to feed Meg and yr boy together.

Nining/Mel,

I stopped bf ruoxi once I know I'm pregnant as milk supply almost dry up after pregnant, plus morning sickness, and my mum insist ruoxi is for comfort only. It's true after stop bf, she can eat more solid food, last time I told u all she only eat like 1/3 bowl porridge or noodles and wont drink much FM too. nowadays she eat 1 full rice bowl porridge or noodles, plus at least 3 snacks per day.and drink like 600ml FM per day. btw, I hv convert her to drink goat milk recently, lucky she's used to the goat milk well.

Jennifer Lim,

dont be so sad about it, it's like that, I dont hv MIL, and FIL wont care who help me take care my bb, I beg my mum to come to help me, but she always told me once my brother have kid she will go back immediately as my brother already married like 10 years but still no kid, they saw a lot docs but still can't help. My mum still hope that my SIL pregnant anytime,then she will go back to take care her. I can't blame her since she has those traditional thinking that son's kid are grandchild, while daughter's kids are wai4 sun1 and surname not follow ours family but my hubby's family.

different ppl different thinking, though it's yr parents or IL, we can't expect them to treat us as what we expect. cheer up and find other ways like nanny or child care center, my parents said no matter what even my SIL not pregnant later when my #2 is 1 yo, they die die must leave. so I will either be SAHM or send 2 kids to child care center. see by that time how's my com doing then decide.

Ivy/Jang,

thanks for yr encouragement, ya, I think I'm more experience in bf skill and what to eat/drink to boost up my supply, hope for the best this time.

snnowy,

wow, I tot u stopped bf after pregnant, u r really a great mum, ya, so good #2 can drink milk immediately after birth, I remember my milk also only come on the 4th or 5th day, heard for C section ,the milk flow come later than nature one.

u r really capable, do so many things, yr would can recover so soon?I remember my would still quite pain after 3 months, till now sometimes my wound there still not so comfortable like itchy itchy feeling.

btw, u r SAHM?if no helper, take care 2 kids plus do the house chore is really exausted. much tiring than working but more fun since can see the 2 princess everyday.

xman, think i also need to get preggy =) so steve will stop BF from me...till now i BF him for comfort.
And true that seems he eats less solid when at home BF but when im in office and he can eat more solids and FM. now he is becoming on the thin side, but i think also due to him being so active, he literally run around the house everyday!
I also give steve goat's milk - quite expensive,right? im waiting for the BP for goat's milk, its almost $10 cheaper than market.

snnowy, i have an officemate who BF even preggy, but her #1 stopped BF when she was around 4months.
she said that her milk supply dropped during 2nd tri and that it goes back to colostrum and #1 doesnt like the taste so the child self-wean.
And when she gave birth to #2, she had milk from day 1. 2011 is it auspicious year? maybe i also try by then...hehehe...by then, steve has self-wean.