(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Re: fresh milk
Have just introduced fresh milk to my boy. But have not totally replaced FM.
Jete: what brand of fresh milk u giv to P?

Lilyn: I am using Guerlain eye cream. Found it pretty good as other brands will giv me oil glands under my eyes.

Re:fresh milk
I personally think it is okay to give kids drink fresh milk once in awhile, but i dun think the nutrition level is enough for them. I am still more comfortable if the main milk is from FM as it is designed, packed for kids of certain age.. thus the contents would be more suitable for them.

Ya like what lilyn said HL is low fat, if wanna give them, should not give the low fat milk..

Re: breakfast
Meg has been eating boring breakfast for so long.. her fave quacker oat.. with nothing hahaha.. just oat! she is quite choosy with new food, for breakfast she only wants her oat.. and sometimes eat together with us is bread + chocolate, or bread + strawberry jam.. (end up mummy eat more!!)

Re:naughty
Glee, same! Meg has been naughty this weekend. difficult to feed her food, i think her 2 molars below are coming out which makes her super fussy, the porridge cannot have sliced carrot!! she wants those lan lan type that can swallow directly if not she will spit out! at nite want hubby to carry her to sleep (so unlike her!) tho she didnt really do stunt.. ya carefully when you leave her alone outside, if she didnt follow you, that means she is doing sth!

I didnt spank her at all coz i dun want her to learn spanking.. so i just scolded her, but if she spitted things out i flicked her cheek.. coz want her to know that "NO SPITTING OUT WHILE EATING!" with less spanking, nowadays she seldom beats me already..
Be patient k glee, i think they will grow out of this stage.. every stage is a surprise to us.. remember the road is not always smooth

rc_cola,
spanking: i tried to control on that but still spanked her on her hands (not her face) a few occasions.. and the funny thing she will sayang me after she slaps me!!!!! i wanna faintz

agreed that this will be a stage and will pass over soon.. perhaps her 13&14th teeth are coming out..

Poor Meg.. when the molars are growing the gums are swollen, tat time charlize even threw off her pacifier with "anger"!

food:
so far, she is ok and daring to try new food, so i let her tried plain chwee kuei as suggested by ytanhn, and she loved it so much and kept asking for more, but i oni let have 1.5 pieces cos it was abit oily

re: breakfast food
am trying to give yee heng more breadfast variety on weekends...saturday's breakfast menu was rice cereal, but gave him bread and cheese too, sunday he had homemade banana/pumpkin seed bread with jam, but only had a bit of it..he tried the mash potato at popeye's yesterday during dinner and LOVED it! clapped his hands after he got fed that, and kept saying "no-no" when i was trying to give him porridge instead..hahaha...buay tahan him!

re: child hitting
yee heng hits us too! always gets angry face and scolding from me when he does that..then he looks so sorry and then will sayang/hug us when i tell him to say sorry...think he is getting very notti..must discipline! we use time outs at home (into the cot n gets ignored by me, usually for 30 secs but longer if he's crying) but outide cannot do time out tho..not sure what to do then, since he only gets the angry face look from me

re: sleep
Sorry i aso wana come in complain also. my alicia sleeps at 1AM!!!!!!!!!! and at night would wake up and cry for nothing during 3 to 4am and wan us to carry her to sleep then day time she will sleep with no timings cause when she see there is activity arnd her she will force herself nt to sleep.. me and my hubby norm sleeps arnd 12 .when i try to put her to sleep she would nt wan to sleep so if both of us nt with her she will nt sleep. anyone gt any ideas hw to put my gal back to right timing~?

re:naughty

my ds likes throwing things on the floor. so we cant leave anything on the table. The table is always clean but the floor, BIG mess!! oh, and she likes playing with the tv remote. She will pretend to switch channel, so funnie!

Glee,

So far i didnt spank meg on her face.. mostly on her palms only. nowadays only flick her cheeks when she spit out her food, other than that no more spanking..
she spanks me less also.. everytime she is naughty, i told her i am very angry, if she doesnt want to listen to me, i will just leave her alone, do my things.. she is quite upset normally and will cry and hug me.. then i slowly tell her dun do that already, ask her to say sorry..

hahaha sometimes i also wanna faint.. most days i will scream on top of my voice hahaha!

Lilyn,
i think if we are outside, our babies are very busy with the environment so they wont bother to make us angry hahahaha

Re: food
my girl hates sweet food.. dunno if this is good or bad.. she doesnt like pancake, doesnt like chee chong furn.. never try chee kwee, but most of the days, she will refuse any new and sweet food..

Re:sleep
Puppygal, I think for naps, your girl is probably too distracted by the surrounding, why not bring her to a room (quiet and dimmy), then she could fall asleep faster during nap.. for night time.. maybe u need to bring her into the room earlier, and sleep together with her lor..

nmummies

i think sometime ago, we chat abt cheese and someone mention the laughing cow cheese cube.

i bought that and tried and find it a bit saltish...is it suppose to be like tat?

re:food
i think my boy has the most boring breakfast, lunch and dinner...no new things for him...

re : naughty
haha! seem like all our kiddos r testing our patience nowadays right? For us SAHM worse, imagine facing such behavoiur 24/7! Feeling more and more ah soh liao, scream all day!

choco,
i also feed them the cheese cube. but i don't feed everyday and sometimes they will share one cube. Maybe let them take more water loh!

re : cod liver oil
my gals keep rejecting it leh! Everytime try feeding them, they will give me a very sour look and keep shaking heads and waving hands!

twinkle
my boy loves the lives oil. after 1 TEA spoon he even wan some more. keep pointing at the bottle.
at first he also dislike it, then i stop for 1 day then try again. after he drink i also feed him water.
i think my boy more tiam chiak. anything and every thing also

ytanhn
i tried giving P some unsweetened soy milk (the same one i'm drinking) and she didn't like it at all. do you warm up the fresh milk? it's not ang mo food, just what food is the quickest for me to prepare while she is going mama mama non stop. ;)

choco
the toddlers need the fat content in the milk at this age, so best to buy full cream/fat milk. yeah, the laughing cow cheese is salty, but i find sliced cheese salty as well. p eats one a day if we are home, with yogurt. when we saw the pd in nov, she actually told us can be less strict with flavoring (like with salt), cos she said if we stick to plain food all the time, the transition to outside food eventually is even more unhealthy as the change will be sudden.

coolzy
p is drinking horizon organic milk.

cola
isn't chocolate and jam very sweet? with pancakes, i give her plain pancakes, i dont give her any maple syrup on top.

lilyn
p loves the biscuit at popeyes, she'll eat the mashed ptt there too but i dont give her the gravy. we usually make sure she eat a good portion of her porridge first then she can have some outside food.

Glee,
I dun understand why kids love chwee kway, both my Chloe & nephew love it and hates chee zhong fun.

Jete,
I give nutrisoy (reduced sugar) or fresh milk, I dun heat up the milk, just took out from the fridge and leave it at room temperature for 10-15mins before serving.

ytanhn,
I love chwee kway too! chee cheong fun wld be v plain without the sauces so the kids may not like it

Other food:
I agree with jete on being less strict on the flavouring, but of cos not without control on the sugar and salt content
Cheese, my gal prefers the slice cheese which is more saltish than laughing cow. Sometimes i give that to her straight from the fridge or will oventoast (slightly) it with bread.
Pancakes, she had tried Mcs hotcakes with little syrup, not her favourite thou. She loves the hashbrown more, but its alittle oily so can oni give her a few bites.
I gave her barley (nutri-tea) and small quantities of birdnest (bottled) straight from the fridge or will add alittle hot water

Jennifer,
GP said ok and i oni give her bits when i m eating.. maybe gotta check with PD

btw have anyone of u fed your little ones chocolate yet? caffeine not so advisable?

I am very busy coz it's year end already (the peakest period in our industry), cant help but to come in and kepo hahaha!

Jete.
Yup strawberry jam and chocolate (choco rice actually) are sweet, but normally i dun put a lot.. she likes that..
but pancake, that day we bought McD pancake, she doesnt want to eat at all even without any syrup toppings.

I also feed meg soya milk, nutrisoy :p

Glee
Meg ate "yen wo" as well, those in bottle ones, and she loves them a lot! haha she knows how to say "yen wo" then followed by "yao" hahaa

Twinkle,
My girl loves fish oil, everytime i said i will feed you fish oil, she quickly finishes up her porridge.. some of the babies here love it ler.. woof's carene also likes the fist oil (white color) a lot.

Jennifer,
Caffeinne not too good coz will hinder the iron absorption, but once in awhile meg will take sips from us (3in1 coffeemix) during our breakfast time..
I believe anything in moderation should be okay..

rc_cola,
hehe charlize loves that alot too! she will say "leng leng" (cold cold)

My gal likes to yao too! mostly "yao yao yao" now and seldom "no no" unlike a few months back.. kids reali have lotsa patterns

Glee,
Indeed, they have a lot lot lot lot of patterns now.. Meg will sometimes put on hat, then run to gpa and ask him "NICE?" hahaha if not she will take out my necklaces those long and beaded types and put all of them onto her neck (about 5 of them), and walk around the house asking ppl "NICE?" hahaha
When we go out to shopping centre, clothing department, she will non-stop point here and there (to the clothes), and say "nice! nice"

Recently she learnt to wear her own pants and shirt haha she only manages to put one leg into one hole, and put her head onto the tshirt keke..

Jete, I have forgotten where i got it liao, could be from $2 shop - daiso wor

Jennifer, i will check with my hb to see if he remembers coz we tried a few brand liao and this seems to be the best so far. But still one of it came off now because my ger went to pull it out. Hmm... if our little one go and pull it out i think anybrand also cannot. But there is a quite expensive option, Robinson is selling it. It's elastic and you can just wrap it around the table. I think it cost abt $80-$100 ba. This one even if our little one go and take it out we can still put it back.

Glee
hehe wear pants on head? :p must be very funny scene keke..
meg will even wear my bra and underwear (boxer type) and walk around with pride! sometimes i let her wear my tshirt + tie ribbon to use it as belt + wear socks.. she was like super duper happy, like a supermodel walking around the house hahahaaha..

choco,
my elder gal also very "tiam chiak" one, seems the only food she ever reject was the cod liver oil.

Re : cheese
sometimes i also give slice cheese. put in between 2 slice of bread, then cut into small cubes,let them feed themselves as finger food.

Re :junk food/outside food
think i quite adventurous leh, especially when outside, whatever we eat, i will let them taste some. But i found myself ordering more healthy food as compared to previously.
They also like kfc's mash potato & coleslaw but hate mcdonald's hotcake! Even tried sushi rice from ichiban & sakae

Re :corner cushion
my gals will pluck them out, so i paste masking tapes on top of those cushion, ugly lah but at least they cannot remove it. Maybe will change those masking tape to those transparant one, cos new yr liao , so ugly!

Merry Xmas to everyone!!

Jete,

Horizon organic milk = Fresh milk??

For laughing cow cheese, is it those belcube?

Hi Moms and babies!! (to us they'll always be babies right??)

Been awhile since I've posted but wanna wish everyone a MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!

choco,

Thanks for sharing.
Cos i saw 2 type, one is in the round shape container, while another oen is the belcube, wondering which is the right one.

angeline
they are pretty much the same thing. the round container (flat one right?) inside is wedges, so much bigger pieces, imagine the round container cut up like pizza, not many pieces. the other one is blue cupboard box (blue is the plain one, rectangle box), top is plastic wrap, inside small cubes.

horizon is the brand. they have different kind of milk, one is organic. yes, it's fresh milk.

coolzy
horizon is available at the bigger cold storage, and also at grocery stores like market place (paragon, city hall etc). i haven't seen it at NTUC before but i've never been to NTUC finest, only normal NTUC. the other brand that is also organic is organic valley. some moms prefer that one cos it comes in 1L carton and also bigger carton. so far I've only seen horizon in the bigger carton, think is 1.8L.

last night i made some yogurt for p with the horizon milk, smells really nice this morning when it's done fermenting. i added peach and put it in the fridge. hopefully it'll be successful since it's my first try and i didn't know how much starter to use, so trial and error.

Jennifer and Jete, confirm the corners protectro that i have now is from Daiso. Now i remembered liao, i was telling my hb since it's only $2 why not buy and try again.

Merry Christmas!!!

Ivy,

Thanks, will go and get from Daiso. I know the elastic cushion wrap that you mention. But quite exp leh.

rc_cola,

haha, my girl also doesn't like sweet stuff. She has no interest in ice cream at all. She doesn't take yakult nor yogurt. She is not tum jiak type. Dont gd or bad hor, sigh...