(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

mel,
heard from my frend morn is not tat crowded, mayb u can try.. actually crowded oso ok lah cos the swimming pool so big !

woof,
i have yet to try the slides, yest was 1st visit there.. but hor i dono hw 2 swim, dono will hav courage 2 try or not.

jessel,
tats Sengkang Swimming Complex.

Jete,
Mathias was walking right? heh!!was Paige awake? I would have loved to see her! Havent seen her for awhile..miss her smile.....on Sat we brought Mathias to East COast for my cousin's 21st bday..we went cycling (sat in the baby sit of a rented bike) and he loved it! So we're gonna bring him cycling again this weekend cos we;re going to changi beach to clean the beach (its my hub's company thing)... Fyi, I do not know how to cycle so poor hubs has to ferry 1 adult and 1 baby..ahaha!!!

I were welling up while reading this..dunno why I imagined Mathias as the baby...and it made my heart so pain...

The toddler had been visited 60 times by social workers.

A doctor examined him,but missed the fact that the child had a broken back and eight fractured ribs.His mother managed to explain away his constant bruises time and time again,sometimes even smearing the wounds with chocolate to hide them.

Now,the 17-month old boy known only as "Baby P" is dead - and all of Britain is aghast at the details of his short life.

The grisly details of the case - along with a computer-generated image of the boy's badly scarred face - were splashed across the front pages of Britain's tabloids last Thursday.Last week,his mother,her boyfriend and their tenant were found guilty of causing his death.

The Times reported that Baby P had been in the sole care of his mother,who lives in North London,since she split from his father when the child was three months old,after she had affairs with two men.The overweight woman,27,never had a full-time job and spent hours trawling the Internet for pornography.And she often left him in his cot unattended for hours while she went online.

Her 32-year old live-in boyfriend treated him even more brutally,using him "like a punching bag" and treating him worse than the family pet,prosecution lawyers told the Old Bailey.Investigators said that after the boyfriend moved in,not one item of the boy's clothing was left unstained with blood.

While the mother chatted with friends online,her boyfriend would beat the boy,swinging him around by the neck or legs and pinching him.He also forced Baby P to obey commands like a dog.A snap of the fingers meant the boy would have to sit with his head bent between his legs.Another snap 20 minutes later would be the signal that he could sit upright again.Other instances of abuse included placing the boy on a stool and spinning it around until he fell off.

As Baby P grew too old for milk and jars of baby food,he was forced to scavenge bits of broken biscuits from older children and was even seen eating dirt in the garden.The mother and the boyfriend can't be named for legal reasons.A second man,Jason Owen,35,who stayed at the house for five weeks,also subjected the boy to similar abuse.

But despite the many beatings that Baby P received,social workers who visited the family somehow did not spot his injuries.The first sign that something was wrong came in October 2006,when a doctor noticed marks on the boy.But the mother explained away the injuries by saying her son "bruised easily'.Two months later,the same doctor referred the pair to a hospital after inspected a head injury.This time,according to the mother,the child was "a head-banger",fond of "rough-and-tumble play".

She was arrested for assault and the boy was put on the child protection register.When social service officers visited her flat,they said it was dirty,untidy and smelled of urine.Sources involved in the case said that when officers went in,they found dead mice and chicks lying around - food for a snake that the boyfriend kept in his bedroom.The man was also said to enjoy torturing animals and would skin frogs alive before breaking their legs.

Officers let the child stay with a family friend while police inquiries continued.Five weeks later,Baby P was returned to his mum.As the months went by,Baby P would sustain several more mysterious injuries.Then,on 3 Aug,an ambulance crew called to the flat found Baby P already stiff and blue in his blood-splattered cot.

The Guardian reported that even as they tried to rush him to the hospital,the mother demanded they wait while she got cigarettes.

Baby P was announced dead on arrival.

The authorities estimate that the child suffered more than 50 injuries at the hands of the mother,boyfriend and tenant.Now,even as public anger grows over how social workers could have missed all the signs of abuse,the mother has reported no signs of remorse."None of them appear to be worried or sorry about what happened to the baby,"a source told the Times.

The boyfriend is said to have told the police he was only trying to 'toughen' up Baby P.The trio who will be sentenced next month,face jail terms of up to 14 years.

Wa... long time never post here.
Hope everyone is doing great!
Me coming to 5.5 months now. baby confirmed a boy boy!

last week went on Superstar Virgo. at week 20 then, still can go on cruise!

Share with you gals some of the happy moments. We (plus in-laws) enjoyed the trip tremendously.

Waiting for taxi...
1892898.jpg

1892900.jpg
1892901.jpg

Doren was apprehensive about going into the water at first...
1892902.jpg
1892903.jpg

Our favourite hangout to rest & relax
1892904.jpg

At Phuket,
1892905.jpg

Mel,
Baby P's story is very heartbreaking.
He was such an adorable baby with beautiful blue eyes.
But then I am also glad his sufferings have ended.
It's better to go to heaven than to be tortured incessantly by those bastards!

bliss,

doren is so fair, he looks so happy in the cruise, wow, doren going to have a di di soon.

Mel,

sad story, can't bear to hear such news nowadays but so sad it always happen somewhere in the world.

woof,

ya, can organize another gathering during xmas, any other mummy no plan to going out during xmas?I hv total 10 days nothing to do leh.

an_gal,

will bring ruoxi to shengkang the new swimming pool during xmas maybe.hope not so crowded. is it near the the MRT?

mel

that is so sad so sad..but i agree with bliss..

bliss
u are so pretty and radiant...and doren is so handsome..
he knows how to smile into the camera? the photo of daddy carrying him is so nice..good close up and ncie smile

woof,
u not very old now leh :p

jete,
yes it is although i dono hw 2 swim :p

mel,
was the cycling with the baby seat safe? I suggested to hubby but he say so dangerous

bliss,
how r u coping so far.. Doren slim down abit hor.. mus b all the walking. Congras on your 2nd boy boy

xman,
is near to 1 LRT station but I dono the station name, maybe u can chk the web?

xman,
ya, Doren is quite fair, fairer than me in fact!

choco,
it so happened that Doren was looking at the camera when I took that shot.
me put on 4kg already! i look puffy!

an_gal,
I'm great! ya i think he is slimmer now weighing 11.5kg.
length wise grow longer i think.
he loves to walk all over the place.
the cruise was a good place for him to explore
plus before and after cruise trip he fell sick.
got running nose, cough, phlegm and slight fever...
now recovering. PD said he has allergy that is passed down from me. my bad genes! and when sick, will take longer to recover

How is Melcolm? must be walking very well now?
Doren still dun have molar leh.
also not talking, though one day he uttered " Ma... Ma..." while walking behind me.
then now he will say it depending on his mood haha!

Glee Nining,
thanks for the suggestion! :p
Hope other mummies wont do such a careless thing like what I did k.
Lesson learnt!

Bliss,
Good to see u here!

Jete,
U went phuket har? which part of thailand?

Mel,
The story of baby P is very sad, how could such ppl did such a terrible thing to an innocent baby. Reading your story and now looking at my napping Meg, i cant help but feel sorry for baby P. Ya like what Bliss said, at least now his suffering is gone! Maybe that is the best for him..

bliss,
I guess Doren is heavier than Melcolm haha.. i dono hw tall is Melcolm now, will oni know when I bring him for assessment next mth. He's really walking around the house now. Those area that's dangerous or we don't want him to go to, we will say "monster" then sometimes he will walk away. Luckily, he's not very "itchy hand" type will touch everything in the house.. or isit haven start yet wahahah u look great, preggy mummies oways glow !

mel,
i thought the baby seat was behind.

Mel, shannon gena the pressure problem when we touch down narita airport and she was crying and trying to dig her ears so i tell her she cannot do that and must swallow her saliva and she will feel better. So she swallow her saliva and she's okie

Then during our return trip we prepare baby gummy sweets, biscuit and water.

Personally i feel it's better to have more ppl travelling with you coz if not it can be quite "shiong". Esp now they are quite mobile it's really tough to constraint them in their seat. Shannon was running between our seats and my sis & cousin's seats so she still get to move ard.

Woof,
I'll be away during xmas week leee,.. Maybe treat this gathering as xmas potluck kekekek..

Zhuzhu,
if your plan changes can just join

Mel,
I know that is so ridiculous.. Me thinking, these kind of cruel animals do not deserve trials paid by tax payer monies.. Just throw them to life sentence (also on taxpayer monies) or even firing squad! The social worker involved also not doing the job! 60 visits in 16 months and no proper actions!

Bliss,
cool! congrats! you and cin can setup a 3 aside soccer team! Doren is so handsome!

Jete/Mel,
yeah Ike is quite tall.. in fact when we went to fidgets, he is also slightly taller than other angmoh boys at his age..

An_gal,
there are 2 type of baby bike seat, one in front facing u, the other is the more common one in the back. I have the one in the back but Ike doesnt like so much cos he has to wear helmet and he can't see our face.. But my bike is female bike so now better buy another seat to put on hubby's bike so can face hubby..

Ivy,
now am dreading my xmas trip,... he will wanna run amock in the aisle!!!

Mel,
looks like atlantis Delta at Redhill / Delta sport complex is similar to fidgets!

interested to move our gathering to indoor playground at Redhill? then we can do a bit later and not too early cos it's indoor plus no worries of rain..

Mommies how bout 8th Dec 11 am?

play- gathering at Altantis Delta - http://playtime-recreations.com/ :

1) Nining - OK
2)xman -ok
3)Mel -ok
4) an_gal (will check 1st)
5) rc_cola (depends on the date)
6)Adeline(minnie the mouse)- OK
7)choco_mm -ok
8)lilyn22 (depends on the date)
9)woof --ok
10)Ivy - ok

interested to move our gathering to indoor playground at Redhill? then we can do a bit later and not too early cos it's indoor plus no worries of rain..

1) Nining - OK
2)xman -ok
3)Mel -ok
7)choco_mm -ok
9)woof --ok
10)Ivy - ok
11) Glee -- ok

So no potluck hor

1) Nining - ok
2) xman - ok
3) Mel - ok
6) Adeline(minnie the mouse)- ok
7) choco_mm -ok
8) lilyn22 (depends on the date)
9) woof - ok
10) Ivy - ok
11) Glee - ok
12) bliss - interested, will confirm soon

i am also fine with the new venue...it look great

1) Nining - OK with indoor
2)xman -ok with indoor
3)Mel -ok
7)choco_mm -ok with indoor
9)woof --ok
10)Ivy - ok

Nining,
ya hor, must jio Cin to form the team man!
Cin, where are you? I'm back from the cruise!

Ivy,
agree that it's good to have pple travelling with us and a toddler!
I'm glad I brought my in-laws to enjoy the cruise with us.
one is to reward them, the other is that they can lend a helping hand, esp with Doren around.
During the trip, me and MIL were most relaxed.
Hubby and FIL got to follow my boy to wherever he recce!

an_gal,
glad that Melcolm is walking well and exploring and he sounds like a good boy.
I guess our sons characteristics are rather similar. not that naughty really *keeping fingers crossed*

nining,
ya the baby seat in front sounds safer.

ivy,
can share hw u handle Shannon in airplane? I'm planning for a trip next yr oso hee

puppygal,
Alicia is big hor. good what.
i think it will still be some time before our kids reach 90cm.
must ask Joey how big Jaeden is now!

Nining.

not able to join the gathering this time though its a stone throw from my house! we are going to club med bintan on 8th-10th.

bliss,

saw you calling my name.
Jaeden is stuck at 14.5kg for the past 4-5months. Last measured 2 weeks ago at PD was 90cm. I think Mel mentioned that her boy is 93cm last month..

puppygal,

don't worry.. i think SMRT not that strict on the height thing. as long as u still push her in pram or in carrier, i don't think they'll charge u for the ride..

bliss,
oh.. gd 2 hear tat Doren is so good boy too. Melcolm is more of a curious person, he observe more but i can't deny that his temper is real bad !

Haha!! Jang, the 93cm was measured using a standing chart..I thk its wrong cos Mathias doesnt look that tall to me and when he stands at the MRT gantry, he can still walk through with ease....well, I'll know his height next sat when we bring him for his MMR

Nining,
It'll be great to chk out the new place @ Delta...I was just telling my HB that I wanna bring Mathias there to chk it out..but since we'll be gg there soon then I guess I can just wait till then

Ivy,
I thk if I tell Mathias to swallow saliva, he will not be in the right frame of mind to listen to me and just keep crying...hmm..in that case, maybe hb was right in objecting to take a plane..*sigh* cos if Mathias starts fussing during landing HB face sure chg colour...

snnowy,

congrats! I heard from xue that u give birth last sunday, so fast u can surf net liao?

puppygal,

yr gal is so tall!

Jang,
Jaeden is really very tall!
Saw his pics in your blog, he is still very cute!

an_gal,
how bad is Melcolm's temper?
Doren is grouchy when he is not feeling well or when he didn't have enough naps.

snnowy,

show us your darling's photos when you are more settled down okie!

bliss,
hmm he will throw tings wen he's angry lol, then cry until he get his way.. sometimes he will beat or pinch me.. bad ah..

anyone using the avent BPA free bottles? do they really leak very badly as compared to the current models?

i thinking of buying from US sites, but worried they leak badly like the rveiews says. =P

xman, yar cause me and my hubby both big size so she aso become big size.. haha,, i worry she have to pay ticket for GV. Cause we bring her in see free movie though she nt very interested yet..

snowy..congrats~